DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (US 11,355,975) in view of Tsuiki (US Pat.Pub.2018/0251417) and Yoshinaga et al. (US Pat.Pub.2006/0279160).
Regarding claim 1, Deng teaches a stator 100 for a rotary electric machine, comprising:
a radially interior ring comprising teeth 220 and slots (not numbered)…extending between the teeth…,
coils (winding) arranged in a distributed manner in the slots, having electrical conductors arranged in an ordered fashion in the slots (c.1:29-34), and
a radially outer yoke attached in contact with the ring, the yoke being formed of assembled sectors, the stator comprising an axial stack of axially and circumferentially assembled sectors (first and second plural laminations) 110, 120, a first interface (e.g., first side edge 241; Fig.2B) defined between two adjacent sectors 110 (or 120) located at a first abscissa (not numbered) along the axis of rotation of the machine being angularly offset with respect to a second interface defined between two adjacent sectors 110 (or 120) located at a second abscissa (not numbered) along the axis of rotation, which second abscissa is different from the first abscissa (annotated Fig.1 below),
each interface defined between two adjacent sectors 110 (or 120) being radially aligned with respect to a slot of the slots of the radially interior ring (Figs.1-2A).
Deng’s radially interior ring comprising teeth and slots does not “ope[n] radially towards the outside” and does not comprise “bridges of material connecting each two adjacent teeth of the interior ring at their base and defining the bottom of the slot between these each two adjacent teeth and defining the interior ring as one unitary piece.” Also, the second abscissa is not “axially offset from the first abscissa” (i.e., the interfaces of sectors 110, 120 are axially aligned; Fig.1).
But, regarding the first difference, Tsuiki teaches a stator 1 comprising a radially interior ring (inner core) 81 comprising teeth 3 and slots 5 opening radially towards the outside and extending between the teeth and bridges of material (connection portions) 10 connecting two adjacent teeth of the interior ring at their base and defining the bottom of the slot between these two adjacent teeth (¶[0106]-¶[0108]; Figs.23-24). Tsuiki’s radially interior ring is formed as one member in a linear shape and during manufacture is rolled while the connection portions are plastically deformed (¶[0107]). This prevents damage of coils, reduces the number of components and has excellent productivity (¶[0001]; ¶[0108]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Deng’s radially interior ring to be open radially towards the outside with bridges of material connecting each two adjacent teeth of the interior ring at their base and defining the bottom of the slot between these each two adjacent teeth and defining the interior ring as one unitary piece since Tsuiki teaches this would have prevented damage of coils during manufacture, reduced the number of components and provided excellent productivity.
Regarding the second difference, Yoshinaga teaches a stator core comprising an axial stack of axially and circumferentially assembled sectors (first and second blocks of sheets/units 102/210) 410, 420, a first interface (butted surface) 103 defined between two adjacent sectors 410 located at a first abscissa (not numbered) along the axis of rotation of the machine being angularly offset with respect to a second interface 103 defined between two adjacent sectors 420 located at a second abscissa (not numbered) along the axis of rotation, which second abscissa is different from the first abscissa, wherein the second abscissa is axially offset from the first abscissa (i.e., positions of the butted surfaces in each core member are differentiated in the circumferential direction from those in other core members adjacent to each core member in the axial direction; ¶[0008]; ¶[0060]; Figs.2-3). By axially offsetting the first and second abscissa, the magnetic resistance of the core is made uniform along the circumferential direction (¶[0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to axially offset the first and second abscissa of Deng and Tsuiki since Yoshinaga teaches this would have made the magnetic resistance of the core uniform along the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 2, Deng’s sectors of the yoke each having an angular extent of between 18 and 180° (Fig.6A). Similarly, Tsuiki’s sectors 9 of the yoke each having an angular extent of between 18 and 180° (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Deng’s yoke comprises, in cross section, between 2 and 20 sectors (Fig.6A). Similarly, Tsuiki’s yoke comprises, in cross section, between 2 and 20 sectors, i.e., four sectors (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 4, Deng’s two adjacent sectors of the yoke define therebetween an interface S extending in a substantially radial plane (Figs.1&2B). Similarly, Tsuiki’s two adjacent sectors 9 of the yoke define therebetween an interface S extending in a substantially radial plane (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, in Deng the radial plane of each interface S passes through a center of a slot (Figs.1-2A). Similarly, in Tsuiki the radial plane of each interface S passes through a center of a slot (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 6, Deng’s angular offset is between one and ten teeth (Fig.1). Similarly, Tsuiki’s angular offset is between one and ten teeth, i.e., the interfaces S are offset approximately three teeth (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 7, Deng’s sectors of the yoke comprise surface reliefs (notches/lugs) 245/246 which make it possible to clip them together (Fig.2B). Similarly, Tsuiki’s sectors 9 of the yoke comprise surface reliefs (swage portions) 11 which make it possible to clip them together (¶[0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Deng’s ring and yoke comprise, respectively, first and second reliefs (protrusions/openings) 222/247 which cooperate with one another (Fig.2B). Tsuiki’s ring and yoke comprise, respectively, first and second reliefs (swage portions) 11, 12 which cooperate with one another (Figs.4&6).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuiki’s bridges of material comprise zones magnetically saturated during the operation of the machine, in particular zones of smaller width (i.e., bridges 10 are thinner that the rest of the teeth; Fig.4).
Regarding claim 11, Deng’s stator is part of an electric machine with a rotor (c.1:20-26). Similarly, Tsuiki’s stator is part of an electric machine with a rotor 101 (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuiki’s sectors 9 are attached radially on the ring to form the yoke in contact with the ring (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 13, at least with respect to a longitudinal cross-section, the slots of both Deng and Tsuiki are rectangular.
Regarding claim 15, in Deng a plurality of consecutive sectors 410, 420 each comprising a stack of sheets 102/210 are encountered when moving in parallel with the axis of rotation of the machine (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 16, in Deng the teeth have a same shape (Fig.1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng, Tsuiki & Yoshinaga, further in view of Koa et al. (US Pat.Pub.2022/0069652).
None of Deng, Tsuiki & Yoshinaga specifically teach the coils of electrical conductors of the distributed winding are arranged in each slot in two radially stacked coils of different phases.
But, Koa teaches a double-layer distributed winding for a stator armature 100 comprising electrical conductors arranged in each slot in two radially stacked coils 10a-n of different phases, to provide an end winding that is very compact (¶[0054]-¶[0055]; Fig.3A).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to arrange the coils of electrical conductors of the distributed winding of Deng, Tsuiki & Yoshinaga in each slot in two radially stacked coils of different phases since Koa teaches this would have provided an end winding that is very compact.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. It is noted that Yoshinaga teaches a stator core comprising an axial stack of axially and circumferentially assembled sectors (first and second blocks of sheets/units 102/210) 410, 420, a first interface (butted surface) 103 defined between two adjacent sectors 410 located at a first abscissa (not numbered) along the axis of rotation of the machine being angularly offset with respect to a second interface 103 defined between two adjacent sectors 420 located at a second abscissa (not numbered) along the axis of rotation, which second abscissa is different from the first abscissa, wherein the second abscissa is axially offset from the first abscissa (i.e., positions of the butted surfaces in each core member are differentiated in the circumferential direction from those in other core members adjacent to each core member in the axial direction; ¶[0008]; ¶[0060]; Figs.2-3). By axially offsetting the first and second abscissa, the magnetic resistance of the core is made uniform along the circumferential direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas C Patel can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834