DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 05/22/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 4 and 7-15 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa et al (JP 2016131243, of record, ‘243 hereafter) in view of Saito et al (US 2018/0170005, ‘005 hereafter) and Hu et al (US 20200095504. ‘504 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7-9 and 15, ‘243 discloses a resin composition containing a maleimide compound represented by following formula reading upon instantly claimed formula (a5) ([0060]-[0061], [0151], BMI-3000, BMI-5000, Examples 3-8), which has a maleimide group equivalent equal to or greater than 400 g/eq satisfying maleimide compound (A1):
and a maleimide compound (A2) having a maleimide group equivalent less than 400 g/eq ([0151], and BMI 4000 is 2, 2'-bis 4-(4-maleimido phenoxy)phenyl propane with a molecular weight being 570.6, thus the maleimide group equivalent is 285.3, Example 8). The resin composition may also include an epoxy compound having an epoxy equivalent in a range of 200 g/eq to 300 g/eq with a content ratio to maleimide compound satisfying present claims 7 and 8 ([0064]-[0067], [0151], NC-3000H, biphenyl-epoxy, 84:16, Example 5, 4/24.8=16). ‘243 also discloses that the composition may further comprise a styrene copolymer ([0104]-[0109]). ‘243 does not disclose that the resin composition further include a flame retardant phosphine oxide compound with a structure represented by formula (b0). However, in the same field of endeavor of a resin composition for making a prepreg, metal-clad laminate or wiring board, ‘005 discloses a resin composition ([0010]-[0013]) comprising a phosphine oxide having two or more di-phenylphosphine oxide with a melting point equal or higher than 280°C to provide the composition having excellent flame retardancy and other properties (0012]-[0013], [0021]-[0030]), wherein the phosphine oxide having following chemical formulae ([0042]-[0043]) satisfying presently claimed formula (b0):
,
.
In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use phosphine oxide compound as taught by ‘005, to modify the resin composition of ‘243, in order to render a resin composition having excellent flame retardancy and other properties. Modified ‘243 does not teach the composition further comprising a reactive flame retardant. However, in the same field of endeavor of resin composition for making a prepreg, metal-clad laminate or wiring board, ‘504 discloses a resin composition ([0005]-[0023]) comprising a reactive flame retardant ([0006]-[0018], a flame retardant having crosslinkable double bonds) to render the composition having improved peal strength for metal foil, thermal resistance, and flame retardancy ([0023], [0140]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further add a reactive flame retardant as taught by ‘504, to modify the resin composition of modified ‘243, in order to render a resin composition having better peal strength for metal foil, thermal resistance, and flame retardancy.
Regarding claims 10-14, modified ‘243 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘243 also discloses a prepreg, a film, a metal sheet/laminate and a printed wiring board comprising the resin composition and satisfying all the limitations as presently claimed ([0110]-[0147]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach that use of phosphine oxide compound (B9) with reactive flame retardant further improve flame resistance and reducing dielectric loss tangent. However, as set forth in the rejection part, the cited prior art fairly suggest a resin composition satisfying all the limitations as claimed, which inherently provides the improved flame resistance and dielectric loss tangent as argued. It is noted that the applicant has recognized another advantage which would be flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be basis for patentability when the difference would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In addition, the cited references ‘504 teaches that the phosphine oxide having reactive double bonds renders an epoxy resin composition having better thermal resistance and flame retardancy, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add reactive flame retardant to improve thermal resistance and flame retardancy of the resin composition.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782