DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the request for continued examination filed 10/22/2025.
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending. Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 12, 15 and 17 are currently amended.
All prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yook, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2013/0332881 (“Yook”), in view of Kim, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0338888 (“Kim”), and in view of Choi, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0109653 (“Choi”).
With regard to Claim 1, Yook teaches electronic device control method, wherein the electronic device control method comprises:
displaying a single first window in a first display region of a display screen while the first display region being in a single-window display state in response to a first preset operation (Fig. 4b shows a display region for applications, where the region does not occupy the entire display screen as a status bar is also displayed showing battery and signal information. A user launches application A, which causes the application to be displayed in a single window in the region); and
switching the single-window display state of the first display region to the multi-window display state of the first display region by dividing the first display region into a plurality of sub-regions in response to a second preset operation (Fig. 4b shows that when a user presses a home key while application A is displayed, the display shows windows for application A and application C in divisions of the original region, where the windows do not overlap one another. [0047] describes that the applications are presented such that related functional views of each application are visible in their respective areas).
Yook does not teach wherein the display screen comprises a foldable screen, wherein the foldable screen comprises a plurality of display regions, and wherein the first display region comprises one of the plurality of display regions of the foldable screen, wherein the second preset operation comprises unfolding the display screen from a folded state.
Kim teaches at [0168]-[0175] and Figs. 6 and 7 a foldable device with a first surface that contains one or two display areas, and a second surface without display areas. The device is foldable so that the regions of the second, non-display surface face each other and the first surface remains exposed; such an unfolding is illustrated at Fig. 24. [0408]-[0411] describe that when an unfolding operation is detected, the device can transition to a co-display of application screens, where a plurality of second application screens of the same or different applications can be displayed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Kim with Yook. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing convenient views of applications in a device that takes advantage of additional display space enabled by a larger screen that folds out.
Yook also does not teach reducing a size of the first window displayed while the first display region was in the single-window display state: and displaying the reduced first window and at least one second window in the plurality of sub-regions of the first display region in a preset manner while the first display region being in the multi-window display state, the reduced first window and the at least one second window being all in an active state, wherein the reduced first window and the at least one second window do not overlap each other.
Choi teaches at [0083] that a multi-window can be active when a device is unfolded. [0084]-[0086] describe that in a folded state, a single window can be displayed on an external screen as a full screen. [0089] describes that when unfolding is detected, the device returns to the state where multi-windows are shown. Fig. 8A shows that the single window displayed in the folded state is then displayed in the same display location in a reduced size, along with a second window from another application. As Kim teaches that a folding, multi-screen device can be folded such that the display on the right is both the single display when folded and the right side display when unfolded, the combined references teach that the same display can be used for both the single window display and the multi-window display including the reduced first application window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Choi with Kim and Yook. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by integrating additional functions that ensure needed applications are maintained in various configurations of a folding device.
Claim 11 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected. Claim 12 recites a medium storing code which causes a processor to carry out the method of Claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Kim teaches that the display screen comprises a foldable flexible screen or two or more spliced display screens, the display screen further comprises a second display region, the first display region and the second display region at least partially overlap when the display screen is in a folded state, or the first display region and the second display region correspond to different display screens of the spliced display screens. [0168]-[0175] and Figs. 6 and 7 describe a foldable device with a first surface that contains one or two display areas, and a second surface without display areas. The device is foldable so that the regions of the second, non-display surface face each other and the first surface remains exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Kim with Yook. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing convenient views of applications in a device that takes advantage of additional display space enabled by a larger screen that folds out.
Claim 13 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 2, and is similarly rejected. Claim 21 recites a medium storing code which causes a processor to carry out the method of Claim 2, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 3, Yook teaches that the second preset operation comprises a gesture pinch operation, a click on a physical button or a virtual button or an expansion of the display screen when the display screen is in a folded state. [0047] describes that a user can generate a touch event on a button on the screen to display the multiple windows.
Claim 14 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 3, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 4, Yook teaches that after the first display region displays the reduced first window and the at least one second window in a preset manner, one of the reduced first window and the at least one second window is displayed in a full screen manner in the first display region in response to a third preset operation on the one of the reduced first window and the at least one second window. [0075]-[0076] and Fig. 6 show that a user operating an application window can access a subordinate operation, in this case selecting a file to attach to a message being composed, where the subordinate operation is opened as one of the plurality of windows. When a user selects the files in the second window and selects to add them to the message, the messaging application is once again displayed in a full screen manner.
Claim 15 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 5, Yook teaches that displaying the first window in the first display region comprises displaying the first window in the first display region in a full screen manner, and wherein displaying the reduced first window and the at least one second window in a preset manner comprises displaying the reduced first window and the at least one second window in a uniform manner over substantially the entire first display region. Fig. 4b shows that Application A is displayed in a full screen manner, where Applications A and C are presented together in a manner where each is of a uniform size and together they occupy substantially the entire display region.
Claim 16 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 6, Yook teaches that the reduced first window and the at least one second window comprise a plurality of preset windows or a plurality of recently operated windows. Fig. 4b shows that the applications A and C displayed together were operated immediately prior to being displayed together on the display.
Claim 17 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 6, and is similarly rejected.
Claims 7, 8, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yook, in view of Kim, in view of Choi, and in view of Kang, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0113455 (“Kang”).
With regard to Claim 7, Kang describes that the gesture pinch operation comprises a touch operation and/or a non-touch operation. [0050] describes entering the pinch through a touch panel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Kang with Yook, Choi and Kim, to improve user experience by enabling multiple application display and switching through a simple, well-known gesture.
Claim 18 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 7, and is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 8, Kang teaches that when the gesture pinch operation is the touch operation, the gesture pinch operation is recognized by movement of coordinates of fingers in the display screen. [0064] describes that contact sensor information is used to identify gestures from input events. [0121] describes that the touch gesture event is recognized as corresponding to a specific pattern, and [0050] describes that the system identifies a particular touched location. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Kang with Yook, Choi and Kim, to improve user experience by enabling multiple application display and switching through a simple, well-known gesture.
Claim 19 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 8, and is similarly rejected.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yook, in view of Kim, in view of Choi, in view of Kang, and in view of Marti, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0053151 (“Marti”).
With regard to Claim 9, Marti teaches that when the gesture pinch operation is the non-touch operation, the gesture pinch operation is recognized by following steps: obtaining a plurality of images of fingers within a preset time interval; and determining whether a movement trajectory of the fingers is the gesture pinch operation by analyzing the plurality of images. [0030] describes that gestures can be recognized in a system by a camera taking images of a hand and its movements and gesture, including measuring a time-of-flight, which is the time taken to travel a distance. [0032] describes that the system recognizing pinching gestures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Marti with Kang, Kim, Choi and Yook. Marti contemplates recognizing pinching gestures in an interface for manipulating objects in 3D. One of skill in the art would seek to combine Marti with Yook, Kim, Choi and Kang, to improve user experience by enabling the use of application switching and window viewing in an additional type of user interface.
Claim 20 recites a device which carries out the method of Claim 9, and is similarly rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues that Kim does not teach the aspects of amended Claim 1 regarding reducing a window and displaying the window on a same display and in a reduced size in response to unfolding a device. However, the newly cited Choi reference cures any deficiencies in the previously cited references with regard to amended Claim 1, and the claim remains obvious in view of the prior art. As the other claims are not argued separately, those claims are likewise obvious in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
1/16/2026