Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (371 of PCT/AU2021/050635, filed 06/18/2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (AU2020902089, filed 06/23/2020) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 13 May 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 6, 14, 29, 31, and 33 have been amended; Claims 14, 15, 17, 26, 27, 29, 31, and 33 have been withdrawn; and Claims 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 16, 18-25, 28, 30, 32, and 34 have been canceled.
Regarding the rejections of Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHINOSE et al. (JP 5880813 B2) in view of KIM et al. (Polymer Journal, Vol. 25, No. 12, pg. 1295-1302, 19 May 1993) and HAN (US 2019/0344222 A1), Applicant’s amendments are sufficient; these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and search, new grounds of rejection have been made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHINOSE et al. (JP 5880813 B2) in view of HUANG et al. (CN 106268355 A) and HAN (US 2019/0344222 A1).
Please note the added 35 USC 112(d) rejection of Claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 13 May 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejections of Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHINOSE et al. (JP 5880813 B2) in view of KIM et al. (Polymer Journal, Vol. 25, No. 12, pg. 1295-1302, 19 May 1993) and HAN (US 2019/0344222 A1), Applicant’s arguments (pg. 7-9) have been considered. Applicant states that as-amended, Claim 1 further defines the crosslinking agent and that the cited art KIM fails to disclose or suggest this presently claimed parameter (pg. 8, par. 2). Further, Applicant states that “Kim characterizes crosslinking in terms of a ‘degree of crosslinking’”, i.e., such a disclosure “reflects the extent of reaction within the polymer network and is not a compositional parameter of the membrane” (pg. 8, par. 2). Thus, Applicant argues, KIM fails to disclose or suggest a crosslinker content weight percentage as claimed.
Even further, Applicant states that KIM is limited to glutaraldehyde-crosslinked membranes whereas the present claim excludes glutaraldehyde (pg. 8, par. 4), i.e., Applicant argues one of ordinary skill would not seek KIM to remedy the deficiencies of ICHINOSE and HAN.
Finally, Applicant states that KIM “does not teach that increasing crosslinking improves flux” and that instead, KIM discloses as crosslinking degree increases, flux decreases; therefore, Applicant argues, one of ordinary skill would not be motivated to “adopt the presently claimed crosslinker content in expectation of improved membrane performance” (pg. 9, par. 1). For these reasons, Applicant argues the cited prior art do note teach or suggest amended Claim 1 (pg. 9, par. 2).
The Examiner agrees with Applicant’s analysis of KIM. As such, the previously pending prior art rejection of Claim 1 has been withdrawn. As noted, new grounds of rejection have been made without the previously cited KIM prior art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive because they are directed to grounds of rejection that have been withdrawn and are directed to a prior art not cited in the pending rejections. Therefore, the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the presently pending claims.
Applicant’s rejoinder request (Remarks filed 13 May 2026, pg. 9, par. 5) of Claims 14, 15, 17, 26, 27, 29, 31, and 33 has been considered; however, Claim 1 has not been found to be allowable. As such, Claims 14, 15, 17, 26, 27, 29, 31, and 33 are not eligible for rejoinder and remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claim 6, the claim recites only that “the crosslinking agent is a sulphonated crosslinking agent”. This renders the claim of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 introduced the limitation that the crosslinking agent is selected from the group consisting of sulfosuccinic acid, 4-sulfophthalic acid, 4,6-disulphoisophthalic acid, maleic acid, oxalic acid, fumaric acid, toluene di-isocyanate, citric acid, and combinations thereof, i.e., species limitations that are more specific than the broadly claimed “sulphonated crosslinking agent”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHINOSE et al. (JP 5880813 B2; machine translation provided and referenced herein) in view of HUANG et al. (CN 106268355 A; machine translation provided and referenced herein) and further in view of HAN (US 2019/0344222 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, ICHINOSE discloses a composite filtration filter 11 (FIG. 1A, B) comprising a polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) porous membrane 21 on a supporting porous filter 31 (i.e., [a] membrane comprising a… hydrophilic layer supported on a porous… substrate; pg. 4, paragraph “(7) In the step…”; pg. 5, paragraph “Embodiment of the Present Invention”). It is noted that PVA is a highly hydrophilic material; hence the limitation requiring a hydrophilic layer is inherently disclosed. The PVA porous membrane 21 has thickness 10 nm to 500 nm (pg. 4, paragraph “The PVA porous film…”), which overlaps with the claimed range of between about 100 nm and 700 nm and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05) and comprises pores having diameters 1 nm to 10 nm (i.e., a nanoporous…layer), which reads on the claimed range of a pore size of the nanoporous hydrophilic layer is less than about 10 nm (pg. 4, paragraph “The PVA porous film…”). ICHINOSE further discloses the supporting porous filter 31 comprises polytetrafluoroethylene, which is inherently hydrophobic (i.e., a porous hydrophobic substrate; pg. 4, paragraph “(7) In the step…”).
The PVA porous membrane 21 is further crosslinked by a crosslinking agent (i.e., the nanoporous hydrophilic layer comprises… a crosslinking agent; pg. 4, paragraph “(7) In the step…”; pg. 6, paragraph “PVA may be crosslinked…”). However, ICHINOSE fails to disclose any final content of crosslinking agent in the formed PVA membrane, i.e., the prior art is deficient in explicitly disclosing a content of the crosslinking agent is between about 5% and 20% by weight of the nanoporous hydrophilic layer or wherein the crosslinking agent is selected from the group consisting of sulfosuccinic acid, 4-sulfophthalic acid, 4,6-disulphoisophthalic acid, maleic acid, oxalic acid, fumaric acid, toluene di-isocyanate, citric acid, and combinations thereof.
HUANG discloses an asymmetric hydrophilic/hydrophobic polymer separation membrane for water filtration (abstract; pg. 2, par. 3). One side of the membrane is hydrophobic and the other side is hydrophilic (pg. 4, par. 1). The hydrophilic side of the membrane is prepared by modifying the base membrane with a hydrophilic modifier, including maleic acid (i.e., wherein the crosslinking agent is selected from the group consisting of… maleic acid; pg. 4, par. 9), at a concentration from 2 to 35 weight % (pg. 4, par. 6), which overlaps with the claimed range of a content of the crosslinking agent is between about 5% and 20% by weight of the nanoporous hydrophilic layer and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness. Advantageously, the increase in hydrophilic character of the base membrane, e.g., comprising polyvinyl alcohol (pg. 4, par. 2), enhances the water permeability of the overall polymer separation membrane (pg. 5, par. 1). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further modify the PVA porous membrane of ICHINOSE with maleic acid at a concentration of 5-20 weight % as suggested by HUANG.
Modified ICHINOSE is deficient in explicitly disclosing the nanoporous hydrophilic layer further comprises a nanofiller selected from the group consisting of MXene, a carbon-based nanomaterial, a MOF, and a silica nanoparticle.
HAN discloses composite nanofiltration membrane (abstract; p0003) comprising a functional layer made of MXene (p0006) with a supporting layer under the functional layer (p0005). The use of MXene as part of the functional layer advantageously provides improved long-term stability (p0003), excellent separation performance, thermal resistance, and chemical resistance (p0016). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include MXene as a nanofiller as taught by HAN in the PVA functional layer of the composite filtration filter taught by ICHINOSE.
Regarding Claim 2, modified ICHINOSE makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. As noted in the examples, ICHINOSE discloses formation of the PVA filter from a 1 mg/mL PVA aqueous solution (pg. 10, middle) indicating that the amount of hydrophilic polymer in the formed PVA filter is primarily the polymer (see also Table 1 on pg. 30). ICHINOSE further discloses the use of crosslinkers (e.g., 2 wt.% glutaraldehyde; pg. 14) in preparing the PVA filter. Thus, the claimed range of wherein the content of the hydrophilic polymer in the nanoporous hydrophilic layer is between about 50% and 99% by weight of the nanoporous hydrophilic layer is read upon by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 3, modified ICHINOSE makes obvious the membrane of Claim 2. ICHINOSE discloses polyvinyl alcohol (i.e., wherein the hydrophilic polymer is polyvinyl alcohol; abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, modified ICHINOSE makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. ICHINOSE further discloses the use of glutaraldehyde crosslinker (i.e., wherein the crosslinking agent is… glutaraldehyde; pg. 5, middle).
Regarding Claim 8, modified ICHINOSE makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. HAN further discloses MXene is Ti3C2Tx where T is –F or –OH (p0002); such a disclosure reads on the claimed formula for MXene.
Regarding Claim 9, modified ICHINOSE makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. HAN further discloses an MXene concentration of 1-5 wt.% (p0013), which reads on the claimed range of between 0.1% and 30% by weight of the nanoporous hydrophilic layer.
Regarding Claim 12, modified ICHINOSE makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. ICHINOSE further discloses the supporting porous filter 31 comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (i.e., wherein the porous hydrophobic substrate comprises a polymeric material selected from… polytetrafluoroethylene; pg. 4, bottom).
Regarding Claim 13, modified ICHINOSE makes obvious the membrane of Claim 1. ICHINOSE further discloses the porous material used for filter 31 comprises pore diameters ranging from “several nm to several µm” (pg. 5, paragraph “A wide range of…”), which overlaps with the claimed range of between 0.1 µm and 5 µm and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772