DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: “Ti” is referenced in the list of variables for claim 3, but does not appear in the mathematical expression for x. It appears “Ti” should be amended to --ti--. The same issue appears in claims 4-6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
field generating device first appearing in claim 1 (corresponding structure disclosed in original specification as coil 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2050481 (Kafka, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kafka teaches a device for influencing biological processes in a living tissue for applying a pulsating magnetic field to at least a part of the tissue (translation: pg. 4, paragraph 6 – pg. 5, paragraph 1), with a field generating device (2) configured to generate the pulsating magnetic field and a pulse generator (1) configured to drive the field generating device with a signal sequence (translation: pg. 4, paragraph 6-pg. 5, paragraph 1; pg. 8, paragraph 5; Figure 1), the pulse generator configured to output the signal sequence, which is formed from a superposition of a first sequence of main pulses and at least one second sequence of main pulses (translation: main pulses and sub-pulses, pg. 4, paragraph 6-pg. 5, paragraph 1; pg. 9, paragraph 3; Figures 2-4), the pules repetition rate of which is between 0.1 and 1000 Hz (pg. 9, paragraph 2), wherein
each main pulse comprises a pulse length;
the pulse length and the pulse repetition rate of the main pulses of the second sequence of main pulses are different from the pulse length and the pulse repetition rate of the main pulses of the first sequence of main pulses (Figures 2-4);
the pulse repetition rate of the main pulses of the second sequence of main pulses changes monotonically in the time-dependent course opposite to the change in the pulse length (translation: pg. 9, paragraph 5; Figures 2-4);
an amplitude waveform of a main pulse comprises the following function y(x):
y
x
=
k
1
+
k
2
∙
e
sin
(
x
k
3
)
+
sin
(
x
∙
k
4
k
5
)
+
x
∙
k
6
;
wherein:
x = computational substitute for time t during a main pulse;
k1 = offset value;
k2 = amplitude factor, k2≠0;
k3 = exponent of x, k3≠0;
k4 = multiplication factor of x, k4≠0;
k5 = exponent of (x*k4), k5≠0;
k6 = multiplication factor of x;
wherein k1 – k6 are parameters which are freely selectable to give different shapes to the amplitude waveform, each main pulse being modulated with sub-pulses by respective selection of the parameters ([0017]; translation: pg. 5, paragraph 3; pg. 5, paragraph 5-pg. 6, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 2, Kafka teaches the computational substitute x depends linearly on time t ([0017]; translation: pg. 5, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kafka teaches the main pulses of the first sequence of main pulses follow one another directly in the time-dependent course without a pause; and the main pulses of the second sequence of main pulses follow one another directly in a time-dependent course without a pause (Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 8, Kafka teaches the pulse length of the main pulses of the first sequence of main pulses decreases monotonically or increases monotonically; and the pulse repetition rate of the main pulses of the first sequence of main pulses changes monotonically in the time-dependent course opposite to the change in the pulse length of these main pulses increases monotonically or decreases monotonically (Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 9, Kafka teaches the pulse generator is configured to output the signal sequence and at least one further signal sequence in temporal succession, the at least one further signal sequence differing from the first signal sequence in at least one of the following: the pulse length of the main pulses of the first sequence of main pulses; the pulse length of the main pulses of the second sequence of main pulses; one or more parameters k1-k6 (Figure 2: main pulse length changes with subsequent main pulses).
Regarding claim 10, Kafka teaches the pulse generator (1) is configured to output the at least one further signal sequence after a defined pause time after the output of the first signal sequence (translation: pause, pg. 5, paragraph 3; pause, pg. 8, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, Kafka teaches the parameters k3 to k5 of the function y(x) are integers and k1, k2, and k6 are selected in decimal increments from the following value ranges:
-6 < k1, k2, k6 < 6;
-6 < k3, k5 <6 (integer);
-10 < k4 < 10 ([0035]; translation: pg. 8, paragraph 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the informality objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: No prior art of record teach and/or fairly suggest the device for influencing biological processes in a living tissue of claim 3, wherein the computation substitute x for the time t is defined as claimed, within the context of all the limitations of parent claim 1.
The closest prior art of record, EP 2050481 as cited above, teaches the device as in claim 1 with a computational substitute x for the time t, but discloses a different expression of x for the time t (see Kafka claim 1).
Conclusion
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791