DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11, 13, 16, 54, and 56 are pending. Claims 12, 14, 19-36, 39-53, 55, and 57-77 were cancelled previously. Claims 15, 17-18, and 37-38 are now cancelled. Claims 54 and 56 are withdrawn. Claims 1-11, 13, and 16 are examined herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues against the written description rejection of claims 1 and 3-4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) on the grounds that the specification discloses that inhibiting genes Poxl-6 and TGL4, increases lipid yield by Y. lipolytica. Additionally, overexpression of Y. lipolytica stearyl coA desaturase, acetyl-CoA carboxylase, and diacylglyceride acyl-transferase genes yielded a strain with fast cell growth and high lipid titer (Arguments, page 7, Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) paragraph 2).
In response, this rejection is not persuasive because claim 3 recites a broad genus of a gene encoding an enzyme that enhances metabolism of polyalkylene residues or essential enzymes to increase flux of polyalkylene-derived compounds through fatty acid biosynthetic pathways. Claim 4 recites a broad genus of genes encoding a transport protein that increases the uptake of polyalkylene residues from the medium. The claims do not recite inhibiting a gene. Furthermore, Applicant’s genes do not include a gene encoding a transport protein. Applicant has not explained whether any of the listed enzymes (stearyl coA desaturase, acetyl-CoA carboxylase, and diacylglyceride acyl-transferase) increase influx of polyalkylene-derived compounds through fatty acid biosynthetic pathways or whether these enzymes enhance metabolism of polyalkylene residues, only that the overexpression of genes encoding stearyl coA desaturase, acetyl-CoA carboxylase, and diacylglyceride acyl-transferase yielded a strain with fast cell growth and high lipid titer. Thus, the limited number of species of genes are not linked to the functional claim language and furthermore the number of species is not representative of the claimed genera.
Applicant argues against the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 on the grounds that Stubblefield fails to disclose or suggest a method of bioconverting a polyalkylene-containing plastic material including mixing a depolymerized residue with an adjuvant to form a culture medium, where the adjuvant does not include oleic acid, as claimed (Arguments, paragraph 1 on page 9).
Applicant argues further against the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 on the grounds of unexpected results, pointing to the increased titer of fatty acids with OP5 medium compared to OP4 medium (Arguments, paragraph 4 on page 9 and paragraph 2 on page 48 of the specification).
In response, there is a nexus lacking between these results and the invention as claimed because the claims do not require the OP5 medium components. For example, the OP5 medium includes the surfactant Tween® 80 (Specification, line 26 on page 55) as well as a PP oil comprising specific fatty alcohols such as 2-hexyl-1-decanol, 2-methyl-1-decanol, and branched alkanes 2,4 dimethyl-heptene and 2,6 dimethyl-octene (Specification lines 11-15 on page 53).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because there is an extraneous closing parenthesis and comma in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(New Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment) Claims 1-11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “mixing the depolymerized residue with an adjuvant selected from a surfactant, a nitrogen source, a phosphate source, a carbohydrate source, a source of mineral, or a combination thereof, to form a culture medium, wherein when a surfactant is present in the culture medium, the surfactant comprises a synthetic nonionic biodegradable surfactant.” It is unclear whether the surfactant is required or not given the conditional language (“when a surfactant is present”). Furthermore, the claim recites a broad limitation (a surfactant) and a narrow limitation (synthetic nonionic biodegradable surfactant) within the same claim.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the polyalkylene containing plastic material comprises polypropylene, or a combination thereof.” Since only polypropylene is recited, it is unclear what the combination is.
Claim 16 is indefinite because there are multiple reasonable interpretations of the claim. In one interpretation, the product produced is limited to the fatty acid product, which is not a polyhydroxyalkanoate (closed to the presence of additional products). In a second interpretation, the product produced includes the fatty acid product, but excludes any polyhydroxyalkanoate (open to the presence of additional products but excludes the presence of polyhydroxyalkanoate). The discrepancy is caused by the combination of “the product produced comprises a fatty acid product” and ”the product produced is not a polyhydroxyalkanoate.”
Claims 2-11, 13, and 16 are rejected for depending from a rejected base claim and not rectifying the sources of indefiniteness discussed above.
(Maintained Rejection) Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites the organism of step (c) comprises a gene, wherein the gene encodes an enzyme that enhances metabolism of polyalkylene residues or encodes essential enzymes to increase flux of polyalkylene-derived compounds through fatty acid biosynthetic pathways.
Claim 4 recites the organism of step (c) comprises a gene, wherein the gene encodes a transport protein that increases the uptake of polyalkylene residues from the medium.
Polyalkylene materials include a diverse range of polymers such as polypropylene, polyester, polystyrene, polyurethane, polyethylene and others.
The specification discloses measuring the growth of Yarrowia lipolytic ATCC strain 46482 on OP5 medium (lines 21-22 and 32 on page 49), which contains polypropylene residues (lines 12 on page 44). The specification discloses that introducing genes that help with organophosphate degradation improved cell lipid content (lines 30-31 on page 59). The specification also discloses the growth of Escherichia coli and Bacillus subtilis in polyester derived medium (lines 6-7 on page 8, Figure 19), as well as the growth of Candida famata in polyester derived medium (lines 23-25 on page 7, Figure 10).
In summary, the specification does not disclose any genes encoding an enzyme that enhances metabolism of polyalkylene residues, genes encoding essential enzymes to increase flux of polyalkylene-derived compounds through fatty acid biosynthetic pathways, or genes encoding a transport protein that increases the uptake of polyalkylene residues from the medium. None of the examples in the specification involve microorganisms genetically modified to include any specific genes with the claimed functions, nor are any native genes within these microorganisms with the claimed functions disclosed.
Danso et al. (Applied and environmental microbiology 85.19 (2019): e01095-19), which is a review article summarizing the state of the art with respect to the microbial degradation of plastics, teaches that a variety of microorganisms have been affiliated with assumed polyethylene degradation (paragraph bridging pages 6-7). However, Danso points out that the authors report on degradation of the polymers using commercial polymers that possibly contain chemical additives and degradation was determined by measuring weight loss and by Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (paragraph 2 on page 7). Weight loss and surface structure changes are most likely attributed to the degradation of chemical additives (paragraph 2 on page 7). None of these studies revealed biochemical mechanisms and enzymes involved in PE breakdown (paragraph 2 on page 7). Penicillium-derived laccase is potentially involved in PE breakdown, but no detailed biochemical characterization was performed, and no sequence of the protein or the corresponding gene was deposited (paragraph 2 on page 7).
With respect to polystyrene, Danso teaches that some brown rot fungi are able to depolymerize polystyrene. However, no enzymes involved in the depolymerizing reaction have been identified (paragraph 6 on page 8). Danso teaches that some bacteria are capable of metabolizing the monomer (styrene) (bottom paragraph on page 8). The key enzymes are a styrene monooxygenase, a styrene oxide isomerase, and a phenylacetaldehyde dehydrogenase (paragraph 1 on page 9).
With respect to polypropylene degradation, no defined enzymes or pathways that are responsible for the degradation are known (bottom paragraph on page 9).
With respect to polyurethane, some bacterial lipases are reported to act on ester-based polyurethane, including PueB lipase from Pseudomonas chlororaphis bottom paragraph on page 5). No enzymes have yet been described acting on polyurethane ethers (paragraph 6 on page 6).
Notably, there are no transport proteins that increase the uptake of polyalkylene residues from the medium or essential enzymes that increase flux of polyalkylene-derived compounds through fatty acid biosynthetic pathways taught by the prior art. Although some enzymes that enhance metabolism of polyalkylene residues are known for specific polyalkylenes, such as ester-based polyurethane and polystyrene, no species of enzymes that enhance metabolism of other polyalkylene residues (e.g. polypropylene, polyethylene, and polyurethane ethers) are taught by the prior art.
Lastly, there is no structure-function relationship disclosed in the specification or the prior art regarding enzymes that enhance metabolism of polyalkylene residues, essential enzymes that increase flux of polyalkylene-derived compounds through fatty acid biosynthetic pathways or transport proteins that increase the uptake of polyalkylene residues from the medium.
Based on the above analysis, the person of ordinary skill in the art would not have recognized that the inventors had possession of the claimed genus of genes encoding an enzyme that enhances metabolism of polyalkylene residues, genes encoding essential enzymes to increase flux of polyalkylene-derived compounds through fatty acid biosynthetic pathways, or genes encoding a transport protein that increase the uptake of polyalkylene residues from the medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following rejections are necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubblefield et al. (US 2018/0230286 A1; cited on the IDS filed on 12/22/2022) in view of Kuttiraja et al. (Applied biochemistry and biotechnology 180.8 (2016): 1586-1600; cited in the IDS filed on 5/15/2023) as evidenced by Tao et al. (Journal of microbiology and biotechnology 33.2 (2022): 151).
Stubblefield teaches preparing a growth medium from polypropylene from a carpet waste ([0082]). Stubblefield teaches heating the polypropylene, then adding a dispersant mix comprising the oleic acid ([0083]). The polypropylene mixture is heated again and mixed with a diluent to form a culture medium ([0085]). Stubblefield also teaches combining the depolymerized residue with lactose, glucose, fructose, maltose, ribose (carbohydrate sources) or yeast extract (Stubblefield claim 14). Yeast extract comprises nitrogen, phosphate, and minerals, as evidenced by Tao (page 151, Introduction, paragraph 1; page 156, paragraphs 2-3). Stubblefield teaches dispersing the polymeric material by adding a non-ionic biodegradable surfactant (Stubblefield claims 9-10). Heating the polypropylene is performed at 300°C ([0084]), at which temperature the polypropylene is pyrolyzed ([0041]). Stubblefield then cultures Yarrowia lipolytica within the culture medium ([0087]). The culture medium comprising the polypropylene is taken up by the cell ([0090]).
Although Stubblefield exemplifies that oleic acid is present in the growth medium ([0083]), whereas the instant claims exclude oleic acid, Stubblefield also teaches that the solvent used in depolymerizing and/or dispersing the polymeric material can include acetic acid, formic acid, paraffin oil, olive oil, oleic acid, linoleic acid ([006]). Stubblefield teaches that the solvent may further comprise a non-ionic biodegradable surfactant such as polysorbate 20 ([0036]-[0037]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace oleic acid with any art-recognized equivalent, such as paraffin oil, for the same purpose (depolymerizing and/or dispersing the polymeric material). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Per MPEP 2144.06(II) (“substituting equivalents known for the same purpose”), an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. It would have been further obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to include any of the non-ionic biodegradable surfactants, including polysorbate 20 (“synthetic non-ionic biodegradable surfactant”), with the oil. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in these modifications.
Stubblefield does not teach accumulating a fatty acid product (claims 1 and 16).
Kuttiraja teaches culturing Yarrowia lipolytica in a glycerol culture medium to produce lipids comprising fatty acids (Abstract and paragraph bridging pages 1588-1589, paragraph 1 on page 1599 and Table 4).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stubblefield by adding glycerol to the culture medium and to culture Yarrowia lipolytica in order to produce lipids, which contain fatty acids. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the modification given that Kuttiraja teaches that Yarrowia lipolytica is capable of utilizing glycerol to produce lipids.
Regarding claim 2, Yarrowia lipolytica increases the uptake of the polypropylene residues from the medium (Stubblefield [0090]). Yarrowia lipolytica also necessarily expresses a fatty acid biosynthetic pathway because Y. lipolytica synthesizes lipids, which contain fatty acids (Kuttiraja Abstract).
Regarding claims 6-8, Stubblefield teaches preparing a growth medium from polypropylene from a carpet waste ([0082]), so the plastic material consists essentially of polypropylene and is also post-consumer waste material.
Regarding claim 9, the polypropylene is derived from carpet waste, which is a plastic article.
Regarding claim 10, Stubblefield teaches that depolymerizing may be performed by heating the mixture to greater than 300°C ([0041]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 350°C or greater.
Regarding claim 13, Stubblefield does not teach the carbon to nitrogen ratio of the culture medium.
Kuttiraja teaches optimizing the substrate concentration and carbon/nitrogen ratio to produce the maximum amount of lipids using Yarrowia lipolytica (Abstract and Figure 4). Low C/N ratios favor biomass production (Figure 4A), whereas higher C/N ratios favor lipid production (Figure 4C). Similarly, the yield (g/g) of biomass and lipids is dependent on the C/N ratio (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation the carbon to nitrogen ratio of the culture medium in order to maximize the production of lipids by Yarrowia lipolytica. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the routine optimization of C/N ratio, given that C/N ratio has a predictable effect on biomass and lipid production.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubblefield et al. (US 2018/0230286 A1; cited on the IDS filed on 12/22/2022) in view of Kuttiraja et al. (Applied biochemistry and biotechnology 180.8 (2016): 1586-1600; cited in the IDS filed on 5/15/2023) as evidenced by Tao et al. (Journal of microbiology and biotechnology 33.2 (2022): 151), as applied to claims 1-2, 6-10, 13, and 16 above, further evidenced by Jach (Molecules 27.7 (2022): 2300).
Regarding claim 5, Yarrowia lipolytica is widespread in nature and can be easily isolated from various environments including water and soil, as evidenced by Jach (1. Introduction, paragraph 2), so the organism is naturally occurring.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubblefield et al. (US 2018/0230286 A1; cited on the IDS filed on 12/22/2022) in view Kuttiraja et al. (Applied biochemistry and biotechnology 180.8 (2016): 1586-1600; cited in the IDS filed on 5/15/2023) as evidenced by Tao et al. (Journal of microbiology and biotechnology 33.2 (2022): 151), as applied to claims 1-2, 6-10, 13, and 16 above, further evidenced by Hujuri et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science 119.4 (2011): 2318-2325).
See discussion of Stubblefield and Kuttiraja above, which is incorporated into this rejection as well.
Regarding claim 11, polypropylene pyrolysis degradation products comprise hydrocarbons within the claimed range of C6-C36 as evidenced by Hujuri (see Figure 7). The hydrocarbons comprise alkenes (Hujuri page 23,22, right column, bottom paragraph). Furthermore, the alkenes are branched: see page 2323, reaction 4a and 4b of top formula of Hujuri.
Double Patenting
The following rejections are necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 13, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,037,466 (‘466) in view of Stubblefield et al. (US 2018/0230286 A1; cited on the IDS filed on 12/22/2022) and Kuttiraja et al. (Applied biochemistry and biotechnology 180.8 (2016): 1586-1600; cited in the IDS filed on 5/15/2023) s evidenced by Tao et al. (Journal of microbiology and biotechnology 33.2 (2022): 151), by Hujuri et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science 119.4 (2011): 2318-2325), and by Jach (Molecules 27.7 (2022): 2300).
Claim 1 of ‘466 recites a method of producing a biopolymer comprising introducing a host cell into a microbial culture medium, accumulating the biopolymer in the host cell by culturing the host cell and recovering the biopolymer produced by the host cell, wherein the culture medium is prepared from a polymeric plastic material by heating the plastic material with a solvent to depolymerize the plastic material and form a bioavailable polymeric mixture, processing the mixture to form a resin, and combining the resin with an adjuvants to form the microbial culture medium.
Claim 5 of ‘466 recites that the plastic material is derived from a carpet fiber.
Claim 7 of ‘466 recites heating the non-biodegradable polymeric plastic material with a solvent at a temperature from 50°C. to 300°C.
Claim 8 of ‘466 recites wherein depolymerizing the non-degradable polymeric plastic material is not carried out by enzymatic reaction.
Claim 9 of ‘466 recites introducing a host cell into the microbial culture medium, accumulating the biological material, wherein the culture medium is prepared from a polymeric plastic material by heating the plastic material with a solvent to depolymerize the plastic material and form a bioavailable polymeric mixture, processing the mixture to form a resin, and combining the resin within one or more adjuvants to form the medium.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 6-8, claims 1, 5, and 7-9 of ‘466 do not recite that the plastic material consists essentially of polypropylene from post-consumer waste material.
Stubblefield teaches preparing a growth medium from polypropylene from a carpet waste ([0082]). Stubblefield teaches mixing the depolymerized residue of polypropylene with yeast extract powder ([0085]) or sugars, which are carbohydrates (Stubblefield claim 14), or a non-ionic biodegradable surfactant (Stubblefield claims 9-10). Yeast extract comprises nitrogen, phosphate, and minerals, as evidenced by Tao (page 151, Introduction, paragraph 1; page 156, paragraphs 2-3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Stubblefield’s carpet waste-derived polypropylene in the method of claims 1, 5, and 7-9 of ‘466. Claim 5 of ‘466 already recites that the polymeric plastic material is derived from a carpet fiber. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the polypropylene derived from carpet waste for the method of claims 1, 5, and 7-9 of ‘466.
Claim 9 of ‘466 does not recite that the adjuvant is a synthetic nonionic biodegradable surfactant that does not comprise an oleic acid.
Regarding the step (b) of claim 1, it would have been further obvious to combine any of Stubblefield’s adjuvants (such as sugars and yeast extract) and a dispersant with the culture medium in the method of claims 1, 5, and 7-9 of ‘466 in order to enhance its nutrients for microbial growth. It would also have been obvious to combine the non-ionic biodegradable surfactant taught by Stubblefield in order to disperse the depolymerized residues. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in these modifications.
Although Stubblefield exemplifies that oleic acid is present in the growth medium as a dispersant ([0083]), whereas the instant claims exclude oleic acid, Stubblefield also teaches that the solvent used in depolymerizing and/or dispersing the polymeric material can include acetic acid, formic acid, paraffin oil, olive oil, oleic acid, or linoleic acid ([006]). Stubblefield teaches that the solvent may further comprise a non-ionic biodegradable surfactant such as polysorbate 20 ([0036]-[0037]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace oleic acid with any art-recognized equivalent, such as paraffin oil for the same purpose (depolymerizing and/or dispersing the polymeric material). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Per MPEP 2144.06(II) (“substituting equivalents known for the same purpose”), an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. It would have been further obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to include any of the non-ionic biodegradable surfactants, including polysorbate 20, with the oil. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in these modifications.
Claim 9 of ’466 does not recite that the biological material is a fatty acid product (claims 1 and 16).
Kuttiraja teaches culturing Yarrowia lipolytica in a glycerol culture medium to produce lipids comprising fatty acids (Abstract and paragraph bridging pages 1588-1589, Table 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of claim 9 of ‘466 by adding glycerol to the culture medium and to culture Yarrowia lipolytica in order to produce lipids, which contain fatty acids. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the modification given that Kuttiraja teaches that Yarrowia lipolytica is capable of utilizing glycerol to produce lipids.
Regarding instant claim 2, Yarrowia lipolytica necessarily expresses a fatty acid biosynthetic pathway because Y. lipolytica synthesizes lipids, which contain fatty acids (Kuttiraja Abstract).
Regarding instant claim 5, Yarrowia lipolytica is widespread in nature and can be easily isolated from various environments including water and soil, as evidenced by Jach (1. Introduction, paragraph 2), so the organism is naturally occurring.
Regarding claim 9, the polypropylene is derived from carpet waste, which is a plastic article.
Regarding claim 10, claim 7 of ‘466 recites heating the non-biodegradable polymeric plastic material with a solvent at a temperature from 50°C. to 300°C, which is less than the claimed range.
Stubblefield teaches that depolymerizing may be performed by heating the mixture to greater than 300°C ([0041]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 350°C or greater.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the heating conditions of Stubblefield to the method of claim 5 of ‘466. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both methods are aimed at depolymerizing the same plastic material (carpet waste).
Regarding claim 11, polypropylene pyrolysis degradation products comprise hydrocarbons within the claimed range of C6-C36 as evidenced by Hujuri (see Figure 7). The hydrocarbons comprise alkenes (Hujuri page 23,22, right column, bottom paragraph). Furthermore, the alkenes are branched: see page 2323, reaction 4a and 4b of top formula of Hujuri.
Regarding claim 13, claim 9 of ‘466 does not recite the carbon to nitrogen ratio of the culture medium.
Kuttiraja teaches optimizing the substrate concentration and carbon/nitrogen ratio to produce the maximum amount of lipids using Yarrowia lipolytica (Abstract and Figure 4). Low C/N ratios favor biomass production (Figure 4A), whereas higher C/N ratios favor lipid production (Figure 4C). Similarly, the yield (g/g) of biomass and lipids is dependent on the C/N ratio (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation the carbon to nitrogen ratio of the culture medium of claim 9 of ‘466 in order to maximize the production of lipids by Yarrowia lipolytica. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the routine optimization of C/N ratio, given that C/N ratio has a predictable effect on biomass and lipid production.
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 13, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,822,469 (‘489) in view of Stubblefield et al. (US 2018/0230286 A1; cited on the IDS filed on 12/22/2022) and ) and Kuttiraja et al. (Applied biochemistry and biotechnology 180.8 (2016): 1586-1600; cited in the IDS filed on 5/15/2023) as evidenced by Tao et al. (Journal of microbiology and biotechnology 33.2 (2022): 151), by Hujuri et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science 119.4 (2011): 2318-2325) and by Jach (Molecules 27.7 (2022): 2300).
Claim 1 of ‘469 recites a method of making a microbial culture medium from a polymeric plastic material comprising heating the plastic material with a solvent to depolymerize the material and form a mixture, processing the mixture to form a resin, and combining the resin with an adjuvant to form the medium.
Claim 3 of ‘469 recites that the plastic material is derived from carpet fiber.
Claim 8 of ‘469 recites that the heating is from 50°C to 300°C.
Claim 9 of ‘469 recites adding one or more adjuvants selected from lactose, glucose, fructose, maltose, ribose, and yeast extract. Glucose, fructose, maltose, and ribose are carbohydrate sources. Yeast extract contains nitrogen, phosphate and minerals as evidenced by Tao (page 151, Introduction, paragraph 1; page 156, paragraphs 2-3).
Claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ’469 do not recite introducing an organism into the culture medium and accumulating a fatty acid product produced by the organism (claims 1 and 16).
Regarding instant claims 1 and 6-8, claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469 do not recite that the plastic material consists essentially of polypropylene from post-consumer waste material. Claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469 do not recite that the adjuvant is a synthetic non-ionic biodegradable surfactant that is not oleic acid.
Stubblefield teaches preparing a growth medium from polypropylene from a carpet waste ([0082]). Stubblefield teaches heating the polypropylene, then adding a dispersant mix comprising oleic acid ([0083]). The heating is performed at 300°C ([0084]), at which temperature the polypropylene is pyrolyzed ([0041]). The polypropylene mixture is heated again and mixed with a diluent to form a culture medium ([0085]). Stubblefield then cultures Yarrowia lipolytica within the culture medium ([0087]).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-8, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Stubblefield’s carpet waste-derived polypropylene in the method of claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469 and to add Yarrowia lipolytica to the microbial culture medium. Claim 3 of ‘469 already recites that the polymeric plastic material is derived from a carpet fiber. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that polypropylene derived from carpet waste would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the polypropylene for the method of claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469. In addition, since the method of claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469 produces a microbial culture medium, it would have been obvious to add a microorganism such as Yarrowia lipolytica to the medium and to culture the microorganism.
Regarding the step (b) of claim 1, it would have been further obvious to combine any of Stubblefield’s adjuvants (such as sugars and yeast extract) and a dispersant with the culture medium in the method of claims 1, 5, and 7-9 of ‘466 in order to enhance its nutrients for microbial growth. It would also have been obvious to combine the non-ionic biodegradable surfactant taught by Stubblefield in order to disperse the depolymerized residues. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in these modifications.
Although Stubblefield exemplifies that oleic acid is present in the growth medium ([0083]), whereas the instant claims exclude oleic acid, Stubblefield also teaches that the solvent used in depolymerizing and/or dispersing the polymeric material can include acetic acid, formic acid, paraffin oil, olive oil, oleic acid, or linoleic acid ([006]) and the oil can include a nonionic biodegradable surfactant ([0036] such as polysorbate 20 ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace oleic acid with any art-recognized equivalent, such as paraffin oil, for the same purpose (depolymerizing and/or dispensing the polymeric material). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Per MPEP 2144.06(II) (“substituting equivalents known for the same purpose”), an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. It would have been further obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to include any of the non-ionic biodegradable surfactants, including polysorbate 20, with the oil. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in these modifications.
Stubblefield does not teach what product is produced by culturing Yarrowia lipolytica.
Kuttiraja teaches culturing Yarrowia lipolytica in a glycerol culture medium to produce lipid comprising fatty acids (Abstract and paragraph bridging pages 1588-1589, and Table 4).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, it would have been further obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469 modified by Stubblefield by adding glycerol to the culture medium and to culture Yarrowia lipolytica in order to produce lipids, which contain fatty acids. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the modification given that Kuttiraja teaches that Yarrowia lipolytica is capable of utilizing glycerol to produce lipids.
Regarding instant claim 2, Yarrowia lipolytica necessarily expresses a fatty acid biosynthetic pathway because Y. lipolytica synthesizes lipids, which contain fatty acids (Kuttiraja Abstract and Table 4).
Regarding instant claim 5, Yarrowia lipolytica is widespread in nature and can be easily isolated from various environments including water and soil, as evidenced by Jach (1. Introduction, paragraph 2), so the organism is naturally occurring.
Regarding claim 9, the polypropylene is derived from carpet waste, which is a plastic article.
Regarding claim 10, claim 8 of ‘469 recites heating the non-biodegradable polymeric plastic material with a solvent at a temperature from 50°C. to 300°C, which is less than the claimed range.
Stubblefield teaches that depolymerizing may be performed by heating the mixture to greater than 300°C ([0041]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 350°C or greater.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the heating conditions of Stubblefield to the method of claim 3 of ‘469 modified by Stubblefield and Kuttiraja. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both methods are aimed at depolymerizing the same plastic material (carpet waste).
Regarding claim 11, polypropylene pyrolysis degradation products comprise hydrocarbons within the claimed range of C6-C36 as evidenced by Hujuri (see Figure 7). The hydrocarbons comprise alkenes (Hujuri page 23,22, right column, bottom paragraph). Furthermore, the alkenes are branched: see page 2323, reaction 4a and 4b of top formula of Hujuri.
Regarding claim 13, claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469 do not recite the carbon to nitrogen ratio of the culture medium.
Kuttiraja teaches optimizing the substrate concentration and carbon/nitrogen ratio to produce the maximum amount of lipids using Yarrowia lipolytica (Abstract and Figure 4). Low C/N ratios favor biomass production (Figure 4A), whereas higher C/N ratios favor lipid production (Figure 4C). Similarly, the yield (g/g) of biomass and lipids is dependent on the C/N ratio (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation the carbon to nitrogen ratio of the culture medium of in the method of claims 1, 3, and 8-9 of ‘469 modified by Stubblefield and Kuttiraja in order to maximize the production of lipids by Yarrowia lipolytica. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the routine optimization of C/N ratio, given that C/N ratio has a predictable effect on biomass and lipid production.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/CANDICE LEE SWIFT/Examiner, Art Unit 1657