DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 19 JUNE 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the amendment of claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 13-14, and 17 and the cancellation of claim 2 have been acknowledged.
Pending Claims: 1, 3-22
Withdrawn Claims: 20-22
Cancelled Claims: 2
In view of the amendment to the drawings, the objections to the drawings have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to the specification, the objections to the specification have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claims 1, 3-5, and 13-14, the objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claims 7, 9, and 17, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 1 via the inclusion of the limitations of cancelled claim 2, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been modified to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 19 JUNE 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claim 1, that Gui does not teach the limitation “wherein the recovery means are arranged to lead at least a part of the separated liquid stream to the second flotation unit” because Gui teaches an intervening buffer tank that combines a solids containing stream with the liquid stream before both streams are added to the second flotation unit. This is differentiated from the instant application wherein the solids containing stream and the liquid stream are added to the flotation unit directly and via separate lines. Therefore, Gui does not teach the limitations of instant claim 1 and instant claim 1 is allowable over Vollert in view of Gui (Arguments filed 19 JUNE 2026, Page 10 to Page 12, Paragraph 5).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the lack of a buffer tank or the direct addition of the liquid stream from the dewatering system to the second flotation unit) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, buffer tank taught by Gui directly feeds the second flotation unit with no other destination. There is no other possible outcome for the filtrate except to be lead to the second flotation unit. Therefore, Gui reads upon the added limitation of instant claim 1 and instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that instant claims 3-19 are allowable because they depend upon instant claim 1 and instant claim 1 is allowable while none of the other cited prior art teaches the newly added limitation of instant claim 1 (Arguments filed 19 JUNE 2026, Page 12, Paragraph 6 to Page 13).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, instant claims 3-19 are not allowable because instant claim 1 is not allowable in light of Vollert in view of Gui and instant claims 3-19 depend upon instant claim 1. The argument against the other prior art is moot because they are not used to teach any limitations of instant claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollert, International Patent Application No. WO 2020037357 A1 (hereinafter Vollert), in view of Gui et al, Chinese Patent Application No. CN 102430480 A (hereinafter Gui).
Regarding Claim 1, Vollert discloses a flotation circuit (i.e., a flotation arrangement comprising; Figs. 1, Circuit A, Fig. 10; Page 3, Lines 1-5)
including a plant for recovering metals from an ore with a fines flotation element (i.e., a first flotation section including a first flotation unit comprising; Fig. 1, 10, #7), specifically mentioned to be a conventional Outotec tank cell which includes a mechanical agitator in an example (i.e., a mechanical agitator; Page 20, Lines 4-7),
followed by a coarse flotation element (i.e., a second flotation section including a second flotation unit, which comprises; Fig. 1, #25, Fig. 10, #19; Page 7, Lines 11-32), specifically utilizing a HydroFloatTM cell which is a fluidized bed separator (i.e., i) a fluid bed device comprising devices for creating a fluid bed, and/or ii) a froth device comprising devices for creating a froth layer, wherein particles are fed for interaction with the froth layer in the froth layer, under the froth layer in close proximity thereof, or above the froth layer, or any combinations thereof; Page 19, Lines 20-22),
wherein the rougher tailings (Fig. 10, #13) from the fines flotation (Fig. 10, #7) are pumped to a cyclone pack (i.e., wherein the flotation arrangement further comprises a dewatering system for separating solid material and liquid to obtain a dewatered solid material stream and a separated liquid stream; Fig. 10, #91) to remove fines with as much water as possible while the underflow (Fig. 10, #95) gravity feeds CrossFlowTM separators (Fig. 10, #97) which in turn send the underflow (Fig. 10, #101) of the separators to the HydroFloatTM coarse flotation cells (i.e., said dewatering system is arranged before the second flotation unit and connected thereto for leading said dewatered solid material stream to the second flotation unit; Fig. 10, #19) wherein the overflows of the cyclone bank (Fig. 10, #93) and separators (Fig. 10, #99) are sent to a tails thickener via an overflow line (i.e., the flotation arrangement comprises recovery means for recovering the separated liquid stream; Fig. 10, #93, 75; Page 22, Line 9 to Page 23, Line 30).
Vollert does not teach wherein the recovery means are arranged to lead at least part of the separated liquid stream to the second flotation unit.
However, Gui teaches a centrifugal dewatering machine (Fig. 2, D) between two flotation columns (Fig. 2, C and H) where the filtrate from the dewatering (Fig. 2, #6) is sent to a buffer tank (Fig. 2, F) to be combined with material that has been sent to a ball mill (Fig. 2, E) and sent, via a feed line (i.e., wherein the recovery means; Fig. 2, #9) to the second flotation column (i.e., are arranged to lead at least part of the separated liquid stream to the second flotation unit; Fig. 2, Paragraph 0025, Machine Translation) for the purpose of the complete dissociation of bound minerals from a previous flotation concentrate which will improve the quality and recovery rate of the subsequent flotation concentrate (Paragraph 0012, Machine Translation).
Gui is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a flotation process (Paragraph 0007). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the flotation circuit as taught by Vollert with sending the water from dewatering to combine with ground material from a ball mill to a second flotation as taught by Gui because the water and ball mill would cause a complete dissociation of bound minerals from a previous flotation concentrate which will improve the quality and recovery rate of the subsequent flotation concentrate.
Regarding Claim 3, Vollert further discloses that the coarse flotation element (i.e., the second flotation unit comprises; Fig. 1, #25, Fig. 10, #19; Page 7, Lines 11-32) specifically utilizes a HydroFloatTM cell which is a fluidized bed separator (i.e., a fluid bed device comprising devices for creating a fluid bed; Page 19, Lines 20-22).
Regarding Claim 4, Vollert further discloses that the coarse flotation element (i.e., the second flotation unit comprises; Fig. 1, #25, Fig. 10, #19; Page 7, Lines 11-32) specifically utilizes a HydroFloatTM cell which is a fluidized bed separator (i.e., a fluid bed device comprising devices for creating a fluid bed; Page 19, Lines 20-22) and that process water, frother, and air from storage units (Fig. 10, #89) are added to the HydroFloatTM cells (i.e., a froth device comprising devices for creating a froth layer, wherein particles are fed for interaction with the froth layer in the froth layer, under the froth layer in close proximity thereof, or above the froth layer, or any combinations thereof; Page 23, Lines 20-21).
Regarding Claim 5, Vollert further discloses a fines flotation element (i.e., a first flotation section including a first flotation unit comprising; Fig. 1, 10, #7), specifically mentioned to be a conventional Outotec tank cell which includes an inlet in the bottom area of the tank, and outlet also near the bottom, and an overflow launder for concentrate at the top of the tank (i.e., ii) at least one device comprising a flotation vessel and an inlet connected for receiving feed to be handled in said flotation vessel and arranged to a lower part of the flotation vessel, and overflow means for removing flotation concentrate, arranged to an upper part of the flotation vessel, and an outlet for removing underflow, arranged to a lower part of the flotation vessel; Page 20, Lines 4-7).
Regarding Claim 6, Vollert further discloses wherein the rougher tailings (Fig. 10, #13) from the fines flotation (Fig. 10, #7) are pumped to a cyclone pack (i.e., wherein the dewatering system is a dewatering cyclone; Fig. 10, #91).
Regarding Claim 7, the limitation “wherein the dewatering system is arranged to provide a solid material stream with a solids content of above 50 weight-%, preferably 60 to 80 weight-%, of the total weight of the stream” is directed toward a manner or method by which the invention is used and is not subject to patentability. The manner or method in which an apparatus is to be utilized is not subject to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself (In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Regarding Claim 8, Vollert further discloses that the fines flotation element (i.e., a first flotation section including a first flotation unit comprising; Fig. 1, 10, #7), is a conventional Outotec tank cell which includes a mechanical agitator (Page 20, Lines 4-7) and that conventional flotation mechanical cells consist of an impellor or stator to suspend particles, disperse gas, and facilitate bubble-particle contact (wherein the mechanical agitator comprises means for mixing a slurry and creating bubbles therein; Page 19, Lines 1-15).
Regarding Claim 10, Vollert further discloses that the fines flotation element (i.e., a first flotation section including a first flotation unit comprising; Fig. 1, 10, #7), is a conventional Outotec tank cell which includes a mechanical agitator (Page 20, Lines 4-7) and that conventional flotation mechanical cells consist of a froth zone which aids in the separation of valuable bubble-particle (wherein the first flotation unit comprises a flotation vessel and the flotation vessel comprises devices for creating a froth layer; Page 19, Lines 1-15).
Regarding Claim 11, Vollert further discloses that the fines flotation element (i.e., a first flotation section including a first flotation unit comprising; Fig. 1, 10, #7), is a conventional Outotec tank cell which includes a mechanical agitator (Page 20, Lines 4-7) and that conventional flotation mechanical cells consist of an impellor or stator to suspend particles, disperse gas, and facilitate bubble-particle contact (wherein the mechanical agitator comprises means for mixing a slurry and creating bubbles therein; Page 19, Lines 1-15).
Regarding Claim 12, Vollert further discloses a fines flotation element (i.e., a first flotation section including a first flotation unit comprising; Fig. 1, 10, #7), specifically mentioned to be a conventional Outotec tank cell which includes an inlet in the bottom area of the tank, and outlet also near the bottom, and an overflow launder for concentrate at the top of the tank (i.e., ii) at least one device comprising a flotation vessel and an inlet connected for receiving feed to be handled in said flotation vessel and arranged to a lower part of the flotation vessel, and overflow means for removing flotation concentrate, arranged to an upper part of the flotation vessel, and an outlet for removing underflow, arranged to a lower part of the flotation vessel; Page 20, Lines 4-7).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollert in view of Gui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chaiko et al, International Patent Application No. WO 2015095054 A2 (hereinafter Chaiko).
Regarding Claim 9, Vollert teaches in Fig. 7 that flotation cells (Fig. 7, #63 & 69) are used in multiples together in flotation circuits (Page 20, Lines 1-7).
Vollert in view of Gui does not explicitly teach wherein the first flotation unit comprises at least three flotation vessels arranged in series such that the outlet for removing underflow of a preceding flotation vessel is connected to the inlet of a following flotation vessel.
However, Chaiko teaches that a typical flotation circuit comprises one or more rougher cells, with three shown in Fig. 1 (i.e., wherein the first flotation unit comprises at least three flotation vessels arranged in series; Fig. 1, #5a-c), which are connected such that they deliver tails (Fig. 1, #6a-b) to subsequent rougher cells as feed (i.e., such that the outlet for removing underflow of a preceding flotation vessel is connected to the inlet of a following flotation vessel; Page 11, Lines 12-22).
Chaiko is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to flotation to refine ores (Page 1, Lines 8-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the flotation circuit made obvious by Vollert in view of Gui to have three flotation cells connected in series as taught by Chaiko because Chaiko teaches that this configuration is typical and therefore well-known in the art.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollert in view of Gui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tuominen et al, International Patent No. WO 2019008217 A1 (hereinafter Tuominen).
Regarding Claim 13, Vollert in view of Gui does not teach wherein the first flotation unit comprises a flotation vessel and the flotation vessel comprises a closed vessel for a pressurized flotation, wherein flotation concentrate is removed by pressure from the closed vessel.
However, Tuominen teaches that the froth flotation unit comprises a mechanically agitated pressure vessel with a mixer and flotation gas input (i.e., wherein the first flotation unit comprises a flotation vessel and the flotation vessel comprises a closed vessel for a pressurized flotation, wherein flotation concentrate is removed by pressure from the closed vessel; Page 7, Lines 3-12) for the purpose of directing brittle froth more efficiently and reliably towards froth overflow lip and froth overflow collection launder (Page 2, Lines 21-37).
Tuominen is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a froth flotation unit for treating mineral ore particles suspended in slurry (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the flotation circuit made obvious by Vollert in view of Gui with the mechanically agitated pressure vessel with a mixer and flotation gas input as taught by Tuominen because the mechanically agitated pressure vessel with a mixer and flotation gas input would more efficiently and reliably direct brittle froth towards the froth overflow lip and the froth collection launder.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollert in view of Gui as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jameson, US Patent Application No. 20080308502 A1 (hereinafter Jameson).
Regarding Claim 14, Vollert further discloses the use of cleaner and cleaner scavenger flotation cells in Fig. 10 and describes the same cells in a previous example (Fig. 7, #69) as consisting of Jameson cells and Outotec tank cells (Page 20, Lines 8-12).
Vollert in view of Gui does not teach wherein the flotation arrangement further comprises a third flotation unit comprising a flotation vessel that comprises devices for pneumatical gas addition.
However, Jameson teaches a flotation cell (Fig. 1, #21) with a being premixed to the slurry (i.e., wherein the flotation arrangement further comprises a third flotation unit comprising a flotation vessel that comprises devices for pneumatical gas addition; Fig. 1, Paragraph 0070) for the purpose of providing a simple and efficient method of generating fine bubbles and bringing them into contact with particles to be floated (Paragraph 0016).
Jameson is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to the froth flotation process for the recovery or separation of particles from suspensions in liquids (Paragraph 0001). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the flotation circuit made obvious by Vollert in view of Gui with the flotation cell as taught by Jameson because the flotation cell would provide a simple and efficient method of generating fine bubbles and bringing them into contact with particles to be floated.
Regarding Claim 15, Jameson further teaches that the flotation cell (Fig. 1, #21) produces a froth layer (i.e., wherein the flotation vessel comprises a froth separation device comprising devices for creating a froth layer, comprising; Fig. 1, #23)
and comprises a riser (Fig. 1, #20) which discharges an emulsion into the flotation tank seen to be in an upper part of the flotation cell (i.e., an inlet connected for receiving feed to be handled in said flotation vessel and arranged to an upper part of the flotation vessel; Fig. 1)
with a launder (Fig. 1, #25) located on the top of the flotation cell for the collection of froth that flows over the lip (Fig. 1, #24) of the flotation cell (i.e., and an overflow means for removing flotation concentrate, arranged to an upper part of the flotation vessel; Paragraph 0070).
Regarding Claim 16, Jameson further teaches that the contactor (Fig. 1 &4, #16) which feeds the gas-liquid mixture to the flotation cell is a downcomer (i.e., wherein the flotation vessel comprises a downcomer for slurry infeed) and can have an exit nozzle (i.e. the downcomer equipped with a nozzle; Fig. 4, #37) and that the pressure in the downcomer is well above the ambient pressure of the flotation cell (i.e., for feeding pressurized flotation gas in slurry therein; Paragraphs 0081-0082).
Regarding Claim 17, Jameson further teaches that the contactor contains a shock wave bubble generator (i.e., wherein the downcomer comprises an outlet nozzle; Fig. 2, #18) that causes the gas-liquid mixture to reach the speed of sound and generate shockwaves (i.e., configured to induce a supersonic shockwave into the slurry) and is located where the contactor connects to the flotation cell (i.e., as it exits the downcomer; Fig. 2; Paragraph 0073).
Regarding Claim 18, Vollert further teaches comminution circuit (Fig. 1, #3 & 5) that includes a classifier (i.e., comprising a separation unit) which produces an oversize stream which is transferred to a milling step for further comminution (i.e., arranged for preventing large particles entering in the third flotation unit; Page 12, Lines 14-33).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollert in view of Gui in view of Jameson as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Filmer et al, US Patent Application No. 20180111131 A1 (hereinafter Filmer).
Regarding Claim 19, Vollert further teaches that the classifier is done via particle size (Page 12-14).
Vollert in view of Gui in view of Jameson does not explicitly teach wherein the separation unit comprises a grizzly or a grating.
However, Filmer teaches that classification devices are typically screens (i.e., wherein the separation unit comprises a grating; Paragraph 0066) where the oversize material is further ground down for the purpose of liberating sufficient gangue (Paragraph 0044).
Filmer is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to recovering valuable ore with flotation (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the flotation circuit made obvious by Vollert in view of Gui in view of Jameson with the screen classifier as taught by Filmer because the screen classifier is well-known and would identify particles that need more gangue to be liberated prior to entering the flotation circuits.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/Ryan B Huang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772