DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2021/0083201).
Regarding Claims 1-4, Kim teaches a material represented by Compd 28 (page 15):
Comds 28 reads on applicant Formula 1 wherein Ra = phenyl; R2-R7 = H; p = 0, A = phenyl(biphenyl)amine; Rb = H (per claims 1-2).
Comds 28 reads on applicant Formula 2 and 8 wherein Ra1 = phenyl; R12-R17 = H; p = 0; a =0, Ar1 = phenyl; b = 1 L2 = phenylene, Ar2 = phenyl; Rb = H (per claims 3-4)
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches Compd 33 (page 16)
Compd 33 is identical to B1-2 (per claim 6).
Regarding Claims 7-10, Kim teaches an OLED:
[0122] the first electrode of the organic light-emitting device may be an anode,
[0123] the second electrode of the organic light-emitting device may be a cathode,
[0124] the organic layer may include at least one heterocyclic compound represented by Formula 1 (Compds 28 and 33).
[0125] the organic layer may further include a hole transport region between the first electrode and the emission layer and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode,
[0126] the hole transport region may include a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission auxiliary layer, an electron blocking layer, or any combination thereof, and
[0127] the electron transport region may include a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or any combination thereof (per claim 10).
[0128] In one embodiment, the hole transport region may include the heterocyclic compound (Compds 28 and 33) (per claims 7-9) .
[0129] In one or more embodiments, the hole transport region includes a hole transport layer, which includes the heterocyclic compound.
[0130] In one or more embodiments, the emission layer may include the heterocyclic compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0083201) in view of Park (US 2020/0403165).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches Compd 28 used in an OLED (paragraph 117). Compd 28 can contain deuterium but the amount is not indicated.
Park teaches an OLED (abstract). Parks teaches that studies have been made to introduce a deuterium-substituted compound as a material in the light emitting layer in order to improve the longevity and stability of the organic light emitting diode (paragraph 9).
Compounds substituted with deuterium are known to exhibit differences in thermodynamic behavior from those bonded with hydrogen because the atomic mass of deuterium is twice as great as that of hydrogen, which results in lower zero point energy and lower vibration energy level (paragraph 10).
Physicochemical properties involving deuterium, such as chemical bond lengths, etc., appear to be different from those involving hydrogen for hydrogen. In particular, the van der Waals radius of deuterium is smaller than that of hydrogen, because of the smaller stretching amplitude of the C-D bond compared to the C—H bond. Generally, the C-D bond is shorter and stronger than the C—H bond. Upon deuterium substitution, the ground state energy is lowered and a short bond length is formed between the carbon atom and the deuterium atom. Accordingly, the molecular hardcore volume becomes smaller, thereby reducing the electron polarizability can be reduced, and the thin film volume can be increased by weakening the intermolecular interaction (paragraph 11).
Deuterium substitution provides the effect of reducing the crystallinity of the thin film, that is, it makes the thin film amorphous. Generally, a compound having deuterium substitution may be advantageously used to increase the life span and driving characteristics of an OLED and further improve the thermal resistance ( paragraph 12).
The office regards that above teaching as a positive recitation showing the clear advantages of substituting at least one hydrogen atom(s) with deuterium atoms in an OLED compound. The expectation of one or ordinary skill in the art is to achieve a device with a low-voltage driving and long life span.
Therefore, with the expectation of achieve said low-voltage driving and long life span in the device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have incorporated deuterium in Compd 28 at a sufficient level to optimize low-voltage driving and long life span which would have overlapped a portion of the claimed range, absent unexpected results (per claim 5).
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786