DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 24 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (Li), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0275269.
Regarding Claim 21, Li discloses an apparatus (i.e., terminal; see figures 8
and 9) configured to:
transmit a first authentication message to a network function via a non-3GPP
access network (i.e., S303. The terminal sends an Internet key exchange protocol authentication request (IKE_AUTH_Request) message to the N3IWF. The IKE_AUTH_Request message carries identification information of the terminal; see figure 7A), wherein the first authentication message includes a concealed identifier (i.e., identification information carried in a registration request message sent by the terminal to the AMF is an SUCI; see paragraph [0254]);
receive a second authentication message from the network function in response
to the first authentication message, wherein the second authentication message includes an authentication response based on the concealed identifier (i.e., The N3IWF sends a reply message specific to the IKE_AUTH_Request message to the terminal, where the reply message specific to the IKE_AUTH_Request message is used to instruct the terminal to start a 5G authentication procedure. Optionally, the reply message specific to the IKE_AUTH_Request message carries an EAP-5G-Request message/5G-Start message; see figure 7A); and
receive configuration information for accessing a mobile network in response to successful authentication with the mobile network (i.e., S316. The N3IWF forwards the NAS SMC message to the terminal.; see paragraphs [0239]-[0241]).
Regarding Claim 22, Li discloses wherein the concealed identifier comprises a
subscription concealed identifier ("SUCI") (see paragraph [0254]).
Regarding Claim 24, Li discloses wherein the configuration information includes
internet protocol ("IP") access information for accessing a non-3GPP access point ("AP") (see paragraph [0159] and figure 2).
Regarding Claim 40, Li discloses an apparatus (i.e., N3IWF; see figure 7)
comprising:
receives an authentication request message from a first network function to
authenticate a user equipment ("UE") with a mobile network via a non-3GPP access network (i.e., S306. The terminal sends an IKE_AUTH request message to the N3IWF, where the IKE_AUTH request message is used by the terminal to register with an AMF; see figure 7A), wherein the authentication request message includes an identifier of the UE (i.e., the registration request message carries temporary identity information of the terminal, for example, a GUTI or key identifier information ngKSI; see paragraph [0221]);
detect that the identifier is a concealed identifier for the UE, wherein the concealed identifier is indicative of the UE supporting 5G capability (i.e., the IKE_AUTH request message includes an EAP-5G-ReS/5G-NAS message. The EAP-5G-ReS/5G-NAS message includes a NAS-protocol data unit (PDU), the NAS PDU includes a registration request message, and the registration request message is used by the terminal to register with the AMF. the registration request message carries temporary identity information of the terminal, for example, a GUTI; see paragraphs [0218]-[0221]);
select a second network function based on the concealed identifier (i.e., S307. The N3IWF first selects an AMF based on information in the GUTI.; see paragraph [0222]);
transmit the authentication request message to the second network function (i.e., S308. The N3IWF forwards the registration request message to the AMF-1.; see figure 7A); and
receive an authentication response message from the second network function, wherein the authentication response message includes an authentication vector and a permanent identifier for the UE (i.e., S313. The AMF-2 sends the new key nKamf to the AMF-1. the AMF-2 may further send first indication information to the AMF-1, where the first indication information is used to indicate that the terminal and the AMF-2 are connected. the first indication information may be a key identifier currently used by the AMF-2, or may be bit indication information.; see paragraphs [0229]-[0233]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Gundavelli et al. (Gundavelli), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0194728.
Regarding Claim 23, Li discloses the apparatus as described above. Li fails to
disclose wherein the SUCI is transmitted as part of a network access identifier ("NAI"). Gundavelli discloses wherein the SUCI is transmitted as part of a network access identifier ("NAI") (see paragraph [0101]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gundavelli’s invention with Li’s invention for providing efficient management of communication resources as described throughout Gundavelli.
Regarding Claim 28, Li discloses the apparatus wherein: the mobile network
comprises a 4G non-3GPP access network; the apparatus is 4G and 5G capable; and the network function comprises a 4G 3GPP (see paragraphs [0003]-[0004]) as described above. Li fails to disclose a AAA server. Gundavelli discloses a AAA server (see paragraph [0026] and figure 3A). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gundavelli’s invention with Li’s invention for providing efficient management of communication resources as described throughout Gundavelli.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Liu, U.S. Publication No. 2021/0136582.
Regarding Claim 25, Li discloses the apparatus as described above. Li fails to
disclose wherein, in response to receiving a challenge packet, the apparatus is further configured to perform access authentication with the mobile network without performing a full primary network access stratus ("NAS") authentication. Liu discloses wherein, in response to receiving a challenge packet, the apparatus is further configured to perform access authentication with the mobile network without performing a full primary network access stratus ("NAS") authentication (see paragraph [0099]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Li’s invention for establishing a secure association as described throughout Liu.
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Baskaran et al. (Baskaran), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0409939.
Regarding Claim 26, Li discloses the apparatus as described above. Li fails to
disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to determine a failed authentication with the mobile network in response to the received second authentication message. Baskaran discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to determine a failed authentication with the mobile network in response to the received second authentication message (see paragraph [0116]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Baskaran’s invention with Li’s invention for more efficient, secure security as described throughout Baskaran.
Regarding Claim 27, Li discloses the apparatus wherein the apparatus is further configured in response to the apparatus establishing a connection with the non-3GPP access network prior to transmitting the first authentication message (see paragraph [0254]) as described above. Li fails to disclose to receive a request for an identifier of the apparatus. Baskaran discloses to receive a request for an identifier of the apparatus (see paragraph [0106]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Baskaran’s invention with Li’s invention for more efficient, secure security as described throughout Baskaran.
Claim(s) 29, 31, 33, 37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran in view of Li.
Regarding Claim 29, Baskaran discloses an apparatus (i.e., AUSF; see figure
4) configured to:
receive a first authentication message from a network function (i.e., AMF; see
figure 4) to authenticate a user equipment ("UE") with a mobile network, wherein the first authentication message includes an identifier of the UE (i.e., 2. The AMF/SEAF can initiate the authentication by including the received UE ID and UE KDF capabilities in the authentication request message and send the authentication request message to the AUSF. ; see paragraph [0104]);
transmit an authentication request message to the network function, wherein the authentication request message includes the concealed identifier (i.e., 3. The AUSF can send the received UE ID and UE KDF capabilities in the authentication information request message to the UDM/ARPF.; see paragraph [0105]); and
receive an authentication response message from the network function, wherein the authentication response message includes a permanent identifier of the UE (i.e., 5. The UDM/ARPF then sends the network selected KDF in the authentication information response message to the AUSF.; see paragraph [0110]).
Although, Baskaran does not disclose detect that the identifier is a concealed
identifier of the UE, wherein the concealed identifier is indicative of the UE supporting 5G capability as a specified step specific to the claim, Baskaran does teach if the SUCI is received in the authentication information request message, the SIDF (offered by the UDM or located elsewhere) can de-conceal the SUCI to retrieve the SUPI. The UDM/ARPF selects, based on its own network KDF capabilities and the received UE KDF capabilities and UE subscription, the mutually available, the most suitable KDF and/or the KDF with the highest priority in step 4 of figure 4. The network selected KDF can be used for all key derivation involved in the 5GS. Also, see paragraphs [0106]-[0109]. In fact, Baskaran does disclose the step of detecting that the identifier is a concealed identifier of the UE, wherein the concealed identifier is indicative of the UE supporting 5G capability. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Baskaran’s invention for more efficient, secure security as described throughout Baskaran.
Baskaran fails to disclose via a non-3GPP access network.
Li discloses via a non-3GPP access network (see figures 2 and 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Baskaran’s invention with Li’s invention for improving a secure communication capability of a terminal when the terminal accesses a wireless network using different radio access technologies (see paragraph [0004] of Li).
Regarding Claim 39, Baskaran discloses an apparatus (i.e., AUSF; see figure
4) configured to:
receive an authentication request message from a network function (i.e., AMF;
see figure 4) to authenticate a user equipment ("UE") with a mobile network, wherein the authentication request message includes an identifier of the UE and an authentication type (i.e., 2. The AMF/SEAF can initiate the authentication by including the received UE ID and UE KDF capabilities in the authentication request message and send the authentication request message to the AUSF. ; see paragraph [0104]);
detect that the identifier is a concealed identifier of the UE, wherein the concealed identifier is indicative of the UE supporting 5G capability (i.e., If the SUCI is received in the authentication information request message, the SIDF (offered by the UDM or located elsewhere) can de-conceal the SUCI to retrieve the SUPI. The UDM/ARPF selects, based on its own network KDF capabilities and the received UE KDF capabilities and UE subscription, the mutually available, the most suitable KDF and/or the KDF with the highest priority… The network selected KDF can be used for all key derivation involved in the 5GS.; see paragraphs [0106]-[0109]);
de-conceal the concealed identifier to determine a permanent identifier of the UE (i.e., If the SUCI is received in the authentication information request message, the SIDF (offered by the UDM or located elsewhere) can de-conceal the SUCI to retrieve the SUPI.; see paragraph [0106]);
create an authentication response message including the de-concealed identifier of the UE (i.e., The UDM/ARPF then sends the network selected KDF in the authentication information response message to the AUSF; see paragraph [0110]); and
transmit the authentication response message to the network function (step 5 shown in figure 4).
Baskaran fails to disclose via a non-3GPP access network.
Li discloses via a non-3GPP access network (see figures 2 and 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Baskaran’s invention with Li’s invention for improving a secure communication capability of a terminal when the terminal accesses a wireless network using different radio access technologies (see paragraph [0004] of Li).
Regarding Claim 31, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described above. Baskaran further discloses wherein the concealed identifier comprises a subscription concealed identifier ("SUCI") (see paragraph [0102]).
Regarding Claim 33, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described above. Baskaran further discloses wherein the network function comprises a unified data management ("UDM") server (see figure 4).
Regarding Claim 37, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described above. Baskaran further discloses wherein the network function comprises an authentication server function ("AUSF") (see figure 4).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran and Li in view of Gundavelli.
Regarding Claim 30, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described
above. Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to detect the concealed identifier in a portion of a network access identifier ("NAI") that is received as part of the first authentication message. Gundavelli discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to detect the concealed identifier in a portion of a network access identifier ("NAI") that is received as part of the first authentication message (see paragraph [0101]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gundavelli’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for providing efficient management of communication resources as described throughout Gundavelli.
Claim(s) 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran and Li in view of Qiao et al. (Qiao), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0297121.
Regarding Claim 32, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described
above. Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the network function comprises a home subscriber server ("HSS"). Qiao discloses wherein the network function comprises a home subscriber server ("HSS") (see paragraph [0311]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Qiao’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for improving resource utilization by reducing signaling, increasing network capacity and enhancing subscriber experience (see paragraph [0281] of Qiao).
Regarding Claim 34, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described
above. Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to select the UDM server based on routing information associated with the concealed identifier. Qiao discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to select the UDM server based on routing information associated with the concealed identifier (see paragraph [0190]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Qiao’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for improving resource utilization by reducing signaling, increasing network capacity and enhancing subscriber experience (see paragraph [0281] of Qiao).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran and Li in view of Pocha et al. (Pocha), U.S. Patent No. 10,735,995.
Regarding Claim 35, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described
above. Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the apparatus is configured with a service-based interface ("SBI") to represent an authentication server function ("AUSF") and communicate directly with the UDM server. Pocha discloses wherein the apparatus is configured with a service-based interface ("SBI") to represent an authentication server function ("AUSF") and communicate directly with the UDM server (see figure 1B and col. 4, lines 41-56). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Pocha’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for providing flexibility and efficient resource utilization.
Claim(s) 36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran and Li in view of Liu.
Regarding Claim 36, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described
above. Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or an authentication and key agreement ("AKA") authentication vector ("AV") request message. Liu discloses wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or an authentication and key agreement ("AKA") authentication vector ("AV") request message (see paragraphs [0094] and [0141]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for establishing a secure association as described throughout Liu.
Regarding Claim 38, Baskaran and Li disclose the apparatus as described
above. Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement ("AKA") authentication vector ("AV") request message. Liu discloses wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement ("AKA") authentication vector ("AV") request message (see paragraphs [0094] and [0141]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for establishing a secure association as described throughout Liu.
Conclusion
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
February 27, 2026