DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29, 33, 37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran et al. (Baskaran), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0409939 in view of Li et al. (Li), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0275269 in further view of De Kievit et al. (De Kievit), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0409942.
Regarding Claim 29, Baskaran discloses an apparatus for wireless
communication, comprising:
a memory (as required for carrying out invention and steps discussed in Baskaran); and
a processor (as required for carrying out invention and steps discussed in Baskaran) coupled with the memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a first authentication message to authenticate a user equipment (UE), wherein the first authentication message includes an identifier of the UE (i.e., The AMF/SEAF can initiate the authentication by including the received UE ID and UE KDF capabilities in the authentication request message and send the authentication request message to the AUSF; see paragraph [0104] and figure 4);
detect that the identifier is a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) of the UE (i.e., in other words, identity information (UE ID) such as SUCI…see paragraph [0102] and figure 2), the SUCI associated with a fifth generation (5G) 3GPP mobile network, wherein the SUCI indicates that the UE supports 5G capability (i.e., 5G systems as described throughout the Baskaran reference; see paragraph [0002] therefore, the SUCI described in Baskaran is associated with 5G 3GPP and the UE is shown to support 5G capability);
transmit an authentication request message to a network function, wherein the authentication request message includes the SUCI (i.e., The AUSF can send the received UE ID and UE KDF capabilities in the authentication information request message to the UDM/ARPF; see paragraph [0105]), wherein the authentication request message indicates an authentication method or authentication type (i.e., UE KDF as described in paragraph [0093]); and
receive an authentication response message from the network function (i.e., The UDM/ARPF then sends the network selected KDF in the authentication information response message to the AUSF; see paragraph [0110]).
Baskaran fails to disclose with a third generation partnership project (3GPP)
mobile network via a non-3GPP access network and wherein the authentication response message includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the UE and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE.
Li discloses with a third generation partnership project (3GPP)
mobile network via a non-3GPP access network (see figures 2 and 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Li’s invention with Baskaran’s invention for improving a secure communication capability of a terminal when the terminal accesses a wireless network using different radio access technologies (see paragraph [0004] of Li).
Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the authentication response message includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the UE and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE.
De Kievit discloses wherein the authentication response message includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the UE and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE (see paragraph [0091]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider De Kievit’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for preventing network attacks as described throughout De Kievit.
Regarding Claim 39, Baskaran discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (as required for carrying out invention and steps discussed in Baskaran); and
a processor (as required for carrying out invention and steps discussed in Baskaran) coupled with the memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network function, an authentication request message to authenticate a user equipment (UE) (i.e., The AMF/SEAF can initiate the authentication by including the received UE ID and UE KDF capabilities in the authentication request message and send the authentication request message to the AUSF; see paragraph [0104] and figure 4), wherein the authentication request message includes an identifier of the UE and an authentication type (i.e., UE KDF as described in paragraph [0093]);
detect that the identifier is a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) of the UE (i.e., in other words, identity information (UE ID) such as SUCI…see paragraph [0102] and figure 2), the SUCI associated with a fifth generation (5G) 3GPP mobile network, wherein the SUCI indicates that the UE supports 5G capability (i.e., 5G systems as described throughout the Baskaran reference; see paragraph [0002] therefore, the SUCI described in Baskaran is associated with 5G 3GPP and the UE is shown to support 5G capability);
de-conceal the SUCI to determine a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the UE (i.e., If the SUCI is received in the authentication information request message, the SIDF (offered by the UDM or located elsewhere) can de-conceal the SUCI to retrieve the SUPI; see paragraph [0106]); and
transmit an authentication response message to the network function (i.e., The AUSF can send the received UE ID and UE KDF capabilities in the authentication information request message to the UDM/ARPF; see paragraph [0105]).
Baskaran fails to disclose with a third generation partnership project (3GPP) mobile network via a non-3GPP access network and wherein the authentication response message includes the SUPI and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE.
Li discloses with a third generation partnership project (3GPP) mobile network via a non-3GPP access network (see figures 2 and 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Li’s invention with Baskaran’s invention for improving a secure communication capability of a terminal when the terminal accesses a wireless network using different radio access technologies (see paragraph [0004] of Li).
Baskaran and Li fail to disclose wherein the authentication response message includes the SUPI and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE.
De Kievit discloses wherein the authentication response message includes the SUPI and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE (see paragraph [0091]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider De Kievit’s invention with Baskaran’s and Li’s invention for preventing network attacks as described throughout De Kievit.
Regarding Claim 33, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus as described above. Baskaran further discloses wherein the network function comprises a unified data management (UDM) server (see figure 4).
Regarding Claim 37, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus as described above. Baskaran further discloses wherein the network function comprises an authentication server function (AUSF) (see figure 4).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran, Li and De Kievit in view of Gundavelli et al. (Gundavelli), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0194728.
Regarding Claim 30, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus as
described above. Baskaran, Li and De Kievit fail to disclose wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to detect the SUCI in a portion of a network access identifier (NAI) that is received as part of the first authentication message. Gundavelli discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to detect the SUCI in a portion of a network access identifier (NAI) that is received as part of the first authentication message (see paragraph [0101]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gundavelli’s invention with Baskaran’s, Li’s and De Kievit’s invention for providing efficient management of communication resources as described throughout Gundavelli.
Claim(s) 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran, Li and De Kievit in view of Qiao et al. (Qiao), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0297121.
Regarding Claim 32, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus as
described above. Baskaran, Li and De Kievit fail to disclose wherein the network function comprises a home subscriber server (HSS). Qiao discloses wherein the network function comprises a home subscriber server (HSS) (see paragraph [0311]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Qiao’s invention with Baskaran’s, Li’s and De Kievit’s invention for improving resource utilization by reducing signaling, increasing network capacity and enhancing subscriber experience (see paragraph [0281] of Qiao).
Regarding Claim 34, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus as
described above. Baskaran, Li and De Kievit fail to disclose wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to select the UDM server based on routing information associated with the SUCI. Qiao discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to select the UDM server based on routing information associated with the SUCI (see paragraph [0190]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Qiao’s invention with Baskaran’s, Li’s and De Kievit’s invention for improving resource utilization by reducing signaling, increasing network capacity and enhancing subscriber experience (see paragraph [0281] of Qiao).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran, Li and De Kievit in view of Pocha et al. (Pocha), U.S. Patent No. 10,735,995.
Regarding Claim 35, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus as
described above. Baskaran, Li and De Kievit fail to disclose wherein the apparatus is configured with a service-based interface (SBI) to represent an authentication server function (AUSF) and communicate directly with the UDM server. Pocha discloses wherein the apparatus is configured with a service-based interface (SBI) to represent an authentication server function (AUSF) and communicate directly with the UDM server (see figure 1B and col. 4, lines 41-56). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Pocha’s invention with Baskaran’s, Li’s and De Kievit’s invention for providing flexibility and efficient resource utilization.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran, Li, De Kievit and Pocha in view of Liu, U.S. Publication 2021/0136582.
Regarding Claim 36, Baskaran, Li, De Kievit and Pocha disclose the apparatus as described above. Baskaran, Li, De Kievit and Pocha fail to disclose wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message. Liu discloses wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message (see paragraphs [0094] and [0141]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Baskaran’s, Li’s, De Kievit’s and Pocha’s invention for establishing a secure association as described throughout Liu.
Claim(s) 38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran, Li and De Kievit in view of Liu.
Regarding Claim 38, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus
as described above. Baskaran, Li and De Kievit fail to disclose wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nausf_UEAuthentication_ Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message. Liu discloses wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nausf_UEAuthentication_ Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message (see paragraphs [0094] and [0141]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Baskaran’s, Li’s and De Kievit’s invention for establishing a secure association as described throughout Liu.
Regarding Claim 41, Baskaran, Li and De Kievit disclose the apparatus
as described above. Baskaran, Li and De Kievit fail to disclose wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message. Liu discloses wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message (see paragraphs [0094] and [0141]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Baskaran’s, Li’s and De Kievit’s invention for establishing a secure association as described throughout Liu.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Baskaran in further view of De Kievit.
Regarding Claim 40, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication,
comprising:
a memory (as required for carrying out invention and steps discussed in Li); and
a processor (as required for carrying out invention and steps discussed in Li) coupled with the memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a first network function, an authentication request message to authenticate a user equipment (UE) (i.e., The N3IWF forwards the registration request message to the AMF-1; see paragraph [0224]) with a mobile network via a non-3GPP access network (shown in figures 2 and 7), wherein the authentication request message includes an identifier of the UE (i.e., the registration request message carries temporary identity information of the terminal, for example, a GUTI or key identifier information ngKSI; see paragraph [0221]);
select a second network function based on the identifier (i.e., The AMF-1 determines the AMF-2 based on the information in the GUTI; see paragraph [0225]);
transmit the authentication request message to the second network function (i.e.,
The AMF-1 forwards the registration request message to the AMF-2; see paragraph [0226]);
receive an authentication response message from the second network function (i.e., The AMF-2 sends the new key nKamf to the AMF-1; see paragraph [0229]); and
transmit the authentication response message to the first network function (i.e., The AMF-1 sends the NAS SMC message to the terminal; see paragraph [0238] and figure 7C, S315).
Li fails to disclose detect that the identifier is a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) for the UE, the SUCI associated with a fifth generation (5G) 3GPP mobile network, wherein the SUCI indicates that the UE supports 5G capability and wherein the authentication response message includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) for the UE and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE.
Baskaran discloses detect that the identifier is a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) for the UE (i.e., in other words, identity information (UE ID) such as SUCI…see paragraph [0102] and figure 2), the SUCI associated with a fifth generation (5G) 3GPP mobile network, wherein the SUCI indicates that the UE supports 5G capability (i.e., 5G systems as described throughout the Baskaran reference; see paragraph [0002] therefore, the SUCI described in Baskaran is associated with 5G 3GPP and the UE is shown to support 5G capability).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Baskaran’s invention with Li’s invention for more efficient, secure security as described throughout Baskaran.
Li and Baskaran fail to disclose wherein the authentication response message includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) for the UE and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE.
De Kievit discloses wherein the authentication response message includes a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) for the UE and an authentication vector (AV) for authenticating the UE (see paragraph [0091]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider De Kievit’s invention with Li’s and Baskaran’s invention for preventing network attacks as described throughout De Kievit.
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Baskaran and De Kievit in view of Liu.
Regarding Claim 42, Li, Baskaran and De Kievit disclose the apparatus as
described above. Li, Baskaran and De Kievit fail to disclose wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message. Liu discloses wherein the authentication request message comprises one of: a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get request message; or a Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate request message; or an authentication and key agreement (AKA) AV request message (see paragraphs [0094] and [0141]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Li’s, Baskaran’s and De Kievit’s invention for establishing a secure association as described throughout Liu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 23-27 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
August 26, 2026