DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 02/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In this case, the abstract contains, “disclosed in the present invention are…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2019/0296305 to Ito et al.
With respect to claim 1, Ito et al. teach a nonaqueous electrolyte battery comprising a negative having titanium oxide as an anion exchanger and a binder made of nitrile resins with ethylamine (Ito et al.: Sections [0064] and [0113]).
With respect to claim , Ito et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte battery, wherein the anionic metal oxide is titanium oxide (Ito et al.: Section [0064]).
With respect to claim , Ito et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte battery, wherein the amine compound is ethylamine (a linear alkylamine) (Ito et al.: Section [0113]).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, it would have the same functionality or purpose as the claimed limitation. Accordingly, in a product-by-process claim, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed Cir. 1985) and MPEP 2113.
With respect to claim 7, Ito et al. teach a metal ion battery anode, comprising a current collector and an anode material positioned on the current collector, wherein the anode material comprises the layered metal oxide/amine composite material, a conductive agent and a binder (Ito et al.: Section [0217]).
With respect to claim 8, Ito et al. teach a metal ion battery, comprising the metal ion battery anode, electrolyte, a separator (a diaphragm) and a cathode (Ito et al.: Section [0047]).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, Ito et al. teach the same the amine compound in the preparation of the layered metal oxide/amine composite material, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2019/0296305 to Ito et al.
With respect to claim , Ito et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte battery, wherein; the amine compound is ethylamine (an alkylamine) (Ito et al.: Section [0113]).
Ito et al. do not specifically teach the titanium oxide is Ti1−nO24n−, 0<n<1.
However, the claim or specification do not specifically show the criticality of using the specific claimed titanium oxide instead of the titanium oxide in general.
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Ito et al. with the teaching above since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 6/19/2026