The Examiner of this application has changed from Samantha Knight to Danielle Johnson. Applicants amendment filed 2/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 13 and 14 were amended. New claims 17 and 18 were added. Claims 1-8 and 13-18 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 17. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the method of claim 1 wherein a list from a. through g. is claimed which is indefinite. The claim appears to be a list of alternatives, however it is unclear if a-g are optional, alternatives or lastly if a. through f. are required OR g alone. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be deciphered because it appear that a. through g. are all required however, c. states isoxadifen is applied pre-emergence, whereas d. states that isoxadifen is applied post-emergence which cannot occur at the same time. For the purpose of examination the examiner has treated the claim as the method of claim 1, wherein any one of the alternatives a. through g. exists.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "wherein the one or more one or more" in reference to claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 13-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 11, 13, 30, 44 of copending Application No. 16/982,981 (herein ‘981) in view of Gast et al. (US 2017/0156324). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to a method of controlling undesired vegetation in the vicinity of an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop comprising applying a) an effective amount of a mixture consisting of one or more ACCase inhibiting herbicide; and b) an effective amount of isoxadifen, esters or salt thereof to a locus of the undesired vegetation, whereas claim 10 of ‘981 is directed to controlling undesired vegetation at the locus of an herbicide resistant rice crop. It is for this reason that Gast is joined. Gast teaches methods of controlling undesirable vegetation ([0007]) in ACCase tolerant rice ([0014]) and sorghum crops ([0007]) comprising applying a composition containing propaquizafop (i.e. an ACCase inhibiting herbicide) ([0040]) and isoxadifen-ethyl ([0041]) to a locus of the undesired vegetation ([0007]). Since both sorghum and rice crops are suitable ACCase tolerant crops it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of ‘981 and Gast and treat ACCase tolerant sorghum with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Satchivi et al. (WO 2020/096833; published May 14, 2020).
Applicant claims an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop obtainable by treating sorghum crop with isoxadifen, ester or salts thereof.
Satchivi et al. discloses sorghum (SORVU, sorghum vulgare) treated with isoxadifen-ethyl and their safening properties (Example 5; [0101-0102]). Since the process step to obtain the properties are the same the crop would inherently possess the property of being ACCase tolerant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gast et al. (2017/0156324; published Jun 8, 2017).
Applicant claims an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop obtainable by treating sorghum crop with isoxadifen, ester or salts thereof. Claim 13
Gast teaches methods of controlling undesirable vegetation in sorghum crops areas including contacting the undesirable vegetation or the locus thereof with a composition containing a herbicidally effective amount of (a) a compound of formula (I), (b) florasulam, and (c) pyroxsulam ([0007]). Sorghum crops may be genetically modified to be tolerant to various herbicides including acetyl CoA carboxylase (ACCase) ([0014]). The compositions and methods are utilized to control undesirable vegetation that occurs in annual crops such as ACCase-tolerant sorghum ([0060]). The composition may contain one or more additional herbicides including propaquizafop (i.e., ACCase inhibiting herbicide) ([0040]). The composition may be employed in combination with one or more herbicide safeners such as isoxadifen-ethyl (([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Gast to obtain an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop with increased tolerance by treating the sorghum crop with isoxadifen with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Gast and treat sorghum with isoxadifen because Gast teach ACCase-tolerant sorghum have increased tolerance to ACCase inhibiting herbicides and treating sorghum with isoxadifen-ethyl would be expected to increase herbicide tolerance of sorghum crops.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofer et al. (US 2004/0242422; published December 2, 2004) in view of Gast et al. (2017/0156324; published Jun 8, 2017).
A method of controlling undesired vegetation in the vicinity of an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop comprising applying a) an effective amount of a mixture consisting of one or more ACCase inhibiting herbicide; and b) an effective amount of isoxadifen, esters or salt thereof to a locus of the undesired vegetation. Claim 1
A method of controlling undesired vegetation in the vicinity of an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop comprising applying a) an effective amount of isoxadifen, esters or salt thereof; and applying b) an effective amount of a mixture consisting of one or more ACCase inhibiting herbicide to a locus of the undesired vegetation. Claim 14
With respect to claims 1, 4-8 and 14-18, Hofer teaches herbicidal synergistic compositions comprising clodinafop-propargyl and a synergistically effective amount of at least one compound selected from fenoxaprop-P-ethyl, in addition to customary inert formulation adjuvants (abstract). The combination of two actives is capable of controlling both preemergence and post-emergence the majority of weeds occurring in crops of useful plants without substantially damaging the useful plant [0005]. The weeds controlled include Sorghum halepense (Johnsongrass) and Cyperus (sedge) and the composition is suitable especially for controlling weeds in cereals including crops that have been made tolerant to herbicides or classes of herbicides as a result of breeding or genetic engineering [0010 and claims 4 and 5; limitation of claims 7, 8, 15 and 16]. Compositions that are especially effective include mixtures of clodinafop-propargyl with fenoxaprop-P-ethyl and mefenpyr-diethyl or isoxadifen [0012; limitation of claims 1 and 14]. Rates of application range from 0.1-5 kg of active ingredient mixture/ha (100-5000 g/ha) [0013; limitation of claims 4 and 5]. The adjuvants are selected from solid carriers, surfactants (wetting agents), anti-foaming agents, binders, tackifiers, viscosity regulators and fertilizers [0019-22; limitation of claims 17 and 18]. The active ingredients may be applied together as mixtures or alone post-emergence or pre-emergence [0051-52].
With respect to claims 1, 4-8 and 14-18, Hofer do not teach an ACCase tolerant sorghum group, however Hofer does teach the composition is suitable especially for controlling weeds in cereals including crops that have been made tolerant to herbicides or classes of herbicides. With respect to claim 2, Hofer does not specify the ACCase inhibitor is selected from propaquizafop. It is for this reason that Gast et al. is joined.
With respect to claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 14-18, Gast teaches methods of controlling undesirable vegetation in sorghum crops areas including contacting the undesirable vegetation or the locus thereof with a composition containing a herbicidally effective amount of (a) a compound of formula (I), (b) florasulam, and (c) pyroxsulam ([0007]). Vegetation includes dormant seeds, germinant seeds, and emerging seedlings ([0012]). The composition is applied pre-emergence or post-emergence to the undesirable vegetation ([0011] and claims 19 and 20). Sorghum crops may be genetically modified to be tolerant to various herbicides including acetyl CoA carboxylase (ACCase) ([0014]). The compositions and methods are utilized to control undesirable vegetation that occurs in annual crops such as ACCase-tolerant sorghum ([0060]). The composition may contain one or more additional herbicides including propaquizafop (i.e., ACCase inhibiting herbicide) ([0040]; limitation of claim 2). The composition may be employed in combination with one or more herbicide safeners such as isoxadifen-ethyl (([0041]). The components of the composition may be applied either separately, sequentially, or tank-mixed ([0051]). The composition is applied at an application rate from about 1.00 grams active ingredient per hectare (g ai/ha) to about 100 g ai/ha ([0050]). The undesirable vegetation may be Sorghum halepense (L.) Pers. (Johnsongrass, SORHA) and Sorghum bicolor (i.e., a monocot) (L.) Moench ssp., Cenchrus echinatus L. (southern sandbur, CENEC), or Arundinaceum (shattercane, SORVU) ([0063]) and sedge weeds ([0066]).
Thus, Gast teaches methods of controlling undesirable vegetation ([0007]) in ACCase tolerant ([0014]) sorghum crops ([0007]) comprising applying a composition containing propaquizafop (i.e. an ACCase inhibiting herbicide) ([0040]) and isoxadifen-ethyl ([0041]) to a locus of the undesired vegetation ([0007]).
Both Hofer and Gast teach methods of treating cereal crops with ACCase inhibitors and isoxadifen as a safener to reduce the phytotoxic effects of the herbicides. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Hofer and Gast to control undesired vegetation growth in the vicinity of an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Hofer and Gast to treat ACCase tolerant sorghum crops because Hofer and Gast both teachings herbicide tolerant cereal crops and Gast teach annual cereal crops include ACCase-tolerant sorghum.
With respect to claim 2, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Hofer and Gast to control undesired vegetation growth in the vicinity of an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop wherein the ACCase inhibitor is propaquizafop with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Hofer and Gast to treat ACCase tolerant sorghum crops with propaquizafop because Gast teach propaquizafop is an additional herbicide that can be used to treat ACCase tolerant sorghum.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofer et al. (US 2004/0242422; published December 2, 2004) in view of Gast et al. (2017/0156324; published Jun 8, 2017) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 14-18 in further view of Rosinger et al. (US 2007/0010398; published January 11, 2007).
A method of controlling undesired vegetation in the vicinity of an ACCase tolerant sorghum crop comprising applying a) an effective amount of a mixture consisting of one or more ACCase inhibiting herbicide; and b) an effective amount of isoxadifen, esters or salt thereof to a locus of the undesired vegetation. Claim 1
The teachings of Hofer and Gast are addressed in the previous 103 rejection. Hofer and Gast teach the use of isoxadifen but does not specify isoxadifen-diethyl. It is for this reason that is Rosinger is joined.
Rosinger discloses herbicidal compositions (abstract) which can be used against unwanted vegetation and which comprise, as active compounds, a combination of at least two herbicides and one safener ([0002]). Safeners include isoxadifen-diethyl ([0018]). The compositions according to the invention act against herbicide-resistant plants in cereals ([0044]), including a broad spectrum of weeds, like Sorghum halepense ([0067]).
Hofer, Gast and Rosinger teach methods of treating cereal crops with isoxadifen as a safener to reduce the phytotoxic effects of herbicides. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Hofer, Gast and Rosinger to use isoxadifen-diethyl with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Hofer, Gast and Rosinger to use isoxadifen-diethyl because Rosinger teach isoxadifen-diethyl is a safener used on herbicide-resistant plants against a broad spectrum of weeds.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617
/BETHANY P BARHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611