Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated May 11, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claim 1, and cancelled claims 2-4.
Claims 1, 5-14, and 19-23 are pending in the application. Claims 14 and 19-23 remain withdrawn from consideration, pursuant to the Restriction Requirement mailed September 23, 2025.
Claims 1 and 5-13 are therefore under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated February 10, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Meruelo (US20180000912A1).
Applicant argues that Meruelo does not teach every aspect of the claims as amended; specifically, Meruelo does not teach the specific combination of at least six antigens encoded by a gene selected from the group consisting of MUC1, HER2, hTERT, Survivin, MAGEA3 and Mammaglobin A.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
Meruelo teaches a viral vector, which comprises a nucleic acid that encodes one or more tumor associated antigens (para. 0006). Meruelo further teaches that the antigens may be MUC1, HER2, hTERT, survivin, MAGE-A3, and mammaglobin-A (para. 0008, 0125 and claim 4). The language of "one or more" of Meruelo encompasses a vector comprising six antigens.
Claim 1 also states that the vector encodes at least one epitope from "at least six antigens". A vector containing more than the recited six would therefore still be within the scope of the claims. Furthermore, the transitional term "comprising" is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements. MPEP 2111.03(I).
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meruelo (US20180000912A1) in view of Binder (US20190016775A1).
Applicant argues that Meruelo only discloses specific combinations of at most three tumor-associated antigens, and a person of ordinary skill would not have selected the specific combination of six antigens recited in amended claim 1. Applicant further argues that each combination of antigens disclosed in Meruelo differs from the claimed combination by at least five additional antigens, and given the large number of antigens disclosed in Meruelo, one of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to select the six antigens recited in claim 1.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
As stated above, Meruelo teaches a viral vector, which comprises a nucleic acid that encodes one or more tumor associated antigens (para. 0006). Meruelo further teaches that the antigens may be MUC1, HER2, hTERT, survivin, MAGE-A3, and mammaglobin-A (para. 0008, 0125 and claim 4). The language of "one or more" of Meruelo encompasses a vector comprising six antigens.
Claim 1 also states that the vector encodes at least one epitope from "at least six antigens". A vector containing more than the recited six would therefore still be within the scope of the claims. Furthermore, the transitional term "comprising" is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements. MPEP 2111.03(I).
The examples recited by Meruelo are not intended to be limiting to the disclosure (para. 0155 of Meruelo).
The antigens recited in claim 1 as amended were all known to be tumor-associated antigens, and the teachings of Meruelo make it clear that such combinations were known to be useful as a method of treating cancer (see, e.g., para. 0017). Additionally, Meruelo teaches that the skilled practitioner is also to select suitable tumor-associated antigens for use in the polynucleotide (para. 0093).
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644