Election/Restrictions
Applicant's response to the Restriction Requirement, dated December 22, 2025, has been received. By way of this response, Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-13, and a combination of six antigens comprising MUC1, HER2, hTERT, survivin, MAGEA3 and mammaglobin A.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 14 and 19-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 22, 2025.
Claims 1-13 are currently under examination before the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Meruelo (US20180000912A1). 1-4 and 11-12
Meruelo teaches a viral vector, which comprises a nucleic acid that encodes one or more tumor associated antigens (para. 0006).
Meruelo further teaches that the antigens may be MUC1, HER2, hTERT, survivin, MAGE-A3, and mammaglobin-A (para. 0008, 0125 and claim 4).
Meruelo further teaches compositions comprising the above and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient, or diluent (para. 0128).
Meruelo further teaches that the above antigens may be linked with a cleavable spacer sequence (para. 0089), which is pertinent to claim 11.
Meruelo further teaches that the vector may be a DNA vector (para. 0007 and 0059), which is pertinent to claim 12.
Meruelo further teaches the use of Modified Vaccinia Ankara virus to induce an immune response form the above one or more antigens (para. 0148), which is pertinent to claim 13.
Meruelo also teaches that the above vector is useful to treat breast cancer (para. 0017 and claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meruelo (US20180000912A1) in view of Binder (US20190016775A1).
Meruelo teaches a viral vector, which comprises a nucleic acid that encodes one or more tumor associated antigens (para. 0006).
Meruelo further teaches that the antigens may be MUC1, HER2, hTERT, survivin, MAGE-A3, and mammaglobin-A (para. 0008, 0125 and claim 4).
Meruelo further teaches compositions comprising the above and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient, or diluent (para. 0128).
Meruelo further teaches that the above antigens may be linked with a cleavable spacer sequence (para. 0089), which is pertinent to claim 11.
Meruelo further teaches that the vector may be a DNA vector (para. 0007 and 0059), which is pertinent to claim 12.
Meruelo further teaches the use of Modified Vaccinia Ankara virus to induce an immune response form the above one or more antigens (para. 0148), which is pertinent to claim 13.
Meruelo also teaches that the above vector is useful to treat breast cancer (para. 0017 and claim 20).
However, Meruelo does not teach the use of a full-length protein encoded by the MUC1 gene.
Binder teaches a plasmid encoding full-length MUC1 antigen (para. 0637). Binder teaches that this plasmid is useful as in treating breast cancer (para. 0019).
Binder also teaches an immunogenic human TERT (hTERT) protein, either the full length or a truncated form (para. 0247).
Binder also teaches vectors which co-express multiple tumor-associated antigens (para. 0195-0197).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the Meruelo and Binder to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since Meruelo and Binder are both concerned with vectors comprising tumor-associated antigens for treatment of breast cancer. As stated above, compositions comprising vectors encoding MUC1, HER2, hTERT, survivin, MAGE-A3, and mammaglobin-A were taught by Meruelo. Binder also teaches vectors which co-express multiple tumor-associated antigens, as well as teachings that the full length of the protein may be used in such a system. Using the full length of each antigen, according to the teachings of Binder, in the vector of Meruelo, would result in epitopes that encompass the sequences recited by claims 5-10. Each component of the combination would perform its known, usual function, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the claimed invention by using known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, the invention, as a whole, was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644