DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The RCE is accepted. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim interpretation and comments:
Step a) of claim 47 do not appear to relate to the steps of the claim; no electrolyte is added to make the carbon. Rather, this refers to the intended use of the carbon. In essence, these steps appear to be only mental steps because the reagents are never used in the process. Thus, they do not limit the claims; putting aside the fact that the heating regimens are almost the same regardless of which is chosen and the final product is the same regardless of the choice made.
Figure 24 is confusing because it depicts a carbon of identical pore distribution regardless of what the electrolyte is. This is in contrast to claim 80, as well as specification pg. 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47, 50, 61, 80, 95-102 and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beguin et al. 20150291432.
Begiuin teaches, especially in ex. 9, table 1 and para 99, heating biomass in nitrogen at 800 C for an hour to make active carbon having 0.053 (0.574-0.430-0.091) cc/g macropores, which is 9.2% of the total pore volume. Micropores are 74.9% of the pore volume and mesopores are 15.8%, which satisfies the ‘first electrolyte’ conditions.
This differs in not teaching an in-situ activating agent (step d), however it is suggested in paras. 8 and 38, and thus obvious to create the desired active carbon.
In so far as the step of selecting the electrolyte is a required step, table 3 teaches 3 different choices including large organic molecules. Having only one in mind is obvious to make the desired capacitor based upon the desired properties.
As to the pressure, flowing nitrogen is used. In so far as atmospheric pressure is not achieved, using the claimed pressure is obvious to optimize the time of treatment and achieve the desired result; see para 4. Furthermore, as no pressure is stated, atmospheric pressure is implied by default.
In ex. 3, the macropores are 7.7%, the mesopores are 18.2% and the micropores are 74.4%. From fig. 1, it appears that claim 80 is met.
Ex 10 is 3.1% macro, 17.9% meso, 78.9% micropores.
Examples 2, 5 and 6 are also noted. The electrolytes are taught in table 3.
For claim 50, para 37 teaches drying the biomass source.
For claim 61, heating in N2 is taught.
For claim 95, fig. 3 depicts pores at 0.5 nm.
Claim 96-100 and 104 are drawn to features of the method of use; the electrolytes are not relevant to the patentability of the carbon. Note however the specific electrolytes taught.
For claim 101, NaOH is taught in para 38.
For claim 102, KOH is obvious as an equivalent material.
Claim 103 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beguin as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Lou 20200048099.
Beguin does not teach the drying, however Lou teaches a dry composition in para 25 to make a similar material. Drying (if an aqueous agent is used) is obvious to control the pore size; see para 27.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amendments have removed step f, which was key in overcoming the prior art. Thus, the original rejections are essentially reinstated.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736