DETAILED ACTION
The election is noted. Claims 66, 67, 71-75, 77-79, 87-94 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 47-51, 54, 61, 64, 80-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 47 (a) is unclear as to what the ‘solvated ion’ is. Do the claims attempt to refer to the charge carrier (e.g., lithium ion) or do they intend to describe the ionic electrolyte- in which case ‘solvated’ is unclear as to what is solvating the electrolyte? If the electrolyte has a cation and an anion, which one dictates the size? Specification fig. 24 implies that it is the cation of the electrolyte salt that is of interest. Clarification is requested. See para 83 of 20170256365.
In claim 61, the gases listed are commonly referred to as ‘inert’, in contrast to ‘nearly inert’ in claim 47.
Claim 82 is unclear as to what a ‘cosolvent-in-salt electrolyte’ means. Further, if the electrolyte is ionic, does it also count as the ‘ionic fluid’? If not, why not?
Claim 47 is unclear as to what exactly ‘nearly inert’ means, especially in view of the following:
Noble gases such as Ar and Xe make chemical compounds and are thus not truly inert;
Reagent grade sources of nitrogen, Argon, etc. contain trace amounts of oxidizing gases;
Nitrogen is not an activation agent, however oxygen, steam and CO2 are. In order to activate (absent a salt like KOH in the feed mixture), the ‘nearly inert gas’ would need to contain an oxidant. Are applicants trying to imply that the gas is ‘nearly inert’ because it contains an oxidant?
Claim 51 recites KOH (for example) as the activation agent, somewhat at odds with the phrasing of claim 47 and especially in light of all the above.
Claim interpretation and comments:
Steps a) and b) of claim 47 do not appear to relate to the steps of the claim; no electrolyte is added to make the carbon. Rather, this refers to the intended use of the carbon. In essence, these steps appear to be only mental steps because the reagents are never used in the process. Thus, they do not limit the claims; putting aside the fact that the heating regimens are almost the same regardless of which is chosen and the final product is the same regardless of the choice made.
Figure 24 is confusing because it depicts a carbon of identical pore distribution regardless of what the electrolyte is. This is in contrast to claims 80 and 81, as well as specification pg. 14. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47, 48 and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beguin et al. 20150291432.
Begiuin teaches, especially in ex. 9, table 1 and para 99, heating biomass in nitrogen at 800 C for an hour to make active carbon having 0.053 (0.574-0.430-0.091) cc/g macropores, which is 9.2% of the total pore volume. In so far as the step of selecting the electrolyte is a required step, table 3 teaches 3 different choices including large organic molecules. Having one in mind- and not having the other 2 in mind- is obvious to make the desired capacitor based upon the desired properties.
As to the pressure, flowing nitrogen is used. In so far as atmospheric pressure is not achieved, using the claimed pressure is obvious to optimize the time of treatment and achieve the desired result; see para 4. Furthermore, as no pressure is stated, atmospheric pressure is implied by default.
For claim 48, ex. 9 is 74.9% micropores, 15.8% are mesopores and 9.2% are macropores.
In ex. 3, the macropores are 7.7%, the mesopores are 18.2% and the micropores are 74.4%. Feature V of claim 48 is met when the large organic is chosen (notwithstanding the unclarity alleged above).
Ex 10 is 3.1% macro, 17.9% meso, 78.9% micropores.
Examples 2, 5, 6 and 9 are also noted.
For claim 82, electrolytes are taught in table 3.
Claims 47, 49, 50, 54, 61, 64, 82 and 85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz 20210032113.
Aziz teaches, especially in figs. 1 and 7B and paras 27-33 and 83, making powdered active carbon by adding base to jute and heating under inert atmosphere, acid treating the activated product, sonication, water addition and recovering the carbon. Once cooled, the carbon can be subjected to acid washing and then neutral pH. This differs in teaching an overlapping temperature, however the overlap renders the claims obvious as a matter of selection. As to the pressure, flowing N2 is used and using the claimed pressure is obvious to optimize the time of treatment while removing the effluent gases efficiently. Note the macropores in fig. 7B.
For claim 50, see fig. 1.
For claim 54, these materials need not be chosen.
For claim 61, nitrogen is used.
For claims 64 and 85, para 83 teaches HCl treatment, noting the above clarity issue.
For claim 82, the electrolyte is not actually part of the claimed process and is irrelevant thereto.
Claims 51, 83 and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Gadkaree 20150364266.
For claim 51, Gadkaree teaches, especially in the figures, overlapping range of KOH. Using the claimed amount of KOH in the process of Aziz is obvious to achieve the activation desired by an in-situ base.
For claim 83, the electrolyte is not relevant to the synthesis of the carbon.
For claim 84, Aziz para 83 teaches HCl wash.
Claims 47, 80 and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. 20200048099.
Lou teaches, especially in paras 23-30 and the examples, making a powder carbon source, adding inorganic activating agents and heating at 1 atm pressure. This differs in not explicitly requiring inert gas, however N2 is an option taught in para 30, thus rendering the claims obvious. As to the macropore volume, para 32 teaches optimization thereof to minimize macropores- noting that the claims contemplate de-minimus amounts thereof.
For claim 80, the mesopores are primarily 20-50 A with little above 50A, so both of the conditions are met.
For claim 82, the electrolyte is not actually part of the claimed process and is irrelevant thereto.
The claims not rejected over prior art or 112 are allowable over the prior art, as the features are not taught or suggested. Note the pore distribution of the carbon material recited in claim 81 (in view of its dependence of claim 48).
Murakami 6865068 col. 4 is noted.
Derbyshire 6057262 col. 6 is noted.
JP 2001089119 is noted.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736