DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I with claims 1-6 in the reply filed on November 12th, 2025, is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 7-25, due to being drawn to a non-elected invention are not examined in this current office action.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 states in line 7 of the claim, the through-hole opening (4da, 4ea) are arranged “offset in a direction of the longitudinal axis”. The definition of “offset”, according to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, is “something that serves to counter balance or compensate for something else”. Based on applicant’s disclosure in the instant specification and figures 2 and 3A, the through-hole opening (4da, 4ea) are interpreted as serving to counter balance each other along the longitudinal axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hiramitsu et al, JP 2018018661 A (as cited in IDS and English translation provided for citation).
Regarding Claim 1, Hiramitsu discloses a conductive member (Hiramitsu, 1; figure 1), corresponding to the battery cell connection element of the claim, with a cooling function [Hiramitsu, 0011], including a bus bar (Hiramitsu, 10; figure 1), formed of a conductive pipe P (Hiramitsu, P; figure 3), including a coolant flow portion (Hiramitsu, 16; figure 3), through which coolant can flow [Hiramitsu, 0022], corresponding to the main body formed as a fluid line element made of an electrically conductive material as required by claim 1, with a longitudinal axis as shown in figure 1 of Hiramitsu. The bus bar includes a terminal portion (Hisamitsu, 12; figure 1) on each side of the bus bar, at the terminal positions, the opposing inner surfaces of the pipe P are in close contact with each other and are closed, not open [Hiramitsu, 0013]. Each connection portion (Hisamitsu, 11; figure 1) has a through-hole (Hiramitsu, 14; figure 1) [Hiramitsu, 0013]. As shown in figure 1 of Hiramitsu, the through holes are arranged on the same side of the bus bar, and are arranged next to each other and off set in a direction of the longitudinal axis (see claim interpretation section above).
Regarding Claim 2, Hiramitsu discloses the battery cell connection element of claim 1, wherein the bus bar (Hiramitsu, 10; figure 1), corresponding to the main body of the claim, includes the terminal portion (Hiramitsu, 12; figure 1), with a flat plate shape that has been flattened [Hiramitsu, 0013], corresponding to the substantially planar portions of the main body, wherein one surface, such as the top surface or the bottom surface, of the terminal portions are aligned with the through-holes (Hiramitsu, 14; figure 1) in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis as shown in figure 1 of Hiramitsu.
Regarding Claim 4, Hisamitsu discloses the battery cell connection element of claim 1, wherein the bus bar (Hiramitsu, 10; figure 1), includes the terminal portions (Hiramitsu, 12; figure 1) that have been flattened so the inner surfaces are in close contact with each other, and they are closed, not open [Hiramitsu, 0013].
Regarding Claim 6, Hiramitsu discloses the battery cell connection element of claim 1, wherein the through-holes (Hiramitsu, 14; figure 1) that at the center thereof penetrate from one surface to the other [Hiramitsu, 0014], corresponding to the claimed clear opening cross-section, through which a bolt B, corresponding to the tool of the claim, is inserted through and tightened [Hiramitsu, 0020], further, Hiramitsu discloses the connection portions (Hiramitsu, 11; figure 1) comprising the through-holes, can be welded or soldered [Hiramitsu, 0033], indicating the ability to insert a tool within the through-holes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramitsu et al, JP 2018018661 A (as cited in IDS and English translation provided for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Hulstrung, Joachim, WO 2019037848 A1 (English translation provided for citation).
Regarding Claim 3, Hiramitsu teaches the battery cell connection element of claim 1, but is silent to teach on the cross-section of the main body being oval.
Hulstrung teaches a temperature control device for a battery module, including at least one flow control element (Hulstrung, 8; figure 3) [Hulstrung, 0010], wherein the flow control elements guide temperature control medium through [Hulstrung, 0020]. The flow control element can be designed as a hollow component [Hulstrung, 0042], comprising a single recess with an oval cross-section [Hulstrung, 0040], as shown in figure 5c of Hulstrung.
Hulstrung and Hiramitsu are considered analogous arts in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the bus bar of Hiramitsu, corresponding to the main body of the claim, to have an oval cross-section as taught by Hulstrung because such modification would make it possible to adjust the pressure of the temperature control medium in the interior without changing the upper and lower hosing parts, thus maintaining the same manufacturing effort for both part [Hulstrung, 0011].
Moreover, according MPEP 2144.04, IV, B, changing the shape of the main body is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed main body is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramitsu et al, JP 2018018661 A (as cited in IDS and English translation provided for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Grobe et al, US 20120100761 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, Hiramitsu teaches the battery cell connection element of claim 1, wherein the bus bar (Hiramitsu, 10; figure 1) shows two substantially identical halves along the longitudinal axis in figure 1 of Hiramitsu, but is silent to teach on a central portion of a modified shape arrange, in which the central portion has at least one peripheral bellows corrugation formed integrally with a remainder of the main body.
Grobe teaches a battery cell connector, in which at least two batteries are electrically connected [Grobe, 0086], in which figure 2a of Grobe shows a battery cell connector comprising mutually separated ribs that are of a corrugate shape [Grobe, 0112], on either side of the battery cell connector. The ribs, formed in the corrugated shape, can be formed by stamping, cutting, laser cutting, water-jet cutting, such that the ribs are formed in the connecting part [Grobe, 0029], therefore, they are formed integrally with the main body.
Grobe and Hiramitsu are considered analogous arts in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the bus bar of Hiramitsu to include the corrugated longitudinal section of the connecting part as taught by Grobe because such modification increases the flexibility of the connecting part and thereby increased the elasticity in at least two spatial directions [Grobe, 0054].
Conclusion
/LILIAN ALICE ODOM/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722