DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed August 24, 2026 have been entered. Currently, claims 1, 4, 6, and 15 have been amended, and claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stone (E.P. Application No. 2438877 B1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Stone discloses an electroporation catheter (12) (pa. 0024, 0081 & Figs. 2-4) comprising:
a shaft (combination of catheter body 14 and a series of structural struts or elements 54) (pa. 0031) having a longitudinal axis (20), a proximal end (16), and a distal end (18) (pa. 0024); and
an electroporation assembly located at the distal end of the shaft (pa. 0025 & Fig. 4), the electroporation assembly having:
at least a first electrode (50) and a second electrode (electrode on catheter body 14) configured to deliver RF ablation/electroporation pulses therebetween (when in a monopolar arrangement, pa. 0029, 0081);
a non-conductive portion (combination of proximal portion 60 and distal portion 62 with proximal and distal barriers 66, 68) (pa. 0032-0033) having:
a first end that encircles the longitudinal axis of the shaft and is connected to the shaft (see first ends of both the proximal portion and the distal portion with the smallest diameters, furthest from the first electrode, on Fig. 4); and
a second end positioned radially outward from the first end (see second ends of both the proximal portion and the distal portion with the largest diameters, closest to the first electrode, on Fig. 4),
wherein the non-conductive portion forms a wall of non-conductive material that spans between the first end and the second end (pa. 0035);
wherein the first electrode is located adjacent to the first end of the non- conductive portion and radially inward of the second end of the non-conductive portion (see Fig. 4); and
wherein at least a portion of the wall of the non-conductive material is interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode to prevent formation of a low-impedance path between the first electrode and the second electrode that does not include tissue to be treated (due to the non-conductive portion comprising a braided Nitinol wire coated in silicone or simply comprising a polyurethane or PTFE material; pa. 0035), such that a conductive path formed between the first electrode and the second electrode includes tissue located adjacent the non-conductive portion (pa. 0029 & Fig. 4).
Examiner will be interpreting claim language such as “electroporation catheter” and “electroporation assembly” as a functional recitation of the intended use of the first and the second electrodes on the catheter. It has been held that a functional recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the first electrode and the second electrode of Stone readily provides for such functionality given that they are able to provide RF energy as either a single pulse or multiple pulses of varying durations, wherein the energy can be delivered in any combination of amplitude and frequency from any combination of electrodes (pa. 0081). Therefore, both electrodes are capable of providing electroporation therapy; thereby, meeting the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion is cone- shaped having an apex at the first end connected to the shaft (pa. 0035 & Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion extends away from the shaft in a distal direction from the first end to the second end (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Stone discloses wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are located on the shaft and the first end of the non-conductive portion is connected to the shaft between the first electrode and the second electrode (pa. 0029).
Regarding claim 7, Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion is a sleeve (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion is movable between an undeployed state and a deployed state, wherein a radius of the non-conductive portion is greater in the deployed state (pa. 0025, 0033 & Figs. 7A-7E).
Regarding claim 9, Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion is passively deployed via removal of a sheath (a restraining sheath) located on an outer periphery of the non-conductive portion (pa. 0031).
Regarding claim 10, Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion is actively deployed via a mechanism having a first end coupled to the electroporation assembly and a second end connected to a handle (28) located on the proximal end of the shaft (pa. 0031).
Regarding claim 11,Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion comprises a compliant non-conductive material (pa. 0035).
Regarding claim 12, Stone discloses wherein the non-conductive portion comprises a memory shape material (i.e., Nitinol) (pa. 0035).
Regarding claim 13, Stone discloses wherein the compliant, non-conductive portion comprises one or more silicone, polyurethane, rubber, and/or a non-conductive polymer (pa. 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jackson (W.O. Application No. 2007044244 A2).
Regarding claim 14, Stone discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 discussed above.
However, Stone does not disclose the non-conductive portion comprises a non-compliant material.
Jackson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an expandable, non-compliant insulative member (28) with a plurality of electrodes (32) suitable to contact the tissue to apply ablation treatment (pa. 0080-0082).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the compliant non-conductive material of the non-conductive portion of Stone with a non-compliant material as taught by Jackson in order to allow for precise control and consistent force application.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone (E.P. Application No. 2438877 B1), and further in view of Neal (U.S. Patent No. 10702326 B2).
Regarding independent claim 15, Stone discloses a method of delivering intermittent bursts/pulses of RF energy to a patient (pa. 0081), specifically for the purpose of remodeling or removing plaques and other occlusive materials in order to improve blood flow (pa. 0014), the method comprising:
introducing a catheter (12) into the patient (pa. 0013, 0024 & Figs. 1-4) the catheter including a shaft (combination of catheter body 14 and a series of structural struts or elements 54) (pa. 0031) having a proximal end (16) attached to a handle (28) (pa. 0019, 0025) and a distal end (18) that includes an ablation assembly (pa. 0024-0025 & Fig. 4);
navigating the ablation assembly in an undeployed state to a desired tissue site (pa. 0035 & Fig. 7A), wherein the electroporation assembly includes at least a first electrode (50) (pa. 0024), a second electrode (electrode on catheter body 14) (pa. 0029), and a cone-shaped non-conductive portion (combination of proximal portion 60 and distal portion 62 with proximal and distal barriers 66, 68) (pa. 0032-0033) attached on a first end (see first ends of both the proximal portion and the distal portion with the smallest diameters, furthest from the first electrode, on Fig. 4) to the shaft, wherein the cone shaped non-conductive portion terminates in a free distal edge (see second ends of both the proximal portion and the distal portion with the largest diameters, closest to the first electrode, on Fig. 4), and wherein the first electrode is located adjacent to the first end of the non-conductive portion and radially inward of the free distal edge of the non-conductive portion (see Fig. 4), and wherein at least a portion of the cone shaped non-conductive portion is interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode to prevent formation of a low-impedance path between the first and second electrodes that does not include tissue at the desired tissue site (pa. 0029 & Fig. 4);
deploying the ablation assembly, wherein deployment of the ablation assembly includes allowing the free distal edge of the non-conductive portion to extend radially outward so that at least the free distal edge is brought into contact with the desired tissue site (pa. 0035 & Fig. 7B); and
delivering ablation energy/RF pulses between the first electrode and the second electrode (in a monopolar arrangement), such that a conductive path formed between the first and second electrodes includes tissue located adjacent the cone shaped non-conductive portion (pa. 0029, 0081, 0053).
However, Stone does not explicitly disclose the catheter providing electroporation therapy.
Neal, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a method of inserting an irreversible electroporation (IRE) device into a blood vessel in order to ablate all or a portion of growth (i.e., plaque buildup) within the vessel that is obstructing blood flow (Col. 14, lines 28-42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the electroporation modality of the IRE device of Stewart into the device of Stone since both methods of energy therapy are known variants in the art and they would both yield the same predictable results of removing plaque from a vessel in order to increase the blood flow.
Regarding claim 16, Stone/Neal combination discloses wherein the ablation assembly is passively deployed by removing a sheath (a restraining sheath) surrounding the non-conductive portion of the electroporation assembly (Stone, pa. 0031).
Regarding claim 17, Stone/Neal combination discloses wherein the ablation assembly is actively deployed by activating a mechanism in the handle to cause the free distal edge of the non-conductive portion to expand radially outward (Stone, pa. 0031).
Regarding claim 18, Stone/Neal combination discloses wherein the free distal edge of the non-conductive portion is brought into contact with the tissue to be treated, wherein the tissue to be treated is approximately planar (Stone, pa. 0067 & Figs. 7B).
Examiner will be interpreting the claim language of “wherein the tissue to be treated is approximately planar” as a functional recitation of the intended use of the electroporation assembly. It has been held that a functional recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, ablation assembly of Stone readily provides for such functionality providing treatment to tissue of a patient, regardless of the shape. Therefore, the prior art meets the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 19, Stone/Neal combination discloses wherein an outer surface of the non-conductive portion is brought into contact with the tissue to be treated, wherein the tissue to be treated is tubular (Stone, pa. 0067 & Figs. 7B).
Regarding claim 20, Stone discloses a method of delivering intermittent bursts/pulses of RF energy to a patient (pa. 0081).
However, Stone does not explicitly disclose the catheter providing irreversible electroporation therapy.
Neal, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a method of inserting an irreversible electroporation (IRE) device into a blood vessel in order to ablate all or a portion of growth (i.e., plaque buildup) within the vessel that is obstructing blood flow (Col. 14, lines 28-42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the electroporation modality of the IRE device of Stewart into the device of Stone since both methods of energy therapy are known variants in the art and they would both yield the same predictable results of removing plaque from a vessel in order to increase the blood flow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 6-8 of the Remarks filed 08/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Basu in view of Stewart have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, Applicant’s amendments to the claim to further require wherein at least a portion of the wall of the non-conductive material is interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode to prevent formation of a low-impedance path between the first electrode and the second electrode that does not include tissue to be treated is defined over Basu and Stewart given that they do not contemplate this claimed feature. Therefore, the prior rejections has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the following new grounds of rejection have been set forth in the action above:
Claims 1-4 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stone (E.P. Application No. 2438877 B1).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jackson (W.O. Application No. 2007044244 A2).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone (E.P. Application No. 2438877 B1), and further in view of Neal (U.S. Patent No. 10702326 B2).
It is the Examiner’s position that the newly filed rejections based on the combination is tenable for at least the reasoning set forth in the action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794 /Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794