DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 5/26/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-15 and 20 are cancelled. Claims 27-30, 36, and 37 are not elected. Claim 16 is amended. Claims 16-19, and 21-37 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that prior art WOLFF does not teach the limitation of the moisture below 1.8%
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes WOLFF teaches the coated web is dried to a moisture content of about 2-6% [col 6 line 11]. This range abuts the instant claim range of “b) drying the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition applied to it to form a pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer, such that the moisture content of the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer is below 1.8 % by weight, based on the weight of the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Applicant argues that unexpected results are not taught by prior art.
In response to applicant's argument that prior art does not teach the unexpected result of improved barrier properties, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that prior art does not teach a repulpable product.
Examiner notes that prior art does not teach away from the repulpability of the final product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 31 recites the broad recitation "barrier layer is below 1.8% by weight", and the claim also recites "barrier layer is below 2% by weight" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 35 recites the broad recitation "barrier layer is below 1.8% by weight", and the claim also recites "barrier layer is below 2% by weight" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19, 21-25, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WOLFF (US 3532534 A) in view of KUMAKI (US 20170226247 A1), VINNAY (US 2010224665 A1), and RAJAGOPALAN (US 20170175339 A1).
For claim 16, WOLFF teaches a method to produce a paper with a waterproof coating (barrier) [abstract]. This meets the limitation of “A process for improving the barrier properties of a barrier layer”. WOLFF teaches the PVA is coated on a paper but is silent to the paper origins. KUMAKI also teaches the formation of a paper with PVA barrier coating [abstract]. The KUMAKI substrate paper is made from chemical pulp [0056]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to substitute the chemical pulp of KUMAKI in for the generic paper substrate of WOLFF. One would be motivated by the common use of PVA coating and the successful results of KUMAKI. This meets the limitation of “comprised in a pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer, comprising the steps of a) providing a pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of an aqueous barrier composition applied to the pulp-based substrate layer”. WOLFF teaches the composition is then dried to 2 to 6% moisture [column 2 line 30]. This teaches the limitation of “b) drying the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition applied to it to form a pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer, such that the moisture content of the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer is below 2.5 % by weight, based on the weight of the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer”. This range of 2-6% overlaps the range of the instant claim, below 2.5%. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.)
WOLFF teaches the coating applied to the substrate imparts excellent waterproofness based on the temperature of application [col 2 line 12]. This teaches the improvement of barrier properties relative to other applications or bare substrate. This teaches the limitation of “thereby improving the barrier properties of the repulpable pulp-based substrate”.
Regarding the remoistening of the web, neither WOLFF or KUMAKI directly teaches the use of a second moistening of the web. VINNAY teaches a process of wetting a dried paper [0039]. VINNAY teaches that excessive drying can lead to warping and wrinkling of paper [0041]. VINNAY teaches that moistening the web to a desired moisture content can prevent the wrinkling. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to modify the process of WOLFF with the remoistening of VINNAY to more easily retain the moisture content of the web within the WOLFF preferred range. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the added benefit of moisture maintenance and warping prevention as taught by VINNAY. WOLFF teaches the moisture content ideally has the range of 2 to 6% moisture [column 2 line 30]. This range overlaps the range of the instant claim. WOLFF in view of VINNAY teaches the limitation of “moisturizing the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer, such that the moisture content of the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer is 3.5% by weight or more, based on the weight of the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer”.
Regarding the repulpability of the final barrier propertied paper, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY are silent to the repulpability of the barrier property paper. RAJAGOPALAN teaches a similar coated paper based substrate [0008] that uses an aqueous PVA based coating [0011 and 0155] to make a barrier (grease-proof) paper [0040] similar to WOLFF and KUMAKI. RAJAGOPALAN further teaches that the final barrier product is repulpable [0040]. This teaches the limitation of “a repulpable pulp-based substrate”. RAJAGOPALAN teaches the advantage of the invention is the improved paper is able to withstand higher temperatures and pressures experienced during processing, drying, lamination or corrugation [0008]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to try the repulpability of RAJAGOPALAN in the method of WOLFF to develop a more reusable paper. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the added benefits of the improved paper’s ability to withstand higher temperatures and pressures experienced during processing as taught by RAJAGOPALAN.
For claim 17, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. KUMAKI teaches the paper substrate is coated [abstract]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the pulp-based substrate layer is a paper or paperboard layer”.
For claim 18, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. KUMAKI teaches the use of poly vinyl alcohol as a component that creates excellent barrier properties [0011]. This makes poly vinyl alcohol as a barrier compound. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the aqueous barrier composition comprises a barrier compound”.
For claim 19, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. KUMAKI teaches the barrier composition is aqueous poly vinyl alcohol (PVA) [0001]. The PVA composition is used to impart water resistance and barrier property [0016]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the aqueous barrier composition comprises a moisture vapour barrier compound, an oxygen barrier compound, or both”.
For claim 21, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. WOLFF teaches a polymer, poly vinyl alcohol, that introduces barrier properties (water resistance) [abstract]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the aqueous barrier composition comprises a polymer barrier compound and an inorganic barrier compound”.
For claim 22, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. WOLFF teaches that after the web is coated, the web is then dried in a supercalender [column 2 line 7]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein drying the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition applied to it to form a pulp- based substrate layer having a barrier layer is achieved by exposing the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition to either heat, radiation or under pressure, or a combination of two or more thereof”.
For claim 23, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. WOLFF teaches the coated paper is heated to temperatures above 212°F (equivalent to 100°C) [column 2 line 15]. This matches the range of the instant claim of “wherein drying the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition applied to it to form a pulp- based substrate layer having a barrier layer is achieved by heating the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition to a temperature of at least 100°C”.
For claim 24, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. KUMAKI teaches the base paper of the invention can have surface treatments including size agent prior to coating [0056]. The examiner understands this as priming the board making the surface treatment a primer layer. This teaches the limitation of the instant claims of “wherein in step a), the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of an aqueous barrier composition applied to it has a primer layer positioned between the pulp-based substrate layer and the layer of the aqueous barrier composition”.
For claim 25, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. KUMAKI teaches the addition of a release layer made of silicone (inorganic) to the top layer of the laminate [0061]. The layer is deposited as a thin-film [0082]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the process further comprises a step of applying an inorganic barrier layer or a metal barrier layer to the barrier layer via thin-film deposition”.
For claim 31, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. WOLFF teaches the final moisture is about 2% to 6% [column 6 line 11]. This range overlaps the instant claim range. This teaches the instant claim limitation of “wherein the moisture content of the pulp- based substrate layer having a barrier layer is below 2 % by weight, based on the weight of the pulp-based substrate layer having a barrier layer”. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.)
For claim 32, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. WOLFF teaches the barrier compound is aqueous when used [column 6 line 3]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the aqueous barrier composition comprises a barrier compound in the form of an aqueous dispersion of a barrier compound or an aqueous solution of a barrier compound”.
For claim 33, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. WOLFF teaches the coated paper is heated to temperatures above about 212°F (equivalent to 100°C) [column 2 line 15]. This encompasses the range of the instant claim of “wherein drying the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition applied to it to form a pulp- based substrate layer having a barrier layer is achieved by heating the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition to a temperature of at least 115°C”. One reasonably skilled in the arts at the time of invention would understand the difference of about 100°C and 115°C would be negligible. This difference would be reasonable to ascertain with minimal experimentation based on the starting range of about 100°C.
For claim 34, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. wherein drying the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition applied to it to form a pulp- based substrate layer having a barrier layer is achieved by heating the pulp-based substrate layer having a layer of aqueous barrier composition to a temperature of at least 130°C. One reasonably skilled in the arts at the time of invention would understand the difference of about 100°C and 130°C would be negligible. This difference would be reasonable to ascertain with minimal experimentation based on the starting range of about 100°C.
Claim 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WOLFF (US 3532534 A), VINNAY (US 2010224665 A1), and KUMAKI (US 20170226247 A1) in view of OLKKONEN (US 20160194831 A1).
For claim 26, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 16, as above. KUMAKI teaches the addition of a release layer made of silicone (inorganic) to the top layer of the laminate [0061]. The layer is deposited as a thin-film [0082]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the process further comprises a step of applying an inorganic barrier layer or a metal barrier layer to the barrier layer via thin-film deposition.”
WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY do not teach the second application of the polyvinyl coating. OLKKONEN teaches a similar process of adding a barrier to a paper substrate [abstract]. OLKKONEN further teaches that like WOLFF polyvinyl alcohol is used as a barrier coating [0035]. OLKKONEN also teaches an embodiment with two applications of barrier compound [0034]. OLKKONEN teaches this second application aids in moisture control/profiling [0033]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to modify the process of WOLFF with the second application of OLKKONEN to more easily retain the moisture content of the web within the WOLFF preferred range. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the added benefit of moisture maintenance as taught by OLKKONEN. WOLFF teaches the moisture content ideally has the range of 2 to 6% moisture [column 2 line 30]. This range overlaps the range of the instant claim. WOLFF in view of VINNAY teaches the limitation of “ “wherein after the step of applying an inorganic barrier layer or a metal barrier layer to the barrier layer via thin-film deposition the process further comprises a subsequent step of applying a further layer of aqueous barrier composition to the inorganic barrier layer or the metal barrier layer and drying the resulting stack of layers having the further layer of aqueous barrier composition applied to it to form a further barrier layer such that the moisture content of the resulting stack of layers having a further barrier layer is below 2.5 % by weight, based on the weight of the resulting stack of layers having a further barrier layer”.
For claim 35, WOLFF, KUMAKI, and VINNAY teaches the process according to claim 26, as above. WOLFF teaches the final moisture is about 2% to 6% [column 6 line 11]. This range overlaps the instant claim range. This teaches the instant claim limitation of “wherein the moisture content of the resulting stack of layers having a further barrier layer is below 2 % by weight, based on the weight of the resulting stack of layers having a further barrier layer”.
Conclusion
/S.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748