DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/05/23 and 12/22/22 have been considered by the examiner.
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on April 15, 2026, amended claims 58-60, 63, 64, 68-71 have been entered. Claim 61 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the objections have been fully considered and were persuasive. Therefore, these objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remaining arguments filed with respect to the 103 rejections raised in the previous office action were fully considered, but are moot in view of the current combination of references that were necessitated by amendment. Please see prior art section below for more detail, updated citations (Kurokawa reference), and updated obviousness rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 58-60, 65, 66 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordano (DE 102005014624 A1) and in further view of Nycz (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0187120 A1) and Kurokawa (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0282324 A1)
Giordano and Nycz were applied in the Applicant’s IDS submitted on 12/22/22
Regarding claim 58, Giordano teaches a device for implantation of an implant [fig. 17, element 146; par. 156] into a bone segment [fig. 1, element 10] comprising: a hollow trocar [fig. 1, element 12] for accessing a subject's bone [par. 132], the trocar having a sharp tip for piercing tissue such that a distal tip segment of the trocar can be positioned adjacent to a target bone location [fig. 16, element 12; par. 153 “Using the edge 48 of the guide instrument 12, a defined, circular cut 168 is made” Examiner notes the tip of the guide instrument, 48 is sharp enough to cut tissue], a drill cartridge [fig. 16, element 26] for forming a cavity in a bone, the drill cartridge configured to facilitate passage of a drill through a lumen of the trocar to form a cavity in the bone segment at the target location [par. 154, 155], and an implant cartridge [fig. 17, element 28] configured for passage of an implant through the trocar to implant the implant within the cavity formed by the drill [par. 156],
However, Giordano does not teach a device for implantation of a biosensor into a bone segment
Nycz teaches a device for implantation of a biosensor into a bone segment [fig. 1, element 120; par. 8, 30]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, to incorporate a device for implantation of a biosensor into a bone segment, for detecting characteristics of joint tissues and to maintain the sensor in a fixed position in the bone, as evidence by Nycz [par. 8]
However, Giordano does not teach a revolver barrel housing the drill cartridge and the biosensor cartridge, the revolver barrel being rotatable to alternately align the drill cartridge and the biosensor cartridge with the lumen of the trocar
Kurokawa teaches a revolver barrel housing the first cartridge and the biosensor cartridge, the revolver barrel being rotatable to alternately align the first cartridge and the biosensor cartridge with the lumen of the trocar [fig. 11; par. 136, 137]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, to incorporate a revolver barrel housing the first cartridge and the biosensor cartridge, the revolver barrel being rotatable to alternately align the first cartridge and the biosensor cartridge with the lumen of the trocar, for expelling media, as evidence by Kurokawa [par. 138]
Regarding claim 59, Giordano further teaches the device further comprises an instrument body [fig. 1, element 24; par. 134, Examiner notes the perforation instrument 24 guides the drill; fig. 1, element 28; par. 147, 148; Examiner notes the insertion instrument 28 guides the implant].
However, Giordano does not teach an instrument body in which the revolver barrel is disposed
Kurokawa teaches in which the revolver barrel is disposed [fig. 11; par. 136, 137]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, to incorporate a revolver barrel housing the first cartridge and the biosensor cartridge, the revolver barrel being rotatable to alternately align the first cartridge and the biosensor cartridge with the lumen of the trocar, for expelling mediaf, as evidence by Kurokawa [par. 138]
Regarding claim 60, Giordano further teaches the trocar is releasably couplable to the instrument body and, optionally, also includes a Luer-lock type coupler for connecting the trocar to the instrument body [par. 147, “an internal thread section corresponding to the external thread section 142 is provided, so that the insertion instrument 28 can be screwed to the guide instrument 12 on the proximal side”].
Regarding claim 65, Giordano further teaches wherein the biosensor cartridge further comprises a cylindrical chamber for storing at least one biosensor prior to implantation [fig. 10, element 136; par. 147, 148]
Regarding claim 66, Giordano further teaches wherein the biosensor cartridge further comprises an implantation actuator, and wherein optionally the implantation actuator comprises a piston [fig. 13, element 32; par. 150; Examiner notes the element 32 is the implantation actuator].
Regarding claim 68, Giordano further teaches wherein the device further comprises a stop for limiting the penetration of the drill, biosensor, or both into the bone segment [fig. 12, element 126; par. 146]
Claims 62-64 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa and in further view of Coppedge (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0314059)
Regarding claim 62, Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa teach device for implantation of a biosensor into a bone segment, as disclosed above.
However, Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa do not teach wherein the drill cartridge further comprises a drill actuator for the drill.
Coppedge teaches wherein the drill cartridge further comprises a drill actuator [fig. 8, element 122] for the drill [par. 127].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa, for activating the motor to effectuate the gear box and extended gear shaft to rotate the stylet and cannula simultaneously for drilling within a target patient's skin and bone, as evidence by Coppedge [par. 12]
Regarding claim 63, Coppedge further teaches wherein the drill cartridge comprises a rotatable shaft [fig. 8, element 119] with a drill tip [fig. 8, element 116] disposed at its distal end [par. 127].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa, to incorporate the drill cartridge comprises a rotatable shaft with a drill tip disposed at the distal end, as the drive shaft 119 provides the necessary rotation of the stylet 116 and attached cannula 114 during operation, as evidence by Coppedge [par. 127]
Regarding claim 64, Coppedge further teaches wherein the actuator further comprises a drive coupler [fig. 8, element 120] for coupling the rotatable shaft [fig. 8, element 119] to a rotary motor [fig. 8, element 122; par. 127]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa, to incorporate the actuator further comprises a drive coupler for coupling the rotatable shaft to a rotary motor, as the drive shaft 119 provides the necessary rotation of the stylet 116 and attached cannula 114 during operation, as evidence by Coppedge [par. 127]
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa and in further view of Giordano (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0150617), hereby referred to as Giordano 2015
Regarding claim 67, Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa teach a device for implantation of a biosensor into a bone segment, as disclosed above.
However, Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa do not teach wherein the implantation actuator further comprises a pneumatic coupler for coupling the piston to a pneumatic pressure source
Giordano 2015 teaches wherein the implantation actuator further comprises a pneumatic coupler [fig. 2A, element 50] for coupling the piston to a pneumatic pressure source [par. 20, 57-60]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa, to incorporate the implantation actuator further comprises a pneumatic coupler for coupling the piston to a pneumatic pressure source, for driving the bone pin into bone, as evidence by Giordano 2015 [par. 60]
Claims 69-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa and in further view of Trabish (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0405239 A1)
Regarding claim 69, Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa teach a device for implantation of a biosensor into a bone segment, as disclosed above.
Nycz teaches the biosensor is a microbead biosensor [fig. 1, element 120; par. 61, “the sensor has a diameter less than 4mm”] for implantation into the cavity a bone segment [par. 8] comprising: an external surface a sensor [par. 8] and configured for passage through the lumen of a trocar for implantation into the cavity of a bone segment [par. 30 “the sensor 120 is sized and shaped such that it may be injected into the bone using an injection gun and/or catheter”], and at least one kinematic sensor [par. 59]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano and Kurokawa, to incorporate the biosensor is a microbead biosensor for implantation into the cavity a bone segment comprising: an external surface a sensor and configured for passage through the lumen of a trocar for implantation into the cavity of a bone segment, and at least one kinematic sensor, for allowing placement of the sensor in more locations without interfering with body mechanics or functions, as evidence by Nycz [par. 22]
However, Nycz does not teach a shell for enclosing a sensor and at least one kinematic sensor disposed within the shell
Trabish teaches a shell for enclosing a sensor [fig. 1B, element 12; par. 83] and at least one kinematic sensor disposed within the shell [par. 57]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano, Nycz and Kurokawa, to incorporate a shell for enclosing a sensor and at least one kinematic sensor disposed within the shell, for sealing the sensor in the implant, as evidence by Trabish [par. 83]
Regarding claim 70, Nycz further teaches wherein the kinematic sensor further comprises at least one sensor from the group of accelerometers, gyroscopes and magnetic sensors [par. 59].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano and Kurokawa, to incorporate wherein the kinematic sensor further comprises at least one sensor from the group of accelerometers, gyroscopes and magnetic sensors, for to detect vibrations related to the soft tissue, as evidence by Nycz [par. 59]
Regarding claim 71, Nycz further teaches the biosensor further comprises a power source and, optionally, an energy harvesting device to recovery energy from movement of the bone segment, wherein optionally the power source comprises a battery or a contactless energy coupler [par. 35, 58].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Giordano and Kurokawa, to incorporate the biosensor further comprises a power source and, optionally, an energy harvesting device to recovery energy from movement of the bone segment, wherein optionally the power source comprises a battery or a contactless energy coupler, so the sensor does not require a dedicated power supply such as a battery, allowing placement of the sensor in more locations without interfering with body mechanics or functions, as evidence by Nycz [par. 22]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE L ROZANSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791