DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejections
The examiner previously rejected the instant claims as anticipated by Zhong et al. (CN 112076159 A). This rejection has been withdrawn in view of applicant having provided an English language copy of the foreign priority document. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is understood to be 14 September 2020. This is earlier than the publication date of Zhong, which is 15 December 2020. As such, Zhong is no longer considered to be prior art, and the previously applied anticipation rejection over Zhong has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the following, which is reproduced below.
That the claim recites text in parentheses is understood to render the claim indefinite. For example, it is unclear if the limitation regarding the 3000-8000 Da molecular weight applies to all hydrophilic chain segments or only those delineated with the subscript “m.” It is unclear whether the 2.5-6 times that of the hydrophilic chain segments applies to all hydrophobic segments, or only those delineated with the subscripts “x” and “y.” Furthermore, that the claim appears to define polylactic acid chain segments as the polymer blocks delineated with the subscript “n” would appear to go against the specification on page 3, lines 1-3, which indicates that the “n” chain is polyaspartic acid (abbreviated as “PAsp.”). Also, it is unclear if n is between 5 and 20, or if n is 17-50% of the molecular weight of the hydrophilic chain segments. As such, it is unclear how the claim requirements in parentheses further limit claim 1.
For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner will examine the claims with the understanding that
The block “m”, which is actually a polyethylene glycol block, has a molecular weight between 3000-8000 Da. This is about 68 to 182 repeat ethylene glycol units, given a 44 Dalton molecular weight for each repeat unit.
The blocks “x”+“y” have a combined molecular weight of about 7500 Daltons to about 48,000 Daltons. The minimum value of about 7500 Daltons is calculated as 2.5 multiplied by 3000 Daltons. The maximum value of 48,000 Daltons is calculated as 6 multiplied by 8000 Daltons.
The molecular weight of the block delineated as “n”, which the examiner understands to be polyaspartic acid, is understood to be in the range of about 510 Daltons to about 4000 Daltons. The minimum value is calculated as 3000 multiplied by 0.17. The maximum value is calculated as 8000 multiplied by 0.5. Polyaspartic acid is understood to have a molecular weight of about 99 Daltons per repeat unit. As such, the value of 510 Daltons is about 5 repeat units, and the value of 4000 Daltons is about 40 repeat units. The examiner notes that the upper end of this range conflicts with requirements elsewhere in the claim that n be between 5 and 20 repeat units; however, for the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner has assumed that the broader range of n being between 5 and 40 limits the claim.
Response to Arguments Regarding Indefiniteness Issues
The applied indefiniteness rejection is understood by the examiner to be a new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s claim amendments. The examiner has not substantively addressed the arguments presented by applicant regarding the indefiniteness issues in applicant’s response on 3 November 2025. This is because applicant’s arguments appear to relate to indefiniteness rejections that have been withdrawn. In contrast, the applied rejection is a new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment; as such, the arguments presented do not appear to be applicable and have not been addressed substantively by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner understands claim 1 to require that the presence of a peptide is optional. The examiner has annotated claim 1 in the following manner to best explain this position.
As such, the peptide is understood to be optional.
For the purposes of examination under prior art, a composition lacking a peptide is understood to be within the scope of claim 9, as is a composition comprising one of the recited peptides. However, a composition comprising a peptide different from one of the recited peptides of claim 9 is not understood to be in the scope of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al. (CN 110229323 A1) in view of Sikic et al. (US 2007/0009535 A1).
Meng was originally published in Chinese. The examiner has provided an English-language translation. All page and paragraph citations are to the English language translation unless indicated otherwise. The material cited in the English translation is assumed by the examiner to be present in the original Chinese document.
Meng et al. (hereafter referred to as Meng) is drawn to a polymer vesicle with an asymmetric membrane structure intended for treatment of liver cancer, as of Meng, page 1 of translation, title and abstract. The polymer of Meng may be of the following structure, as of Meng, page 1/19 of original document, paragraph 0004, relevant diagram reproduced below.
As such, the amphiphilic block copolymer of Meng appears to be essentially the same as the amphiphilic block copolymer of the instantly claimed invention.
Meng differs from the claimed invention because Meng does not teach the required anti-cancer agent.
Sikic et al. (hereafter referred to as Sikic) is drawn to treatment of cancer patients, as of Sikic, title and abstract. Sikic teaches administration of various agents to treat cancers, as of Sikic, paragraph 0150,
As such, Sikic teaches mitoxantrone and daunorubicin to treat liver cancer.
Sikic does not teach the required polymer structure.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the active agents of Sikic with the composition of Meng. Meng is drawn to a composition intended to treat liver cancer, as of Meng, title and abstract. Sikic teaches that daunorubicin and mitoxantrone are useful for treating liver cancer. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the daunorubicin and mitoxantrone of Sikic with the composition of Meng for predictable treatment of liver cancer with a reasonable expectation of success. Combining prior art elements (e.g. the daunorubicin and mitoxantrone of Sikic with the composition of Meng) according to known methods to yield predictable results (treatment of liver cancer) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
As to claim 1, the claim requires a particular small molecule which may be vincristine sulfate, daunorubicin, or mitoxantrone. Sikic teaches daunorubicin and mitoxantrone, and also teaches vincristine (but does not specify the sulfate counter-ion).
As to claim 1, Meng teaches a hydrophilic molecular weight of 3000-10,000 Da, as of page 16 of translation, claim 7 of Meng. This overlaps with the claimed range of 3000-8000 Da.
As to claim 1, the examiner has interpreted the claim as requiring a hydrophobic block with a molecular weight of between about 7500 and 48,000 Daltons. See the section above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Meng teaches the following on page 7 of translation, top two lines, reproduced below.
This appears to be a teaching of DTC+TMC, which appear to be the hydrophobic blocks, of 17 kDa in total. The value of 17 kDa is calculated by adding 2k+15k, wherein the examiner understands the abbreviation “k” in this context to refer to kilodaltons, wherein 1 kilodalton is 1000 Daltons or 1000 grams per mole. This would appear to be within the scope of what claim 1 requires regarding the molecular weight of the hydrophobic block. See the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for more explanation of this issue.
As to claim 1, the claim is understood by the examiner to require that n is 5-40; see the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Meng appears to provide motivation for the skilled artisan to have optimized the polyaspartic chain length, as of at least Meng, page 8 of translation, description of Table 6 and page 9 of translation at bottom, description of Table 8. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized a result-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
As to claim 9, the examiner understands the above rejection to be applicable to claim 9 because claim 9 is not understood by the examiner to require a particular peptide. See the section above entitled “Claim Interpretation.” The examiner has presented an additional ground of rejection below under the assumption that the peptide of claim 9 is required rather than optional.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng et al. (CN 110229323 A1) in view of Sikic et al. (US 2007/0009535 A1), the combination further in view of Finlayson et al. (US 2019/0381127 A1)
Meng teaches a particular polymer. Sikic teaches an anti-cancer agent. See the rejection above over Meng in view of Sikic by themselves.
For the purposes of this rejection, the examiner understands that neither Meng nor Sikic teach the required peptide.
Finlayson et al. (hereafter referred to as Finlayson) is drawn to a cancer treatment, as of Finlayson, title and abstract. Finlayson teaches the peptide KPSSPPEE for treating cancer, as of paragraph 0052; this appears to be the same as the peptide labeled as “Seq. ID #1.”
Finlayson does not teach the required polymer structure.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the peptide of Finlayson with the composition of Meng. Meng is drawn to a composition intended to treat liver cancer, as of Meng, title and abstract. Finlayson teaches that the peptide with the sequence KPSSPPEE is useful for treating cancer. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have combined the peptide of Finlayson with the composition of Meng for predictable treatment of cancer with a reasonable expectation of success. Combining prior art elements (e.g. the peptide of Finlayson with the composition of Meng) according to known methods to yield predictable results (treatment of cancer) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Response to Arguments Regarding Obviousness Rejections
In applicant’s response on 3 November 2025 (hereafter referred to as applicant’s response), applicant makes the following arguments on page 8.
The examiner disagrees. Meng teaches and/or renders the above-indicated elements prima facie obvious for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant then argues that the combination of Meng in view of Sikic fails to teach the required peptides of Seq. ID 1, 2, or 3, as of page 9 of applicant’s response. This is not persuasive, as this element has been taught by Finlayson.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/012,410 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The instant claims are drawn to a peptide targeted polymer vesicle made from a polymer with a specific structure recited by instant claim 1.
The copending claims are drawn to a drug-loaded polymer vesicle. This vesicle has the specific structure recited by copending claim 1, which appears to be the same as that recited by instant claim 1.
The instant and copending claims differ because the instant claims optionally recite a peptide, which is not recited by the copending claims. Nevertheless, the peptide in the instant claims appears to be optional. As such, the subject matter of the copending claims appears to be within the scope of that of the instant claims. Therefore, the subject matter of the copending claims appears to effectively anticipate that of the instant claims, resulting in a prima facie case of provisional anticipatory-type non-statutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments Regarding Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant takes the position that applicant will address the double patenting rejection upon indication of allowability, if necessary, as of applicant’s response on page 9. In response, the examiner takes the position that the claims are not in condition for allowance other than the double patenting rejection. As applicant has not provided arguments specific to the double patenting rejection, this rejection has been maintained by the examiner.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612