DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment/remarks submitted 04/30/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 4-5, 11, and 13-19 are pending. Claims 2-3, 6-10, and 12 are cancelled. Claim 19 is new. Claims 1, 11, and 17 are amended. Claims 1, 4-5, 11, and 13-19 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “wherein when Chemical Formula 2 is represented by Chemical Formula 2-1 … and m is an interger [sic] from 1 to 5, then, in Chemical Formula 2-1, R4 is a cyano group.” Similar recitations for Chemical Formulas 2-2a and 2-2b are recited. However, the various R groups (e.g. the R4 in Chemical Formula 2-1) in the broader recitation of Chemical Formulas 2-1, 2-2a, and 2-2b are undefined; they are only further defined within the “then” clauses. It is not clear if the groups in the “then” clause are required, or if other unrecited R groups are excluded. This renders the scope of the claim indefinite. Claims 4-5, 13-16, and 18 depend from claim 1 and do not resolve the issue; therefore, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 11, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0198924 A1 (“Kim”) in view of US 2020/0251778 A1 (“Choi”).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 11, 13-15, and 17, Kim discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte for a rechargeable battery. The electrolyte comprises a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, and an electrolyte additive (Abstract). The additive (“first compound”) comprises a salt of an anion with Cs+ ([0017]). The anion is represented by
where R1 and R2 are each a fluoro group or a C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group ([0020]-[0021]).
In examples, the additive is cesium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide included in an amount of 0.5 wt % based on the total amount of the non-aqueous electrolyte ([0070]). This anticipates the claimed Chemical Formulas 1 and 1-2. See also the broader discussion of the structure of the additive at [0020]-[0024] and the amount of the additive at [0032]-[0033].
Kim does not expressly disclose a second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 or that the first compound and the second compound are included in a weight ratio of 1:0.4 to 1:1.
Choi discloses an electrolyte for lithium secondary batteries including an additive (Abstract). In an example, the additive is represented by Compound 1:
The additive comprises a difluorophosphate (-PF2) group having excellent electrochemical reactivity for a terminal group, thereby inhibiting the decomposition of an organic solvent such as ethylene carbonate (EC) to reduce generation of gas, and consequentially may reduce a resistance increase rate ([0052]). In addition, the difluorophosphate forms a stable thin film on a surface of a substrate through complexation reaction with metal ions, for example, copper ions (Cu2+), dissolved from the metal substrate. Due to the formation of the thin film, additional dissolution of metal from the substrate is inhibited, and as a result, over-discharge is inhibited when the battery is left alone, and thus battery characteristics is improved ([0054]). The cyano group (-CN) at the other terminal end may form a SEI film having a high concentration of cyano ions, being chemically stable with high polarity. Accordingly, resistance at the interface between the electrolyte and the negative electrode may be reduced, and lithium ion conductivity may be improved, thus leading to increase in low-temperature discharge voltage ([0057]). In an example, Compound 1 is included in an amount of 0.5 wt% ([0102]). For these reasons, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the additive of Compound 1 in the same amount as taught by Choi.
This results in a weight ratio of the first compound to the second compound of 1:1 and a total weight of the composition (in instant claim 15) of 1.0 wt%.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim discloses the electrolyte of claim 1. Kim further discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a cathode employing a cathode active material, an anode employing an anode active material, and the non-aqueous electrolyte ([0010]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kim discloses the electrolyte of claim 1. Kim further discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte comprises a mixture of a cyclic carbonate with a linear carbonate ([0042]) and exemplifies ethylene carbonate (EC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC) and diethyl carbonate (DEC) at a volume ratio of 30:50:20 ([0070]). Therefore, the cyclic carbonate (EC) and linear carbonate (EMC+DEC) are provided at a volume ratio of 3:7.
Claims 1, 4-5, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0198924 A1 (“Kim”) in view of KR 10-2017-0018739 A (“Shatunov” – attached machine translation cited herein).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 13-16, and 18, Kim discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte for a rechargeable battery. The electrolyte comprises a lithium salt, a non-aqueous organic solvent, and an electrolyte additive (Abstract). The additive (“first compound”) comprises a salt of an anion with Cs+ ([0017]). The anion is represented by
where R1 and R2 are each a fluoro group or a C1-C4 fluoroalkyl group ([0020]-[0021]).
In examples, the additive is cesium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide included in an amount of 0.5 wt % based on the total amount of the non-aqueous electrolyte ([0070]). This anticipates the claimed Chemical Formulas 1 and 1-2. See also the broader discussion of the structure of the additive at [0020]-[0024] and the amount of the additive at [0032]-[0033].
Kim does not expressly disclose a second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 or that the first compound and the second compound are included in a weight ratio of 1:0.4 to 1:1.
Shatunov discloses an electrolyte for a lithium battery including: a compound expressed by
X is a halogen atom; R1 and R2 are independently substituted or unsubstituted C1-C20 alkyl groups, independently substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 akenyl groups, substituted or unsubstituted C2-C20 akynyl groups, substituted or unsubstituted C6-C20 aryl group, or substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl groups; and R1 and R2 can form a ring by being connected to each other (Abstract).
In an example, the compound (“second compound”) is represented by Chemical Formula 7:
Shatunov discloses examples wherein additives are included in amounts of 0.1 wt%, 0.25 wt%, and 0.5 wt% (Examples 1-8). The additive included in the amount of 0.5 wt% is represented by a different chemical formula, however it was shown to have similar properties to the above additive. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the additive of Chemical Formula 7 in an amount of 0.5 wt% to improve the cycle-life performance of the lithium battery ([0050]-[0051], [0164]).
This results in a weight ratio of the first compound to the second compound of 1:1 and a total weight of the composition (in instant claim 15) of 1.0 wt%.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim discloses the electrolyte of claim 1. Kim further discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a cathode employing a cathode active material, an anode employing an anode active material, and the non-aqueous electrolyte ([0010]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kim discloses the electrolyte of claim 1. Kim further discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte comprises a mixture of a cyclic carbonate with a linear carbonate ([0042]) and exemplifies ethylene carbonate (EC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC) and diethyl carbonate (DEC) at a volume ratio of 30:50:20 ([0070]). Therefore, the cyclic carbonate (EC) and linear carbonate (EMC+DEC) are provided at a volume ratio of 3:7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, and 13-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 18/012,630 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims represent a patentably indistinct combination of limitations recited in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, and 13-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/489,734 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims represent a patentably indistinct combination of limitations recited in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant’s argument regarding unexpected results, see pp. 13-16, filed 04/30/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art does not disclose or render obvious the electrolyte of claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10, filed 04/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-7, 11, and 13-18 under 35 USC 103 over Shatunov ‘724 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2020/0251778 A1 (“Choi”).
Applicant's arguments, see pp. 11-12, filed 04/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-7, 11, and 13-18 under 35 USC 103 over Shatunov ‘739 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 of Shatunov ‘739 appears to be excluded from claim 1 (see the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above), Shatunov ‘739 also discloses a compound represented by Chemical Formula 7:
This reads on the instant Chemical Formula 2-2b when R11, R12, R15, and R16 are hydrogen and R13 and R14 are unsubstituted C1 alkyl groups. Therefore, the rejection over Shatunov ‘739 is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727