DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The indicated allowability of claims 1-26 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Kim et al. (US 2019/0198924). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites the limitation "chemical formula 4" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, instant claim 5 will be interpreted as dependent on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shatunov et al. (US 2019/0252724) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0198924).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 8, 14, and 26, Shatunov teaches an electrolyte for lithium secondary battery comprising:
a nonaqueous organic solvent;
a lithium salt (e,g., LiPF6; para 0093); and
an additive comprising a compound which contains a difluorophosphite (abstract; Applicant’s claimed “second compound”, chemical formula 1).
For example, the additive may be chemical formula 1-1 (para 0029).
Shatunov does not teach a first compound, wherein the first compound is a cesium salt compound.
Kim, directed to an electrolyte additive and lithium secondary battery, teaches an electrolyte additive including (1) a lithium compound for film formation and (2) a salt of an anion, derived from a nitrogen-atom-containing compound, with Cs+ or Rb+ (abstract). For example, cesium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (chemical formula 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further comprise cesium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, a cesium salt, because the electrolyte additive comprising the salt of an anion with Cs+, the anion being derived from a nitrogen atom-containing compound, simultaneously includes a lithium compound for forming a coating film, and thus the salt of the anion derived from a nitrogen atom-containing compound with Cs+ may induce the formation of a more uniform SEI coating film on the anode and cathode, formed from the lithium compound for forming a coating film. This uniform formation of the coating film facilitates the movement of lithium ions, thus making it possible to secure more improved output characteristics (para 0030).
Regarding claim 5, instant claim is proviso upon limitation chemical formula 4 not required by the dependent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the cesium compound used in an amount of 0.1 to 3 wt.% (para 0032).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, instant claim is proviso upon limitation chemical formula 2 not required by the dependent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Regarding claim 15, Shatunov teaches the second compound used in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt.% (para 0039).
Regarding claims 16-18, Kim teaches the first compound used in an amount of 0.1 to 3 wt.% (para 0032) and Shatunov teaches the second compound used in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt.% (para 0039), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 1:0.1 to 1:10, 1:0.5 to 1:2, and 0.2 to 8 parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited ratios because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 19, Shatunov further teaches a positive electrode and a negative electrode (para 0091-0092).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Shatunov teaches nickel and 0.5 ≤ x ≤ 0.98 (para 066). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 22, Shatunov teaches graphite (para 0076).
Regarding claims 23-25, instant claim is proviso upon limitation Si composite not required by the dependent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (KR 2019-0123136), machine translation, in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0198924).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, and 14, Jin teaches an electrolyte for lithium secondary battery comprising:
a nonaqueous organic solvent;
a lithium salt; and
an additive (abstract; Applicant’s claimed “second compound”, chemical formula 1).
For example, the additive may be chemical formula 1-1 (para 0085). R1-R6 each independently may be hydrogen, and (un)substituted C1-C10 alkyl group.
Jin does not teach a first compound, wherein the first compound is a cesium salt compound.
Kim, directed to an electrolyte additive and lithium secondary battery, teaches an electrolyte additive including (1) a lithium compound for film formation and (2) a salt of an anion, derived from a nitrogen-atom-containing compound, with Cs+ or Rb+ (abstract). For example, cesium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (chemical formula 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further comprise cesium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, a cesium salt, because the electrolyte additive comprising the salt of an anion with Cs+, the anion being derived from a nitrogen atom-containing compound, simultaneously includes a lithium compound for forming a coating film, and thus the salt of the anion derived from a nitrogen atom-containing compound with Cs+ may induce the formation of a more uniform SEI coating film on the anode and cathode, formed from the lithium compound for forming a coating film. This uniform formation of the coating film facilitates the movement of lithium ions, thus making it possible to secure more improved output characteristics (para 0030).
Regarding claim 5, instant claim is proviso upon limitation chemical formula 4 not required by the dependent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the cesium compound used in an amount of 0.1 to 3 wt.% (para 0032).
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches chemical formula 1 may be used in an amount of 0.05-20 wt.% (para 0023), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 0.1 to 5 parts by weight. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 16-18, Kim teaches the first compound used in an amount of 0.1 to 3 wt.% (para 0032) and Jin teaches the second compound used in an amount of 0.05 to 20 wt.% (para 0023), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 1:0.1 to 1:10, 1:0.5 to 1:2, and 0.2 to 8 parts. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, Jin further teaches a positive electrode and a negative electrode (para 0124).
Regarding claim 20, Jin teaches positive active materials (para 0131).
Regarding claim 22, Jin teaches positive active materials including graphite (para 0142).
Regarding claims 23-25, instant claim is proviso upon limitation Si composite not required by the dependent claim; therefore, the limitations of instant claims do not come into force.
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723