DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 11/5/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2014/0113324, hereinafter Di Carlo in view of WO 2020/013903, hereinafter Simpson.
Regarding claim 1, Di Carlo teaches a method (paragraph [0059]), comprising: flowing a biologic sample containing a plurality of cells along a first fluidic channel (paragraph [0059]) and into an intersection between the first fluidic channel and a second fluidic channel of a microfluidic device (paragraph [0059]); introducing a pressure field having a plurality of different pressure zones at the intersection and into the first fluidic channel via the second fluidic channel (paragraph [0059], based upon fluid dynamics, the pressure near the walls of the second fluidic will be different from the pressure in the middle of the channel, thereby leading to a plurality of different zones); and measuring deformability of a cell among the plurality of cells responsive to the introduction of the pressure field (figure 9B and paragraph [0099]).
Di Carlo fails to teach a plurality of apertures in a channel wall disposed in the intersection.
Simpson teaches a microfluidic device with filter right before the sheath fluid enter the channel (Simpson, figure 7A and paragraph [0039]) so as to filter contaminants out of the fluid flow (Simpson, paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a filter (a plurality of apertures) right before the sheath fluid enters the channel (thereby forming a channel wall in the intersection) because it would filter contaminants out of the fluid flow (Simpson, paragraph [0039]). Regarding the limitation that the plurality of apertures segments the pressure field into the plurality of different pressure zones, as described above the pressure across the channel will be different and therefore the apertures of the filter would divide the flow which is considered to be divided into a plurality of different pressure zones.
Regarding claim 2, Di Carlo teaches wherein introducing the pressure field includes generating a cross-directional flow to the flow of the biologic sample through the first fluidic channel (figure 9A and paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Di Carlo teaches wherein the intersection includes a cell probing chamber (figure 9A), and the method further comprises: detecting the cell of the biologic sample in the cell probing chamber (paragraph [0099]); and isolating the cell in the intersection by reducing the flow of the biologic sample through the first fluidic channel (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Di Carlo teaches further comprising imaging the cell while the pressure field causes deformation of the cell via an imaging system and measuring the deformability of the cell based on image data received from the imaging system (figure 9A and paragraph [0099]).
Regarding claim 5, Di Carlo teaches wherein flowing the biologic sample includes flowing the biologic sample in a first direction along the first fluidic channel via a first fluidic pump (paragraph [0051]), and introducing the pressure field in a second direction that crosses the first direction via a second fluidic pump (paragraph [0051]).
Di Carlo fails to specifically teach reducing the flow in the first direction in response to the cell being located in the intersection.
Di Carlo further teaches the forces used to deform the particles can be generated by modulating flow parameters of any one or more of the first flow, the first opposing flow, and the second opposing flow (paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reduced the flow in the first direction in response to the cell being located in the intersection because it would allow for modulating the flow parameters and thereby the amount/type of deformation (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Di Carlo teaches further comprising sensing entry of the cell into the intersection via a signal received from a sensor disposed proximate to the intersection (paragraph [0099]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Di Carlo teaches wherein introducing the pressure field includes driving a flow of fluid along the second fluidic channel and toward the channel wall via the pressure field (paragraph [0059]), and segmenting the flow of the fluid into different pressures zones in the intersection via the plurality of apertures in the channel wall (the filter as added by Simpson would segment the flow into different pressure zones).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the references of Di Carlo nor Simpson introduce the pressure field having multiple different pressure zones into an intersection of two fluidic channels is not found persuasive. As described above, Di Carlo described applying a pressure by flow the sheath fluid through a channel. As is known by fluid dynamics, the pressure across the channel would vary based upon the location in the cross-section of the channel. Therefore, the pressure in the channel would vary across the channel. Adding the filter with apertures of Simpson to the device of Di Carlo, the apertures would divide the fluid into a number of different zones. As the pressure across the channel varies the apertures would therefore device the fluid into different pressure zones, thereby reading on the instant limitations.
The fact that apertures in Simpson serve an entirely different purpose of filtration, doesn’t change the fact that the filter with apertures would divide the fluid up into zones and therefore pressures thereby reading on the instant claims.
In response to applicant's argument that the apertures are added for a different reason, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See MPEP § 2145 (II).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796