DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by KR101962424B1 herein set forth as KR62424B1.
Regarding claim 1, KR62424B1 discloses a fermented beverage manufacturing apparatus (refer to fig.9 as a whole below) including a flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9) connected to a keg (#202, fig.9) with an undiluted solution (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9) stored therein, the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9) comprising: an undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) configured to move an undiluted solution (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9) therethrough; a gas flow path (#310, fig.9) configured to move gas therethrough; a coupler (#230, fig.9) configured to independently connect an inside of the keg (#202, fig.9) to the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) and the gas flow path (#310, fig.9) while being coupled to a keg cap (#205, fig.9) of the keg (#202, fig.9); a medium tank (#270, fig.9) provided between the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) and the gas flow path (#310, fig.9) and configured to communicate the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) with the gas flow path (#310, fig.9); and a pump (#260, fig.9) provided on the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) (refer to KR62424B1 NPL machine translated page 7 and 8 cited: “…when the filter container 274 is used for sterilizing cleaning filter container in which the sterilizing wash water is contained, the sterilizing wash water contained in the filter container 274 is circulated by the pump 260 to the flow path portion 304 It is possible to sterilize and clean the flow path portion 304 automatically without contact with the outside to be contaminated…”).
Regarding claim 2, KR62424B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, KR62424B1 further discloses a tank coupler (#271, fig.9) coupled to a cap (#275 , fig.9) of the medium tank (#270, fig.9) and configured to independently connect an inside of the medium tank (#270, fig.9) to the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) and the gas flow path (#310, fig.9).
Regarding claim 3, KR62424B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, KR62424B1 further discloses when the coupler (#230, fig.9) is combined with the cap (#205, fig.9) of the keg (#202, fig.9), the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9) defines a closed flow path(refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9, Examiner since #214 closed the system, there for ); through driving of the pump (#260, fig.9), an undiluted solution (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9) is moved from the keg (#202, fig.9) to the medium tank (#270, fig.9) or from the medium tank (#270, fig.9) to the keg via the pump (#260, fig.9); and gas is moved from the medium tank (#270, fig.9) to the keg or from the keg to the medium tank (#270, fig.9) through the gas flow path (refer to KR62424B1 NPL machine translated page 7 and 8 cited: “…when the filter container 274 is used for sterilizing cleaning filter container in which the sterilizing wash water is contained, the sterilizing wash water contained in the filter container 274 is circulated by the pump 260 to the flow path portion 304 It is possible to sterilize and clean the flow path portion 304 automatically without contact with the outside to be contaminated…” and Page 11 cited: “…the pump 260 may be a bi-directional pump…”) (Examiner note: page 7-8 and 11 cited here in KR62424B1 NPL translated, discussing about using the a bi-directional pump #260 to move solution and gas using the same paths).
Regarding claim 4, KR62424B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, KR62424B1 further discloses wherein the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) includes a first undiluted solution flow path (#320, fig.9) provided between the coupler (#230, fig.9) and the pump (#260, fig.9), and a second undiluted solution flow path (#304, fig.9) provided between the pump (#260, fig.9) and the medium tank (#274, fig.9).
Regarding claim 5, KR62424B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 4, KR62424B1 further discloses a fermented beverage flow path (#310 portion toward #314, fig.9) branched from the first undiluted solution flow path (#320, fig.9) and configured to dispense an undiluted solution inside the keg (#202, fig.9) to an outside (refer as the outside of the keg #202 in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 18, KR62424B1 discloses a fermented beverage manufacturing apparatus (refer to fig.9 and 12 as a whole below) including a flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9 and 12) connected to a keg (#202, fig.9) with an undiluted solution (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9) stored therein, the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9 and 12) comprising: a coupler holder (#205, fig.9); an undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) configured to move an undiluted solution (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9) therethrough; a gas flow path (#310, fig.9) configured to move gas therethrough; a coupler (#230, fig.9) configured to directly connect the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) and the gas flow path (#310, fig.9) through the coupler holder (#205, fig.9) when being coupled to the coupler holder (#280, fig.12); a medium tank (#283, fig.12) provided between the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) and the gas flow path (#310, fig.9) and configured to communicate the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) with the gas flow path (#310, fig.9); and a pump (#260, fig.9) provided on the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) (refer to KR62424B1 NPL machine translated page 10 cited: “…A sterilizing cleaning plug 280 connected to the flow path portion 304 and containing a sterilizing and washing water therein, a pump 260 connected to the flow path portion 304, And a control unit 20 for controlling the operation of the pump 260 so that sterilizing washing water contained in the filter container 285 for circulating the circulating flow path 304 is circulated.
The sterilizing cleaning stopper 280 may be provided with a space 283 for connecting the wick channel 234 and the gas channel 232 when coupled to the coupler 230 …” and Page 11 cited: “…the pump 260 may be a bi-directional pump…”).
Regarding claim 19, KR62424B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 18, KR62424B1 further discloses wherein the coupler (#230, fig.9 and 12) is coupled to the coupler holder (#280, fig.12) during cleaning of the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9 and 12), and coupled to a keg ca (#205, fig.9) p of the keg (#202, fig.9) when a fermented beverage (refer to the solution in #202 in fig.9) is manufactured through the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9 and 12).
Regarding claim 20, KR62424B1 discloses a fermented beverage manufacturing apparatus (refer to fig.9 as a whole below) including a flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9) through which an undiluted solution and gas are moved to manufacture an undiluted solution stored in a keg as a fermented beverage (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9), the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9) comprising: an undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) configured to move an undiluted solution (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9) therethrough in a process of manufacturing the fermented beverage (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9); a gas flow path configured to move gas therethrough in the process of manufacturing a fermented beverage (referring the solution in #202 in fig.9); a middle holder (#205, fig.9) provided between the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) and the gas flow path and configured to communicate the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) with the gas flow path; a pump provided on the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9); and a coupler (#275, fig.9) connected to a cleaning tank (#274, fig.9) accommodating a cleaning solution (refer as “sterilizing wash water in KR62424B1 NPL machine translated page 7 and 8) instead of the keg (#202, fig.9) and configured to independently connect an inside of the cleaning tank (#274, fig.9) to the undiluted solution flow path (#320 and #304, fig.9) and the gas flow path when an inside of the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9) is cleaned (refer to KR62424B1 NPL machine translated page 7 and 8 cited: “…when the filter container 274 is used for sterilizing cleaning filter container in which the sterilizing wash water is contained, the sterilizing wash water contained in the filter container 274 is circulated by the pump 260 to the flow path portion 304 It is possible to sterilize and clean the flow path portion 304 automatically without contact with the outside to be contaminated…” and Page 11 cited: “…the pump 260 may be a bi-directional pump…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101962424B1 herein set forth as KR62424B1, in view of ALGUL et al (US2023/0069295A1) herein set forth as ALGUL.
Regarding claim 6, KR62424B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 5, KR62424B1 further discloses wherein the first undiluted solution flow path (#320, fig.9) includes a pump valve (#325, fig.9) configured to selectively open and close the first undiluted solution flow path (#320, fig.9).
KR62424B1 does not explicitly disclose a flow meter.
In the field of beverage preparing, dispensing, cleaning and monitoring, ALGUL discloses the use of a flow meter to monitor the beverage flow (refer to Paragraph 0108 cited: “…The sensor(s) (210) can include one or more of a flow meter, temperature sensor, pressure sensor, optical sensor and color sensor. In one embodiment, the sensor (210) may be a flow meter, pH sensor or conductivity sensor positioned in the beverage line (200) or dispensing tap (300) and configured to detect whether a certain fluid is a cleaning fluid or rinse water or beverage and transmit this data via wired and/or wireless connections to the controller of the beverage line cleaning apparatus …”).
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR62424B1’s first undiluted solution flow path with a flow meter, as taught by ALGUL, as it is well known to a person in the art that monitor the flow rate is common and not an inventive concept at all, since monitoring a flow with flow meter is well known that would provide information to reduce inaccuracy on too little or too many flow such that would produce a least desired end product or cleaning processes.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of KR62424B1 and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, KR62424B1 further discloses the pump valve (#315, fig.9) is provided between the pump (#260, fig.9) and a branch point (refer to the branch point between #315 and #314 in fig.9) at which the fermented beverage flow path (#310 portion toward #314, fig.9) is branched from the first undiluted solution flow path (#320, fig.9).
KR62424B1 does not explicitly discloses the flow meter is provided between the branch point and the coupler.
In the field of beverage preparing, dispensing, cleaning and monitoring, ALGUL further discloses the flow meter (#210, fig.2) is provided between the branch point (#230, fig.2) and the coupler (#620, fig.2).
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR62424B1’s first undiluted solution flow path with a flow meter between branch point and the coupler, as taught by ALGUL, as it is well known to a person in the art that monitor the flow rate is common and not an inventive concept at all, since monitoring a flow with flow meter is well known that would provide information to reduce inaccuracy on too little or too many flow of discharging the end product or cleaning processes, such that would realize how much of the end product or cleaning fluid is being produced, discharged, used or needed.
Regarding claim 8, the modification of KR62424B1 and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, KR62424B1 further discloses a dispensing valve (#314, fig. 9) configured to selectively open and close the fermented beverage flow path (#310 portion toward #314, fig.9) on a downstream side of the branch point (refer to the branch point between #315 and #314 in fig.9).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101962424B1 herein set forth as KR62424B1, in view of Blichmann (US10456757B1) herein set forth as Blichmann.
Regarding claim 21, KR62424B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, KR62424B1 only discloses naturally carbonating (refer to KR62424B1 NPL translated page 17 cited: “…The valve 314 may be closed to naturally carbonate the fermented wort using gas generated in the fermentation of the wort contained in the keg 202 …”)
KR62424B1 does not disclose a carbon dioxide flow path branched on the gas flow path and configured to supply carbon dioxide from a carbon dioxide tank to an inside of the gas flow path.
In the similar field of carbonating beer, Blichmann discloses a carbon dioxide flow path branched (#133, fig.2) on the gas flow path (#113, fig.2) and configured to supply carbon dioxide from a carbon dioxide tank (#111, fig.2) to an inside of the gas flow path (#113, fig.2) (refer to Col 3 line 36-37 cited: “…a compressed gas tank, such as a carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) tank 111 via a carbonation hose 113 …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR62424B1’s gas flow path with a carbon dioxide flow path branched on the gas flow path and configured to supply carbon dioxide from a carbon dioxide tank to an inside of the gas flow path, as taught by Blichmann, in order to provide the capability to increase carbonating process, and reduce waiting time of nature carbonating by fermented process.
Claims 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR101962424B1 herein set forth as KR62424B1, in view of Blichmann (US10456757B1) herein set forth as Blichmann, and further in view of ALGUL et al (US2023/0069295A1) herein set forth as ALGUL.
Regarding claim 22, the modification of KR62424B1 and Blichmann discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, KR62424B1 does not explicitly disclose wherein a carbon dioxide valve, a check valve, and a carbon dioxide pressure gauge that are configured to selectively open and close the carbon dioxide flow path, and a pressure regulator configured to control a supply pressure of carbon dioxide supplied to the carbon dioxide flow path are provided on an upstream side of the branch point at which the carbon dioxide flow path is branched from the gas flow path.
In the similar field of carbonating beer, Blichmann further discloses wherein a carbon dioxide pressure gauge (#133, fig.2) that are configured to selectively open and close the carbon dioxide flow path (#133, fig.2), and a pressure regulator (refer to Col 5 line 22-32 cited: “…The same CO.sub.2 tank used to apply a first pressure to the vessel can be used to provide a second pressure to the carbonation stone and fitting assembly. This can be accomplished with a dual carbonation regulator 133 coupled to the CO.sub.2 tank 111 shown in FIG. 2. Similarly, a single tank with a single regulator can be used to pressurize the tank and then can be removed, readjusted to the second CO.sub.2 pressure, and then connected to the CO.sub.2 inlet of the apparatus. …”) configured to control a supply pressure of carbon dioxide (refer to the CO2 cited in Col 5 line 22-32) supplied to the carbon dioxide flow path (#133, fig.2) are provided on an upstream side of the branch point (refer to branch point #107 in fig.2) at which the carbon dioxide flow path (#133, fig.2) is branched from the gas flow path (#113, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR62424B1’s invention with a carbon dioxide pressure gauge that are configured to selectively open and close the carbon dioxide flow path, and a pressure regulator configured to control a supply pressure of carbon dioxide supplied to the carbon dioxide flow path are provided on an upstream side of the branch point at which the carbon dioxide flow path is branched from the gas flow path, as taught by Blichmann, in order to provide the control of the carbonating process by regulating the carbonate CO2, such that to replace nature carbonating, also increase and reduce the carbonating time.
Blichmann does not disclose a carbon dioxide valve, and a check valve. In the field of beverage preparing, dispensing, cleaning and monitoring, ALGUL discloses the use of valves and check valves for control mean (refer to Paragraph 0105 cited: “…The controller can control the opening/closing of fluid control means (121, 131, 141, 142, and 191). These fluid control means typically comprise controllable valves, such as solenoid valves. There may also be check valves (143) along the conduits for preventing back flow of fluid therethrough. In the illustrated embodiment, there is a check valve (143) upstream of the input water control means (142) along the cleaning fluid conduit (140) and there is a check valve (143) upstream of the output fluid control means (141) along the cleaning fluid conduit (140) …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow path with valves and check valves, as taught by ALGUL, for that it is well known and commonly utilized and lack of inventive idea behind such common knowledge, since well-known benefit of valve is to provide capability to open and shut; check valve for preventing blow back.
Regarding claim 23, the modification of KR62424B1, Blichmann and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 22, KR62424B1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the carbon dioxide is supplied to the gas flow path through the pressure regulator, the pressure gauge, the check valve, and the carbon dioxide valve in sequence.
Blichmann already discloses the pressure regulator, the pressure gauge in claim 22 rejection above.
ALGUL already discloses the teaching of utilizing check valve and valves in claim 22 rejection above.
Blichmann or ALGUL does not explicitly disclose the location of the check valve, and the carbon dioxide valve are in sequence.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilize and rearranging, the check valve, and the carbon dioxide valve, for that it is well known and commonly utilized and the lack of inventive idea behind such common knowledge, since well-known benefit of valve is to provide capability to open and shut; check valve for preventing blow back.
Regarding claim 24, the modification of KR62424B1, Blichmann and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, KR62424B1 further discloses a gas valve (#315, fig.9) configured to selectively open and close the gas flow path (#310, fig.9), wherein the gas valve (#315, fig.9) is provided between the medium tank (#280, fig.12) and a branch point (refer to the branch point between #315 and #314, fig.9 and 12) at which the flow path (refer to the branch toward #315 in fig.9) is branched from the gas flow path (#310, fig.9 and 12).
KR62424B1 does not disclose the use of carbon gas.
Blichmann already discloses the use of carbon gas in the flow path in claim 21 rejection above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR62424B1’s gas flow path with a carbon dioxide flow path branched on the gas flow path and configured to supply carbon dioxide from a carbon dioxide tank to an inside of the gas flow path, as taught by Blichmann, in order to provide the capability to increase carbonating process, and reduce waiting time of nature carbonating by fermented process.
Regarding claim 25, the modification of KR62424B1, Blichmann and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 24, KR62424B1 already discloses a gas valve (#315, fig.9) configured to selectively open and close the gas flow path (#310, fig.9), wherein the gas valve (#315, fig.9) is provided between the medium tank (#280, fig.12) and a branch point (refer to the branch point between #315 and #314, fig.9 and 12) at which the flow path (refer to the branch toward #315 in fig.9) is branched from the gas flow path (#310, fig.9 and 12).
KR62424B1 does not explicitly disclose a gas pressure gauge configured to detect a pressure inside the gas flow path between the gas valve and the branch point at which the carbon dioxide flow path is branched from the gas flow path.
In the similar field of carbonating beer, Blichmann further discloses a gas pressure gauge (#133, fig.2) configured to detect a pressure inside the gas flow path (refer to Col 5 line 22-32 cited: “…The same CO.sub.2 tank used to apply a first pressure to the vessel can be used to provide a second pressure to the carbonation stone and fitting assembly. This can be accomplished with a dual carbonation regulator 133 coupled to the CO.sub.2 tank 111 shown in FIG. 2. Similarly, a single tank with a single regulator can be used to pressurize the tank and then can be removed, readjusted to the second CO.sub.2 pressure, and then connected to the CO.sub.2 inlet of the apparatus. …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KR62424B1’s invention with a gas pressure gauge configured to detect a pressure inside the gas flow path, as taught by Blichmann, in order to provide the control of the carbonating process by regulating the carbonate CO2, such that to replace nature carbonating, also increase and reduce the carbonating time.
Blichmann does not explicitly disclose the location of the as pressure gauge in between the gas valve and the branch point at which the carbon dioxide flow path is branched from the gas flow path.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have locate the pressure gauge in between the gas valve and the branch point at which the carbon dioxide flow path is branched from the gas flow path, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to MPEP 716.02(f). doing so would allow to monitor the pressure of the desired location.
Regarding claim 26, the modification of KR62424B1, Blichmann and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 25, KR62424B1 further discloses wherein a branch point (refer to the branch point between #314 and #315 in fig.9) at which a flow path (refer to the flow path between #260 and #315 in fig.9) is branched is excluded on the gas flow path (#310, fig.9) between the gas valve (#315, fig.12) and the medium tank (#283, fig.12) .
Regarding claim 27, the modification of KR62424B1, Blichmann and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, KR62424B1 further discloses wherein, when the coupler (#230, fig.12) is directly coupled to a coupler holder (#280, fig.12), the coupler (#230, fig.12) directly connects the undiluted solution flow path (#320, fig.12) and the gas flow path (#310, fig.12) through the coupler holder (#280, fig.12).
Regarding claim 28, the modification of KR62424B1, Blichmann and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 27, KR62424B1 further discloses wherein: when the coupler (#230, fig.9) is combined with the cap (#205, fig.9) of the keg (#202, fig.9), the flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9) defines a closed flow path (referring to the flow paths in fig.9 is closed by #314); and through driving of the pump (#260, fig.9), a cleaning solution accommodated in the medium tank (#274, fig.9) is returned to an inside of the medium tank (#274, fig.9) after flowing through an entire flow module (refer to all the flow paths valves and connection such as #304, #310, #320, #206, #234 and more in fig.9).
Regarding claim 29, the modification of KR62424B1, Blichmann and ALGUL discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 21, KR62424B1 further discloses wherein a flow path of the undiluted solution or gas is defined by the flow module in at least one of a process of supplying yeast to the undiluted solution, a fermentation process of the undiluted solution, and an infusing process (refer to KR62424B1 NPL translated page 6 and 6th paragraph cited: “…The filter container 274 may be a sterilizing filter container for sterilizing washing water for sterilizing the flow path 304 or may be provided with hop or natural flavor and aroma, Or a yeast feed filter container containing a yeast to be fed to the wort contained in the keg 202. The yeast feed filter container may be a smart infusing filter container containing a material for adding the yeast to the yeast…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHRISTIANSEN (US2020/0247657A1) discloses a cleaning unit for carbonated beverage dispensing system that only teach on some of the dependent claim.
LEE et al (US2020/0165550A1) discloses a beverage maker may teach a lot of the limitation cited in the independent claims.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 June 8th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761