DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to papers filed 08/20/2026.
Claims 7, 47, 53, 57, and 61 have been amended. Claims 10-11, 52 have been newly canceled and no claims have been newly added.
Claims 7-8, 12,14 ,18-19, 23, 26-29, 32-39, 41, 43, 45-51 and 53-61 are currently pending.
Claims 18-19, 23, 26-29, 32-39, 41, 43, 45-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/18/2025.
Claims 7-8, 12, 14, 47-51 and 53-61 have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to amendment. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has defined the term “consisting essentially of” as “including the components specified but excluding other components except for materials present as impurities, unavoidable materials present as a result of processes used to provide the components, and components added for a purpose other than achieving the technical effect of the invention” (page 10 of the Specification).
The transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s) of the claimed invention. A “consisting essentially of” claim occupies a middle ground between closed claims that are written in a consisting of format and fully open claims that are drafted in a comprising format. For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as equivalent to “comprising.” See MPEP 2111.03 and 2163.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation of “free yolk granules released from the lysed yolk spheres” is now interpreted as not requiring the addition of separated (free) egg yolk granules that are not already present in the egg yolk extract.
Regarding claims 53-57, the reference to cell culture medium in these claims refers to the intended use of the egg yolk extract of claim 7 with a cell culture medium. They do not impart any structure to the egg yolk extract. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 60, while the limitation “wherein the extract comprises intracellular contents released from lysed yolk spheres” does not have literal support in Applicant’s Specification, it is deemed to be an inherent effect of lysing yolk spheres and thus intracellular contents of yolk spheres are deemed to be present in a yolk extract whenever yolk spheres have been lysed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 12, 14, 47-51 and 53-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roder (US 4,454,227-from IDS filed 02/17/2023) as evidenced by Offen (US 2019/0029236) and in view of Xie et al (Ultrasonics-Sonochemistry, published online September 05, 2019-previously cited) and Ruan et al (Cytotechnology 2012-newly cited) and as evidenced by Woodward, Scott A (Food Gels 1990-previously cited).
Regarding claims 7-8, 12, 47, 58, 60-61, Roder disclose an egg yolk extract that supports cell proliferation and survival at least equivalent to FBS when used at the same concentration in a cell culture medium (column 1 line 55- column 2 line 55). The egg yolk must not necessarily be separated from the egg white and thus whisked eggs are suitable (lysed yolk sphere and homogenized egg yolk and egg white, includes egg white proteins) (column 1 line 68 to column 2 line 2). Since whisked eggs will include a mixture of egg yolk and egg white, the proteins found in egg whites will inherently be present and include ovalbumin, ovotransferrin, lysozyme and ovoinhibitor as evidenced by Offen (US 2019/0029236, page 16 para 200). A commercial egg yolk emulsion is also described (lysed yolk spheres and homogenized egg yolk) (column 2 lines 2-3). The egg yolk extract is used in a liquid solution so it is deemed to be in liquid form (column 2 lines 51-55).
While Roder specifically disclose the use of emulsified egg yolks, they do not specifically teach the use of sonication or high-pressure homogenization to disrupt and lyse the whole egg, egg yolk and spheres present in the egg yolk.
Xie disclose an egg yolk solution (liquid) that was obtained from a chicken and homogenized by ultrasonic treatment (sonication) at 75W, 150W, 225W, and 300W (page 2 sections 2.1- 2.2 HIU treatment). The granules present with the egg yolk are released and dissociated (lysed) upon treatment with HIU (high-intensity ultrasonic) treatment (abstract, page 2 column 1, page 6 section 3.4). The spherical particles are cracked and broken by the ultrasonic treatment (page 7 section 3.5).
Xie disclose that ultrasonic treatment on chicken egg plasma proteins resulted in significant improvements of the emulsification activity, improved thermal stability and antioxidant activity for the egg whites (paragraph bridging pages 1-2). High intensity ultrasound was disclosed as effective for improving the functional properties of egg yolk proteins such as enhanced emulsifying, improved absolute value of zeta-potential and free sulfhydryl content and reduced average particle size (page 8 Conclusions).
While Xie do not specifically indicate the percentage of yolk spheres that are lysed, evidence that the vast majority of spheres are lysed when yolks are exposed to even gentle stirring is provided by Woodward.
Woodward teach that the stirring of raw egg yolk easily disrupts spheres resulting in a protein solution (paragraph bridging pages 189-190).
In addition, Applicant’s own disclosure states that sonication breaks open the majority of the yolk spheres (Specification page 6 lines 14-15).
Therefore, the Xie egg yolk solution that was homogenized by ultrasonic treatment is deemed to have at least 50% and at least 70% of the yolk spheres lysed by sonication and providing intracellular contents baring evidence to the contrary.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use high intensity sonication (HIU) to emulsify the whole egg or egg yolk in the production of the egg extract in Roder because Xie teach and suggest that HIU provides an emulsified egg product with improvements in both the egg white and the egg yolk that include enhanced emulsification, improved thermal stability, improved antioxidant activity, improved absolute value of zeta-potential and free sulfhydryl content and reduced average particle size. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Roder indicate that an emulsified egg product is useful as their egg extract.
Roder and Xie do not specifically teach wherein the egg yolk extract is a liquid supernatant obtained after removing solids from the lysed composition, wherein the liquid supernatant is clarified and sterile filtered using a filter having a pore size of 0.4 microns or smaller.
Ruan is drawn to methods of treating chicken egg whites or whole egg extracts to maintain and enhance the survival and differentiation of cells (Title, abstract). The egg white and egg yolk of a chicken egg were sterilely isolated and lysed to produce egg extracts and then a liquid supernatant is obtained after removing solids from the lysed composition by centrifugation (page 542 column 2). The supernatants were then collected and filtered using a 0.22 micron filter which also clarifies the supernatant with a pore size of less than 0.4 microns (page 542 column 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain the whole egg extract as a liquid supernatant after removing solids by centrifugation and filtering and clarifying the supernatants in the production of the egg extract in Roder because Ruan teach and suggest that this provides a sterilized egg extract that is suitable and beneficial for the culture and survival of cells. The filtering and clarifying of the egg extract provides the removal of components that Ruan suggests are unnecessary for the culture of cells and thus provides a product with enhanced purification that provides the cells with the necessary nutrients for survival (page 547 Discussion). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Roder, Xie and Ruan are all using emulsified eggs from chickens.
Regarding claims 14, 48-51, Roder disclose wherein the egg yolk extract is extracted preferably from a hen’s egg, but also from duck or goose eggs (column 2 lines 4-7).
Regarding claims 53-57, The egg yolk extract is disclosed as suitable for use in a culture medium. The limitations with regard to the cell culture medium are all deemed to be intended use limitations for the egg yolk extract and do not directly relate to the structure or function of the egg yolk extract. Roder discloses that their egg yolk extract is suitable for use at various concentrations, specifically 1%, and can be used instead of FCS and does not require DMSO (column 1-2, Table 1).
Regarding claim 59, while the combination of Rodar and Xie render obvious the use of HIU in the production of the egg extract of Roder and Xie disclose using ultrasound that is 75W or more (page 2 section 2.2), Xie do not disclose wherein 25-30 cycles at about 15 to 20 seconds per cycle are used with HIU to emulsify the egg yolk.
Xie only disclose wherein their samples were treated for a total of 10 minutes with ultrasound for 3 seconds and then stopping for 3 seconds (page 2 section 2.2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the number and duration of cycles of the HIU in the formation of the emulsified egg yolk in the Roder egg extract product to achieve an egg extract that provides the optimal nutrition to the cells as Roder is directed to the use of an egg extract that is to be used in a cell culture medium as an alternative to fetal bovine serum. Thus, the nutritional content of the egg extract is affected by the HIU treatment as taught and suggested by Xie and optimizing the parameters of the HIU would be a matter of routine optimization and experimentation.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Roder, Xie et al and Ruan et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 7-8, 14, 48-51 and 53-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elhassan et al (Animal Reproduction Sciences, 1999) in view of Xie et al (Ultrasonics-Sonochemistry, published online September 05, 2019-previously cited) and Ruan et al (Cytotechnology 2012-newly cited) and as evidenced by Woodward, Scott A (Food Gels 1990-previously cited).
Regarding claims 7, 58 and 60-61, Elhassan disclose an egg yolk extract product that supports cell proliferation and/or survival at least equivalent to FBS when used at the same concentration in a cell culture medium wherein the egg yolk extract comprises lysed egg yolk spheres (abstract, page 155- section 2.1-preparation of EY, yolk granules and yolk plasma, page 158-section 3 -results, page 159, Table 3). The egg yolk extract is shown to be comparable (at least equivalent to) FCS (aka FBS) when used at the same concentration in a cell culture medium (page 158-159, Table 2). Elhassan disclose wherein the egg yolk extract is part of a liquid (solution) (Title, abstract, page 156, section 2.4, page 157-section 2.5.1.3, section 2.5.2.1, section 2.5.2.2 for example).
Elhassan do not specifically teach the use of sonication or high-pressure homogenization to disrupt and lyse the whole egg, egg yolk and spheres present in the egg yolk.
Xie disclose an egg yolk solution (liquid) that was obtained from a chicken and homogenized by ultrasonic treatment (sonication) at 75W, 150W, 225W, and 300W (page 2 sections 2.1- 2.2 HIU treatment). The granules present with the egg yolk are released and dissociated (lysed) upon treatment with HIU (high-intensity ultrasonic) treatment (abstract, page 2 column 1, page 6 section 3.4). The spherical particles are cracked and broken by the ultrasonic treatment (page 7 section 3.5).
Xie disclose that high intensity ultrasound was effective for improving the functional properties of egg yolk proteins such as enhanced emulsifying, improved absolute value of zeta-potential and free sulfhydryl content and reduced average particle size (page 8 Conclusions).
While Xie do not specifically indicate the percentage of yolk spheres that are lysed, evidence that the vast majority of spheres are lysed when yolks are exposed to even gentle stirring is provided by Woodward.
Woodward teach that the stirring of raw egg yolk easily disrupts spheres resulting in a protein solution (paragraph bridging pages 189-190).
In addition, Applicant’s own disclosure states that sonication breaks open the majority of the yolk spheres (Specification page 6 lines 14-15).
Therefore, the Xie egg yolk solution that was homogenized by ultrasonic treatment is deemed to have at least 50% and at least 70% of the yolk spheres lysed by sonication and providing intracellular contents baring evidence to the contrary.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use high intensity sonication (HIU) to emulsify the egg yolk in the production of the egg extract in Elhassan because Xie teach and suggest that HIU provides an emulsified egg product with improvements in the egg yolk that include enhanced emulsification, improved absolute value of zeta-potential and free sulfhydryl content and reduced average particle size. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Elhassan indicate that a liquified egg product is useful as their egg extract as a nutritional additive in cell culture medium.
Elhassan and Xie do not specifically teach wherein the egg yolk extract is a liquid supernatant obtained after removing solids from the lysed composition, wherein the liquid supernatant is clarified and sterile filtered using a filter having a pore size of 0.4 microns or smaller. Elhassan and Xie do not specifically teach wherein the egg yolk extract comprises one or more egg white proteins.
Ruan is drawn to methods of treating chicken egg whites or whole egg extracts to maintain and enhance the survival and differentiation of cells (Title, abstract). The egg white and egg yolk of a chicken egg were sterilely isolated and lysed to produce egg extracts and then a liquid supernatant is obtained after removing solids from the lysed composition by centrifugation (page 542 column 2). The supernatants were then collected and filtered using a 0.22 micron filter which also clarifies the supernatant with a pore size of less than 0.4 microns (page 542 column 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain the whole egg extract as a liquid supernatant after removing solids by centrifugation and filtering and clarifying the supernatants in the production of the egg extract in Elhassan because Ruan teach and suggest that this provides a sterilized egg extract that is suitable and beneficial for the culture and survival of cells. The filtering and clarifying of the egg extract provides the removal of components that Ruan suggests are unnecessary for the culture of cells and thus provides a product with enhanced purification that provides the cells with the necessary nutrients for survival (page 547 Discussion). The inclusion of the egg white in addition to the egg yolk in the extract is suggested as a suitable alternative to an extract only containing egg yolk and one that inherently provides at least one egg white protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Elhassan, Xie and Ruan are all using emulsified eggs from chickens.
Regarding claim 8, Elhassan disclose an egg yolk extract product (YP) that further comprises free yolk granules (YG) (page 159, experiment 3, Table 3, YP + YG).
Regarding claims 14, 48-51, Elhassan disclose wherein the egg yolk is obtained from the egg of a chicken (avian) (page 155-section 2.1).
Regarding claims 53-57, The egg yolk extract is disclosed as suitable for use in a culture medium. The limitations with regard to the cell culture medium are all deemed to be intended use limitations for the egg yolk extract and do not directly relate to the structure or function of the egg yolk extract. Elhassan discloses that their egg yolk extract is suitable for use at various concentrations, specifically 2.5% or 5%, and can be used instead of FCS and does not require DMSO (abstract, pages 158-159, section 3-results).
Regarding claim 59, while the combination of Elhassan and Xie render obvious the use of HIU in the production of the egg extract of Elhassan and Xie disclose using ultrasound that is 75W or more (page 2 section 2.2), Xie do not disclose wherein 25-30 cycles at about 15 to 20 seconds per cycle are used with HIU to emulsify the egg yolk.
Xie only disclose wherein their samples were treated for a total of 10 minutes with ultrasound for 3 seconds and then stopping for 3 seconds (page 2 section 2.2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the number and duration of cycles of the HIU in the formation of the emulsified egg yolk in the Elhassan egg extract product to achieve an egg extract that provides the optimal nutrition to the cells as Elhassan is directed to the use of an egg extract that is to be used in a cell culture medium as an alternative to fetal bovine serum. Thus, the nutritional content of the egg extract is affected by the HIU treatment as taught and suggested by Xie and optimizing the parameters of the HIU would be a matter of routine optimization and experimentation.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Elhassan et al, Xie et al and Ruan et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. Applicants’ arguments have been addressed in so far as they relate to the new rejections above.
Applicant argues that there is broad support in the specification as originally filed for the spheres not being lysed by mechanical mixing and point to pages 11, 14, and 16 of their disclosure as evidence. Applicant asserts that their specification separately states that egg yolk and egg white are mixed before lysing (pages 14 and 16) which indicates the distinction between mixing and lysing.
This is found persuasive due to the amendment of claim 61 and the new matter rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the amendment to claim 7 has overcome the rejection under 35 USC 102.
This is found persuasive and the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 102 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the combination of cited references fails to teach or suggest every element of independent claim 7 that had been amended. Applicant argues that the newly amended claim now requires a liquid supernatant that is clarified and sterile filtered using a filter having a pore size of 0.4 microns or smaller. Applicant asserts that their amendments clarify that the claimed extract is not merely a treated egg yolk solution, but rather a CYA-type liquid supernatant derived from a homogenized mix of egg yolk and egg white proteins wherein the yolk spheres and/or granules are lysed by a high energy disruption process, solids removed, and the resulting liquid supernatant is clarified and sterile filtered. Applicant asserts that the combination of references fails to teach all these elements.
This is found persuasive with regard to the new limitations added to claim 7. However, the previous rejections have been replaced with a new rejection above and therefore the claims remain rejected.
Applicant argues that Xie fails to correct the deficiency of Roder. Applicant asserts that their specification describes yolk spheres as large cells within egg yolk having a diameter of 30 to 70 microns and containing concentrated fat, vitamins, and protein and point to page 11 of their PCT specification as evidence. Applicant argues that their specification further states that yolk granules are vesicles of 1 to 5 microns diameter that can be found in egg yolk and within egg yolk spheres, and that contain nutrients useful for cell viability and proliferation and point to page 11 of their PCT specification as evidence. Applicant argues that their specification does not use the term yolk spheres as a generic label for all spherical particles present in the yolk and that this is in contrast to Xie. Applicant argues that the diameters disclosed by Xie are different from Applicant’s diameters and that Xie fails to teach or suggest lysing the much larger yolk spheres as claimed by Applicant. Applicant asserts that the structures described by Xie are materially different in size and identity from the 30 to 70 micron yolk spheres as recited in the present claims and defined in their specification.
This is not found persuasive because Applicant’s Specification does not explicitly and clearly provide a limiting definition for “yolk spheres” that is applicable to the scope of the claims (see MPEP 2111.01, Lexicography, “where the specification is ambiguous as to whether the inventor used claim terms inconsistent with their ordinary meaning, the ordinary meaning will apply. Merck & Co. v. Teva Pharms. USA, Inc., 395 F.3d 1364, 1370, 73 USPQ2d 1641, 1646 (Fed. Cir. 2005) “).
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). (see MPEP 2111.01)
Therefore, the dimensions disclosed in Applicant’s Specification are not incorporated into the claims as part of a definition for yolk spheres or yolk granules because the Specification does not specifically define these terms as requiring specific dimensions.
Applicant argues that neither Woodward nor Offen remedies the deficiencies of Roder and Xie. Applicant argues that neither reference discloses lysed yolk spheres and/or lysed yolk granules which are lysed by sonication or high-pressure homogenization to form a lysed composition as recited in claim 7.
This is not found persuasive. The deficiencies of Roder and Xie have been remedied by the teachings of Ruan as described above in the new rejections.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine the cited references in the manner claimed. Applicant argues that Xie teaches other methods and compositions and does not teach the claimed composition.
This is not found persuasive. In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The obviousness rejection is based on the modification of the Roder reference by the teachings of Xie as described above. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that Roder is limited to egg yolk in insect-cell culture medium whereas Xie is limited to HIU-treated egg yolk solution for food-functional properties and because of this the references cannot be combined. Applicant argues that Roder does not disclose the amended structural and processing features of claim 7.
This is not found persuasive. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
While Roder is silent with regard to the effect on the lysing of the spheres in the disrupted egg yolk the process of disrupting and lysing the egg yolk inherently also disrupts and lyses the yolk spheres that are present in the egg yolk as well. Woodward teach that the stirring of raw egg yolk easily disrupts spheres resulting in a protein solution (paragraph bridging pages 189-190). The teaching of Xie provides the motivation to use sonication to disrupt and break the egg yolk as described above and Applicant's own disclosure states that sonication breaks open the majority of the yolk spheres (Specification page 6 lines 14-15) which is interpreted as being at least 50% and at least 70% of the yolk spheres are being lysed during sonication of the egg yolk.
Applicant argues that the combination of Elhassan, Xie and Woodward fails to teach and suggest each and every element of independent claim 7 and nor would there be any motivation to combine the cited references in the manner claimed. Applicant argues that Elhassan does not teach the claimed composition and Xie is in contrast to the teachings of Elhassan and consequently there would be no motivation to combine the references. Applicant asserts that there would be no reasonable expectation of success that applying Xie’s HIU treatment would preserve or improve the biological activity reported in Elhassan particularly because Xie is limited to food-function changes and not cell culture performance data. Applicant argues that Elhassan and Xie do not teach or suggest the particular structural and processing-derived features as claimed.
This is not found persuasive. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
While Elhassan and Xie might not teach or suggest the particular structural and processing-derived features as claimed, the process of disrupting and lysing the egg yolk inherently also disrupts and lyses the yolk spheres that are present in the egg yolk as well. Woodward teach that the stirring of raw egg yolk easily disrupts spheres resulting in a protein solution (paragraph bridging pages 189-190). The teaching of Xie provides the motivation to use sonication to disrupt and break the egg yolk as described above and Applicant's own disclosure states that sonication breaks open the majority of the yolk spheres (Specification page 6 lines 14-15) which is interpreted as being at least 50% and at least 70% of the yolk spheres are being lysed during sonication of the egg yolk.
If Applicant is referring to the dimensions for the spheres and granules as described in their specification as being limitations missing from the cited references, these particular structural parameters are not deemed to be required by the claims as part of a definition as described above.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). (see MPEP 2111.01)
Applicant argues that Woodward fails to correct the deficiencies of Elhassan and Xie.
This is not found persuasive as the teaching of Ruan is deemed to remedy any deficiencies of Elhassan and Xie as described above.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of non-anticipation and nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of anticipation and obviousness.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weathersbee et al., “A simple method for preparing modified TES and Tris yolk buffer that is optically clear and membrane filterable”, Fertility and Sterility, 1995, Vol. 63, No.4, pp. 925-928.
(Weathersbee disclose the filtration and clarification of an egg yolk extract with a 0.2 micron filter).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631