DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 20-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. (US Serial No. 2010/0327493)
Regarding claims 1-6, 20-23; Fong et al. teaches a dual photoinitiator, photocurable composition comprising a cationic photoinitiator [0025] (instant C), a free radical photoinitiator [0063] (instant R), a cationically curable component [0080], such as preferably Uvacure® 1500 (3,4-epoxycyclohexylmethyl-3’,4’-epoxycyclohexanecarboxylate) [0084, Exs] (instant D), a radically curable component [0107], which may be a mixture of a monofunctional (meth)acrylate, such as acrylamide [0112] (instant M) and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate, such as tricyclodecandimethanol diacrylate [Exs] (instant N) [0110-0116].
Looking to the examples of Fong et al. for general guidance, Fong et al. teaches a preferred embodiment [Ex35] comprising 14 parts SR833s (tricyclodecandimethanol diacrylate) and 17 parts SR499 (trifunctional acrylate), which is substituted by acrylamide [0110-0114]. Fong et al. teaches the composition further comprises 44.4 parts Epalloy® 5000 and Erisys® GE30 [Ex35], which is substituted by UV 1500 [0213, 0084-0085]. Thus, Fong et al. teaches the mol% of acyloyl groups provided by compound (N) is about 28 mol%, the molar ratio of contained acryloyl groups to contained epoxy groups (D) is 0.94, and the composition has 3.3 mol/kg acryloyl groups (as calculated by Examiner).
SR833s (14g / (304.38g/mol)) * 2 = 0.09
Compound
Amount (g)
MW (g/mol)
Mol
#mols
Mol of functionality
SR833s (N)
14
304.38
0.05
2
0.09
acrylamide (M)
17
71.08
0.24
1
0.24
UV1500 (D)
44.4
252.31
0.18
2
0.35
Acryloyl total mols
0.33
Epoxy total mols
0.35
mol% (N)
27.78
Molar ratio (acryloyl/epoxy)
0.94
Mol of acyloyl functionality (for 1 kg)
3.3
Fong et al. teaches in general the radically curable component is present in an amount of preferably 15-60% by weight [0134] and mixtures of monofunctional monomers containing one ethylenically unsaturated bond in one compound and polyfunctional monomers containing two or more unsaturated bonds in one compound [0110].
Fong et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Fong et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment containing compounds (M), (N), (R), (C), and (D) in amounts that explicitly yield 25-50 mol% of acryloyl groups are from (N), a molar ratio of acryloyl groups to epoxy groups is 0.3-1.5, and the composition having 1-4.5 mol/kg acryloyl groups. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a composition containing compounds (M), (N), (R), (C), and (D) in amounts that explicitly yield 25-50 mol% of acryloyl groups are from (N), a molar ratio of acryloyl groups to epoxy groups is 0.3-1.5, and the composition having 1-4.5 mol/kg acryloyl groups based on the invention of Fong et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Fong et al. suggests that the composition can contain 15-60% by weight [0134] and mixtures of monofunctional monomers containing one ethylenically unsaturated bond in one compound and polyfunctional monomers containing two or more unsaturated bonds in one compound [0110] and the cationically curable component in an amount of 20-80 wt% [0083]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Fong et al. teaches the composition is suitable for use in three-dimensional jet printing processes [0190, 0192].
Regarding claims 7 and 24; Fong et al. teaches the radical photoinitiator may be 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoy-diphenylphosphine oxide [0064].
Regarding claim 8, 11, 25, and 27; Fong et al. teaches the cationic photoinitiator may be a hexafluoroantimonate salt (blocked super acid; capable of functioning as a latent curing agent).
Regarding claims 9 and 26; Fong et al. teaches the composition may optionally comprise 0-40 wt% toughening agents [0138-0139] and other optional components [0161]. In the instance the present composition contains no optional components, compounds (M), (N), (R), (C), and (D) would make up 100 wt.%.
Regarding claim 10; Fong et al. fails to explicitly teach the composition having a viscosity of 10-40 mPa·s at 45°C. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. viscosity of 10-40 mPa·s at 45°C, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Regarding claim 12; Fong et al. teaches the composition may further comprise additives such as stabilizers and/or pigments [0162].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the teaching of Fong at [0109] “the radically curable component includes at least one radically curable compound” does not indicate that a mixture of monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomers and poly(meth)acrylate monomers can be used; it merely indicates that at least one radically curable compound is present. Applicants argue that Fong does not teach a mixture of a monofunctional (meth)acrylate and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fong teaches the radically curable component includes “at least one” radically curable compound that is activated in the presence of an initiator capable of initiating free radical polymerization such that it is available for reaction with other compounds bearing radically curable functional groups at [0109]. Fong teaches examples of free radically curable compounds include compounds having one or more ethylenically unsaturated groups (e.g. (meth)acrylate), and includes monofunctional monomers and polyfunctional monomers at [0110]. The teaching of “at least one” radically curable compound renders obvious that more than one or a combination of two or more may be used in the present invention. Fong teaches the radically curable compounds are monofunctional (meth)acrylates and polyfunctional (meth)acrylates, thus a person of ordinary skill in the art, when looking at the teachings of Fong, would have found it obvious to employ a combination of a monofunctional (meth)acrylate and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate; because the teaching of Fong indicate it suitable to do so in order to achieve the particulars of the present invention [0109-0110]. Although the combination is not explicitly disclosed in the preferred embodiments, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); see MPEP §2123.
Regarding arguments in view of the alleged unexpected results, the data and results of examples are not commensurate in scope with claim 1 of the instant application. The alleged unexpected results must occur over all ranges and therefore applicants must show a broad range of examples. It is unclear whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 716.02(d). Applicants appear to be arguing the criticality of the claimed range of 25-50 mol% of the contained acryloyl groups are provided by the reactive compound (N), however only show results outside the claimed range at 13.1 mol%, 55.3 mol%, and 61.0 mol%, thus arguments to the alleged unexpected results are not persuasive.
As such, Fong is still relied upon for teaching the claimed composition as required by the instant claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767