DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 1/26/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yanagisawa et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0198815).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0198815) in view of Runowski (US Patent No. 5,199,172).
Regarding claim 1, the Yanagisawa et al. (hereinafter Yanagisawa) reference discloses a primary ring (13) for a mechanical seal in a rotating equipment (Fig. 1), the seal comprising a mating ring (110) for co-operation with the primary ring to promote the seal, the primary ring having a central longitudinal axis (Fig. 1) and comprising:
a notch (notch of 130 holding 301) disposed in an outer radial surface of the primary ring (Fig. 1), wherein an axial outer edge of the notch is radially deeper than an axially inner part of the notch (Fig. 1).
However, the Yanagisawa reference fails to explicitly disclose the notch comprises a notch surface having a saddle shape.
The Runowski reference, a mechanical seal, discloses making the surface of the notch (40) of a saddle shape (Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the notch of a saddle shape in the Yanagisawa reference in view of the teachings of the Runowski reference in order to allow for easier installation of the seal.
Regarding claim 2, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the notch is configured to fit at least part of a pin of the rotating equipment to:
prevent circumferential movement of the primary ring; and
permit axial movement of the primary ring (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, it is inherent that the axial edges of the notch are wider than the pin in the Yanagisawa reference or the ring 130 would not be able to slide onto the pin 301.
Regarding claim 4, the Yanagisawa reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1.
However, the Yanagisawa reference fails to disclose a surface of the notch is configured to misfit with the pin to increase contact surface area between the surface of the notch and the pin in the event of misalignment of the primary ring.
The Runowski reference, a mechanical seal, discloses making the surface of the notch (40) of a saddle shape (Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the notch of a saddle shape in the Yanagisawa reference in view of the teachings of the Runowski reference in order to allow for easier installation of the seal.
Regarding claim 5, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the surface curvature of the primary ring is continuous between the circumferential edges of the notch and the outer radial surface of the primary ring (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the surface curvature of the primary ring is continuous between the axial outer edge of the notch and an axial surface of the ring (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the Yanagisawa reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1.
However, the Yanagisawa reference fails to explicitly disclose the primary ring comprises more than one notch.
The Runowski reference, a mechanical seal, discloses providing multiple notches (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide multiple notches and pins to the Yanagisawa reference in view of the teachings of the Runowski reference in order to ensure anti-rotation of the sealing ring.
Regarding clam 8, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses in a rotating equipment in a mechanical seal (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, the Yanagisawa reference discloses a seal assembly (Fig. 1) for a mechanical seal for rotating equipment, the seal assembly comprising:
a mating ring (110), configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (Fig. 1);
a primary ring (130) for providing a gas sealing between an axial face of the primary ring and an axial face of the mating ring (Fig. 1), the primary ring comprising a notch (notch holding 301) in an outer radial surface of the primary ring (Fig. 1);
a pin (301), wherein at least part of the pin is disposed within the notch of the primary ring (Fig. 1), wherein the pin and notch cooperate to prevent rotation of the primary ring about the axis of rotation of a compressor (Fig. 1).
However, the Yanagisawa reference fails to explicitly disclose the notch comprises a notch surface having a saddle shape.
The Runowski reference, a mechanical seal, discloses making the surface of the notch (40) of a saddle shape (Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the notch of a saddle shape in the Yanagisawa reference in view of the teachings of the Runowski reference in order to allow for easier installation of the seal. The method of claim 12 is obvious in view of the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses the saddle shape comprises: an inward curvature along a circumferential direction of the primary ring (Runowski, Fig. 2A); and, an outward curvature along an axial direction of the primary ring (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the retaining pin comprises a cylinder, aligned with an axis of rotation of the rotating equipment (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 13, discloses the saddle shape provides a misfit between the pin and the notch to increase contact area between the pin and the notch in the event of misalignment between the primary ring and the axis of rotation (Runowski, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 15, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the pin comprises a circular cylinder (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1) and the cross section of the notch is a segment of a circle (Runowski, Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 16, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 14, discloses the saddle shape is provided by the cross section of the notch being larger at the axial faces of the primary ring than towards the axial centre of the primary ring (Yanagisawa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, the Yanagisawa reference, as modified in claim 16, discloses the shape of the notch is uniform throughout the axial depth of the primary ring (Runowski, Fig. 2A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the applicant’s argument of the modification of shape of the notch, the argument is not persuasive. It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the corresponding pin to be round/circular in order to match the profile of the notch. If the pin and the notch were different shapes then the anti-rotation feature would fail.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675