DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s reply dated 06/03/2026 has been received.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group V, claims 74 and 103, in the reply filed on 2/9/2016 is acknowledged. Claims 131-135 are added and claims 74,103,131 and 133-135 are under consideration.
Claims 1-73 and 107 have been canceled.
Claims,104-105,118 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/9/26.
Newly submitted claim 132 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claim 132 lacks unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a bridging composition that binds a cell surface receptor and an AAV particle, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Bertozzi in view of Mevel, as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 103 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim(s) 74 and 103 under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by US 11,787,865 (Bertozzi; IDS) is withdrawn as Bertozzi did not teach, specifically, AAV as a viral particle type to be used in the bridging system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 74, 103,131,133-135 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 11,787,865 (Bertozzi; IDS) in view of WO2017/212019 (Mevel; IDS).
Claim 74 is drawn to a bridging composition comprising a binding moiety that is capable of binding to an AAV particle and a cell surface binding moiety that binds a cell surface receptor. Claim 103 further defines the bridging composition as
[Xn–L–Z–]m–P
where X is the cell surface binding moiety, L is an optional linker, Z is a residual moiety resulting from the attachment to P and P is the moiety that binds a virus composition.
Bertozzi teaches the following:
Figure 1 of Bertozzi depicts a mannose 6 phosphate (M6P) polymer (Xn) that binds to the cell surface receptor M6PR (claim 133,135 internalizing receptor, claim 134) which is chemically conjugated (resulting in residue Z) to an antibody (P) that binds a viral composition. Bertozzi teaches generically that the first moiety (antibody in this case) binds an extracellular molecule (col. 8, lines 29-30) and the extracellular molecule can be a whole virus (col. 8, line 32). Schemes for synthesizing chemical bonds with Xn and P are set forth in the figures, e.g. Figs 2-7.
Bertozzi does not teach that the virus particle is AAV. However, Mevel taught chemical coupling of an AAV particle between a capsid protein and a targeting ligand (L ) that is capable of binding a cell surface receptor, including mono- and polysaccharides (i.e. mannose, page 14), to increase the delivery of the AAV into cells. Mevel teaches that AAV are capable of transducing a wide range of post-mitotic cells for delivery of DNA of non-viral origin (transgene, claim 131) and altering the viral particle to include a cell surface binding ligand can target the AAV to particular cells (page 28) for nucleic acid delivery (page 29). Mevel also teaches that altering the viral surface can reduce the binding of antibodies that mediate viral clearance, further enhancing nucleic acid deliver y to cells. Mevel teaches that by addition of a ligand to the protein capsid of AAV particles, greater therapeutic benefit is realized at lower effective dosages which prevent immune toxicity associated with AAV-mediated gene therapy (page 30).
Thus, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to use AAV as the viral particle in the bridging compound of Bertozzi to arrive at the invention as claimed. Bertozzi taught targeting viral particles to the surface of cells using the bridging compound
where the target (black rectangle) is a viral particle, an antibody to the viral particle is P, and mannose-6P is the ligand Xn in the claimed [Xn–L–Z–]m–P. One would have been motivated to use AAV as the viral particle as Mevel taught targeting the AAV particle to a cell surface receptor, via a cell-surface ligand, led to increased delivery efficiency at lower, less toxic doses. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the chemical coupling schemes of Bertozzi could be readily applied to the AAV viral capsid as the structure of the proteins and their sequences were well known.
Double Patenting
Claims 74 and 103 remain and newly added claims 131,133-135 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 96 of copending Application No. 18/012,838 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the bridging composition specifically claimed in instant claim 103 is part of the viral composition of reference claim 96. Reference claim 96 has a virus particle attached, which is not required by the instant claim 103. This also renders obvious instant claim 74, which is generic to the structure of Formula I recited in instant claim 103 and reference claim 96. Formula I, [Xn–L–Z–]m–P, is recited in instant claim 103 and reference claim 96. The newly added claims recite the same dependent limitations as claims 123-125 of ‘838.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicant has requested this rejection be held in abeyance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VALARIE E. BERTOGLIO, Ph.D.
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/VALARIE E BERTOGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632