DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 claims 1-4, 8-12 in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5 and 7 are withdrawn from consideration
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Okada et al (USPAT 10601014).
Claim 1: Okada teaches a plurality of battery cells (1) connected by busbars (3) that electrically connect electrode terminals of the battery cells wherein the terminals are protruding portions and welded around the protruding portion [Abstract]. The instant claim busbar joined to each electrode terminal [Fig 2] and electrode terminals with protruding sections that extend from the one surface wherein the busbar has a hole that engages the protruding section of the electrode terminal and a coupling section that is welded [Fig 3-6]; features of the instant claim have been mapped to the prior art in Modified Fig 2 and discussed in detail through Col 6 Ln 16-Col 8 Ln 56.
Claim 9: Okada teaches an upper surface being the surface area facing the same direction as the external face of the one surface. The upper surface of the electrode terminal other than the electrode terminal protruding section is interpreted to be the surface of the protrusion that can be seen in a direction orthogonal to the direction of the external face of the one surface.
Claim 11: Okada teaches the height of the electrode terminal protruding section to be higher than the thickness of the busbar as the terminal protruding portion is away from the upper surface of the busbar [Fig 2].
Claim 12: Okada teaches the height of the electrode terminal protruding section to be higher than the thickness of the busbar as the terminal protruding portion is away from the upper surface of the busbar [Fig 2]. The battery is capable of being utilized by a vehicle that would inspect if the battery has charge or not by its ability to operate or not [Col 1 Ln 23-65].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al (USPAT 10601014) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (USPAT 12046971 English equivalent to WO2020/261495).
Claim 2-3: Okada teaches a simple hole engagement with a circular protrusion but does not teach alternative fitting engagements of the assembly.
Suzuki teaches an electric driving device with a first protruding portion from a surface [Abstract]. The busbar and post are made in a manner such the post has an inclined portion [Col 2 Ln 1-24] and the busbar has an inclined portion (401) [Col 7 Ln 9-41]. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the protruding portion and busbar engagement of Okada to have inclined surfaces as taught by Suzuki in order to improve the ease of fitting engagement and to have a force fit engagement securing the region prior to welding in order to improve the weld conditions.
Claim(s) 4, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al (USPAT 10601014) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakamoto et al (WO2014/106890).
Claim 4: Okada teaches a simple hole engagement with a circular protrusion but does not teach alternative fitting engagements of the assembly.
Nakamoto teaches a battery part using a busbar to connect of plurality of battery units [Abstract]. One of the terminals is taught to have a long hole (142) [Fig 4] and a fitting engagement with a busbar having a non-circular shape (142) [Fig 6a-6b]. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the protruding portion and busbar engagement of Okada to have a long hole and terminal post as taught by Nakamoto in order to improve the ease of fitting engagement [First Embodiment].
Claim 10: This claim is interpreted as the busbar of Figure 8 to have a hole, as required by claim 1, and a U-shaped portion that is enclosed by a slightly concave outer portion to create the enclosed hole. Should applicant argue the intended claim is to read on embodiment of claim 9, the claim would be rejected under USC 112 for failing to have a hole as the void region created in the bus bar is not enclosed to create said hole.
Okada teaches a circular shaped busbar which has a double “C” shaped feature.
Nakamoto teaches a battery having a non-circular, elongated hole with a “U” shape and enclosure feature thereon. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the protruding portion and busbar engagement of Okada to have a long hole and terminal post as taught by Nakamoto in order to improve the ease of fitting engagement [First Embodiment].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al (USPAT 10601014) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nemoto et al (PGPUB 2019/0189995).
Claim 8: Okada teaches a busbar to be welded to the terminal protrusion, but is silent to teach a clad material.
Nemoto teaches a sealed battery with a terminal and busbar [Fig 6]. The busbar is exemplified to be made of a clad material [0075]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the busbar material of Okada to be a clad material as taught by Nemoto in order to improve the weld conditions and therefor improve stability of the battery [0075].
Conclusion
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752