Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 23rd, 2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gioia (US 2016/0327905).
Regarding claim 1, Gioia discloses a method for reconstructing a digital hologram for the digital hologram (Figs. 1-10, [0049], “reconstruction of an image of the sequence, with the help of the decoded coefficients comprising, for a selected coefficient, said index and said value.”) to be displayed by a display device ([0052], “transmitting the reconstructed image to said display device.”), the digital hologram being represented by a set of coefficients respectively associated with a plurality of definition wavelets ([0019], “obtain beforehand items of information representative of the wavelet basis which is used for the decomposition of the holographic image”), each of the definition wavelets being defined by a tuple of coordinates in a multidimensional space ([0102], “a representation of each image in the form of a set of N Gabor wavelet coefficients, {C.sub.i, σ, θ}.sub.m.”), the method comprising:
determining a transformation of said multidimensional space ([0111], “selecting a subset of wavelet coefficients as a function of the location items of information I.sub.loc and of the wavelet decomposition items of information I.sub.wave obtained”), based on at least one data item representative of a characteristic of the display device ([0106], “the items of information relating to the location of the observers therefore comprise at least the coordinates”); and
generating a reconstructed hologram by assigning each of the coefficients of at least some of said coefficients to a reconstruction wavelet defined by a reconstruction tuple image ([0111], “selecting a subset of wavelet coefficients as a function of the location items of information I.sub.loc and of the wavelet decomposition items of information I.sub.wave obtained”), by the determined transformation, of the tuple of coordinates defining the definition wavelet associated with the respective coefficient ([0126], “a subset of the Gabor wavelet coefficients, comprising the coefficients which are relevant for the reconstruction of the sub-hologram of the holographic image Im visible to the observer or observers of the display device, is therefore obtained for an image I.sub.m of the holographic sequence considered”).
Regarding claim 2, Gioia further discloses wherein said characteristic of the display device is a construction characteristic of the display device ([0087], “value of the parameter a, for a given frequency f.sub.i and a given angular dispersion … with λ wavelength whose value lies between 400 nm and 780 nm.”, examiner interprets parameter a to be characteristic of the display device since it depends upon a wavelength emitted by said display).
Regarding claim 3, Gioia further discloses wherein said characteristic of the display device is a position or direction characteristic of the display device ([0106], “the items of information relating to the location of the observers therefore comprise at least the coordinates”, examiner interprets this to mean a relative location of the display with respect to the observers).
Regarding claim 4, Gioia further discloses wherein said transformation is determined based on a first data item representative of a construction characteristic of the display device ([0087], “value of the parameter a, for a given frequency f.sub.i and a given angular dispersion … with λ wavelength whose value lies between 400 nm and 780 nm.”, examiner interprets parameter a to be characteristic of the display device since it depends upon a wavelength emitted by said display) and a second data item representative of a position or direction characteristic of the display device ([0106], “the items of information relating to the location of the observers therefore comprise at least the coordinates”, examiner interprets this to mean a relative location of the display with respect to the observers).
Regarding claim 5, Gioia further discloses wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram ([0162], “a module REC for reconstructing the holographic image”) comprises:
assigning each of the coefficients associated with the respective definition wavelet, defined by the respective tuple of coordinates to the reconstruction wavelet defined by the respective reconstruction tuple image of the respective tuple of coordinates by the determined transformation ([0156], “a unit GET loc for obtaining a location item of information in respect of the observers of a holographic display device HDD, a unit GET wave for obtaining items of information relating to the Gabor wavelet basis implemented to decompose the sequence of holographic images”), and
selecting the coefficients assigned to reconstruction wavelets defined by the tuples of coordinates verifying a predetermined criterion ([0156], “a unit SELECT for selecting relevant wavelet coefficients for the reconstruction of the sequence as a function of the location and wavelet items of information obtained.”).
Regarding claim 6, Gioia further discloses wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram comprises:
determining a criterion modified based on the determined transformation and a predetermined criterion ([0156], “a unit GET wave for obtaining items of information relating to the Gabor wavelet basis implemented to decompose the sequence of holographic images”), and
selecting coefficients whose associated definition wavelet is defined by a tuple of coordinates verifying the modified criterion ([0156], “a unit SELECT for selecting relevant wavelet coefficients for the reconstruction of the sequence as a function of the location and wavelet items of information obtained”).
Regarding claim 8, Gioia further discloses a method for displaying a digital hologram (Fig. 9), the method comprising:
reconstructing the digital hologram by the method ([0162], “a module REC for reconstructing the holographic image”); and
displaying the reconstructed hologram by said display device ([0162], “a module DISPLAY for controlling display of the reconstructed holographic image by the holographic display device HDD to which it is connected by way of the module MT”).
Regarding claim 9, Gioia discloses a reconstruction device for reconstructing a digital hologram for the digital hologram (Figs. 1-10, [0049], “reconstruction of an image of the sequence, with the help of the decoded coefficients comprising, for a selected coefficient, said index and said value.”) to be displayed by a display device ([0052], “transmitting the reconstructed image to said display device.”), the reconstruction device comprising:
at least one processor ([0156], “processor of the processing unit 110”) configured to
store a representation of the digital hologram comprising a set of coefficients respectively associated with a plurality of definition wavelets ([0019], “obtain beforehand items of information representative of the wavelet basis which is used for the decomposition of the holographic image”), each of the definition wavelets being defined by a tuple of coordinates in a multidimensional space ([0102], “a representation of each image in the form of a set of N Gabor wavelet coefficients, {C.sub.i, σ, θ}.sub.m.”),
determine a transformation of said multidimensional space ([0111], “selecting a subset of wavelet coefficients as a function of the location items of information I.sub.loc and of the wavelet decomposition items of information I.sub.wave obtained”) as a function of at least one data item representative of a characteristic of the display device, and ([0106], “the items of information relating to the location of the observers therefore comprise at least the coordinates”);
generate a reconstructed hologram by assigning each of the coefficients of at least some of said coefficients to a reconstruction wavelet defined by a reconstruction tuple image ([0111], “selecting a subset of wavelet coefficients as a function of the location items of information I.sub.loc and of the wavelet decomposition items of information I.sub.wave obtained”), by the determined transformation, of the tuple of coordinates defining the definition wavelet associated with the respective coefficient ([0126], “a subset of the Gabor wavelet coefficients, comprising the coefficients which are relevant for the reconstruction of the sub-hologram of the holographic image Im visible to the observer or observers of the display device, is therefore obtained for an image I.sub.m of the holographic sequence considered”).
Regarding claim 10, Gioia further discloses wherein the at least one processor (110, 200) is further configured to
receive said representative data item ([0156], “device 100 comprises at least a unit GET loc for obtaining”, [0161], “a reception module MR by way of which the location items of information are received”), and
transmit the assigned coefficients ([0158], “processing device 200 implements the processing method”), and, for each of the assigned coefficients, information indicating the reconstruction wavelet to which the respective selected coefficient is assigned in the reconstructed hologram ([0161], “an emission module ME by way of which the data stream bts is transmitted to the entity Cl”, [0162], “an emission module ME able to emit the location items of information in respect of the observer or observers”).
Regarding claim 11, Gioia further discloses a system (Fig. 8, [0153], “structure of a device DT 100”) comprising:
the reconstruction device (210); and
said display device ([0156], “a holographic display device HDD”).
Regarding claim 12, Gioia further discloses wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram ([0162], “a module REC for reconstructing the holographic image”) comprises:
assigning each of the coefficients associated with the respective definition wavelet, defined by the respective tuple of coordinates, to the reconstruction wavelet defined by the respective reconstruction tuple image of the respective tuple of coordinates by the determined transformation ([0156], “a unit GET loc for obtaining a location item of information in respect of the observers of a holographic display device HDD, a unit GET wave for obtaining items of information relating to the Gabor wavelet basis implemented to decompose the sequence of holographic images”), and
selecting the coefficients assigned to reconstruction wavelets defined by the tuples of coordinates verifying a predetermined criterion ([0156], “a unit SELECT for selecting relevant wavelet coefficients for the reconstruction of the sequence as a function of the location and wavelet items of information obtained.”).
Regarding claim 13, Gioia further discloses wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram comprises:
determining a criterion modified based on the determined transformation and a predetermined criterion ([0156], “a unit GET wave for obtaining items of information relating to the Gabor wavelet basis implemented to decompose the sequence of holographic images”), and
selecting coefficients whose associated definition wavelet is defined by a tuple of coordinates verifying the modified criterion ([0156], “a unit SELECT for selecting relevant wavelet coefficients for the reconstruction of the sequence as a function of the location and wavelet items of information obtained”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gioia (US 2016/0327905) in view of Zhao (US 2020/0186838).
Regarding claim 7, Gioia discloses as is set forth in claim 1 rejection but does not specifically disclose wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram comprises scanning a binary tree having leaves that correspond to the coefficients of said set of coefficients.
However Zhao, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a reconstruction method, teaches wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram ([0212], “holographic displays”) comprises scanning a binary tree having leaves that correspond to the coefficients of said set of coefficients ([0026], “The binary tree leaf nodes are called coding units (CUs), and that segmentation is used for prediction and transform processing without any further partitioning”, examiner interprets the CUs to correspond to the coefficients).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method for reconstructing a digital hologram of Gioia with the wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram comprises scanning a binary tree having leaves that correspond to the coefficients of said set of coefficients as taught by Zhao, for the purpose of providing increased flexibility to the coding units ([0026]).
Regarding claim 14, Gioia discloses as is set forth in claim 2 rejection but does not specifically disclose wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram comprises scanning a binary tree having leaves that correspond to the coefficients of said set of coefficients.
However Zhao, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a reconstruction method, teaches wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram ([0212], “holographic displays”) comprises scanning a binary tree having leaves that correspond to the coefficients of said set of coefficients ([0026], “The binary tree leaf nodes are called coding units (CUs), and that segmentation is used for prediction and transform processing without any further partitioning”, examiner interprets the CUs to correspond to the coefficients).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method for reconstructing a digital hologram of Gioia with the wherein the generating the reconstructed hologram comprises scanning a binary tree having leaves that correspond to the coefficients of said set of coefficients as taught by Zhao, for the purpose of providing increased flexibility to the coding units ([0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Lacoste (US 2011/0157667), Colomb (US 2008/0265130), Grossetie (US 7,277,209), Leith (US 3,580,655), teach A method for reconstructing a digital hologram for the digital hologram to be displayed by a display device, the digital hologram being represented by a set of coefficients respectively associated with a plurality of definition wavelets, each of the definition wavelets being defined by a tuple of coordinates in a multidimensional space, the method comprising: determining a transformation of said multidimensional space, based on at least one data item representative of a characteristic of the display device.
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 15 October 2025