DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al. (US 20160087319 A1) in view of CN 112448066 A (to Wang et al.) – translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 1, Roh teaches a battery pack (Figure 1) comprising:
at least one battery module housing (150) configured to receive a plurality of battery cells (120) (Figure 3);
a battery pack case (Figure 1, 110) configured to receive the at least one module housing (150/102a);
a water tank (Figure 7, 610) located above the at least one module housing (as illustrated) (para. [0064]); and
a heat sink (612) located under the at least one module housing (as illustrated) (para. [0064]),
wherein the at least one battery module housing (150) is configured to wrap the plurality of battery cells (120) (as illustrated in Figure 3).
Roh fails to teach wherein a preexisting through-hole is formed in a first surface of the water tank that faces the at least one battery module housing, wherein a sealing member is added to the preexisting through-hole,
wherein the sealing member is made of a material that is melted by high-temperature gas or sparks discharged from the at least one battery module housing, and wherein the water tank is configured to prevent discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack. Wang teaches a battery pack (Figure 1, 10) comprising:
a water tank (21) located above the at least one battery module (10) (as illustrated); and teaches wherein a preexisting through-hole/(drainage opening (212)) is formed in a first surface of the water tank (21) that faces the at least one battery module (10),
wherein a sealing member (213) is added to the preexisting through-hole (212).
wherein the sealing member/(thermosensitive component (213)) is made of a material that is melted by high-temperature gas (page 5, 4th paragraph) or sparks discharged from the at least one battery module housing, and wherein the water tank is configured to prevent discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack in order to provide a cooling apparatus that is capable of providing a rapid cooling response of the battery cells in the abnormal state (page 5, 3rd & 4th paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to replace the water tank in Roh with that of Wang such that the water tank comprises a preexisting through-hole that is formed in a first surface of the water tank that faces the at least one module housing, wherein a sealing member is added to the preexisting through-hole, wherein the sealing member is made of a material that is melted by high-temperature gas or sparks discharged from the at least one battery module housing, and wherein the water tank is configured to prevent discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack, in order to provide a cooling apparatus that is capable of providing a rapid cooling response of the battery cells in the abnormal state.
With respect to claim 2, Roh teaches wherein a flow path configured to guide flow of a coolant introduced into and discharged from the heat sink (Figure 7, 612) is formed in the heat sink (612) (para. [0064]).
With respect to claim 3, Wang further teaches wherein the water tank (Figure 1, 21) is configured to have a size that covers an upper surface of the at least one battery module housing (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 4, Roh in view of Wang would require that the water tank (21) (of Wang et al.) would need to be attached to an inside of an upper surface of the battery pack housing (110) (Figure 1) (of Roh et al.) in order to allow for the cooling liquid exiting the preexisting holes (212) to directly contact the battery modules (102) – therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to attach the water tank of Wang to an inside of an upper surface of the battery pack housing in Roh in order to allow for the cooling liquid exiting the preexisting holes (212) to directly contact the battery modules.
With respect to claim 5, Roh teaches wherein the battery pack case (Figure 7 & 8) (outer housing – not numbered) is configured to have a structure in which an upper part of the battery pack case is open (as illustrated), and
wherein the water tank (610) is coupled to the battery pack case/(outer housing – not numbered) so as to cover the open upper surface of the battery pack case/(outer housing) (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 8, Wang further teaches wherein the preexisting through-hole (212) is opened as a result of melting of the sealing member/(thermosensitive component (213)) (as illustrated), and wherein a coolant received in the water tank (21) is sprayed to an outer surface of the at least one battery module housing through the through-hole (212) (page 5, 4th paragraph).
With respect to claim 9, Wang further teaches wherein the preexisting through-hole (212) is a plurality of holes (212) formed in the first surface so as to be uniformly dispersed (as illustrated in Figure1).
With respect to claim 11, Wang further teaches wherein the preexisting through-hole (212) is filled/covered with the sealing member/(thermosensitive component (213)) (Figure 1), and wherein the sealing member/(thermosensitive component (213)) comprises an extension portion having a width that appear to be equal to a circumference/dimension of the preexisting through-hole (212) (page 5, 4th paragraph) – it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to adjust the height and width of the sealing member/(thermosensitive component (213)) in Wang et al. such that the sealing member/(thermosensitive component (213)) comprises an extension portion having a width that is greater than a circumference of the preexisting through-hole (212) in order optimize and control the coolant flow from the water tank to the battery modules. Further, change in size and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP 2144.04 IV A.(size) MPEP 2144.04 IV B (Shape).
With respect to claim 12, Roh teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery cells (Figure 1, 104) is a pouch-shaped battery cell, a prismatic battery cell (as illustrated), or a cylindrical battery cell.
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al. (US 20160087319 A1) in view of CN 112448066 A (to Wang et al.), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Champagne et al. (US 2018/0337433 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Roh discloses all claim limitations as set forth above including wherein the at least one battery module housing (150) is a plurality of module housings (as illustrated in Figures 1 and 6), but Roh fails to teach wherein a partition wall is added between the plurality of battery module housings (150).
Champagne teaches a plurality of battery modules (10) (Figure 2) wherein each battery module comprises a housing (14), and wherein a partition wall/(cooling plate (22)) is added between the plurality of battery module housings (14) in order to provide a cooling mechanism in-between the battery modules and help prevent damage due to thermal-runaway (para. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide a partition wall between the plurality of battery module housings of Roh, as taught by Champagne, in order to provide a cooling mechanism in-between the battery modules and help prevent damage due to thermal-runaway.
With respect to claim 13, Wang further teaches wherein the preexisting through-hole (212) is one of a plurality of preexisting through-holes (212) formed in the first surface of the water tank (21) (as illustrated in Figure 1), and wherein the plurality of preexisting through-holes (212) are uniformly dispersed to overlap the plurality of battery module housings (10) (as illustrated) and not overlap the partition wall – it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to have the preexisting through-holes (212) not overlap the partition wall in modified Roh et al. since the purpose of the pre-existing through holes (212) is to provide liquid to directly contact and cool the battery modules (10) (as illustrated).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roh et al. (US 20160087319 A1) in view of CN 112448066 A (to Wang et al.), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2010144150 (to Hino et al.) – translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claims 14-15, wherein, when a temperature of the at least one battery module housing is increased due to a thermal runaway state, a coolant filled in the water tank is evaporated and transformed into a high pressure state, and is sprayed to an outer surface of the at least one battery module housing through the preexisting through-hole as the preexisting through-hole is opened due to the temperature of the at least one battery module housing melting the sealing member – Wang teaches wherein the water drainage port (212) is covered by a sealing member/(heat-sensitive member) (213) that may comprise a paraffin, resin, or hot-melt alloy comprising for example Bi58Sn42 (page 5, 3rd & 4th paragraph). Hino teaches that Bi58Sn42 has a melting point of 139oC (page 9, lines 17-19). Therefore, during an abnormal state of the battery, the temperature of the coolant/water in the tank of Roh in view of Wang would undergo elevated temperatures well above the boiling point of water, which would lead to at least some evaporation of the water, and would lead to melting and opening of the sealing member during an abnormal state of the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant argues:
However, both Roh and Wang fail to disclose that a sealing member is added to the preexisting through-hole, the sealing member is made of a material that is melted by high- temperature gas or sparks discharged from the at least one battery module housing, and the water tank is configured to prevent discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack, as recited in claim 1. Rather, both Roh and Wang provide a coolant circulating system that is simply able to provide a flow of the coolant. In fact, Wang provides the liquid circulation cooling system 20 with flow channels 211 on the top surface of the battery box to provide cooling, whereby there is inflow and discharge of fluid from the water tank 21 even during a normal state of the battery box. Thus, Roh and Wang fails to disclose preventing discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth above, Roh teaches a battery pack (Figure 1) comprising:
at least one battery module housing (150) configured to receive a plurality of battery cells (120) (Figure 3);
a battery pack case (Figure 1, 110) configured to receive the at least one module housing (150/102a);
a water tank (Figure 7, 610) located above the at least one module housing (as illustrated) (para. [0064]); and
a heat sink (612) located under the at least one module housing (as illustrated) (para. [0064]),
wherein the at least one battery module housing (150) is configured to wrap the plurality of battery cells (120) (as illustrated in Figure 3).
Since Roh fails to teach wherein a preexisting through-hole is formed in a first surface of the water tank that faces the at least one battery module housing, wherein a sealing member is added to the preexisting through-hole,
wherein the sealing member is made of a material that is melted by high-temperature gas or sparks discharged from the at least one battery module housing, and wherein the water tank is configured to prevent discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack. Wang was relied upon to teach the missing feature. Wang teaches a battery pack (Figure 1, 10) comprising:
a water tank (21) located above the at least one battery module (10) (as illustrated); and teaches wherein a preexisting through-hole/(drainage opening (212)) is formed in a first surface of the water tank (21) that faces the at least one battery module (10),
wherein a sealing member (213) is added to the preexisting through-hole (212).
wherein the sealing member/(thermosensitive component (213)) is made of a material that is melted by high-temperature gas (page 5, 4th paragraph) or sparks discharged from the at least one battery module housing, and wherein the water tank is configured to prevent discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack in order to provide a cooling apparatus that is capable of providing a rapid cooling response of the battery cells in the abnormal state (page 5, 3rd & 4th paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to replace the water tank in Roh with that of Wang such that the water tank comprises a preexisting through-hole that is formed in a first surface of the water tank that faces the at least one module housing, wherein a sealing member is added to the preexisting through-hole, wherein the sealing member is made of a material that is melted by high-temperature gas or sparks discharged from the at least one battery module housing, and wherein the water tank is configured to prevent discharge of a coolant from the water tank in a normal state of the battery pack, in order to provide a cooling apparatus that is capable of providing a rapid cooling response of the battery cells in the abnormal state.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 4/20/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725