Detailed Action
The communications received 10/30/2025 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1 and 3--12 are pending. Claims 10-12 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 3-9 are amended.
Examiner’s Notes
In claim 2 and dependent claims, there are the limitations “a great light amount value” and “a small light amount value” which appears to correspond to “a local maximum light amount value” and “a local minimum light amount value”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendments filed 10-30/2025 have successfully overcome the rejections under 35 USC § 112.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A lighting device (a device for lighting) in claim 1 which although not structurally defined in the specification, is a term of the art.
An imaging device (a device for imaging) in claims 1, and 8-9 which is tied to a camera or its functional equivalent in the specification [pg. 20 par. 0039-40].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al (US 2019/0025227 cited by the Applicant in the IDS filed 03/24/2023) hereinafter YAM.
As for claim 1, YAM teaches a cardboard sheet defect detection device that detects a defect in a corrugated core bonded to a liner [Title; Abstract; Fig. 2 #40], the device comprising:
a lighting device that lights the core (radiating device) [Fig. 2 #45; 0109];
an imaging device [Fig. 2 #46; 0109] that captures an image of a lighting section of the light in the core;
a processor (control device) [Fig. 2 #47; 0109; 0112] that defines a change degree of a light amount value along a conveyance direction of a cardboard sheet, based on a captured image captured by the imaging device (by detecting lengths of light and dark portions and averaging them) [0132; 0.136];
and determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet (assessing device module used to compare the light section length) that (by determining quality) by comparing the change degree of the light amount value along a conveyance direction with a first preset determination value [Fig. 2 #52; 0109; 0112; 0132; 0.136],
the first preset determination value has at least one of a maximum value determination value and a minimum value determination value, where the light amount value is lower than the maximum value determination value (an upper bound and lower bounds of a range used to determine whether the cardboard is defective) [0123; 0.135-138],
define a light amount value when an increasing light amount value decreases, as a great light amount value (this could be where the light amount value has more bands than shadow bands and transitions to the opposite), defines a light amount value when a decreasing light amount value increases (this could be where the light amount value has less bands than shadow bands and transitions to the opposite) [0136], as a small light amount value,
and then compare the great light amount value with the maximum value determination value and the small light amount value with the minimum value determination value (by comparing the count of each as an average to a predetermined value range) [0136-138],
and determining that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet when the great light amount fails to meet a condition of the maximum value determination value or when the small light amount value fails to meet a condition of the minimum value determination value (by being outside of the range) [0136-138],
As for claim 3, YAM teaches claim 2 and the first preset determination value is a first determination region (a range) that includes an upper and lower limit, and
The processor is further configured to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet when the high light intensity value fails to satisfy the first determination region of the maximum value, or when the small light intensity value fails to satisfy the condition of the first determination region of the minimum value determination value (by being outside of the range) [0136-138].
As for claim 4, YAM teaches claim 3 and wherein as a reference value, the processor is configured to define a maximum light amount value having a largest light amount in the plurality of great light amount values in a preset predetermined length (understood to be when the averages are being taken of the light values via predetermined numbers of lengths) [0136-138], sets a lower limit value of the first determination region by subtracting a margin from the reference value, and sets an upper limit value of the first determination region by adding a margin to the reference value (as the acceptable range is generated based on adding and subtracting a margin) [0026].
As for claim 5, YAM teaches claim 3 wherein as a reference value, the processor is configured to define a minimum light amount value having a smallest light amount in a plurality of the small light amount values in a preset predetermined length (understood to be when the averages are being taken of the dark values via predetermined numbers of lengths) [0136-138], sets a lower limit value of the first determination region by subtracting a margin from the reference value, and sets an upper limit value of the first determination region by adding a margin to the reference value (as the acceptable range is generated based on adding and subtracting a value) [0026].
As for claim 8, YAM teaches claim 1 and wherein the processor is configured to:
define a bright section and a dark section along the conveyance direction of the cardboard sheet, based on the captured image captured by the imaging device, and to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet by comparing at least one of a length of the bright section and a length of the dark section with a second preset determination value [0123; 0136-138], and determines that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet, when at least one of a determination result obtained by comparing with the first preset determination value and the second preset determination value [0123; 0136-138].
As for claim 9, YAM teaches claim 1 and wherein the processor is configured to define a bright section and a dark section along the conveyance direction of the cardboard sheet, based on the captured image captured by the imaging device (by defining bright and dark sections and their lengths and averaging them to obtain moving average values) [0136-138], and to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet by comparing at least one of a length of the bright section and a length of the dark section with a second preset determination value, and perform determination processing by comparing with the second preset determination value, when the determination result obtained by comparing with the first preset determination value is a quality sheet [0136-138].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAM as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Bailey et al (US 5,885,340) hereinafter BAI.
As for claim 6, YAM teaches claim 1 and that differences between reference points and maximum and minimum ranges are taken into account to determine whether the cardboard sheet is of sufficient quality [0136-138] however, YAM does not teach that this different in lighting is used to determine wetting.
BAI teaches that in the production of paper that one manner of detecting defects and correcting the application of a coating is by comparing a maximum positive gradient of light against a greatest negative gradient to determine a wetting and subsequent drying of a coating [Abstract; col. 7 l. 35-52]. BAI teaches that by employing its coating and correction that high quality images can be imparted onto the cardboard sheet and the smoothness of the sheet can be improved in a manner that is both cost effective and in an improved quality of the application layer [col. 1 l. 13-col. 2 l. 9].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the coater and coating correction based on light intensity changes of BAI to the method of YAM in order to provide for printing image improvements and smoothness improvements to the cardboard in a manner that is cost effective and of high quality. As both YAM and BAI pertain to the production of paper/cardboard webs they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAM/BAI as applied to claim 6 and further in view of Ritoniemi et al (US 2019/0049381) hereinafter RIT.
As for claim 7, YAM/BAI teaches claim 6 and YAM further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet caused by deformations [0146-147], wherein at least one of the difference between the great light amount value and the maximum value determination value and the difference between the small light amount value and the minimum value determination value is smaller than the preset determination difference [0136-138]. However YAM/BAI do not teach using light to determine/detect wrinkles as deformations.
RIT teaches that a defect in a paper web (wood fiber web) which can be determined via lighting and imaging is a wrinkle defect [Abstract; 0008].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used light imaging to detect a wrinkle defect in the cardboard of YAM/BAI as taught by RIT in order to detect and address more defects. As the manner of detecting using the light system of YAM/BAI depends on the comparison of great/small light amount values and maximum/minimum value determination values, it is understood that the defects would be determined in a similar manner especially because this manner of detection has a lower false positive rate [0025-27]. As both YAM/BAI and RIT pertain to the production of paper/cardboard webs they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 8-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,002,686 hereinafter ‘686. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct for the reasons below.
As for claim 1, ‘686 teaches a cardboard sheet defect detection device that detects a defect in a corrugated core bonded to a liner [claim 1], the device comprising:
a lighting device that lights the core (radiating device) [claim 1];
an imaging device that captures an image of a lighting section of the light in the core;
a processor (image processing device with a memory) that defines a change degree of a light amount value along a conveyance direction of a cardboard sheet, based on a captured image captured by the imaging device (by detecting lengths of light and dark portions and averaging them) [claims 1, 8-16];
and determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet (assessing device module used to compare the light section length) that (by determining quality) by comparing the change degree of the light amount value along a conveyance direction with a first preset determination value [claims 1, 8-16],
the first preset determination value has at least one of a maximum value determination value and a minimum value determination value, where the light amount value is lower than the maximum value determination value (an upper bound and lower bounds of a range used to determine whether the cardboard is defective) [claims 1, 8-16],
define a light amount value when an increasing light amount value decreases, as a great light amount value (this could be where the light amount value has more bands than shadow bands and transitions to the opposite), defines a light amount value when a decreasing light amount value increases (this could be where the light amount value has less bands than shadow bands and transitions to the opposite) ) [claims 1, 8-16], as a small light amount value,
and then compare the great light amount value with the maximum value determination value and the small light amount value with the minimum value determination value (by comparing the count of each as an average to a predetermined value range) [claims 1, 8-16],
and determining that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet when the great light amount fails to meet a condition of the maximum value determination value or when the small light amount value fails to meet a condition of the minimum value determination value (by being outside of the range) [claims 1, 8-16].
As for claim 3, ‘686 teaches claim 2 and the first preset determination value is a first determination region (a range) that includes an upper and lower limit, and
The processor is further configured to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet when the high light intensity value fails to satisfy the first determination region of the maximum value, or when the small light intensity value fails to satisfy the condition of the first determination region of the minimum value determination value (by being outside of the range) [claims 1, 8-16].
As for claim 4, ‘686 teaches claim 3 and wherein as a reference value, the processor is configured to define a maximum light amount value having a largest light amount in the plurality of great light amount values in a preset predetermined length (understood to be when the averages are being taken of the light values via predetermined numbers of lengths) [claims 1, 8-16], sets a lower limit value of the first determination region by subtracting a margin from the reference value, and sets an upper limit value of the first determination region by adding a margin to the reference value (as the acceptable range is generated based on adding and subtracting a margin) [claims 1, 8-16].
As for claim 5, ‘686 teaches claim 3 wherein as a reference value, the processor is configured to define a minimum light amount value having a smallest light amount in a plurality of the small light amount values in a preset predetermined length (understood to be when the averages are being taken of the dark values via predetermined numbers of lengths) [claims 1, 8-16], sets a lower limit value of the first determination region by subtracting a margin from the reference value, and sets an upper limit value of the first determination region by adding a margin to the reference value (as the acceptable range is generated based on adding and subtracting a value) [claims 1, 8-16].
As for claim 8, ‘686 teaches claim 1 and wherein the processor is configured to:
define a bright section and a dark section along the conveyance direction of the cardboard sheet, based on the captured image captured by the imaging device, and to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet by comparing at least one of a length of the bright section and a length of the dark section with a second preset determination value [claims 1, 8-16], and determines that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet, when at least one of a determination result obtained by comparing with the first preset determination value and the second preset determination value [claims 1, 8-16].
As for claim 9, ‘686 teaches claim 1 and wherein the processor is configured to define a bright section and a dark section along the conveyance direction of the cardboard sheet, based on the captured image captured by the imaging device (by defining bright and dark sections and their lengths and averaging them to obtain moving average values) [claims 1, 8-16], and to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet by comparing at least one of a length of the bright section and a length of the dark section with a second preset determination value, and perform determination processing by comparing with the second preset determination value, when the determination result obtained by comparing with the first preset determination value is a quality sheet [claims 1, 8-16].
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 8-16 of ‘686 in view of BAI.
As for claim 6, ‘686 teaches claim 1 and that differences between reference points and maximum and minimum ranges are taken into account to determine whether the cardboard sheet is of sufficient quality [claims 1 and 8-16] however, ‘686 does not teach that this different in lighting is used to determine wetting.
BAI teaches that in the production of paper that one manner of detecting defects and correcting the application of a coating is by comparing a maximum positive gradient of light against a greatest negative gradient to determine a wetting and subsequent drying of a coating [Abstract; col. 7 l. 35-52]. BAI teaches that by employing its coating and correction that high quality images can be imparted onto the cardboard sheet and the smoothness of the sheet can be improved in a manner that is both cost effective and in an improved quality of the application layer [col. 1 l. 13-col. 2 l. 9].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the coater and coating correction based on light intensity changes of BAI to the method of ‘686 in order to provide for printing image improvements and smoothness improvements to the cardboard in a manner that is cost effective and of high quality. As both ‘686 and BAI pertain to the production of paper/cardboard webs they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 8-16 of ‘686 and BAI as applied to claim 6 in further view of RIT and YAM.
As for claim 7, ‘686/BAI teaches claim 6 and ‘686 further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that the cardboard sheet is a defective sheet caused by deformations [claims 1, 8-16], wherein at least one of the difference between the great light amount value and the maximum value determination value and the difference between the small light amount value and the minimum value determination value is smaller than the preset determination difference [claims 1, 8-16]. However ‘686/BAI do not teach using light to determine/detect wrinkles as deformations.
RIT teaches that a defect in a paper web (wood fiber web) which can be determined via lighting and imaging is a wrinkle defect [Abstract; 0008].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used light imaging to detect a wrinkle defect in the cardboard of ‘686/BAI as taught by RIT in order to detect and address more defects. As the manner of detecting using the light system of ‘686/BAI depends on the comparison of great/small light amount values and maximum/minimum value determination values, it is understood that the defects would be determined in a similar manner especially because in accordance with YAM this manner of detection has a lower false positive rate [YAM: Abstract; 0025-27’ 0136-138]. As both ‘686/BAI and RIT and YAM pertain to the production of paper/cardboard webs they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the introduced limitations overcome YAM. However the Examiner notes that as currently claimed, the averaging of light profiles can constitute a light intensity measurement and therefore along with its controlling device, the limitations are met as outlined in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748