DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 17 June 2026. Claims 1, 17 and 20 are currently amended. Claims 1 and 4-21 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12 May 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0335740, hereinafter Stanger in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0325889, hereinafter Jung and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0301771, hereinafter Jennrich.
Regarding claim 1, Stanger teaches a battery pack (10). The battery pack (10) comprises a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells (1, 2) (paragraph [0022]).
The battery pack (10) includes an upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) provided on a top of the battery cell assembly and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (1, 2) (paragraph [0025] and figures 1 and 2). The upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) is absent at a bottom of the battery cell assembly.
The battery pack (10) includes a housing (9). A lower portion of the housing (9) is on the bottom of the battery cell assembly and is proximal to bottom ends of the plurality of battery cells (1,2) (figure 2). The lower portion of the housing (9) is spaced a predetermined distance from the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) with the battery cell assembly between the lower portion of the housing (9) and the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”). The lower portion of the housing (9) supports the bottom of the battery cell assembly (paragraph [0022]).
Heat from the battery cells (1 and 2) is discharged to the housing (9) (paragraph [0007]) – therefore the housing (9) (and its lower portion) is a heat sink.
A thermally conductive potting material (8) is filled in spaces between the plurality of battery cells (1 and 2) on the lower portion of the housing (9, “heat sink”) (paragraph [0026] and figure 2).
The thermally conductive potting material (8) is continuously filled between the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) and the battery cells (1 and 2) in a vertical direction of the battery assembly (figure 2).
The thermally conductive potting material (8) completely surrounds the battery cells (1 and 2) and the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) (paragraph [0022] and figure 2). The thermally conductive potting material (8) covers the cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) (figure 2).
Stanger shows the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) as including a plurality of intersecting conductors (figure 1). Therefore, the thermally conductive potting material (8) is understood to be “filled” in the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”).
The upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) includes a pair of main busbars electrically connected to the battery cell assembly and a plurality of connecting busbars electrically connected to the pair of main busbars (annotated Figure 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Illustrating the features considered "main busbars" and "connecting busbars".)]
The connecting busbars are necessarily connected to the positive and negative electrodes of the battery cells (1 and 2) for the battery pack (10) to be operational.
Stanger’s battery pack (10) is used in a power tool.
Stanger fails to teach that the housing (9, “heat sink”) includes a cooling channel in which a cooling water flows.
The use of a heat sink (500) including a cooling channel, in which a refrigerant flows for the purpose of cooling a battery pack for a power tool is known in the art – see, e.g. Jung (abstract, paragraphs [0067, 0068] and figure 9).
Using a heat sink (51) including a cooling channel, in which a coolant flows to support battery cells (1) encapsulated in a thermally conductive potting (40) material is also known in the art – see, e.g. Jennrich (paragraphs [0154, 0170] and figures 2, 16, 29a and 29b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cooling channel in (the lower portion of) the housing (9, “heat sink”) for the purpose of increasing the cooling capacity of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 4, Stanger teaches that the potting material (8) is a potting resin (paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, Stanger teaches a thermally conductive potting resin (8) (paragraph [0010]).
Stanger fails to teach that the potting resin includes a silicone resin.
Jennrich teaches a thermally conductive potting resin comprising silicone used to encapsulate a battery cell assembly. Jennrich teaches including silicone resin in the composition for the purpose of improving the tensile properties of the composition (paragraphs [0112, 0113]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thermally conductive potting resin composition including silicone resin for the purpose of achieving appropriate tensile properties and thus ensuring the robustness of the potting composition.
Regarding claim 6, Stanger as modified by Jung and Jennrich teaches that the housing (“heat sink”) includes a sink body supporting the bottom of the battery cells. The sink body includes a cooling conduit. Cooling water is capable of flowing in the cooling conduit. An inlet (51a) is in communication with the conduit and is disposed in the sink body. An outlet (51b) is disposed in the sink body and is spaced apart from the inlet (51a) (Jennrich’s paragraph [0154] and figures 2, 29a and 29b).
Regarding claim 8, Stanger teaches that the pair of main busbars is electrically connected to the battery cells positioned on two outermost sides of the battery cell assembly (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Stanger teaches that the plurality of connecting bus bars are spaced apart a predetermined distance along a lengthwise direction of the battery cell assembly (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Stanger teaches the battery pack (10). The battery pack (10) is for use in a power tool. The battery pack (10) is capable of being placed in a vehicle.
Alternatively, Jennrich teaches a similar battery pack including a plurality of battery cells (1) encapsulated in thermally conductive potting material (40), held within a housing and supported by a heat sink (51). Jennrich teaches that the battery pack is used to power a vehicle (paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Stanger’s battery pack for use in an electric vehicle for the purpose of powering the electric vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Stanger teaches a battery pack (10) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells (1, 2) (paragraph [0022]).
The battery pack (10) includes an upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) provided on a top of the battery cell assembly and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (1, 2) (paragraph [0025] and figures 1 and 2). The upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) is absent at a bottom of the battery cell assembly.
The battery pack (10) includes a housing (9). A lower portion of the housing (9) is on the bottom of the battery cell assembly and is proximal to bottom ends of the plurality of battery cells (1,2) (figure 2). The lower portion of the housing (9) is spaced a predetermined distance from the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) with the battery cell assembly between the lower portion of the housing (9) and the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”). The lower portion of the housing (9) supports the bottom of the battery cell assembly (paragraph [0022]).
Heat from the battery cells (1 and 2) is discharged to the housing (9) (paragraph [0007]) – therefore the housing (9) (and its lower portions) is a heat sink.
A thermally conductive potting material (8) is filled in spaces between the plurality of battery cells (1 and 2) on the lower portion of the housing (9, “heat sink”) (paragraph [0026] and figure 2).
The thermally conductive potting material (8) is continuously filled between the cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) and the battery cells (1 and 2) in a vertical direction of the battery assembly (figure 2).
The thermally conductive potting material (8) completely surrounds the battery cells (1 and 2) and the cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) (paragraph [0022] and figure 2). The thermally conductive potting material (8) covers the cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) (figure 2).
Stanger shows the cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) as including a plurality of intersecting conductors (figure 1). Therefore, the thermally conductive potting material (8) is understood to be “filled” in the cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”).
Stanger’s battery pack (10) is used in a power tool.
Stanger fails to teach that the housing (“heat sink”) includes a cooling channel in which a cooling water flows.
The use of a heat sink (500) including a cooling channel, in which a refrigerant flows for the purpose of cooling a battery pack for a power tool is known in the art – see, e.g. Jung (abstract, paragraphs [0067, 0068] and figure 9).
Using a heat sink (51) including a cooling channel, in which a coolant flows to support battery cells (1) encapsulated in a thermally conductive potting (40) material is also known in the art – see, e.g. Jennrich (paragraphs [0154, 0170] and figures 2, 16, 29a and 29b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cooling channel in (the lower portion of) the housing (9, “heat sink”) for the purpose of increasing the cooling capacity of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 18, Stanger as modified by Jung and Jennrich teaches that the housing (“heat sink”) includes a sink body supporting the bottom of the battery cells. The sink body includes a cooling conduit. Cooling water is capable of flowing in the cooling conduit. An inlet (51a) is in communication with the conduit and is disposed in the sink body. An outlet (51b) is disposed in the sink body and is spaced apart from the inlet (51a) (Jennrich’s paragraph [0154] and figures 2, 29a and 29b).
Claims 7, 10-14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0335740, hereinafter Stanger, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0325889, hereinafter Jung and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0301771, hereinafter Jennrich as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0273298, hereinafter Babinot.
Regarding claim 7, Stanger teaches a pair of main bus bars.
Stanger fails to teach that the pair of main bus bars includes a connector connected to an external charge/discharge line.
It is well-known in the art that a battery pack requires a connector to an external charge/discharge line for the purpose of being able to charge and discharge the battery pack. See, e.g. Babinot who teaches a positive (+) and a negative connector (-) provided on a pair of main bus bars (14) for the purpose of forming an external electrical connection with a battery pack (paragraph [0114] and figure 7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pair of main bus bars with a connector for the purpose of being able to connect the battery pack (10) to an external charge/discharge line.
Regarding claim 10, Stanger teaches a plurality of connecting bus bars. Each connecting bus bar includes a busbar layer disposed over a predetermined length along a widthwise direction of the battery cell assembly (Figure 1 above).
Stanger fails to teach: 1) a support layer below the busbar layer; and 2) that the busbar layer is connected to positive and negative electrodes of the battery cells.
Regarding 1), Babinot teaches a busbar assembly (110) for a battery pack comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells. Babinot’s busbar assembly (110) includes a plurality of conductive busbar layers disposed over a predetermined length along a widthwise direction of the battery cell assembly. The busbar assembly (110) includes a support layer (24b) positioned below the busbar layers and supporting the busbar layers. The support layer (24b) is formed from insulating material and serves to prevent undesired electrical contact with the conductive busbar layers (paragraphs [0090, 0091]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a support layer below the bus bar layer in Stanger’s cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) for the purpose of preventing undesired electrical contact with the bus bar layer.
Regarding 2), Babinot teaches arranging cylindrical battery cells in a nested arrangement in order to conserve space in the battery pack. Babinot’s busbar layers each are connected to positive and negative electrodes of the battery cells for the purpose of effecting the electrical connection on just one side of the battery pack.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt Babinot’s configuration for the purpose of maximizing space in the battery pack and simplifying the electrical connections.
Regarding claim 11, Stanger as modified by Babinot teaches that the connecting bus bar includes a busbar layer disposed over a predetermined length along a widthwise direction of the battery cell assembly.
Stanger as modified by Babinot teaches a plurality of connection portions (226 and 228) protrude from the layer body and are connected to positive and negative electrodes of the battery cells (Babino’s figure 3).
Regarding claims 12-14, Stanger as modified by Babinot teaches that the support layer (24b) is disposed below the layer body and has a shape corresponding to the layer body (Babinot’s figure 2). The support layer (24b) is formed of a polyimide film – polyimide is an insulating material (Babinot’s paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Stanger teaches that the cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) includes a plurality of sub busbars electrically connected to the battery cells (figure 4). It is thus understood that the sub busbars includes electrode connection portions.
Stanger fails to teach that the plurality of sub busbars are located between a pair of bus bar covers.
Babinot teaches a busbar assembly (110) for a battery pack comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (40). Babinot’s busbar assembly (110) includes a plurality of conductive busbar layers electrically connecting rows of battery cells (). The busbar assembly (110) includes a pair of insulation layers (24a and 24b, “busbar covers”) sandwiching the busbar layers. The insulation layers (24a and 24b) are formed from insulating material and serve to prevent undesired electrical contact with the conductive busbar layers (paragraphs [0090, 0091]). The insulation layers (24a and 24b) include a plurality of busbar holes (26) to expose electrode connection portions (226 and 228) on the busbar layers (paragraphs [0143-0147] and figure 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a pair of busbar covers sandwiching the plurality of sub busbars in Stanger’s cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) for the purpose of preventing undesired electrical contact with the sub busbars and to form a plurality of busbar holes in the busbar covers for the purpose of allowing electrical connection with the electrode connection portions.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0335740, hereinafter Stanger in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0325889, hereinafter Jung, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0301771, hereinafter Jennrich and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0273298, hereinafter Babinot.
Regarding claim 20, Stanger teaches a battery pack (10) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (1, 2) (paragraph [0022] and figure 4).
The battery pack (10) includes an upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) provided on a top of the battery cell assembly and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (1, 2) (paragraph [0025] and figures 1 and 2). The upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) is absent at a bottom of the battery cell assembly.
The battery pack (10) includes a housing (9). A lower portion of the housing (9) is on the bottom of the battery cell assembly and is proximal to bottom ends of the plurality of battery cells (1,2) (figure 2). The lower portion of the housing (9) is spaced a predetermined distance from the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) with the battery cell assembly between the lower portion of the housing (9) and the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”). The lower portion of the housing (9) supports the bottom of the battery cell assembly (paragraph [0022]).
Heat from the battery cells (1 and 2) is discharged to the housing (9) (paragraph [0007]) – therefore the housing (9) (and its lower portion) is a heat sink.
A thermally conductive potting material (8) is filled in spaces between the plurality of battery cells (1 and 2) on the housing (9, “heat sink”) (paragraph [0026] and figure 2).
The thermally conductive potting material (8) is continuously filled between the upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) and the battery cells (1 and 2) in a vertical direction of the battery assembly (figure 2).
The upper cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) includes a plurality of sub busbars electrically connected to the battery cells (figure 4). It is thus understood that the sub busbars include electrode connection portions.
Stanger’s battery pack (10) is used in a power tool.
Stanger fails to teach that: 1) the housing (“heat sink”) includes a cooling channel in which a cooling water flows and; 2) the plurality of sub busbars are located between a pair of bus bar covers.
Regarding 1), the use of a heat sink (500) including a cooling channel, in which a refrigerant flows for the purpose of cooling a battery pack for a power tool is known in the art – see, e.g. Jung (abstract, paragraphs [0067, 0068] and figure 9).
Using a heat sink (51) including a cooling channel, in which a coolant flows to support battery cells (1) encapsulated in a thermally conductive potting (40) material is also known in the art – see, e.g. Jennrich (paragraphs [0154, 0170] and figures 2, 16, 29a and 29b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cooling channel in the (lower portion of the) housing (9, “heat sink”) for the purpose of increasing the cooling capacity of the battery pack.
Regarding 2), Babinot teaches a busbar assembly (110) for a battery pack comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (40). Babinot’s busbar assembly (110) includes a plurality of conductive busbar layers electrically connecting rows of battery cells (). The busbar assembly (110) includes a pair of insulation layers (24a and 24b, “busbar covers”) sandwiching the busbar layers. The insulation layers (24a and 24b) are flat and are thus have a plate shape. The insulation layers (24a and 24b) are formed from insulating material and serve to prevent undesired electrical contact with the conductive busbar layers (paragraphs [0090, 0091]). The insulation layers (24a and 24b) include a plurality of busbar holes (26) to expose electrode connection portions (226 and 228) on the busbar layers (paragraphs [0143-0147] and figure 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a pair of busbar covers sandwiching the plurality of sub busbars in Stanger’s cell connector (5, “bus bar assembly”) for the purpose of preventing undesired electrical contact with the sub busbars and to form a plurality of busbar holes in the busbar covers for the purpose of allowing electrical connection with the electrode connection portions.
Regarding claim 21, Stanger as modified by Babinot teaches that in a plan view each of the bus bar holes (266) has an opening space larger than a size of the corresponding electrode connection portion (228) (Babinot’s figure 4a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented combination of the Stanger, Jung and Jennrich references was found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724