DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-8 are still pending
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 have been amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the amended claim covers no performance of the limitation in the mind and is an improvement in the technical field (remarks pages 7-9). However, according to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), a claim that requires a computer may still recite a mental process. The temperature model used to estimate a temperature of an energy storage device is considered a mental process; for example, thermal metrics such as junction temperature can be estimated mentally using known parameters like junction-to-ambient thermal resistance or junction-to-case resistance along with measured power losses. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is performing a mental process in a computer environment. Furthermore, the additional elements of the temperature estimation model being an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software and the outputting of either the temperature or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device are not enough to be significantly more than the abstract idea, thus, not enough to be a technical improvement in the field. According to MPEP 2106.05(f) These additional elements invokes computers as a tool to perform an existing process. Accordingly, applicant’s argument regarding the claim not reciting a mental process and being an improvement are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the energy storage devices" in line 6. It is unclear if it is referring to the singular energy storage device in lines 3-4 or another amount/set of energy storage devices. If it is referring to the singular energy storage device, it is recommended to amend the claim to recited “a plurality of the energy storage device”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the energy storage devices" in line 6. It is unclear if it is referring to the singular energy storage device in lines 3-4 or another amount/set of energy storage devices. If it is referring to the singular energy storage device, it is recommended to amend the claim to recited “a plurality of the energy storage device”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the energy storage devices" in line 6. It is unclear if it is referring to the singular energy storage device in lines 3-4 or another amount/set of energy storage devices. If it is referring to the singular energy storage device, it is recommended to amend the claim to recited “a plurality of the energy storage device”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the energy storage devices" in line 5. It is unclear if it is referring to the singular energy storage device in lines 2-3 or another amount/set of energy storage devices. If it is referring to the singular energy storage device, it is recommended to amend the claim to recited “a plurality of the energy storage device”.
Claims 5-6 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for being dependent on claim 1.
Claims 3-4 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for being dependent on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites A temperature estimation device comprising: a processor, configured to: acquire charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquire temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; and estimate heat transfer at least among a cell, a cell ambient laver, and an environmental temperature laver, wherein the cell ambient laver is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer; calculate an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer; estimate a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a device; therefore, it is a machine
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitation of estimating heat transfer at least among a cell, a cell ambient laver, and an environmental temperature laver, wherein the cell ambient laver is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer. The limitation of estimating heat transfer, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating heat transfer can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer. The limitation of calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, calculating an ambient temperature can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of estimate a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model. The limitation of estimating a temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating a temperature using a model can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. the claims recites additional elements:
a processor; wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; an external device
The processor and external device in the claim are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor and device performing a generic computer function of processing data (acquiring, calculating, estimating and outputting data). These generic unit limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The temperature estimation model being an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software is nothing more than software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium; which is an idea without physical embodiment. A software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation that is not generic (such as a generic processor) has no physical or tangible form.
The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. the following additional elements merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea: acquire charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquire temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using computer code. Mere instructions to apply an exception using computer code cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 5 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 5 is further recites the element(s) “… a third temperature variation amount calculation unit that calculates a third temperature variation amount of the energy storage device, due to the heat generation caused by the charge- discharge, based on the charge-discharge data; and a fourth temperature variation amount calculation unit that calculates a fourth temperature variation amount, due to the heat transfer between a periphery in the battery board and the energy storage device, based on the ambient temperature, wherein the temperature estimation unit estimates a temperature of the energy storage device based on the third temperature variation amount and the fourth temperature variation amount.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 5 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 6 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 6 is further recites the element(s) “… further comprising a full charge capacity estimation unit that estimates the full charge capacity of the energy storage device further based on the estimated temperature of the energy storage device.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 6 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites a temperature estimation device comprising: a processor, configured to: acquire charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquire temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; calculate a first temperature variation amount in the battery board, due to heat generation of the energy storage device caused by the charge-discharge, based on the charge-discharge data; calculate a second temperature variation amount in the battery board, due to heat transfer between an environment outside the battery board and an inside of the battery board, based on the temperature data; calculate an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board based on the first temperature variation amount and the second temperature variation amount; estimate a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a device; therefore, it is a machine
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitation of estimating heat transfer at least among a cell, a cell ambient laver, and an environmental temperature laver, wherein the cell ambient laver is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer. The limitation of estimating heat transfer, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating heat transfer can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer. The limitation of calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, calculating an ambient temperature can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of estimate a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model. The limitation of estimating a temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating a temperature using a model can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. the claims recites additional elements:
a processor; wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; an external device
The processor and external device in the claim are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor and device performing a generic computer function of processing data (acquiring, calculating, estimating and outputting data). These generic unit limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The temperature estimation model being an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software is nothing more than software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium; which is an idea without physical embodiment. A software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation that is not generic(such as a generic processor) has no physical or tangible form.
The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. the following additional elements merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea: acquire charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquire temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using computer code. Mere instructions to apply an exception using computer code cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 3 depends on claim 2, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 3 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the processor calculates the first temperature variation amount using an arithmetic expression exponentiating a value, which is obtained by dividing a calorific value of the energy storage device by a heat capacity of the energy storage device, by a first exponent.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 3 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 4 depends on claim 2, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 4 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the processor calculates the second temperature variation amount using an arithmetic expression exponentiating a difference between an ambient temperature of the energy storage device and the environmental temperature of the battery board by a second exponent.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 4 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer program causing a computer to execute: acquiring charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquiring temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; estimating heat transfer at least among a cell, a cell ambient laver, and an environmental temperature laver, wherein the cell ambient laver is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer; calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer; estimating a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a computer program, therefore it is a process
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The limitation of estimating heat transfer, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating heat transfer can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The limitation of calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, calculating an ambient temperature can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The limitation of estimating a temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating a temperature can be done with a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. the claims recites additional elements: non-transitory computer readable storage medium; an energy storage device, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software, an external device
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium
in the claim are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic non-transitory computer readable storage medium performing a generic computer function of storing data. These generic unit limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The external device in the claim is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic device performing a generic computer function of processing data (receiving outputted data). These generic unit limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The temperature estimation model being an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software is nothing more than software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium; which is an idea without physical embodiment. A software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation that is not generic (such as a generic processor) has no physical or tangible form.
The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. the following additional elements merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea: acquiring charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquiring temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using computer code. Mere instructions to apply an exception using computer code cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites a temperature estimation method comprising: acquiring charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquiring temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; estimating heat transfer at least among a cell, a cell ambient laver, and an environmental temperature laver, wherein the cell ambient laver is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer; calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer; and estimating a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method, therefore it is a process
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The limitation of estimating heat transfer, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating heat transfer can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The limitation of calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, calculating an ambient temperature can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The limitation of estimating a temperature of the energy storage device, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the calculating and estimating step from practically being performed in the human mind; for example, estimating a temperature can be done with a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. the claims recites additional elements: an energy storage device, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software, an external device
The external device in the claim is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic device performing a generic computer function of processing data (receiving outputted data). These generic unit limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The temperature estimation model being an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software is nothing more than software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium; which is an idea without physical embodiment. A software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation that is not generic (such as a generic processor) has no physical or tangible form.
The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. the following additional elements merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea: acquiring charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge of an energy storage device; acquiring temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices; outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using computer code. Mere instructions to apply an exception using computer code cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-8 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun; Chein-Chung et al. (US application #20170256825 A1; hereinafter Sun; previously cited) in view of SUZUKI; Keita et al. (US application #20190195958 A1; hereinafter Suzuki; newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a temperature estimation device (abstract) comprising:
A processor (par.33 teaches a microprocessor), configured to:
acquire charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge (par.26 “the master control circuit 108 may also obtain the system current value I and the system coulomb value Q by the current and coulomb measurement circuit 106, and actively opens the main current switch 114 to block the charge and discharge path when measuring the system current value I meets a current warning condition”) of an energy storage device (par.38 “an energy storage device 304”);
acquire temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board (par.31 “The measuring circuit 202 includes a voltage sensor and a temperature sensor for sensing a cell voltage Vi and a cell temperature Ti of the battery set 102_i.”) accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices (par.31 “battery set 102_i”); and
calculate an ambient temperature (par.46 “the master arithmetical control circuit 504 calculates temperature information of the entire battery system 100”; the temperature information of the entire battery is different from the cell temperature; thus, the ambient temperature must be part of the temperature information of the entire battery system 100) of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data (par.33 “The arithmetical control circuit 206 may calculate battery information BIi of the battery set 102_i of the unit battery module Mi according to the cell voltage Vi, the cell temperature Ti,”), wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer;
estimate a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data (Par.46 “the master arithmetical control circuit 504 calculates the system battery information SBI such as the highest and/or lowest voltage and temperature information of the entire battery system 100”).
Sun fails to explicitly teach estimate heat transfer at least among a cell, a cell ambient layer, and an environmental temperature layer, wherein the cell ambient layer is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer; calculate an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer; by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
Suzuki does teach
estimate heat transfer (par.30-38) at least among a cell (par.60), a cell ambient layer (par.60 teaches cell ambient layer as electrode substrate layer), and an environmental temperature layer (par.60 teaches walls 211 and 214 as environmental temperature layer), wherein the cell ambient layer is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer (par.60 and fig. 7);
calculate an ambient temperature of the energy storage device (par.122 teaches calculating temperature of regions; which is the ambient temperature) in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data (par.69-71), wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer (par.30-31);
by a temperature estimation model (par.95 teaches temperature estimation model with formula), wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software (par.9 “a computer to execute characteristic processing contained in an energy storage device state estimation method or in the form of a storage medium such as a computer readable Compact Disc-Read Only Memory (CD-ROM) in which the program is stored.”); and
output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model (par.131 “the energy storage device state estimation device 100 updates the temperature of the internal region by using the temperature of the internal region and the temperature of the external region in the past.”; an update is considered an output) or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device (par.47 teaches a plurality of energy storage devices which are external and coupled to energy storage device state estimation device 100 in fig.3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to include the teachings of Suzuki; which would provide a simple configuration for an energy storage device state estimation device as disclosed by Suzuki(par.6).
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches a temperature estimation device (abstract) comprising:
a processor (par.33 teaches a microprocessor), configured to:
acquire charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge (par.26 “the master control circuit 108 may also obtain the system current value I and the system coulomb value Q by the current and coulomb measurement circuit 106, and actively opens the main current switch 114 to block the charge and discharge path when measuring the system current value I meets a current warning condition”) of an energy storage device (par.38 “an energy storage device 304”);
acquire temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board (par.31 “The measuring circuit 202 includes a voltage sensor and a temperature sensor for sensing a cell voltage Vi and a cell temperature Ti of the battery set 102_i.”) accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices (par.31 “battery set 102_i”);
Sun fails to explitly teach calculate a first temperature variation amount in the battery board, due to heat generation of the energy storage device caused by the charge-discharge, based on the charge- discharge data; calculate a second temperature variation amount in the battery board, due to heat transfer between an environment outside the battery board and an inside of the battery board, based on the temperature data; calculate an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board based on the first temperature variation amount and the second temperature variation amount; estimate a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
Suzuki does teach
calculate a first temperature variation amount in the battery board (par.67 teaches detecting abnormalities using a temperature; thus meaning the temperature varies for an abnormality to be detected), due to heat generation of the energy storage device caused by the charge-discharge (par.68 teaches a heat generation amount acquisition part 111 used in the energy storage device state estimation device 100), based on the charge- discharge data (par.68 charge-discharge history data 131);
calculate a second temperature variation amount in the battery board (par.109 teaches calculating temperatures), due to heat transfer between an environment outside the battery board and an inside of the battery board (par.109 teaches heat transfer between regions within and around the battery), based on the temperature data (par.109);
calculate an ambient temperature (par.122 teaches calculating temperature of regions; which is the ambient temperature) of the energy storage device in the battery board based on the first temperature variation amount and the second temperature variation amount;
estimate a temperature of the energy storage device (par.86 “The temperature calculation part 113 estimates a temperature of the energy storage device 200.”) using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model (par.95 teaches temperature estimation model with formula), wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software (par.9 “a computer to execute characteristic processing contained in an energy storage device state estimation method or in the form of a storage medium such as a computer readable Compact Disc-Read Only Memory (CD-ROM) in which the program is stored.”);
output either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model (par.131 “the energy storage device state estimation device 100 updates the temperature of the internal region by using the temperature of the internal region and the temperature of the external region in the past.”) or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device (par.47 teaches a plurality of energy storage devices which are external and coupled to energy storage device state estimation device 100 in fig.3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to include the teachings of Suzuki; which would provide a simple configuration for an energy storage device state estimation device as disclosed by Suzuki(par.6).
Regarding claim 5, Sun in view of Suzuki teach the temperature estimation device according to claim 1, Suzuki further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
calculate a third temperature variation (par.67 teaches detecting abnormalities using a temperature; thus meaning the temperature varies for an abnormality to be detected; par.118 teaches calculating temperature change) amount of the energy storage device (par.109 teaches calculating temperatures), due to the heat generation caused by the charge-discharge (par.68 teaches a heat generation amount acquisition part 111 used in the energy storage device state estimation device 100), based on the charge-discharge data (par.68 charge-discharge history data 131); and
calculate a fourth temperature variation amount (par.67 teaches detecting abnormalities using a temperature; thus, meaning the temperature varies for an abnormality to be detected; par.118 teaches calculating temperature change), due to the heat transfer between a periphery in the battery board and the energy storage device (par.38 teaches calculating temperature due to heat transfer between regions), based on the ambient temperature (par.38),
wherein the processor estimates a temperature of the energy storage device based on the third temperature variation amount and the fourth temperature variation amount (par.86 “The temperature calculation part 113 estimates a temperature of the energy storage device 200.”).
Regarding claim 6, Sun in view of Suzuki teach the temperature estimation device according to claim 1, Sun further teaches wherein the processor estimates the full charge capacity of the energy storage device further based on the estimated temperature of the energy storage device (par.33 “The arithmetical control circuit 206 obtains the battery information BIi such as the residual electricity, the deteriorating capacity, the internal resistance and the health status, by performing an operation of an estimation algorithm for the real-time battery information of the battery set 102_i of the unit battery module Mi.”).
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches
acquiring charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge (par.26 “the master control circuit 108 may also obtain the system current value I and the system coulomb value Q by the current and coulomb measurement circuit 106, and actively opens the main current switch 114 to block the charge and discharge path when measuring the system current value I meets a current warning condition”) of an energy storage device (par.38 “an energy storage device 304”);
acquiring temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board (par.31 “The measuring circuit 202 includes a voltage sensor and a temperature sensor for sensing a cell voltage Vi and a cell temperature Ti of the battery set 102_i.”) accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices (par.31 “battery set 102_i”);
Sun fails to teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program causing a computer to execute: estimating heat transfer at least among a cell, a cell ambient layer, and an environmental temperature layer, wherein the cell ambient layer is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer; calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer; estimating a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
Suzuki does teach
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (par.166 “a non-volatile storage medium in which the program which is readable by a computer (processor) is stored” all non-volatile mediums are non-transitory) storing a computer program causing a computer (par.166) to execute:
estimating heat transfer (par.30-38) at least among a cell (par.60), a cell ambient layer (par.60 teaches cell ambient layer as electrode substrate layer), and an environmental temperature layer (par.60 teaches walls 211 and 214 as environmental temperature layer), wherein the cell ambient layer is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer (par.60 and fig. 7);
calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device (par.122 teaches calculating temperature of regions; which is the ambient temperature) in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data (par.69-71), wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer (par.30-31);
estimating a temperature of the energy storage device (par.128 “estimating a temperature of the energy storage device”) using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model (par.95 teaches temperature estimation model with formula), wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software (par.9 “a computer to execute characteristic processing contained in an energy storage device state estimation method or in the form of a storage medium such as a computer readable Compact Disc-Read Only Memory (CD-ROM) in which the program is stored.”); and
outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model (par.131 “the energy storage device state estimation device 100 updates the temperature of the internal region by using the temperature of the internal region and the temperature of the external region in the past.”; an update is considered an output) or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device (par.47 teaches a plurality of energy storage devices which are external and coupled to energy storage device state estimation device 100 in fig.3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to include the teachings of Suzuki; which would provide a simple configuration for an energy storage device state estimation device as disclosed by Suzuki(par.6).
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches a temperature estimation method (par.22 teaches temperature estimation method):
acquiring charge-discharge data relating to charge-discharge (par.26 “the master control circuit 108 may also obtain the system current value I and the system coulomb value Q by the current and coulomb measurement circuit 106, and actively opens the main current switch 114 to block the charge and discharge path when measuring the system current value I meets a current warning condition”) of an energy storage device (par.38 “an energy storage device 304”);
acquiring temperature data relating to an environmental temperature of a battery board (par.31 “The measuring circuit 202 includes a voltage sensor and a temperature sensor for sensing a cell voltage Vi and a cell temperature Ti of the battery set 102_i.”) accommodating a plurality of the energy storage devices (par.31 “battery set 102_i”); and
calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data (par.33 “The arithmetical control circuit 206 may calculate battery information BIi of the battery set 102_i of the unit battery module Mi according to the cell voltage Vi, the cell temperature Ti,”), and estimating a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data (Par.46 “the master arithmetical control circuit 504 calculates the system battery information SBI such as the highest and/or lowest voltage and temperature information of the entire battery system 100”).
Sun fails to teach calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data, wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer; estimating a temperature of the energy storage device using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model, wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software; and outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device.
estimating heat transfer (par.30-38) at least among a cell (par.60), a cell ambient layer (par.60 teaches cell ambient layer as electrode substrate layer), and an environmental temperature layer (par.60 teaches walls 211 and 214 as environmental temperature layer), wherein the cell ambient layer is defined between the cell and the environmental temperature layer (par.60 and fig. 7);
calculating an ambient temperature of the energy storage device (par.122 teaches calculating temperature of regions; which is the ambient temperature) in the battery board using the charge-discharge data and the temperature data (par.69-71), wherein the ambient temperature depends on the heat transfer (par.30-31);
estimating a temperature of the energy storage device (par.128 “estimating a temperature of the energy storage device”) using the calculated ambient temperature and the charge-discharge data by a temperature estimation model (par.95 teaches temperature estimation model with formula), wherein the temperature estimation model is an execution code executed by a programming language or numerical analysis software (par.9 “a computer to execute characteristic processing contained in an energy storage device state estimation method or in the form of a storage medium such as a computer readable Compact Disc-Read Only Memory (CD-ROM) in which the program is stored.”); and
outputting either the temperature of the energy storage device estimated by the temperature estimation model (par.131 “the energy storage device state estimation device 100 updates the temperature of the internal region by using the temperature of the internal region and the temperature of the external region in the past.”; an update is considered an output) or a full charge capacity of the energy storage device estimated based on time-series data to an external device (par.47 teaches a plurality of energy storage devices which are external and coupled to energy storage device state estimation device 100 in fig.3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to include the teachings of Suzuki; which would provide a simple configuration for an energy storage device state estimation device as disclosed by Suzuki(par.6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 9379549 B2; Sakuma; Hisato et al. is an Electric power control system and method
/CARL F.R. TCHATCHOUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858