DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-11 and 13-19) in the reply filed on 10/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as
being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was
made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/23/2025.
Accordingly, claims 1-19 are pending and claims 1-11 and 13-19 have been examined herein.
Priority
The instant claims herein are examined utilizing the accepted effective filing date of 6/30/2020 for the basis of any prior art rejections.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 9a, 10, and 27 are illegible. Furthermore, there is no “9b” figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-6, and 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1-6 recites “lysing the pulverized tissue” however, it should read as “digesting” because the tissue is already decellularized.
Claims 1 and 5-6 recites “S1), . . . S2),” etc. The examiner recommends removing these recitations.
Claims 2-4 recite “S4.” The examiner recommends removing these recitations.
Claim 11 recites “a pancreatic organoid culture method,” which should read as “a method of culturing a pancreatic organoid.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 contains the trademark/trade name Matrigel. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a biological cell culture substrate and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Badylak et al (WO2015143310 A1, 3/20/2015; published 9/21/2016).
Badylak teaches a method of preparing an extracellular matrix-derived gel comprising: (i) solubilizing extracellular matrix (ECM) that has not been dialyzed, by digestion with an acid protease in an acidic solution to produce a digest solution, (ii) drying the digest solution, and (iii) sterilizing the dried digest (see claim 1 of Badylak). The reference teaches that the dried digest solution is lyophilized (see claim 5 of Badylak). The ECM is derived from mammalian tissue, wherein the mammalian tissue is derived from pancreas (see claims 7-8 of Badylak). The reference also teaches that all the solutions are maintained below 25 C before gelation (see claim 14 of Badylak). The acidic solution comprises 0.01 M HCl and the protease is trypsin (see claims 18-19 of Badylak). Lyophilized porcine spleen was mixed with pepsin and HCl and kept at a constant stir for 72 hrs and dry human liver was mixed with pepsin and HCl and kept at constant stir for 3-5 days (i.e., 72- 120 hours) (see paras 91 and 95). A base or isotonic solution is added to raise the pH of the digest solution where the solution is raised to between 7.2 and 7.8 (see claims 20 and 34 of Badylak). This reads on “a method for preparing a composition for culturing pancreatic organoids, the method comprising: decellularizing pancreatic tissue, lyophilizing the decellularized tissue, pulverizing the lyophilized tissue, lysing the pulverized tissue by adding a proteopeptic enzyme and an acid; and adjusting the pH by adding a basic solution to the lysate, the S5) is performed within a range of 20C to 70C to prevent gelation” as in instant claim 5. The reference teaches that all of the solutions are placed on and kept on ice at all times (para 105-106) (“wherein the basic solution is stored at a refrigeration temperature within a range of 1 to 10C in advance before use” as in instant claim 8). This reads on “A method for preparing a composition for culturing pancreatic organoids, the method comprising: S1) decellularizing pancreatic tissue; S2) lyophilizing the decellularized tissue; S3) pulverizing the lyophilized tissue; S4) lysing the pulverized tissue by adding a proteopeptic enzyme and an acid; and S5) adjusting the pH by adding a basic solution to the lysate, wherein the S5) is performed on ice to prevent gelation” as in instant claim 6 and “performing on ice is carried out by inserting a container containing the lysate into ice and then adjusting the pH by adding a basic solution” as in instant claim 7.
Thus, Badylak anticipates instant claims 5-8.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ozbolat et al (US20190331662A1, 1/12/2018; published 10/31/2019).
Ozbolat teaches a device capable of being used as a pancreas model comprising a substrate; a lower layer of extracellular matrix disposed on top of said substrate; a strand of sacrificial matrix disposed along an interior region of said lower layer of extracellular matrix; an array of pancreatic islets disposed on top of said lower layer of extracellular matrix; an upper layer of extracellular matrix disposed on said array of pancreatic islets; and a vascular network (see claim 1 of Ozbolat). The lower ECM layer an include Matrigel (para 9 of Ozbolat) (“composition for culturing pancreatic organoids according to claim 9, the composition further comprising Matrigel” as in instant claim 10). This reads on “a composition for culturing pancreatic organoids” as in instant claims 9 and 13-19. Please note that claims 9 and 13-19 are product-by-process limitations. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2113).
Thus, Ozbolat anticipates instant claims 9-10 and 13-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badylak et al (WO2015143310 A1, 3/20/2015; published 9/21/2016) in view of Hines et al (Cell Reports, 13 March 2014).
Badylak teaches a method of preparing an extracellular matrix-derived gel comprising: (i) solubilizing extracellular matrix (ECM) that has not been dialyzed, by digestion with an acid protease in an acidic solution to produce a digest solution, (ii) drying the digest solution, and (iii) sterilizing the dried digest (see claim 1 of Badylak). The reference teaches that the dried digest solution is lyophilized (see claim 5 of Badylak). The ECM is derived from mammalian tissue, wherein the mammalian tissue is derived from pancreas (see claims 7-8 of Badylak). The reference also teaches that all the solutions are maintained below 25 C before gelation (see claim 14 of Badylak). The acidic solution comprises 0.01 M HCl and the protease is trypsin (see claims 18-19 of Badylak). Lyophilized porcine spleen was mixed with pepsin and HCl and kept at a constant stir for 72 hrs and dry human liver was mixed with pepsin and HCl and kept at constant stir for 3-5 days (i.e., 72- 120 hours) (see paras 91 and 95). A base or isotonic solution is added to raise the pH of the digest solution where the solution is raised to between 7.2 and 7.8 (see claims 20 and 34 of Badylak). This reads on “decellularizing pancreatic tissue, lyophilizing the decellularized tissue, pulverizing the lyophilized tissue, lysing the pulverized tissue by adding a proteopeptic enzyme and an acid and stirring . . . for 72 to 96 hours, and adjusting the pH by adding a basic solution to the lysate” as in instant claim 1; “the S4) is lysing the pulverized tissue by adding a proteopeptic enzyme and an acid and stirring . . . for 72 to 96 hours” as in instant claim 2; “the S4) is lysing the pulverized tissue by adding a proteopeptic enzyme and an acid and stirring . . . for 96 hours” as in instant claim 3; “the S4) is lysing the pulverized tissue by adding a proteopeptic enzyme and an acid and stirring . . . for 96 hours” as in instant claim 4, “pancreatic organoid culture method comprising culturing a pancreatic organoid in the composition for culturing pancreatic organoids according to claim 9” as in instant claim 11. This also reads on “a composition for culturing pancreatic organoids” as in instant claims 9 and 13-19 (product-by-processes; see MPEP 2113).
Badylak does not teach that the stirring is performed at 330 to 500 rpm.
However, Hines teaches tissue fragments are then transferred to a 1L sterile glass flask
containing a stir bar, to which a 5-fold higher volume of digestion medium is added (DMEM/F12 containing 2 mg/ml collagenase IV (Worthington, LS004l89), 2 mg/ml hyaluronidase (Sigma H3506), 2 mg/ml BSA and 1x Penicillin/Streptomycin). The flask is then placed in a 37C water bath and the tissue is robustly stirred at 300-500 rpm for 1-7 hours, until the digest is deemed to be complete (time depends on the amount of starting material) (see p. 6 supplemental methods, “Boston Method”). This shows that tissue can be digested and spun at 300-500 rpm and that the time of spinning depends on the amount of material at the start.
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to creating a pancreatic ECM as taught by Badylak, where the spinning is performed at 300-500 rpm as taught by Hines, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Hines shows that tissue can be successfully digested at 300-500 rpm. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the stirring as taught by Badylak to be 300-500 rpm as taught by Hines with a reasonable expectation of advantageously creating digested tissue as taught by the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the improvements caused by stirring at that particular speed would improve similar digestive methods in the same way.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18012958 in view of Badylak et al (WO2015143310A1, 3/20/2015; published 9/21/2016).
The instant and conflicting claims are drawn to identical methods except for the type of tissue utilized in the method, i.e., pancreatic (instant claims) versus lung (conflicting application). However, Badylak et al teaches the creation of a ECM from tissues including pancreas (see above). It would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute the lung tissue of ‘958 with pancreatic tissue to produce a tissue-specific matrix for cell culture with a reasonable expectation of success as taught by the prior art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/PETER PARAS JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1632