DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-32, 34-36, 39, 40, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al.(US Publication 2009/0255640) in view of Mitsunari et al.(JP 2007-136861).
Morin et al. disclose an apparatus and method of making tissue paper comprising a first embossing roll(132) and a first anvil roll(134) which emboss a first ply, a second embossing roll(122) and a second anvil roll(124) which emboss a second ply, and a marrying roll(142) where the marrying roll and the first embossing roll are turning in opposite directions.(Figure 3) The first embossing roll has a number of teeth that contact the marrying roll through the plies and bond them together in a nested arrangement.(Figure 1C, [0035]) Morin et al. shows pre-embossing one of the plies, but it also discloses that it is possible to not pre-emboss the plies.[0067] The reference does not disclose the embossing rolls are heated. Mitsunari et al. discloses that it is known to heat embossing rolls to provide a clear pattern.(machine translation) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to heat the embossing rolls of Morin et al. to insure a clear embossed pattern is formed as suggested by Mitsunari et al. While the references do not disclose the speed, one in the art would understand that since the structures are the same as applicant, they would be able to process sheets at the same speeds as applicant’s device.
Regarding claim 32, an adhesive unit(15) applies adhesive to the tips of the first ply before bonding.
Regarding claim 36, the first anvil roll, second embossing roll, and marrying roll all rotate in one direction and the second anvil roll and the first embossing roll rotate in the opposite direction since two rolls with a nip rotate in opposite directions to move the ply through the nip.(Figure 3)
Regarding claim 39 and 40, Mitsunari et al. discloses heating the rolls to 40-140C.
Regarding claim 43, Morin et al. does not disclose a wetting unit.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Sauter et al.(US Publication 2010/0183850).
The references cited do not disclose the specifies of the adhesive application roll. Sauter et al. discloses anilox roller which transfer adhesive to the application roll are known in the tissue paper making arts.[0019] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use an anilox roller with pit shaped depressions to transfer adhesive to the application roller since such rollers are well known and conventional in the tissue paper material arts as shown for example by Sauter et al.[0019]
Claim(s) 37 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Stefani(US Patent 10,654,239).
Regarding claims 37 and 38, the references cited do not disclose the specifics of the heights of the embossments of the two plies or the presence of multiple different height protuberances on each embossing roll. Stefani discloses that typical pattern heights are 1.1 -2 mm in height for the taller protuberances and shorter for smaller ones with both rolls having tall and short protuberances.(Col. 7, ll. 7-18; Figure 7) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to make protuberances on both embossing rolls of Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. have different heights since Stefani discloses this is a known tissue paper pattern thus combining prior art elements according to known methods to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 38, while Stefani does not disclose which embossing roll has higher protuberances, one in the art would appreciate that either roll could have taller protuberances since three are only three options, they are the same height on both rolls, the first roll have higher ones, and the second roll has higher ones, thus it is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success absent unexpected results.
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Pieroni et al.(US Publication 2023/0146893).
The references cited above do not disclose applying moisture to the plies before embossing. Pieroni et al. discloses applying moisture before the sheets reach the embossing unit to improve bonding.([0157]; Figure 8A) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to apply moisture to the plies before embossing since this will improve bonding as taught by Pieroni et al.[0157] While the reference does not disclose the amount of water applied, one in the art would appreciate that the amount of water applied is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine absent unexpected results.
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Techlin(US Patent 9,248,147).
The references cited do not disclose rolling up the paper or what it is rolled on, though one in the art would understand that based on the desired product, it would be formed into a roll. Techlin discloses a mandrel on which bathroom tissue is rolled up that is axially elastic so it can replace cardboard cores.(Col. 1, ll. 6-9; Col. 7, ll. 62- Col. 8, ll. 3) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to roll the plies of Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. onto an axially elastic mandrel which can be removed since this would replace cardboard cores as taught by Techlin(Col. 7, ll. 62- Col. 8, ll. 3)
Claim(s) 45-47, 49, 50, 53, 54, 56, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Hill et al.(US Publication 2010/0021696) and McNeil(US Publication 2012/0244241)
The references cited do not disclose the basis weights of the plies used. Hill et al. discloses that typical paper used has a basis weight of 8-30 g/m2.[0004] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use plies with a basis weight of 8-30 g/m2 since Hill et al. discloses this is a typical weight for tissue papers used for making this type of product.[0004] The references cited also do not disclose the sped of the process. McNeil discloses that embossing devices can run at 300 m/min or more.[0008] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to run the device of Morin et al., Mitsunari et al. and Hill et al. at 300 m/min or more because McNeil shows that similar devices can run at such speeds and the faster a device is run, the more product is made in a given amount of time.
Regarding claim 46, the first anvil roll, second embossing roll, and marrying roll all rotate in one direction and the second anvil roll and the first embossing roll rotate in the opposite direction since two rolls with a nip rotate in opposite directions to move the ply through the nip.(Figure 3)
Regarding claim 47, while the references cited do not disclose applying adhesive to both plies, whether to apply it to one or both plies is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine absent unexpected results, there being only two options, applying it to one ply or applying it to both plies.
Regarding claim 53 and 54, Mitsunari et al. discloses heating the rolls to 40-140C.
Regarding claim 56, Morin et al. does not disclose a wetting unit.
Regarding claim 57, while the references cited do not disclose a load, that would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine absent unexpected results as both the reference and the applicant are making similar products using similar apparatus.
Claim(s) 48, 51, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al., Mitsunari et al., Hill et al. and McNeil as applied to claim 45 above, and further in view of Sauter et al.(US Publication 2010/0183850).
Regarding claim 48, the references cited do not disclose the specifies of the adhesive application roll. Sauter et al. discloses anilox roller which transfer adhesive to the application roll are known in the tissue paper making arts.[0019] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use an anilox roller with pit shaped depressions to transfer adhesive to the application roller since such rollers are well known and conventional in the tissue paper material arts as shown for example by Sauter et al.[0019]
Regarding claims 51 and 52, Sauter et al. discloses the conventionally tissue products are made with wet creped paper(WCP)[0002] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use wet creped paper as the plies in Morin et al., Mitsunari et al., Hill et al. and McNeil since this is well-known and conventional as the type of material used to make this type of product as shown for example by Sauter et al.[0002]
Regarding claim 52, Morin et al. discloses the first ply can be made of a plurality of plies.(claim 48)
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al., Mitsunari et al., Hill et al. and McNeil as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Pieroni et al.(US Publication 2023/0146893).
The references cited above do not disclose applying moisture to the plies before embossing. Pieroni et al. discloses applying moisture before the sheets reach the embossing unit to improve bonding.([0157]; Figure 8A) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to apply moisture to the plies before embossing since this will improve bonding as taught by Pieroni et al.[0157] While the reference does not disclose the amount of water applied, one in the art would appreciate that the amount of water applied is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine absent unexpected results.
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin et al., Mitsunari et al., Hill et al. and McNeil as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Stefani(US Patent 10,654,239).
The references cited do not disclose the specifics of the heights of the embossments of the two plies or the presence of multiple different height protuberances on each embossing roll. Stefani discloses that typical pattern heights are 1.1 -2 mm in height for the taller protuberances and shorter for smaller ones with both rolls having tall and short protuberances.(Col. 7, ll. 7-18; Figure 7) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to make protuberances on both embossing rolls of Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al. have different heights since Stefani discloses this is a known tissue paper pattern thus combining prior art elements according to known methods to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 30 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dettori et al.(US Patent 10,696,004) in view of Morin et al. and Mitsunari et al.(JP 2007-136861).
Dettori et al. disclose an apparatus and method of making tissue paper comprising a first embossing roll(5) and a first anvil roll(11) which emboss a first ply, a second embossing roll(7) and a second anvil roll(15) which emboss a second ply, and a marrying roll(41) where the marrying roll and the first embossing roll are turning in opposite directions.(Figure 6A) The first embossing roll has a number of teeth that contact the marrying roll through the plies and bond them together in a nested arrangement.(Figure 6B) The reference does not disclose conveying the embossed first and second plies while separated to the marrying roll nip. Morin et al. discloses it is known in general in the embossing arts to convey the first and second embossed web separately to the marrying nip.(Figure 3) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to transport the first and second embossed web to the marrying roll b\nip while spaced apart from each other since this is well-known and conventional in the embossing arts as shown for example by Morin et al.(Figure 3) The references do not disclose the embossing rolls are heated. Mitsunari et al. discloses that it is known to heat embossing rolls to provide a clear pattern.(machine translation) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to heat the embossing rolls of Morin et al. and Dettori et al. to insure a clear embossed pattern is formed as suggested by Mitsunari et al. While the references do not disclose the speed, one in the art would understand that since the structures are the same as applicant, they would be able to process sheets at the same speeds as applicant’s device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Morin et la. requires pre-embossing the reference states that it is possible to not pre-emboss any of the plies.[0068]
It is noted that applicant does not argue at all with respect to Dettori et al, which also shows no pre-embossing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746