DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application. Claims 13-14 are new. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 01/22/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “the processor is configured to perform:…. performing welding fume judgment on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain a welding fume judgment result; performing an identification process on the two-dimensional welding image according to the welding fume judgment result to obtain a welding seam edge image; performing a calibration process on the two-dimensional welding image and the three- dimensional welding image to obtain a mapping relation matrix, …performing an identification process on the three-dimensional composite image to obtain a welding seam target datum line; performing an offset comparison process on the welding seam edge image and the welding seam target datum line to obtain an offset comparison result;”. The applicant is suggested to rephrase the limitation “to perform:…. Performing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-9, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the processor is configured to perform: in response to detecting a change of gravity by the accelerometer sensor at the fixed position, determining that a target workpiece is placed at the fixed position;”. Paragraph [82] of the original disclosure describes “The processor 110 is a control center of the device, which connects all parts of the whole device with various interfaces and lines, and executes the various functions and processes the data of the device by running or executing the software program and/or the module stored in the memory and calling the data stored in the memory, thus monitoring the device as a whole.” Paragraph [79] describes “As a type of motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor 130 may detect the magnitude of acceleration in all directions (generally three axes), may detect a magnitude and a direction of gravity at rest, and may be used in the application of device posture identification (such as horizontal and vertical screen switching, related games and magnetometer posture calibration) and a function related to vibration identification (such as a pedometer and tapping).” However, the original disclosure does not support the claimed limitation of the processor being configured to detect a change of gravity and determining position of target workpiece.
Claim 1 recites “the processor is configured to perform:…. in response to determining the welding seam quality detection region, actuating the infrared sensor to perform welding seam quality detection for the welding seam quality detection region,”. Paragraph [102] of the original disclosure describes “When the offset comparison result is consistent with the preset threshold range, the welding seam edge image is determined as the welding seam quality detection region, and then the welding seam quality detection region is detected to judge whether the welding of the target workpiece meets a standard.” Paragraph [79] describes “The device may be further provided with other sensors such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a hygrometer, a thermometer and an infrared sensor 140, which will not be repeated herein.” ).” However, the original disclosure does not support the claimed limitation of the processor being configured to actuate infrared sensor to perform welding seam quality detection in response to determining welding seam quality detection region.
Claim 1 recites 2D camera and 3D camera to obtain 2D and 3D images of the welding seam and a processor processing these images to obtain the welding seam quality detection region. Claim 1 further recites “actuating the infrared sensor to perform welding seam quality detection for the welding seam quality detection region,”. It seems the processor is claimed to acquire a third image by the infrared sensor and use this third image to judge quality of the welding seam. Paragraph [79] describes “The device may be further provided with other sensors such as a gyroscope, a barometer, a hygrometer, a thermometer and an infrared sensor 140, which will not be repeated herein.” ).” However, the original disclosure does not support the claimed limitation of judging standard of welding quality from a third image taken by infrared sensor.
Claims 2-9, 13-14 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea of mental processes.
Regarding claim 1,
Step 1: With respect to claim 1, applying step 1, the preamble of independent claim 1 claims a system and falls within the statutory category of a machine.
Step 2A, prong one: In order to apply step 2A, a recitation of claim 1 is copied below. (Highlighted portions in bold of the claim constitute an abstract idea; the remaining limitations are "additional elements"): The claim recites:
A system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region, comprising: a processor; a memory connecting with the processor; a two-dimensional (2D) camera; a three-dimensional (3D) camera; an accelerometer sensor capable of detecting a magnitude and a direction of gravity at a fixed position; an infrared sensor; wherein the processor is configured to perform: in response to detecting a change of gravity by the accelerometer sensor at the fixed position, determining that a target workpiece is placed at the fixed position; actuating the 2D camera to photograph the target workpiece, such that a two-dimensional welding image of the target workpiece that has been welded is obtained; actuating the 3D camera to photograph the target workpiece, such that a three-dimensional welding image of the target workpiece that has been welded is obtained; and storing the two-dimensional welding image and the three-dimensional welding image in the memory, wherein both the two-dimensional welding image and the three-dimensional welding image have two-dimensional image coordinates; performing welding fume judgment on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain a welding fume judgment result; performing an identification process on the two-dimensional welding image according to the welding fume judgment result to obtain a welding seam edge image; performing a calibration process on the two-dimensional welding image and the three- dimensional welding image to obtain a mapping relation matrix, wherein the mapping relation matrix indicates a mapping relationship between the two-dimensional image coordinates of the two-dimensional welding image and the two-dimensional image coordinates of the three- dimensional welding image; mapping the welding seam edge image of the two-dimensional welding image to the three-dimensional welding image according to the mapping relation matrix to obtain a three- dimensional composite image; performing an identification process on the three-dimensional composite image to obtain a welding seam target datum line; performing an offset comparison process on the welding seam edge image and the welding seam target datum line to obtain an offset comparison result; and in response to the offset comparison result being consistent with a preset threshold range, determining the welding seam edge image as the welding seam quality detection region; in response to determining the welding seam quality detection region, actuating the infrared sensor to perform welding seam quality detection for the welding seam quality detection region, and judging whether a welding of the target workpiece meets a standard.
As to the first step of the patent eligibility analysis (Step 2A, First Prong), the highlighted portion of the claim constitutes an abstract idea, because it can be construed as reciting mental processes MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B & C)). The steps of judging images, identifying seam edge, obtaining mapping matrix, mapping one image to another, comparing offset with threshold, and determining based on the comparison data are mental processes that are performed with or without a physical aid.
Step 2A, prong two: Under step 2A prong two, the additional elements recited in claim 1 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the limitations are either generic components and/or relates to data gathering and outputting.
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements in italic:
a processor; (generic computer, MPEP 2106.05(b)-I)
a memory connecting with the processor; ( generic computer components, MPEP 2106.05(b)-I)
a two-dimensional (2D) camera; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
a three-dimensional (3D) camera; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
an accelerometer sensor capable of detecting a magnitude and a direction of gravity at a fixed position; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
an infrared sensor; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
wherein the processor is configured to perform: in response to detecting a change of gravity by the accelerometer sensor at the fixed position, determining that a target workpiece is placed at the fixed position; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
actuating the 2D camera to photograph the target workpiece, such that a two-dimensional welding image of the target workpiece that has been welded is obtained; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
actuating the 3D camera to photograph the target workpiece, such that a three-dimensional welding image of the target workpiece that has been welded is obtained; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
and storing the two-dimensional welding image and the three-dimensional welding image in the memory, wherein both the two-dimensional welding image and the three-dimensional welding image have two-dimensional image coordinates; (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
in response to determining the welding seam quality detection region, actuating the infrared sensor to perform welding seam quality detection for the welding seam quality detection region, (data gathering and outputting, MPEP 2106.05 (g) (3))
Step 2B: The claim includes additional elements of generic computer, and elements for data gathering and outputting. These elements, individually and in combination, execute the mental processes of judging images, identifying seam edge, obtaining mapping matrix, mapping one image to another, comparing offset with threshold, and determining based on the comparison data with or without a physical aid. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B & C)). Thus, the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activity.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea of mental processes , and is rejected as not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 2 recites mental processes of acquiring, judging, and determining. Claim 3 recites mental processes performing elimination or searching seam edge. Claim 4 recites performing calculation on acquired data. Claim 5 recites mental process of identifying seam edge. Claim 6 recites mental process of identifying different regions. Claim 7 recites mental process of acquiring data, performing calculation, and performing fitting. Claim 8 recites mental process of calculating offset and comparing with a threshold value. Claim 9 recites mental process of performing coordinate transforming. Claim 13 recites a mathematical concept. Claim 14 recites a mathematical concept.
For the foregoing reasons, claims 2-9, 13-14 are directed to an abstract idea of mental processes , and are rejected as not patent eligible under35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang et al., CN 113192029 (hereafter Shang), and further in view of Jin at al., CN 111583211 (hereafter Jin), Deng et al., CN 113808065 (hereafter Deng), Schwarz, US 20120234805 (hereafter Schwarz).
Regarding claim 1,
A system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region, comprising: a processor; a memory connecting with the processor; (Shang teaches “high precision intelligent welding” in page 2, paragraph 9. It is implied that an intelligent welding comprises processor and memory.)
a two-dimensional (2D) camera; a three-dimensional (3D) camera; (Page 3, paragraph 6 teaches “the original welding line image comprises: an amplitude image and a depth image”. Here amplitude image corresponds to 2D image and depth image corresponds to 3D image. It is implied that the system in Shang comprises 2D and 3D cameras to obtain these images.)
an infrared sensor; (Page 5, paragraph 9 teaches “sensor in the camera based on ToF technology can emit modulated infrared light;”)
…actuating the 2D camera to photograph the target workpiece, such that a two-dimensional welding image of the target workpiece that has been welded is obtained; actuating the 3D camera to photograph the target workpiece, such that a three-dimensional welding image of the target workpiece that has been welded is obtained; (Page 3, paragraph 6 teaches “the original welding line image comprises: an amplitude image and a depth image”. Here amplitude image corresponds to 2D image and depth image corresponds to 3D image. It is implied that the system in Shang acquires 2D and 3D images of the welding seam.)
…wherein both the two-dimensional welding image and the three-dimensional welding image have two-dimensional image coordinates; (A 3D image has 2D image coordinates by definition.)
.. and storing the two-dimensional welding image and the three-dimensional welding image in the memory, (Page 3, paragraph 6 teaches “the original welding line image comprises: an amplitude image and a depth image”. It is implied that the obtained images are saved in memory to perform further processing.)
… in response to determining the welding seam quality detection region, actuating the infrared sensor to perform welding seam quality detection for the welding seam quality detection region, (the claim is interpreted as infrared sensor collects welding seam data for image processing. Page 5, paragraph 9 teaches “sensor in the camera based on ToF technology can emit modulated infrared light; the light is diffuse reflection after meeting the welding seam; the receiving
end can obtain the corresponding depth information of the welding seam by analyzing the emitting light and the phase difference light or time difference, so as to obtain the depth information of the target image; point cloud information and gray scale information and so on.”)
performing welding fume judgment on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain a welding fume judgment result; (The claim is interpreted as filtering the 2D image to remove noise. Shang teaches collecting an amplitude image and filtering the image to reduce the background light in page 5, paragraph 10-11.)
performing an identification process on the two-dimensional welding image according to the welding fume judgment result to obtain a welding seam edge image; (Page 6, paragraph 2 teaches “step S4, extracting the edge feature of the binarization image by Gabor filter, and obtaining the edge image of the welding seam”.)
performing a calibration process on the two-dimensional welding image and the three- dimensional welding image to obtain a mapping relation matrix; (Page 4 paragraph 9 teaches “firstly converting the world coordinate system into camera coordinate system through rigid transformation; then the camera coordinate system is converted into the image coordinate system through the perspective projection; at last, the image coordinate system is discretized to obtain the pixel coordinate system.” Here rigid transformation, and conversion are performed through mapping matrix as taught in pages 5-6 of the original Chinese document.)
wherein the mapping relation matrix indicates a mapping relationship between the two-dimensional image coordinates of the two-dimensional welding image and the two-dimensional image coordinates of the three- dimensional welding image; (Fig. 2 in Shang)
mapping the welding seam edge image of the two-dimensional welding image to the three- dimensional welding image according to the mapping relation matrix to obtain a three-dimensional composite image; (Abstract teaches “by identifying the welding seam image, obtaining the two dimensional information of the welding seam, then combining the corresponding depth information, calculating the three-dimensional coordinate of the welding seam; constructing a world coordinate system, a camera coordinate system, a conversion relation between the image coordinate system and the pixel coordinate system; according to the conversion relation, converting the welding seam three-dimensional coordinate into the space coordinate in the world coordinate system;”)
performing an identification process on the three-dimensional composite image to obtain a welding seam target datum line; (Abstract teaches “then combining the corresponding depth information, calculating the three-dimensional coordinate of the welding seam;”)
performing an offset comparison process on the welding seam edge image and the welding seam target datum line to obtain an offset comparison result; (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Page 10, paragraph 4 in Jin teaches “after obtaining the contrast image, performing subtraction operation to the contrast image and the template image, and taking the absolute value of the result as the image to be compared for representing the difference between the contrast image and the template image.”)
and in response to the offset comparison result being consistent with a preset threshold range, determining the welding seam edge image as the welding seam quality detection region (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Page 10, paragraph 5 in Jin teaches “after obtaining the image to be compared, the pixel value of the pixel point included in the image to be compared is greater than the preset threshold value area, as the difference area”.)
Even though Jin is silent about comparing welding seam images from 2D and 3D measurement, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to compare the 2D and 3D images in Shang to obtain offset value between them and compare the offset value with a preset threshold value as taught in Jin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “obtaining the difference area between the contrast image and the template graph; and obtaining the defect detection result of the detection image according to the difference area” as taught in page 2, paragraph 11 in Jin.
… an accelerometer sensor capable of detecting a magnitude and a direction of gravity at a fixed position; ( Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Deng teaches accelerometer in page 11, paragraph 4. It is inherent that an accelerometer detects magnitude and direction of gravity at a fixed position.)
..wherein the processor is configured to perform: in response to detecting a change of gravity by the accelerometer sensor at the fixed position, determining that a target workpiece is placed at the fixed position; (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Deng teaches an industrial robot 800 comprising accelerometer in page 11, paragraphs 3-4. It is inherent that a stationary accelerometer indicates an upward acceleration of 1g.)
Even though Deng is silent about determining a workpiece position using accelerometer, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the accelerometer from Deng to detect workpiece position in Shang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because a stationary accelerometer indicates an upward acceleration of 1g.
..and judging whether a welding of the target workpiece meets a standard. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Schwarz teaches “it is necessary to monitor the quality of the weld or solder seams produced by the laser welding head by means of the laser beam. The inspection of the weld or solder seams is carried out by means of image processing, the geometrical properties of the weld seams such as concavity, convexity, seam width or seam thickness inter alia being determined. In order to record these properties, the seam region must be known exactly in the three-dimensional representation,” in paragraph [2].)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add the processor configured for judging welding quality as taught in Schwarz to the system in Shang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “quality monitoring of a joint seam can be carried out easily during an ongoing joining process” as taught in paragraph [11] in Schwarz.
Regarding claim 8,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 1, wherein the performing an offset comparison process on the welding seam edge image and the welding seam target datum line to obtain an offset comparison result comprises: calculating an offset of a boundary of the welding seam edge image relative to the welding seam target datum line; (Shang is silent about this.
Page 10, paragraph 4 in Jin teaches “after obtaining the contrast image, performing subtraction operation to the contrast image and the template image, and taking the absolute value of the result as the image to be compared for representing the difference between the contrast image and the template image.”)
and comparing the offset with the preset threshold range to obtain the offset comparison result. (Page 10, paragraph 5 teaches “after obtaining the image to be compared, the pixel value of the pixel point included in the image to be compared is greater than the preset threshold value area, as the difference area”.)
Even though Jin is silent about comparing welding seam images from 2D and 3D measurement, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to compare the 2D and 3D images in Shang to obtain offset value between them and compare the offset value with a preset threshold value as taught in Jin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “obtaining the difference area between the contrast image and the template graph; and obtaining the defect detection result of the detection image according to the difference area” as taught in page 2, paragraph 11 in Jin.
Regarding claim 9,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 1, wherein the performing a calibration process on the two-dimensional welding image and the three-dimensional welding image to obtain a mapping relation matrix comprises: performing the calibration process on the two-dimensional welding image and the three- dimensional welding image to obtain a plurality of corner point coordinates of the two-dimensional welding image and a plurality of corner point coordinates of the three-dimensional welding image; (Fig. 2 in Shang teaches obtaining coordinate points of 2D image and 3D image)
and calculating a transformation matrix according to the plurality of corner point coordinates of the two-dimensional welding image and the plurality of corner point coordinates of the three-dimensional welding image to obtain the mapping relation matrix. (Abstract in Shang teaches “by identifying the welding seam image, obtaining the two dimensional information of the welding seam, then combining the corresponding depth information, calculating the three-dimensional coordinate of the welding seam; constructing a world coordinate system, a camera coordinate system, a conversion relation between the image coordinate system and the pixel coordinate system; according to the conversion relation, converting the welding seam three-dimensional coordinate into the space coordinate in the world coordinate system;”)
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 13 is interpreted as mapping the two-dimensional welding image to the three- dimensional welding image according to the mapping relation matrix (Abstract in Shang teaches “by identifying the welding seam image, obtaining the two dimensional information of the welding seam, then combining the corresponding depth information, calculating the three-dimensional coordinate of the welding seam; constructing a world coordinate system, a camera coordinate system, a conversion relation between the image coordinate system and the pixel coordinate system; according to the conversion relation, converting the welding seam three-dimensional coordinate into the space coordinate in the world coordinate system;”)
Regarding claim 14,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 4, wherein: the performing a histogram equalization process on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain the two-dimensional welding image subjected to the equalization process comprises: distributing evenly pixels of the welding seam region and the welding fume region in the two- dimensional welding image to obtain the two-dimensional welding image subjected to the equalization process; ( The claim is interpreted as the 2d image is pre-processed before histogram equalization. Page 5, paragraph 11 in Shang teaches “Specifically, the pretreatment includes: cutting the amplitude image to obtain the image containing the welding seam region, and filtering the image; the purpose of using the filtering process is to reduce the influence of the light in the environment to the amplitude image.”)
the performing a quantization process on the two-dimensional welding image subjected to the equalization process to obtain a welding fume region and the welding seam region comprises: performing a 128-level quantization process on the two-dimensional welding image subjected to the equalization process, so that the welding seam region and the welding fume region are separated; (The claim is interpreted as the 2D image is quantized. Shang teaches in page 5, paragraph 13 “performing local threshold binarization processing to the pre-processed amplitude image obtained in the step S2 to obtain the corresponding binarization image;”
Even though Shang is silent about 128 level quantization, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the quantization level as taught in Shang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to “ performing local threshold binarization processing to the pre-processed amplitude image to obtain a binarized image; extracting the edge characteristic of the binary image;” as taught in abstract in Shang. Additionally, the original disclosure does not describe any criticality of choosing 128-level.)
the performing a searching process on the welding seam region through the edge identification tool to obtain the welding seam edge image comprises: searching for an edge of the welding seam region through the edge identification tool to obtain the welding seam edge image, outputting the welding seam edge image to the edge identification tool, and finding effective point coordinates of the welding seam edge image by using a least square method. (The claim is interpreted as the edge of the welding seam region is identified by edge identification tool. The limitation “using a least square method” is interpreted as minimizing error.
Shang teaches in page 6, paragraph 2 “extracting the edge feature of the binarization image by Gabor filter, and obtaining the edge image of the welding seam;”. It is implied the filtering is optimized to minimize error.)
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang, Jin, Deng, and Schwarz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wikipedia 2020, web.archive.org/web/20200622012910/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thresholding_(image_processing), June 2020 (hereafter Wikipedia2020).
Regarding claim 2,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 1, wherein the performing welding fume judgment on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain a welding fume judgment result comprises: acquiring a minimum enclosing graph of a welding seam region in the two-dimensional welding image by using an edge identification tool; (Page 5, paragraph 11 in Shang teaches “cutting the amplitude image to obtain the image containing the welding seam region, and filtering the image; the purpose of using the filtering process is to reduce the influence of the light in the environment to the amplitude image.”)
judging whether welding fume exists in the two-dimensional welding image according to an edge line parameter of the minimum enclosing graph; and in response to the edge line parameter being greater than a threshold, determining the welding fume judgment result as existence of the welding fume, or in response to the edge line parameter being smaller than the threshold, determining the welding fume judgment result as non-existence of the welding fume; wherein the welding fume is generated during a welding process of the target workpiece. ( The claim is interpreted as a parameter of the image is compared to a threshold value to detect noise.
Primary combination of references is silent about this. Wikipedia2020 teaches “The simplest thresholding methods replace each pixel in an image with a black pixel if the image intensity I{{i,j}} is less than some fixed constant T (that is,
I{{i,j}}<T), or a white pixel if the image intensity is greater than that constant.” )
Screenshot of Wikipedia2020
Even though Wikipedia2020 is silent about welding fume, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the method of comparing a parameter value from the image with a threshold value to reduce noise as taught in Wikipedia2020 to the method in Shang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in because “In digital image processing, thresholding is the simplest method of segmenting images. From a grayscale image, thresholding can be used to create binary images” as taught in Wikipedia2020.
Regarding claim 3,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 2, wherein the performing an identification process on the two-dimensional welding image according to the welding fume judgment result to obtain a welding seam edge image comprises: in response to the welding fume judgment result indicating existence of the welding fume, performing a welding fume elimination process on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain the welding seam edge image; or in response to the welding fume judgment result indicating non-existence of the welding fume, performing a searching process on the two-dimensional welding image through the edge identification tool to obtain the welding seam edge image. (The claim is interpreted as in response to the welding fume judgment result indicating existence of the welding fume, performing a welding fume elimination process on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain the welding seam edge image.
Page 5, paragraph 11 in Shang teaches “cutting the amplitude image to obtain the image containing the welding seam region, and filtering the image; the purpose of using the filtering process is to reduce the influence of the light in the environment to the amplitude image.”)
Regarding claim 4,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 3, wherein in response to the welding fume judgment result indicating existence of the welding fume, performing a welding fume elimination process on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain the welding seam edge image comprises: performing a histogram equalization process on the two-dimensional welding image to obtain the two-dimensional welding image subjected to the equalization process; (Page 6, paragraph 1-2 in Shang teaches “Specifically, the threshold value is obtained by calculating the local image Gaussian weighted average, the amplitude image after pre-processing using histogram method to determine the binarization threshold value, obtaining the binary image capable of reflecting the whole image and local features. step S4, extracting the edge feature of the binarization image by Gabor filter, and obtaining the edge image of the welding seam”.)
performing a quantization process on the two-dimensional welding image subjected to the equalization process to obtain a welding fume region and the welding seam region; (Page 6, paragraph 1-2 in Shang teaches “Specifically, the threshold value is obtained by calculating the local image Gaussian weighted average, the amplitude image after pre-processing using histogram method to determine the binarization threshold value, obtaining the binary image capable of reflecting the whole image and local features. step S4, extracting the edge feature of the binarization image by Gabor filter, and obtaining the edge image of the welding seam”.)
and performing a searching process on the welding seam region through the edge identification tool to obtain the welding seam edge image. (Page 6, paragraph 1-2 in Shang teaches “Specifically, the threshold value is obtained by calculating the local image Gaussian weighted average, the amplitude image after pre-processing using histogram method to determine the binarization threshold value, obtaining the binary image capable of reflecting the whole image and local features. step S4, extracting the edge feature of the binarization image by Gabor filter, and obtaining the edge image of the welding seam”.)
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang, Jin, Deng, and Schwarz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mo et al., CN 111462110 A (hereafter Mo).
Regarding claim 5,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 1, wherein the performing an identification process on the three-dimensional composite image to obtain a welding seam target datum line comprises: performing an identification process on the three-dimensional composite image to obtain a first region and a second region welded with the first region; and performing a fitting process according to the first region and the second region to obtain the welding seam target datum line. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Page 4, paragraph 4-6 in Mo teaches “selecting the first region of interest from the height map; determining the first edge line and the second edge line of the target welding seam according to the height difference between the plurality of pixel points in the first region of interest and the preset reference surface; the area image between the first edge line and the second edge line, as the welding seam area of the target welding seam.” It is understood that the welding seam joins two regions within the region of interest.
Page 11, paragraph 3 teaches “In addition, in the embodiment of the invention, a plurality of welding edge point can be, but not limited to 3, 5, 10, obtaining the plurality of welding edge point, can be through least squares method to fit the plurality of welding edge point, determining the target welding object, the edge straight line of the welding side.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to identify welding seam line in 3D image in Shang by the fitting process as taught in Mo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “from the height map, determining the welding seam area for representing the target welding seam, and then analyzing the welding seam area, obtaining the characteristic parameter of the target welding seam, at last, according to the characteristic parameter, obtaining the quality detection result of the target welding seam, wherein the target welding material comprises a substrate, a welding piece, and welding the welding piece on the substrate to form the target welding seam” as taught in abstract in Mo.
Regarding claim 6,
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 5, wherein the performing an identification process on the three-dimensional composite image to obtain a first region and a second region welded with the first region comprises: acquiring height data of the three-dimensional composite image; (Page 3, paragraph 6 in Shang teaches “the original welding line image comprises: an amplitude image and a depth image” )
and performing an identification process on the three-dimensional composite image according to the height data to obtain the first region and the second region welded with the first region, wherein a height value of the first region is different from a height value of the second region. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Page 4, paragraph 4-6 in Mo teaches “selecting the first region of interest from the height map; determining the first edge line and the second edge line of the target welding seam according to the height difference between the plurality of pixel points in the first region of interest and the preset reference surface; the area image between the first edge line and the second edge line, as the welding seam area of the target welding seam.” It is understood that the welding seam joins two regions within the region of interest.
Fig. 4 and 6 teach that region of interest welds surfaces 221 and 210 with different heights.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to identify welding seam line in 3D image in Shang according to height value of different pixels as taught in Mo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “from the height map, determining the welding seam area for representing the target welding seam, and then analyzing the welding seam area, obtaining the characteristic parameter of the target welding seam, at last, according to the characteristic parameter, obtaining the quality detection result of the target welding seam, wherein the target welding material comprises a substrate, a welding piece, and welding the welding piece on the substrate to form the target welding seam” as taught in abstract in Mo.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang, Jin and Mo as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US patent application publication of Mo(US20230139733, hereafter Mo) and Sobel edge detector, https://web.archive.org/web/20200114044245/https://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/rbf/HIPR2/sobel.htm, Jan 2020 (hereafter Sobel edge detector).
The system architecture platform for determining a welding seam quality detection region according to claim 5, wherein the performing a fitting process according to the first region and the second region to obtain the welding seam target datum line comprises: acquiring a height value of the first region and a height value of the second region; (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Page 4, paragraph 4-6 in Mo teaches “selecting the first region of interest from the height map; determining the first edge line and the second edge line of the target welding seam according to the height difference between the plurality of pixel points in the first region of interest and the preset reference surface;”)
performing a first-order derivation process on the height value of the first region and the height value of the second region to obtain at least two edge points between the first region and the second region; (The US patent application publication of Mo teaches in paragraph [104] “During actual implementation, a plurality of weldment edge points may be acquired in a second region of interest of the height map with preset search parameters through a Sobel operator, and then the plurality of weldment edge points are fitted to determine the edge straight line on the welding side of the target weldment.” Sobel operator inherently performs spatial gradient measurement on an image as evidenced by Sobel edge detector. )
Screenshot of Sobel edge detector
and performing the fitting process on the at least two edge points by using a welding seam target datum line tool to obtain the welding seam target datum line. (Page 11, paragraph 3 in Mo teaches “In addition, in the embodiment of the invention, a plurality of welding edge point can be, but not limited to 3, 5, 10, obtaining the plurality of welding edge point, can be through least squares method to fit the plurality of welding edge point, determining the target welding object, the edge straight line of the welding side.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to identify welding seam line in 3D image in Shang by the fitting process as taught in Mo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “from the height map, determining the welding seam area for representing the target welding seam, and then analyzing the welding seam area, obtaining the characteristic parameter of the target welding seam, at last, according to the characteristic parameter, obtaining the quality detection result of the target welding seam, wherein the target welding material comprises a substrate, a welding piece, and welding the welding piece on the substrate to form the target welding seam” as taught in abstract in Mo.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/20/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 13-14 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on pages 12-24 about 101 rejections have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection based on the amendment of claims.
The applicant amended claims 1-9 and argued on pages 24-32 that this makes the claimed invention distinguishable from prior art. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of prior art as discussed above. Additionally, the applicant presented their version of machine translation of foreign references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761