DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on December 25, 2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 4, and 7 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-7 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 5, and 6 are objected to for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a side (sagittal plane) part” (ln. 12-13) should read --a side sagittal plane part-- to avoid any potential confusion that use of the parenthesis renders the “sagittal plane” limitation as optional.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “the at least one first body is connected to the leg upper part” (ln. 1-2) should read --the at least one first body is configured to be connected to the leg upper part-- to avoid any potential interpretation that the applicant is attempting to positively claim a body part (i.e. “leg upper part”) in violation of 35 USC 101.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “the at least one second body is connected to the leg lower part” (ln. 1-2) should read --the at least one second body is configured to be connected to the leg lower part-- to avoid any potential interpretation that the applicant is attempting to positively claim a body part (i.e. “leg lower part”) in violation of 35 USC 101.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first body” in claim 1 lines 4 and 6, claim 2 lines 3-4, and claim 5 line 2 is interpreted as a frame or the like according to specification page 4 lines 24-25.
“second body” in claim 1 lines 5, 7, and 9, claim 2 line 5, claim 3 line 4, and claim 6 line 2 is interpreted as a frame or the like according to specification page 4 lines 35-36.
“foot embodiment” in claim 1 line 8 and claim 7 line 3 is interpreted as a support frame of the like according to specification page 5 lines 7-8.
“movement element” in claim 1 lines 13 and 14 is interpreted as a movable plate essentially in triangular form or the like according to specification page 6 lines 6-7.
“thigh connection element” in claim 5 lines 2-3 is interpreted as essentially a holder structure according to specification page 4 lines 27-28.
“shank connection element” in claim 6 lines 2-3 is interpreted as essentially a holder structure according to specification page 4 line 37 and page 5 line 1.
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“manipulated by means of the at least one spring” (claim 1, ln. 16);
“means of at least one thigh connection element” (claim 5, ln. 2);
“means of at least one shank connection element” (claim 6, ln. 2-3).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2016/0158087).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses an exoskeleton system (fig. 1) in order to provide a walking support to people who have disability in walking or in order to provide a performance improvement to healthy people ([0003] states that the exoskeleton can assist walking or assist in carrying a heavy load), comprising
at least one first body (fig. 1, femur module 21) for being connected to a motionless upper part of a leg (fig. 3, thigh belt 214 attaches to a thigh of a user, see [0051]), and at least one second body (fig. 1, tibia module 22) for being connected to a motionless lower part of the leg (fig. 5, shank belt 223 attaches to a shank of a user, see [0057]), and at least one knee embodiment (figs. 11A-11B, which represent fig. 1, knee joint component 23) provided between the at least one first body and the at least one second body ([0067] states force transmission device 50 controls knee joint component 23, and [0070] states that the driving element connects the femur module 21 and the tibia module 22) in a manner allowing a motion of a knee joint (see motion allowed in figs. 11A-11B), and
at least one foot embodiment (fig. 1, foot module 30) for forming a support to a foot part ([0063] states the foot module supports the foot by being inserted into a sole of a shoe worn by the user) by being connected to the at least one second body ([0064] states that foot module 30 connects to tibia module 22), and
at least one spring (figs. 11A-11B, driving element 53 can be a spring, see [0070]),
wherein the at least one knee embodiment comprises at least one isogram mechanism (figs. 11A-11B, cam 52 and hook structure 54) provided in a manner supporting a bio-mechanical motion of the knee (see figs. 11A-11B where bending of the knee is facilitated) joint from a side (sagittal plane) part of the knee joint (fig. 1, knee joint component 23 is aligned to a side part of the knee), the at least one isogram mechanism comprises at least one movement element (figs. 11A-11B, input force joint 52b) that is connected to the at least one spring ([0070] states that the driving element 53 connects between the femur module 21 and the input force joint 52b of the cam 52), wherein the at least one movement element is configured to be manipulated by means of the at least one spring ([0070] states that the driving element 53 moves the tibia module 22 via the input force joint 52b and a hook structure 54)), wherein the at least one spring energy storage element allows carrying a load (figs. 11A-11b, driving element 53 creates pulling force 62), in order to compensate a translation motion realized by the knee joint while rotating ([0070] states that the pulling force 62 allows movement of the femur module 21 and tibia module 22 towards an extension mode).
Regarding claim 2, the system of Huang reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on at least one first part (figs. 11A-11B, cam 52) of the at least one knee embodiment where the at least one knee embodiment (fig. 1, knee joint component 23) is connected to the at least one first body (fig. 1, femur module 21, figs. 11A-11B, knee joint component 23 includes cam 52 which allows connection to 21, see [0070]), and at least one second part (figs. 11A-11B, hook structure 54) where the at least one knee embodiment is connected to the at least one second body (fig. 1, tibia module 22, figs. 11A-11B, knee joint component 23 includes hook structure 54 which allows connection to 22, see [0070]), wherein the at least one first part and the at least one second part are provided in a manner extending from a front part of a knee towards a rear part of the knee is a compliant manner to a bio-mechanics of the knee joint (see annotated fig. 11A below).
Regarding claim 5, the system of Huang reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the at least one first body (fig. 1, femur module 21) is connected to the leg upper part by means of at least one thigh connection element (fig. 3, thigh belt 214 attaches to a thigh of a user, see [0051]).
Regarding claim 6, the system of Huang reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the at least one second body (fig. 1, tibia module 22) is connected to the leg lower part by means of at least one shank connection element (fig. 5, shank belt 223 attaches to a shank of a user, see [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, the system of Huang reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the at least one isogram mechanism (figs. 11A-11B, cam 52 and hook module 54) is configured to fit a user around a knee of the user ([0070] states figs. 11A-11B corresponds to a force transmission device 50, [0067] states a force transmission device 50 controls the knee joint component 23, and fig. 1, knee joint component 23 is positioned around the knee of a user).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Choi et al. (US 10,688,009).
Regarding claim 3, the system of Huang reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the foot piece (fig. 1, foot module 30) can be connected to the rest of the device (fig. 5, tibia module connector 224 allows tibia module 22 to connect with foot module 30, see [0059]), but does not expressly disclose a connection bracket connected to the second body in front of the ankle joint to support the ankle while not projecting from a foot periphery.
However, Choi teaches of a motion assistance apparatus (fig. 2, 1) with a rotary frame placed in front of the ankle joint (fig. 2, 15) which assists motion of the user (col. 6, lines 22-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the exoskeleton system of Huang with the motion assistance apparatus as taught by Choi to connect the foot piece (fig. 1, foot module 30) to the tibia module (fig. 1, 22) for the purpose of further assisting motion of the user which allows walking with less effort or strength (Choi col. 1, lines 22-25).
13. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0254854).
Regarding claim 4, the system of Huang reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on at least one foot embodiment (fig. 1, foot module 30), but is silent on at least one foot plate being connected to a foot sole of a user and at least one finger plate being associated with the foot plate in a movable manner.
However, Lee teaches of a wearable assistive device with a foot support that includes a finger plate (fig. 6, first support 100 and midsole 120) that can be movably inserted into a foot plate (fig. 6, second support 200) which is all on top a foot base (fig. 6, first outer sole 110 and second outer sole 210) to accommodate different shoe sizes of a user thereby increasing the security of the device to the user ([0062])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the foot piece of Tong with the foot support as taught by Lee to allow adjustment of the device to better fit users with different foot/shoe sizes and increase security of the device ([0062]).
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tung et al. (US 2016/0374888) discloses a leg support exoskeleton strapped to a user’s leg that uses a force generator which can include a spring.
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785