DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 4/14/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1, 2, 12-13, 17-18 and 20 have been amended. Claims 23-24 are new. Claims 5-6 and 10-11 have been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 12-24 are pending with claims 7-9 withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The Applicant’s amendments overcome the claim objections and § 112(b) rejections set forth in the office action of 1/16/2026. Therefore, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
The recitation "means of a plurality of connecting means" in claim 1 is interpreted as invoking 112(f). The corresponding structure imparted from the specification comprises a screw and welding stud (pages 19, 24), or equivalent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patz et al. (EP 4523893A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter PATZ, in view of PAUL (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0068291), hereinafter PAUL.
Regarding claim 1, PATZ teaches: A sealing or moulding tool of a packaging machine having a heating element with a heating plate provided on a carrier and covered with a cover element (PATZ teaches a sealing machine (1) having a heating element (23) with a heating plate provided on a carrier (17) and covered with a cover element [Fig. 1; 0052; 0054; 0027].), wherein the cover element is connected to the carrier by means of a plurality of connecting means (PATZ teaches the cover element is connected to the carrier by means of holding means (31) [0022; 0025; 0058].), wherein the heating plate is constructed from a plurality of modules (PATZ teaches the heating plate is constructed from a plurality of modules (25) [Figs. 1-4; 0062].) . . . , and wherein the carrier is arranged below and on one side of the heating element and the cover element is arranged above and on an opposite side of the heating element and faces the material web (PATZ teaches the carrier (17) is arranged below and on one side of the heating element (23) and the cover element is arranged above and on an opposite side of the heating element and faces the material web [Figs. 1-4].).
PATZ teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: a gap is defined between the plurality of modules through which compressed air flows, wherein the compressed air is directed towards a material web to form the material web into one or more packaging recesses. In the same field of endeavor, sealing, PAUL teaches: wherein the heating plate is constructed from a plurality of modules (PAUL teaches a heating plate (13) [Fig. 2; 0056].) and a gap is defined between the plurality of modules through which compressed air flows (PAUL teaches at least one channel, preferably a plurality thereof, with which negative and/or a positive pressure can be applied to the rear side of the inserts (21) in the recess (22) [0056].), wherein the compressed air is directed towards a material web to form the material web into one or more packaging recesses (PAUL teaches at least one space (23), with which a gap is produced between the structure (24) and the insert (21), is preferably provided in each recess (22) and each surface of the insert (21) that faces the film web is not flat [0056; 0043].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ, by having the heating plate with a plurality of modules and compressed air, as suggested by PAUL, in order to heat the web and mold the web [0043].
Regarding claim 23, PATZ teaches: wherein the connecting means are arranged to not contact the material web (PATZ teaches the connecting means (31) does not contact the material web [Figs. 1-4].).
Regarding claim 24, PATZ teaches: wherein the connecting means are arranged on a side of the cover element that faces away from the material web (PATZ teaches the connecting means (31) are arranged on the side of the cover element that faces away from the material web [Figs. 1-4].).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patz et al. (EP 4523893A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter PATZ, and PAUL (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0068291), hereinafter PAUL, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Donges (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0096251), hereinafter DONGES.
Regarding claim 2, PATZ and PAUL teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the connecting means at least partially protrudes through a thermal insulation arranged between the cover element and the carrier. In the same field of endeavor, sealing, DONGES teaches: wherein the connecting means at least partially protrudes through a thermal insulation arranged between the cover element and the carrier (DONGES teaches the cover element (14) has connecting means [Fig. 3; 0054]. DONGES teaches the connecting means at least partially protrude through a thermal insulation (7) between the cover element and the carrier (6), which is also insulating [Fig. 3; 0054].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ and PAUL, by having the connecting means partially protrude, as suggested by DONGES, in order to control the temperature [0055; Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 3, PATZ and PAUL teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein packaging recesses or packaging of different cross-section and/or sealing seams of different shape are produced and which has the heating plate, wherein the heating plate has a conducting path pattern having a plurality of L-shaped conducting paths per recess/packaging to be produced. In the same field of endeavor, sealing, DONGES teaches: wherein packaging recesses or packaging of different cross-section and/or sealing seams of different shape are produced and which has the heating plate (DONGES teaches packaging a plurality of packages [Fig. 4; 0055]. DONGES teaches a plurality of different packages in any desired formats may thereby be processed simultaneously [0033]), wherein the heating plate has a conducting path pattern having a plurality of L-shaped conducting paths per recess/packaging to be produced (DONGES teaches the heating plate can have a conducting path pattern [0050; Fig. 2].). DONGES does not explicitly teach the channels are L-shaped; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the shape of the channels to be L-shaped, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. See In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23 (“It has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.”).
Regarding claim 4, DONGES further teaches: wherein several conductive paths can be controlled individually and/or in groups (DONGES teaches providing the heating plate with several conductive paths (9, 10) [Fig. 2; 0050]. DONGES teaches the temperature distribution in the tool is very variable and may be precisely adjusted [0038]. DONGES teaches each mould may be individually and specifically controlled [0054].).
Regarding claim 20, DONGES further teaches: wherein each of the plurality of modules are individually electrically connected and individually controllable/adjustable (DONGES teaches providing the heating plate with several conductive paths (9, 10) [Fig. 2; 0050]. DONGES teaches the temperature distribution in the tool is very variable and may be precisely adjusted [0038]. DONGES teaches each mould may be individually and specifically controlled [0054].).
Claim(s) 12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patz et al. (EP 4523893A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter PATZ, and PAUL (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0068291), hereinafter PAUL, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mader (EP 2905232 A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter MADER.
Regarding claim 12, PATZ and PAUL teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the gap extends around the plurality of modules. In the same field of endeavor, sealing, MADER teaches: wherein the gap extends around the plurality of modules (MADER teaches the gap (13) extends around the plurality of modules [Figs. 2-4].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ and PAUL, by having a plurality of modules and a gap between the modules, as suggested by MADER, in order to generate a high holding torque [0006].
Regarding claim 21, MADER further teaches: wherein the compressed air flows through the gap between the plurality of modules from above to form the material web into the one or more packaging recesses (MADER teaches the air used in the vacuum would come from above the tool where the air line (11) is to flow through the gap (13) [Fig. 5; 0027].).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patz et al. (EP 4523893A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter PATZ, PAUL (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0068291), hereinafter PAUL, and Mader (EP 2905232 A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter MADER, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Mochizuki (U.S. 9,988,169), hereinafter MOCHIZUKI.
Regarding claim 13, PATZ, PAUL and MADER teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including: wherein the plurality of modules are arranged next to each other and in one plane (PATZ teaches a plurality of molds are arranged next to each other and in one plane [Figs. 1-4].), but are silent as to: wherein a transverse extension of the plurality of modules in a transverse direction to a direction of travel of a material web that is sealed or moulded with the sealing or moulding tool is greater than a useful width of the material web, and wherein the transverse extension of the plurality of modules is greater than a distance between opposing grippers that grip or clamp the material web. In the same field of endeavor, molding, MOCHIZUKI teaches the transverse extension (width) of the modules of material web (all of 2) is greater than the used material of the web (where the border in 2 is) [Fig. 2]. MOCHIZUKI teaches the transverse extension (edges of 4) is greater than a distance between opposing grippers that grip or clamp the material web [Fig. 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ, PAUL and MADER, by having a large transverse extensions, as suggested by MOCHIZUKI, in order to prevent drooping of the film [Col. 8, lines 13-15].
Regarding claim 14, MOCHIZUKI further teaches: wherein the heating element is configured to at least partially overhang the grippers in the transverse direction of the travel of the material web (MOCHIZUKI shows the grippers at least partially overhang the grippers [Fig. 11].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ, PAUL and MADER, by having the grippers overhang, as suggested by MOCHIZUKI, in order to perform the sealing step [Col. 2, lines 30-32].
Regarding claim 15, In regards to the clause “wherein no heating energy is released in an area of the heating element that at least partially overhangs the grippers” is an intended use of the claimed apparatus. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. The structure of PATZ, PAUL, MADER and MOCHIZUKI are capable of performing the intended use.
In the alternative, MOCHIZUKI teaches the heating plate (18) is between the grippers and no heating energy would be released in an area that at least partially overhangs the grippers as the heating plate (18) does not reach the grippers [Figs. 11(a)-11(c)].
Regarding claim 16, MOCHIZUKI further teaches: wherein the transverse extension of the plurality of modules is greater than or equal to a forward pull of the material web (MOCHIZUKI shows the transverse extension is greater than or equal to a forward pull of the web [Fig. 10]).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patz et al. (EP 4523893A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter PATZ, PAUL (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0068291), hereinafter PAUL, Mader (EP 2905232 A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter MADER, and Mochizuki (U.S. 9,988,169), hereinafter MOCHIZUKI, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Donges (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0096251), hereinafter DONGES.
Regarding claim 17, PATZ, PAUL, MADER and MOCHIZUKI teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the heating element comprises thermal insulation between the cover element and the carrier plate, the plurality of modules are located between the thermal insulation and the cover element. In the same field of endeavor, sealing, DONGES teaches: wherein the heating element comprises a cover element (DONGES teaches the heating element comprise a cover element (14) [Figs. 3-4; 0054-0055), a carrier plate (carrier plate (6) [Figs. 3-4]), and thermal insulation between the cover element and the carrier plate (DONGES teaches the carrier (6) is thermally insulated [0028]. DONGES is silent as to carrier being a separate thermally insulated layer; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the carrier and thermal insulation separate, since it has been held that constructing formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in art. One would have been motivated to make the elements separable for the purpose of the heating power be ideally emitted [DONGES: 0029].), the plurality of heating modules are located between the thermal insulation and the cover element (DONGES teaches the plurality of heating modules are located between the thermal insulation and the cover [0054].).
Regarding claim 18, DONGES further teaches: wherein the heating element comprises a connecting device that extends at least partially through the carrier plate and with which the cover element is connected to the carrier plate (DONGES teaches the heating element comprise a cover element (14) that is connected to the carrier plate (6) with a connecting device (13) [0054].), wherein the connecting device is located on a side of the cover element facing away from the material web and spaced a distance from an edge area of the material web and is configured to prevent the cover element from moving away from the heating plate during heating and/or sealing of the material web (DONGES teaches the connecting device (13) is located on a side of the cover element (14) and facing away from the material web and is spaced a distance from an edge [Fig. 3; 0054]. DONGES teaches the connecting element (13) is configured to clamp all the components together [0054].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ, PAUL, MADER and MOCHIZUKI, by having the connecting means partially protrude, as suggested by DONGES, in order to control the temperature [0055; Fig. 3].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patz et al. (EP 4523893A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter PATZ, PAUL (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0068291), hereinafter PAUL, Mader (EP 2905232 A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter MADER, Mochizuki (U.S. 9,988,169), hereinafter MOCHIZUKI, and Donges (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0096251), hereinafter DONGES, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lezier et al. (U.S. 4,192,638), hereinafter LEZIER.
Regarding claim 19, PATZ, PAUL, MADER, MOCHIZUKI and DONGES teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the thermal insulation comprises one or more gas channels that are connected to one or more bores in the cover element, wherein a gas is sucked in or blown out through the one or more gas channels and the one or more bores, and wherein the heating element comprises one or more gas collection channels provided in the carrier plate to direct a gas toward or away from the one or more gas channels. In the same field of endeavor, molding, LEZIER teaches thermal insulating frames (31, 32) [Col. 2, lines 64-68 – Col. 3, lines 1-18; Fig. 2]. LEZIER teaches gas channels are in the thermal insulation frames and connected to inlets and outlets and gas is sucked and blown out [Figs. 2-3; Col. 3,lines 19-28]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ, PAUL, MADER, MOCHIZUKI and DONGES, by having a thermal insulation component with gas channels to exchange gas in and out, as suggested by LEZIER, in order for good heat transfer [Col. 1, lines 46-49].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patz et al. (EP 4523893A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter PATZ, and PAUL (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0068291), hereinafter PAUL, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Detlev (EP 3369554A1, original and translation provided), hereinafter DETLEV.
Regarding claim 22, PATZ and PAUL teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the compressed air flows through the gap between the plurality of modules from above to form the material web into the one or more packaging recesses. In the same field of endeavor, sealing, DETLEV teaches compressed air flows from gaps (22) from above to form the material web into one or more packaging recesses [Fig. 1-3; 0034]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify PATZ and PAUL, by having the compressed air flow from above to form the material web into one or more packaging recesses, as suggested by DETLEV, in order to improve product quality [0021].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748