DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/26/2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
In view of the amendment to claims 1 and 13, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of claims 1-2, 4-5 and 13-15 has been withdrawn.
In view of the cancellation of claim 3, the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn.
New analysis follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argues Degura does not disclose any equation combining D50 and BET, however Degura does disclose both D50 values and BET values with ranges for each which when combined meet the limitations of the claimed relationship in formula B of claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that Degura does not improve cycle characterizes and cycle retention rate by modification of the BET surface area, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant also argues Degura does not teach Mn “is essential” as presented in the newly amended claim 1 however Degura directs to a small list of optional elements including Mn and further directs toward a specific example containing Mn as described in the rejection of claim 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In particular, claim 13 contains all the limitation of claim 2 and does not add further limitations not already present in claim 1 upon which claim 2 and 13 depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Degura et. al. (WO2020116649 as cited in the IDS, reference made to US20220033275A1 as English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Degura discloses a precursor for a lithium secondary battery positive electrode active material, comprising at least Ni and an element M,
wherein the element M is one or more of Co, Zr, Al, Ti, Mn, Ga, and W (¶[0121]) and a specific example containing Mn is also disclosed (¶[0125]),
when the precursor for the lithium secondary battery positive electrode active material is measured with a laser diffraction type particle size distribution measuring instrument and all in an obtained cumulative particle size distribution curve is set to 100%, a value of D60/D10 that is a ratio between a particle diameter D60(µm) at which a cumulative volume from a small particle side becomes 60% and a particle diameter D10 (µm) at which the cumulative volume from the small particle side becomes 10% is 2.0 or less (see Table 3 where the described ratio is less than 2 for D90/10 which inherently leads to a D60/D10 also being less than 2 since D60 is a value between D50 and D90), and
a BET specific surface area S is 2-80 m2/g (¶[0017]) and a D50 is 10-30 µm.
such that the formula (B) is satisfied within this range, 0.027≤6/(D 50 ×S)≤0.035 g/cm3 (B)
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 2 ad 13, Degura discloses the precursor for a lithium secondary battery positive electrode active material of claim 1,
wherein a composition formula (A) is satisfied by Formula A of Degura,
Ni1-x-yCoxMyOz(OH)2-α in the composition formula (A) where 0≤x≤0.45, 0≤y≤0.45, 0≤x+y≤0.9, 0≤z≤3, −0.5≤α≤2, and , and M is Zr, Al, Ti, Mn, Ga, and W (¶[0040]-[0041]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Degura discloses the precursor for a lithium secondary battery positive electrode active material of claim 1, wherein a ratio D10/D50 between the D10 (μm) and a particle diameter D50 (μm) at which the cumulative volume from the small particle side becomes 50% when all in the cumulative particle size distribution curve is set to 100% is 0.55 or more, in this case the calculated value for Example 4 is 0.8 (see values in Table 3)..
Regarding claim 5, Degura discloses the precursor for a lithium secondary battery positive electrode active material of claim 1, wherein the BET specific surface area is 2-80 m2/g (¶[0017]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 14, Degura discloses the precursor for a lithium secondary battery positive electrode active material of claim 2, wherein a ratio D10/D50 between the D10 (μm) and a particle diameter D50 (μm) at which the cumulative volume from the small particle side becomes 50% when all in the cumulative particle size distribution curve is set to 100% is 0.55 or more, in this case Example 4 is 0.8 (see values in Table 3)..
Regarding claim 15, Degura discloses the precursor for a lithium secondary battery positive electrode active material of claim 2, wherein the BET specific surface area is 2-80 m2/g (¶[0017]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 24 March 2026