DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 2-3, 5, 7, 9-15 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment and/or clarifications in the response filed on April 7, 2026.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a/1,2) rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 7-8 over Stengel is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed on April 7, 2026.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a/1,2) and 35 103 rejections of claims 1-10 over Duez as the primary reference, are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed on April 7, 2026.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 11-15 over Zhao in view of Yan as the primary combination of references, are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment filed on April 7, 2026.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a/1,2) as being anticipated by Murai (US 2019/0100669).
Regarding claims 1-2, Murai teaches an agent for printing (printing ink [0029]), comprising: Acid Yellow 184 or Acid Yellow 250 ([0037]) which is a fluorescent yellow dye ([0038]) that is a UV light absorber (fluorescent Yellow that emit fluorescence by absorbing energy such as UV (ultraviolet rays) [0038]); a liquid vehicle (water-soluble organic solvent [0040], water [0055]) including a surfactant ([0057]); a co-solvent (water-soluble organic solvent [0040]); and a balance of water (contained as a raw material and water to be added [0056]); wherein the agent is devoid of a saccharide in most embodiments since it is optional (may be used [0066]) and there is no mention of a saccharide in the examples (Table 1 [0107]).
In addition, Murai teaches that a content of the UV light absorber consisting of the fluorescent yellow dye is about 6 wt% active (equal to … 6 mass% … relative to the total mass (100 mass%) of the ink composition ([0039]), which is within the claimed range of from about 5 wt% active to about 8 wt% active.
Although Murai fails to teach that the agent for printing is an ultraviolet (UV) light fusing agent for three-dimensional (3D) printing, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. If there were to be any differences in structure or chemistry, these differences are presumed to be minor and obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary. In the instant case, Murai teaches the agent for printing comprising the presently claimed composition of the ultraviolet (UV) light fusing agent for three-dimensional (3D) printing, as described above.
Regarding claim 4, Murai teaches that the UV light fusing agent further comprises a base ([0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Murai teaches examples in which the UV light fusing agent is devoid of a pigment or an other dye (one type of the above-described color materials may be used alone [0035], Ink composition A, C.I. Acid Yellow 184, Table 1 [0107]).
Regarding claim 7, Murai teaches that the UV light absorber is present in the UV light fusing agent in an amount of 6 wt% active (6 mass% [0039]) which is within the claimed range of from about 5.5 wt% active to about 7.5 wt% active, based on a total weight of the UV light fusing agent (total mass (100 mass%) [0039]); the surfactant is present in the UV light fusing agent in an amount of 1 wt% active (equal to 1 mass% [0061]) which is within the claimed range of from about 0.5 wt% active to about 2 wt% active, based on a total weight of the UV light fusing agent; and the co-solvent is present in the UV light fusing agent in an amount of 10 wt% active (equal to 10 mass% [0042]) which is within the claimed range of from about 5 wt% active to about 20 wt% active, based on a total weight of the UV light fusing agent (total mass (100 mass% [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Murai teaches a method for making an agent (printing ink [0036]) comprising steps of: selecting : Acid Yellow 184 or Acid Yellow 250 ([0037]) which is a pH-switchable fluorescent yellow dye ([0038]) that absorbs at least some ultraviolet wavelengths ([0038]); incorporating the pH-switchable fluorescent yellow dye into a liquid vehicle (water-soluble organic solvent [0040], water [0055]), thereby forming the agent (printing ink [0056]); and adjusting a pH of the agent (adjust pH [0063]) to achieve a targeted wavelength of maximum absorption (color development [0070]). Murai teaches that the agent includes the pH-switchable fluorescent yellow dye in an amount of 6 wt% active (6 mass% [0039]) which is within the claimed range of from about 5 wt% active to about 8 wt% active.
Although Murai fails to teach that the agent is an ultraviolet (UV) light fusing agent having a wavelength of maximum absorption targeted for a three-dimensional (3D) printing system, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. If there were to be any differences in structure or chemistry, these differences are presumed to be minor and obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary. In the instant case, Murai teaches the agent comprising the presently claimed composition of the ultraviolet (UV) light fusing agent having a wavelength of maximum absorption targeted for a three-dimensional (3D) printing system, as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murai, as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 above, and further in view of Lee (Clarivate Analytics English translation of KR-20170099521-A).
Regarding claim 3, Murai teaches the UV light fusing agent for 3D printing, comprising the fluorescent yellow dye, as described above. Murai teaches that the fluorescent yellow dye is Acid Yellow 184 or Acid Yellow 250 ([0037]), but fails to teach that it can also be Solvent Green 7.
However, Murai teaches that a pH of the UV light fusing agent can be within a range of from about 6 to about to about 7 ([0070]) which is within the claimed range of from about 4 to about 7.
Lee teaches that when the pH of a fluorescent yellow dye that is Solvent Green 7, is 7 (pH 7 or higher, 2nd para of page 4) which is within the claimed range of from about 4 to about 7 at the upper limit, the wavelength of maximum absorption is within the visible wavelength range (shows a fluorescent yellow, 2nd para of page 4), and when the pH is within a range of below 5 (below pH 5, 2nd para of page 4) which overlaps the claimed range of from about 4 to about 7 at the lower limit, the wavelength of maximum absorption is shifted to a wavelength that is outside the visible wavelength range (colorless, 2nd para of page 4, pH of the ink acidic and plays a role in keeping the fluorescent dye colorless without becoming fluorescent yellow, last para of page 3), for the purpose of providing the desired shift of wavelength of maximum absorption to one that is outside the visible wavelength range (last para of page 3). The pH range of from about 4 to about 7 are conditions for the Solvent Green 7 to exhibit a corresponding wavelength of maximum absorption that is within a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Table 1 [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided Solvent Green 7 in place of Acid Yellow 184 or Acid Yellow 250, as the fluorescent yellow dye UV light absorber of the UV light fusing agent of Murai, in order to obtain the desired capability to shift a wavelength of maximum absorption from a visible range to one that is outside the visible wavelength range, as taught by Lee, which includes a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 5, Murai teaches the UV light fusing agent for 3D printing, comprising the fluorescent yellow dye, as described above. Murai teaches that the fluorescent yellow dye is Acid Yellow 184 or Acid Yellow 250 ([0037]), but fails to teach that it can also be Solvent Green 7.
However, Murai teaches that a pH of the UV light fusing agent can be within a range of about 8.5 to about to about 9.5 ([0070]) which is overlaps the claimed range of from about 8 to about 9.
Lee teaches that when the pH of a fluorescent yellow dye that is Solvent Green 7, is within a range of 7 or higher (pH 7 or higher, 2nd para of page 4) which contains the claimed range of from about 8 to about 9, the wavelength of maximum absorption is within the visible wavelength range (shows a fluorescent yellow, 2nd para of page 4), and that when the pH is within a range of below 5 (below pH 5, 2nd para of page 4), the wavelength of maximum absorption is shifted to a wavelength that is outside the visible wavelength range (colorless, 2nd para of page 4, pH of the ink acidic and plays a role in keeping the fluorescent dye colorless without becoming fluorescent yellow, last para of page 3), for the purpose of providing the desired shift of wavelength of maximum absorption to one that is outside the visible wavelength range (last para of page 3). The pH range of from about 8 to about 9 are conditions for the Solvent Green 7 to exhibit a corresponding wavelength of maximum absorption that is about 455 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Table 1 [0107]).
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided Solvent Green 7 in place of Acid Yellow 184 or Acid Yellow 250, as the fluorescent yellow dye UV light absorber of the UV light fusing agent of Murai, in order to obtain the desired capability to shift a wavelength of maximum absorption from one that is outside the visible wavelength range to one that is within the visible wavelength range, as taught by Lee, which includes a maximum absorption wavelength of about 455 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 9, Murai teaches the method for making a UV light fusing agent having a wavelength of maximum absorption targeted for a 3D printing system, comprising selecting a pH-switchable fluorescent yellow dye that absorbs at least some ultraviolet wavelengths, as described above. In addition, Murai teaches that the step of adjusting the pH involves adding a base ([0063]); but fails to teach that the pH-switchable fluorescent yellow dye is Solvent Green 7, and that the targeted wavelength of maximum absorption is about 455 nm.
However, Murai teaches that a pH of the UV light fusing agent can be adjusted to one that is within a range of about 8.5 to about to about 9.5 ([0070]).
Lee teaches that when the pH of a fluorescent yellow dye that is Solvent Green 7, is within a range of 7 or higher (pH 7 or higher, 2nd para of page 4) which contains the range of from about 8.5 to about 9.5, the wavelength of maximum absorption is within the visible wavelength range (shows a fluorescent yellow, 2nd para of page 4), and that when the pH is within a range of below 5 (below pH 5, 2nd para of page 4), the wavelength of maximum absorption is shifted to a wavelength that is outside the visible wavelength range (colorless, 2nd para of page 4, pH of the ink acidic and plays a role in keeping the fluorescent dye colorless without becoming fluorescent yellow, last para of page 3), for the purpose of providing the desired shift of wavelength of maximum absorption to one that is outside the visible wavelength range (last para of page 3). The pH range of from about 8 to about 9 are conditions for the Solvent Green 7 to exhibit a corresponding wavelength of maximum absorption that is about 455 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Table 1 [0107]).
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided Solvent Green 7, as the fluorescent yellow dye UV light absorber of the UV light fusing agent in the method for making a UV light fusing agent having a wavelength of maximum absorption targeted for a 3D printing system, of Murai, in order to obtain the desired capability to shift a wavelength of maximum absorption from one that is outside the visible wavelength range to a targeted one that is within the visible wavelength range, as taught by Lee, which includes a maximum absorption wavelength of about 455 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 10, Murai teaches the method for making a UV light fusing agent having a wavelength of maximum absorption targeted for a 3D printing system, comprising selecting a pH-switchable fluorescent yellow dye that absorbs at least some ultraviolet wavelengths, as described above. In addition, Murai teaches that the step of adjusting the pH involves adding a base ([0063]); but fails to teach that the pH-switchable fluorescent yellow dye is Solvent Green 7, and that the targeted wavelength of maximum absorption is within a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm.
However, Murai teaches that a pH of the UV light fusing agent can be adjusted to one that is about 6 ([0070]).
Lee teaches that when the pH of a fluorescent yellow dye that is Solvent Green 7, is within a range of 7 or higher (pH 7 or higher, 2nd para of page 4), the wavelength of maximum absorption is within the visible wavelength range (shows a fluorescent yellow, 2nd para of page 4), and that when the pH is within a range of below 5 (below pH 5, 2nd para of page 4), the wavelength of maximum absorption is shifted to a wavelength that is outside the visible wavelength range (colorless, 2nd para of page 4, pH of the ink acidic and plays a role in keeping the fluorescent dye colorless without becoming fluorescent yellow, last para of page 3), for the purpose of providing the desired shift of wavelength of maximum absorption to one that is outside the visible wavelength range (last para of page 3). The pH range of from about 4 to about 7 are conditions for the Solvent Green 7 to exhibit a corresponding wavelength of maximum absorption that is within a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Table 1 [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided Solvent Green 7, as the fluorescent yellow dye UV light absorber of the UV light fusing agent in the method for making a UV light fusing agent having a wavelength of maximum absorption targeted for a 3D printing system, of Murai, in order to obtain the desired capability to shift a wavelength of maximum absorption from one that is within the visible wavelength range to a targeted one that is outside the visible wavelength range, as taught by Lee, which includes a maximum absorption wavelength within a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2018/0015663) in view of Yan (Clarivate Analytics English translation of CN-105759455-A), Rudisill (US 20180272602) and Lee (Clarivate Analytics English translation of KR-20170099521-A).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao teaches a multi-fluid kit (printheads 106a and 106b may be used to selectively deliver a fusing agent and a detailing agent, respectively, when such agents are in the form of a suitable fluid [0018]) for three-dimensional (3D) printing ([0014]), comprising: a light fusing agent including: a light absorber ([0051]) and a liquid vehicle (aqueous vehicle [0018]); and a detailing agent; where the liquid vehicle includes a surfactant, a co-solvent, and a balance of water ([0018]). Zhao teaches that the light absorber is an IR, near-IR or visible light absorber, but fails to explicitly teach that it is alternately an ultraviolet (UV) light absorber such that the light fusing agent including the UV light absorber is a UV light fusing agent.
However, Zhao teaches that the light absorbed by the light absorber can be UV instead of IR, near-IR or visible (radiation source 108 to emit radiation R [0025]) such that the light absorber is a UV light absorber, and the light fusing agent including the UV light absorber is a UV light fusing agent, for the purpose of providing the desired conversion of UV light to thermal energy for fusing ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided a UV light absorber in place of the IR, near-IR or visible light absorber, such that the light fusing agent including the UV light absorber is a UV light fusing agent, in the multi-fluid kit for 3D printing of Zhao, in order to obtain the desired conversion of UV light to thermal energy for fusing, as taught by Zhao.
In addition, Zhao teaches that the UV light absorber can consist of a yellow dye (colored fusing agent [0044]), but fails to teach that the yellow dye is a fluorescent yellow dye.
However, Yan teaches that a fluorescent yellow dye was already a well-known UV light absorber at the time (4th para of page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided a fluorescent yellow dye as the yellow dye consisting the UV light absorber, of the UV light fusing agent of the multi-fluid kit for 3D printing, of Zhao, in order to obtain the desired conversion of UV light to thermal energy for fusing, as taught by Yan in light of Zhao.
Zhao fails to teach that the fluorescent yellow dye consisting the UV light absorber, is included in a range of from about 5 wt% active to about 8 wt% active.
However, Rudisill teaches that an absorber of a fusing agent ([0030]) for 3D printing ([0007]), is included in a range of from about 4 wt% active to about 10 wt% active, based on a total weight of the fusing agent ([0030]) which contains the claimed range of from about 5 wt% active to about 8 wt% active, for the purpose of providing the desired balance between jetting reliability and absorbance efficiency ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have included the fluorescent yellow dye of the UV light fusing agent of the multi-fluid kit for 3D printing of Zhao, as modified by Yan, in a range of from about 5 wt% active to about 8 wt% active, in order to obtain the desired balance between jetting reliability and UV light absorbance efficiency, as taught by Rudisill.
In addition, Zhao fails to teach that the fluorescent yellow dye is Solvent Green 7.
However, Lee teaches that when the pH of a fluorescent yellow dye that is Solvent Green 7, is 7 (pH 7 or higher, 2nd para of page 4) which is within the claimed range of from about 4 to about 7 at the upper limit, the wavelength of maximum absorption is within the visible wavelength range (shows a fluorescent yellow, 2nd para of page 4), and when the pH is within a range of below 5 (below pH 5, 2nd para of page 4), the wavelength of maximum absorption is shifted to a wavelength that is outside the visible wavelength range (colorless, 2nd para of page 4, pH of the ink acidic and plays a role in keeping the fluorescent dye colorless without becoming fluorescent yellow, last para of page 3), for the purpose of providing the desired shift of wavelength of maximum absorption to one that is outside the visible wavelength range (last para of page 3). The pH range of from about 4 to about 7 are conditions for the Solvent Green 7 to exhibit a corresponding wavelength of maximum absorption that is within a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Table 1 [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided Solvent Green 7 as the fluorescent yellow dye UV light absorber of the UV light fusing agent of the multi-fluid kit for 3D printing of Zhao, as modified by Yan, in order to obtain the desired capability to shift a wavelength of maximum absorption from a visible range to one that is outside the visible wavelength range, as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao teaches that the detailing agent includes a second surfactant, a second co-solvent, and a balance of water ([0018]); where the detailing agent is devoid of a colorant since there is no mention of one among its components ([0054-0059]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Zhao teaches an embodiment in which the UV light fusing agent is devoid of a pigment or other dye, meaning that aside from the fluorescent yellow dye that is a UV light absorber (colored fusing agent whose color is … yellow [0044]), there is no other pigment or dye that absorbs other light (single fusing agent [0052]) as defined by the specification ([0022]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Zhao fails to teach that a pH of the UV light fusing agent is within a range of from about 4 to about 7, and that a wavelength of maximum absorption of the UV light fusing agent is within a range of about 403 nm to about 404 nm.
However, Lee teaches that when the pH of the fluorescent yellow dye that is Solvent Green 7, is within a range of 7 or higher (pH 7 or higher, 2nd para of page 4) which overlaps the claimed range of from about 4 to about 7 at the upper limit, the wavelength of maximum absorption is within the visible wavelength range (shows a fluorescent yellow, 2nd para of page 4), and when the pH is within a range of below 5 (below pH 5, 2nd para of page 4) which overlaps the claimed range of from about 4 to about 7 at the lower limit, the wavelength of maximum absorption is shifted to a wavelength that is outside the visible wavelength range (colorless, 2nd para of page 4, pH of the ink acidic and plays a role in keeping the fluorescent dye colorless without becoming fluorescent yellow, last para of page 3), for the purpose of providing the desired shift of wavelength of maximum absorption to a targeted one that is outside the visible wavelength range (last para of page 3). The pH range of from about 4 to about 7 are conditions for the Solvent Green 7 to exhibit a corresponding wavelength of maximum absorption that is within a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Table 1 [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have adjusted the pH of the UV light fusing agent in the multi-fluid kit for 3D printing of Zhao, as modified by Yan and Rudisill, to one that is within a range of from about 4 to about 7, in order to obtain the desired capability to shift a wavelength of maximum absorption from one that is within the visible wavelength range to a targeted one that is outside the visible wavelength range, as taught by Lee, which includes a wavelength of maximum absorption that is within a range of from about 403 nm to about 404 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 15, modified Zhao fails to teach that a pH of the UV light fusing agent is within a range of from about 8 to about 9, and that a wavelength of maximum absorption of the UV light fusing agent is about 455 nm.
However, Lee teaches that when the pH of the fluorescent yellow dye that is Solvent Green 7, is within a range of 7 or higher (pH 7 or higher, 2nd para of page 4) which contains the claimed range of from about 8 to about 9, the wavelength of maximum absorption is within the visible wavelength range (shows a fluorescent yellow, 2nd para of page 4), and when the pH is within a range of below 5 (below pH 5, 2nd para of page 4), the wavelength of maximum absorption is shifted to a wavelength that is outside the visible wavelength range (colorless, 2nd para of page 4, pH of the ink acidic and plays a role in keeping the fluorescent dye colorless without becoming fluorescent yellow, last para of page 3), for the purpose of providing the desired capability to shift the wavelength of maximum absorption to a targeted one that is inside the visible wavelength range (last para of page 3). The pH range of from about 8 to about 9 are conditions for the Solvent Green 7 to exhibit a corresponding wavelength of maximum absorption that is 455 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification (Table 1 [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have adjusted the pH of the UV light fusing agent in the multi-fluid kit for 3D printing of Zhao, as modified by Yan and Rudisill, to one that is within a range of from about 8 to about 9, in order to obtain the desired capability to shift the wavelength of maximum absorption from one that is outside the visible range to a targeted one that is inside the visible wavelength range, as taught by Lee, which includes the wavelength of about 455 nm, as disclosed in Applicant’s specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new references and the new combinations of references in the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782