DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-4 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/02/2026 has been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 3/31/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1 and 3 have been amended, and no new matter appears to be included.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 3/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses each of Applicant’s concerns in the following response.
Applicant argues Kim does not expressly disclose or teach “when the transmission and reception unit receives an allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), the controller is configured to remove a mapped S-NSSAI of the allowed NSSAI from rejected NSSAI for a failed or revoked Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (NSSAA) stored at the storage unit” (Remarks, pages 4-5). In support of this amendment, Applicant argues “Kim describes that, when an NSSAA procedure is completed for a pending NSSAI, S-NSSAI is moved to an allowed NSSAI or a rejected NSSAI”, and that “Kim does NOT disclose a mapped S-NSSAI of an allowed NSSAI being removed when the allowed NSSAI is received” (Remarks, page 5, emphasis Applicant). Examiner respectfully disagrees. The features cited from Kim include [0155-0156], [0204-0229], and [0257-0263], wherein upon the completion of an NSSAA procedure for a pending NSSAI (S-NSSAI in the pending NSSAI), the S-NSSAI that is mapped to allowed NSSAI is removed, such as in the case when a new allowed NSSAI is received from the network (Kim: [0257-0263]). That is, when the transmission and reception unit receives an allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI), the controller is configured to remove a mapped S-NSSAI of the allowed NSSAI from rejected NSSAI for a failed or revoked Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (NSSAA) stored at the storage unit.
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0232507 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a User Equipment (UE) (Kim: Figure 4 with [0017]) comprising:
a transmission and reception unit (Kim: Figure 4, element 106);
a controller (Kim: Figure 4, element 102); and
a storage unit (Kim: Figure 4, element(s) 104 and 118), wherein when the transmission and reception unit receives allowed Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) (Kim: [0204-0229], [0155-0156] – UE receives and stores allowed NSSAI information. See also [0257-0263] – the UE receives a new NSSAI.), the controller is configured to:
remove a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) included in the allowed NSSAI from rejected NSSAI for a current Public land mobile network (PLMN) stored at the storage unit (Kim: [0257-0263] – corresponds to removing an S-NSSAI from the stored rejected S-NSSAI included in a new allowed NSSAI for the current PLMN.), and
remove a S-NSSAI of the allowed NSSAI from rejected NSSAI for a failed or revoked Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization (NSSAA) stored at the storage unit (Kim: [0227-0229] – “The rejected NSSAI for the failed or revoked NSSAA includes one or more S-NSSAIs for which the NSSAA have been failed or revoked, and are applicable for the whole registered PLMN or SNPN.” See also [0243-0254], [0257-0263].), and
the mapped S-NSSAI is an S-NSSAI of a Home PLMN (HPLMN) mapped to an S-NSSAI of a registered PLMN (Kim: [0243-0254], [0256-0263] - the S-NSSAI is mapped between a current PLMN (a home PLMN) and a registered PLMN. See also [0299-0305].).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the UE according to claim 1, wherein the UE is in a roaming state (Kim: [0301-0311] – corresponds to the UE being in a roaming state.).
Claims 3 and 4, directed to a method embodiment of claims 1 and 2, recite similar features as claims 1 and 2, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1 and 2. Please see above rejections of claims 1 and 2.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 May 4, 2026