DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s remarks, see pages 10-12, directed towards the newly amended limitations of the independent claims, argue that previously cited prior art Yamaguchi “does not teach or suggest using the disparity image to derive three-dimensional coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to an obstacle and then removing feature points located within a predefined three-dimensional non-detection area derived from stored specifications of the moving body”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Yamaguchi teaches a method to “detect a shape of an object” where “the object is three-dimensionally measured by using a result of the stereo photographing performed by at least the pair of the imaging devices 30” by performing image processing and generating a “disparity image”, the object position is determined and converted to “a position in the global coordinate system”. Specifically, Yamaguchi teaches obtaining a “distance to the object” represented “by, for example, a range image in which distance information to the object is visualized by shading” where “the range image may be referred to as a disparity image” (Para. 0038-0040, 0044-0045, 0052-0053, 0063).
While Yamaguchi does not specifically teach “removing feature points located within a predefined three-dimensional non-detection area derived from stored specifications of the moving body”, the combination of the previously cited prior arts with Yamaguchi does teach the limitations presented. Previously cited prior art Shah teaches where an “initial plurality of sensor data points may be filtered by removing positions outside of the determined zone of interest”, where the sensor data points are collected by a “3D sensor configured to generate sensor data representing distances between sensor 906 and physical features within the environment”, such as a “stereo camera”, the same sensor taught in Yamaguchi (Shah, Para. 0107, 0127, 0157). Iwase teaches the limitation of a “non-detection area derived from stored specifications of the moving body”, see Iwase, Para. 0087, 0186, 0192-0193, 0198, and 0204, teaching setting a “masking range” based on an “acquired range of movement of the front wheels 5 and the front work device 120”, or a specification of the moving body parts, where the “acquired range of movement” is stored in “the vehicle-mounted storage unit”. Furthermore, Iwase teaches obtaining a “distance measurement points such as objects and people within a predetermined distance” and a “process of deleting individual distance measurement points” (Iwase, Para. 0046), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Shah and Iwase in order to prevent such false detections. Therefore, the previously presented combination of arts teaches the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Kiyota, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2018/0258616) in view of Yamaguchi, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2017/0107698), and further in view of Sawada (Japanese Patent Application Pub. No. 2018-142756), Shah et al., hereinafter Shah (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0194005), and Iwase, et al. (Japanese Patent Application Pub. No. 2020-035112).
Regarding Claim 1, Kiyota teaches: An obstacle detector for being mounted on a moving body (Kiyota, Para. 0054 – “a surroundings monitoring system” which is “mounted” on a “construction machine”, or moving body) comprising:
a sensor configured to capture a detection result of an environment (Kiyota, Para. 0054-0058 – an “image capturing apparatus” which is “an apparatus to capture an image of the surroundings of the shovel” of a “construction machine”), wherein a portion of the moving body is captured in the detection result (Kiyota, Para. 0079-0080 – where a captured “image region” may include “a region into which the body of the shovel is captured (hereinafter “body captured region”)”); where the body of the shovel is part of the construction machine, or moving body), and to detect an obstacle (Kiyota, Para. 0057 – where a “controller” utilizes the “image capturing apparatus” to determine “whether a person”, or obstacle, “is present around the shovel”); and
a position detector configured to detect a position of the obstacle from a detection result of the sensor (Kiyota, Para. 0067-0068 – where the controller performs a “normalizing process” and determines a “standing position of a person” utilizing the “captured image”), wherein the position detector includes:
a coordinate deriving circuit configured to:
derive coordinates of where Fig. 5 shows a “top plan view of a real space” having a virtual grid, utilized by the controller, at the back of a work vehicle and a person, or obstacle, is shown in the real space, or coordinate system; where as shown on Fig. 4, the obstacle is measured on three axes, such that the coordinate system is three dimensional) where the person, or obstacle, is represented as in a box BX that is measured using grid points on axes which are “orthogonal” to each other; where the “three-dimensional position (an actual location)” of the person, or obstacle, is determined),
a non-detection circuit configured to remove one or more feature “the extracting part 31 masks the image of an identification process unsuitable region included in the target image region”, where the “identifying part 32 can identify whether it is a person image, using the image of a region other than masked regions in a normalized image without being affected by the images of identification process unsuitable regions including the body captured region”; where as shown on Fig. 4, the obstacle is measured on three axes, such that the coordinate system is three dimensional) and that is set in advance in a detectable area where the obstacle is detectable by the sensor (Kiyota, Para. 0080 – where according to one embodiment, the “extracting part 31 masks these identification process unsuitable regions and thereafter generates the normalized image TRgt5 of a target image having the target image region”, such that the masking of the unsuitable regions, or non-detection areas, occurs before the detecting within the target image region), such that the obstacle will be determined to not be present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor (Kiyota, Para. 0081-0082 and 0087 – where the “masked regions” are not utilized during an “identification process” of a person, or obstacle; i.e. “the identifying part 32 can identify whether it is a person image, using the image of a region other than masked regions”)
a detection circuit configured to detect, “a process of extracting a target image that is highly likely to include a prospective person”, or obstacle, “image by the extracting part” where “the identifying part 32 can identify whether it is a person image, using the image of a region other than masked regions in a normalized image without being affected by the images of identification process unsuitable regions including the body captured region”); and
Kiyota, Annotated Fig. 4
Kiyota, Annotated Fig. 5
While Kiyota teaches a coordinate deriving circuit, Kiyota does not teach obtain a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor, identify identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image, calculate, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity, obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity, and derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle in a three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment based on the disparity image, remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape. Additionally, Kiyota does not teach detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present, nor does Kiyota teach wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present.
However, Yamaguchi teaches obtain a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor (Yamaguchi, Para. 0069 – performing image processing by a stereo system for “the image 32L of the object 80 captured by the imaging device 30L and the image 32R of the object 80 captured by the imaging device 30R”),
identify identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image (Yamaguchi, Fig. 4 Below and Para. 0070, 0077-0081 – “detection processor 51 makes a search for a corresponding portion between the pair of images 32L, 32R, for example, a search for pixels PXl, PXr corresponding to a portion 81 of the object 80 illustrated in FIG. 4”, where as shown on Fig. 4, pixels PXl and PXr correspond to the identical portion, or feature point, 81 on the object 80; where portion 81 is an exemplary feature point, and image processing is performing on a plurality of pixels),
calculate, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0070 – the detection processor “obtains disparity from a search result for the corresponding pixels PXl, PXr”, where the disparity is information indicating “how many pixels the pixels PXl, PXr are separated from each other”),
obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0070-0073 – “generating the disparity image”, where the disparity image is “an image in which the disparity is represented by a two-dimensional array” containing a plurality of pixels “PXs”), and
derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle in a three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment based on the disparity image (Yamaguchi, Para. 0040, 0044-0045, 0052-0053, 0063 – a “plurality of imaging devices” which “detect a shape of an object” and where “the object is three-dimensionally measured by using a result of the stereo photographing performed by at least the pair of the imaging devices 30” using image processing and generating a “disparity image” containing a plurality of “pixels PXs” indicating disparity values; where the “three-dimensional position” of the object is a “position in the global coordinate system”).
Yamaguchi, Fig. 4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the obstacle detector of Kiyota to include obtain a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor, identify identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image, calculate, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity, obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity, and derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle in a three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment based on the disparity image, as taught by Yamaguchi, in order to improve the accuracy of the determined obstacle position in three dimensions.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi does not teach remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present, wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present.
However, Sawada teaches wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present (Sawada, Para. 0066-0068 and 0081 – where a “determination exclusion region” is set, and a “recognition target object” is detected in a “detected image”, where it is determined whether the detected image overlaps, or is within, the determination exclusion image, and if so, the overlapping target object within the exclusion region is “excluded from the determination process”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the further modified the obstacle detector including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi to include wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present, as taught by Sawada, in order to provide a method of excluding a detected “obstacle” within a non-detection area where the moving body is located without modifying a detection process by a sensor and to prevent erroneous recognition of the moving body as an obstacle.
However, Shah teaches remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area (Shah, Para. 0107 and 0157 – the “initial plurality of sensor data points may be filtered by removing positions outside of the determined zone of interest”, such that the area outside of the “zone of interest” is a non-detection area), and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area (Shah, Para. 0107-0108 and 0157-0161 – based on the remaining sensor data points following the removal, cited above, determine “a position of a face of a pallet within an environment” and monitor “changes in position and orientation of pallet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detector including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi and Sawada to include remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area, and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area, as taught by Shah, in order to remove erroneous feature points to irrelevant data and improve calculation speed and performance by reducing such points.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, and Shah does not teach a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory, and wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present.
However, Iwase teaches a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape (Iwase, Para. 0087 – “the masking range L is set to a three-dimensional range in the front-rear, left-right, and up-down directions”, for example, “the range Lc in which the work device 12 is located”, which is rectangular, as seen on Fig. 14, such that a 3D view of the masking range is a rectangular parallelepiped), wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory (Iwase, Para. 0087, 0186, 0192-0193, 0198, and 0204 – setting a “masking range” based on an “acquired range of movement of the front wheels 5 and the front work device 120”, or a specification of the moving body parts, where the “acquired range of movement” is stored in “the vehicle-mounted storage unit”; a “masking range setting unit” then “sets the masking range L in accordance with the range of movement” of the moving body parts, for example a front work device, where the “the masking range L is set to a three-dimensional range).
Iwase, Fig. 14
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detector including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, and Shah to include a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory, as taught by Iwase, in order to utilize a three-dimensional non-detection area to prevent erroneous detection of the moving body as an obstacle in all three dimensions.
Regarding Claim 5, Kiyota teaches: An obstacle detection method of detecting a position of an obstacle by an obstacle detector that includes a sensor and a position detector and is mounted on a moving body (Kiyota, Para. 0004, 0054, and 0067-0068 – “a surroundings monitoring system” which is “mounted” on a “construction machine”, or moving body, having a controller and processor configured to “detect an obstacle present around the work machine”), the obstacle detection method comprising:
a step in which the position detector obtains a detection result of an environment captured by the sensor (Kiyota, Para. 0054-0058 – an “image capturing apparatus” which is “an apparatus to capture an image of the surroundings of the shovel” of a “construction machine”), wherein a portion of the moving body is captured by the detection result (Kiyota, Para. 0079-0080 – where a captured “image region” may include “a region into which the body of the shovel is captured (hereinafter “body captured region”)”);
a step in which coordinates of where Fig. 5 shows a “top plan view of a real space” having a virtual grid, utilized by the controller, at the back of a work vehicle and a person, or obstacle, is shown in the real space, or coordinate system)where the person, or obstacle, is represented as in a box BX that is measured using grid points on axes which are “orthogonal” to each other; where the “three-dimensional position (an actual location)” of the person, or obstacle, is determined);
a step in which the position detection unit determines that the obstacle is not present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, in a non-detection area “the extracting part 31 masks the image of an identification process unsuitable region included in the target image region”, where the “identifying part 32 can identify whether it is a person image, using the image of a region other than masked regions in a normalized image without being affected by the images of identification process unsuitable regions including the body captured region”) and that is set in advance in a detectable area where the obstacle is detectable by the sensor (Kiyota, Para. 0080 – where according to one embodiment, the “extracting part 31 masks these identification process unsuitable regions and thereafter generates the normalized image TRgt5 of a target image having the target image region”, such that the masking of the unsuitable regions, or non-detection areas, occurs before the detecting within the target image region),
a step in which the position detector detects, “a process of extracting a target image that is highly likely to include a prospective person”, or obstacle, “image by the extracting part” where “the identifying part 32 can identify whether it is a person image, using the image of a region other than masked regions in a normalized image without being affected by the images of identification process unsuitable regions including the body captured region”);
Kiyota, Annotated Fig. 4
Kiyota, Annotated Fig. 5
Kiyota does not teach a step in which the position detector obtains a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor; a step in which the position detector identifies identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image; a step in which the position detector calculates, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity, obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity, a step in which coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle are derived based on a disparity image, and a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, and detects, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory. Additionally, Kiyota does not teach wherein, in the step in which the position detector determines that the obstacle is not present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, in the non-detection area, the non-detection unit determines that the obstacle represented by the plurality of feature points is not present based on removing one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in the non-detection area of the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment.
However, Yamaguchi teaches a step in which the position detector obtains a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor (Yamaguchi, Para. 0069 – performing image processing by a stereo system for “the image 32L of the object 80 captured by the imaging device 30L and the image 32R of the object 80 captured by the imaging device 30R”);
a step in which the position detector identifies identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image (Yamaguchi, Fig. 4 Below and Para. 0070, 0077-0081 – “detection processor 51 makes a search for a corresponding portion between the pair of images 32L, 32R, for example, a search for pixels PXl, PXr corresponding to a portion 81 of the object 80 illustrated in FIG. 4”, where as shown on Fig. 4, pixels PXl and PXr correspond to the identical portion, or feature point, 81 on the object 80; where portion 81 is an exemplary feature point, and image processing is performing on a plurality of pixels);
a step in which the position detector calculates, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0070 – the detection processor “obtains disparity from a search result for the corresponding pixels PXl, PXr”, where the disparity is information indicating “how many pixels the pixels PXl, PXr are separated from each other”),
obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0070-0073 – “generating the disparity image”, where the disparity image is “an image in which the disparity is represented by a two-dimensional array” containing a plurality of pixels “PXs”), and
a step in which coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle are derived based on a disparity image (Yamaguchi, Para. 0040, 0044-0045, 0052-0053, 0063 – a “plurality of imaging devices” which “detect a shape of an object” and where “the object is three-dimensionally measured by using a result of the stereo photographing performed by at least the pair of the imaging devices 30” using image processing and generating a “disparity image” containing a plurality of “pixels PXs” indicating disparity values; where the “three-dimensional position” of the object is a “position in the global coordinate system”).
Yamaguchi, Fig. 4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the obstacle method of Kiyota to include step in which the position detector obtains a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor; a step in which the position detector identifies identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image; a step in which the position detector calculates, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity, obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity, a step in which coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle are derived based on a disparity image, as taught by Yamaguchi, in order to improve the accuracy of the determined obstacle position in three dimensions.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi does not teach a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, and detects, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory, and wherein, in the step in which the position detector determines that the obstacle is not present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, in the non-detection area, the non-detection unit determines that the obstacle represented by the plurality of feature points is not present based on removing one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in the non-detection area of the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment
However, Sawada teaches wherein, in the step in which the position detector determines that the obstacle is not present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, in the non-detection area, the non-detection unit determines that the obstacle is not present in the non-detection area (Sawada, Para. 0066-0068 and 0081 – where a “determination exclusion region” is set, and a “recognition target object” is detected in a “detected image”, where it is determined whether the detected image overlaps, or is within, the determination exclusion image, and if so, the overlapping target object within the exclusion region is “excluded from the determination process”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the obstacle detection method including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi to include wherein, in the step in which the position detector determines that the obstacle is not present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, in the non-detection area, the non-detection unit determines that the obstacle is not present in the non-detection area, as taught by Sawada, in order to provide a method of excluding a detected “obstacle” within a non-detection area where the moving body is located without modifying a detection process by a sensor and to prevent erroneous recognition of the moving body as an obstacle.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi and Sawada does not teach coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle, and a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area, and the non-detection unit determines that the obstacle represented by the plurality of feature points is not present based on removing one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in the non-detection area, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory.
However, Shah teaches coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle (Shah, Para. 0004 and 0133 – a control system including sensors which detect “sensor data points representing a position of a face of a pallet within an environment” where the sensor points include “the coordinates of each of the plurality of sensor data points”), the non-detection unit determines that the obstacle represented by the plurality of feature points is not present based on removing one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in the non-detection area (Shah, Para. 0107 and 0157 – the “initial plurality of sensor data points may be filtered by removing positions outside of the determined zone of interest”, such that the area outside of the “zone of interest” is a non-detection area), and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area (Shah, Para. 0107-0108 and 0157-0161 – based on the remaining sensor data points following the removal, cited above, determine “a position of a face of a pallet within an environment” and monitor “changes in position and orientation of pallet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detection method including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi and Sawada to include coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle, the non-detection unit determines that the obstacle represented by the plurality of feature points is not present based on removing one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in the non-detection area, and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area, as taught by Shah, in order to remove erroneous feature points to irrelevant data and improve calculation speed and performance by reducing such points.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, and Shah does not teach a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory.
However, Iwase teaches a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape (Iwase, Para. 0087 – “the masking range L is set to a three-dimensional range in the front-rear, left-right, and up-down directions”, for example, “the range Lc in which the work device 12 is located”, which is rectangular, as seen on Fig. 14, such that a 3D view of the masking range is a rectangular parallelepiped), wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory (Iwase, Para. 0087, 0186, 0192-0193, 0198, and 0204 – setting a “masking range” based on an “acquired range of movement of the front wheels 5 and the front work device 120”, or a specification of the moving body parts, where the “acquired range of movement” is stored in “the vehicle-mounted storage unit”; a “masking range setting unit” then “sets the masking range L in accordance with the range of movement” of the moving body parts, for example a front work device, where the “the masking range L is set to a three-dimensional range).
Iwase, Fig. 14
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detection method including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, and Shah to include a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory, as taught by Iwase, in order to utilize a three-dimensional non-detection area to prevent erroneous detection of the moving body as an obstacle in all three dimensions.
Regarding Claim 6, Kiyota teaches: An obstacle detector for being mounted on a moving body (Kiyota, Para. 0054 – “a surroundings monitoring system” which is “mounted” on a “construction machine”, or moving body) comprising:
a sensor configured to capture a detection result of an environment (Kiyota, Para. 0054-0058 – an “image capturing apparatus” which is “an apparatus to capture an image of the surroundings of the shovel” of a “construction machine”), wherein a portion of the moving body is captured in the detection result (Kiyota, Para. 0079-0080 – where a captured “image region” may include “a region into which the body of the shovel is captured (hereinafter “body captured region”)”), and to detect an obstacle (Kiyota, Para. 0057 – where a “controller” utilizes the “image capturing apparatus” to determine “whether a person”, or obstacle, “is present around the shovel”);
at least one memory configured to store computer program code (Kiyota, Para. 0056 – a controller including “an internal memory” which stores “a drive control program”); and
at least one processor configured to access the at least one memory and operate as instructed by the computer program code (Kiyota, Para. 0056 – where a controller includes a “CPU” which executes “a drive control program stored in the internal memory”), the computer program code including
position detection code configured to cause the at least one processor to detect a position of the obstacle from a detection result of the sensor (Kiyota, Para. 0067-0068 – where the controller performs a “normalizing process” and determines a “standing position of a person” utilizing the “captured image”), wherein the position detection code includes:
coordinate deriving code configured to:
cause the at least one processor to derive coordinates of where Fig. 5 shows a “top plan view of a real space” having a virtual grid, utilized by the controller, at the back of a work vehicle and a person, or obstacle, is shown in the real space, or coordinate system)where the person, or obstacle, is represented as in a box BX that is measured using grid points on axes which are “orthogonal” to each other; where the “three-dimensional position (an actual location)” of the person, or obstacle, is determined),
non-detection code configured to cause the at least one processor to remove one or more feature “the extracting part 31 masks the image of an identification process unsuitable region included in the target image region”, where the “identifying part 32 can identify whether it is a person image, using the image of a region other than masked regions in a normalized image without being affected by the images of identification process unsuitable regions including the body captured region”) where according to one embodiment, the “extracting part 31 masks these identification process unsuitable regions and thereafter generates the normalized image TRgt5 of a target image having the target image region”, such that the masking of the unsuitable regions, or non-detection areas, occurs before the detecting within the target image region), , and
detection code configured to cause the at least one processor to detect, “a process of extracting a target image that is highly likely to include a prospective person”, or obstacle, “image by the extracting part” where “the identifying part 32 can identify whether it is a person image, using the image of a region other than masked regions in a normalized image without being affected by the images of identification process unsuitable regions including the body captured region”), and
Kiyota, Annotated Fig. 4
Kiyota, Annotated Fig. 5
Kiyota does not teach obtain a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor, identify identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image, calculate, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity, obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity, derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle based on the disparity image, and remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area. Additionally, Kiyota does not teach wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present, and remove features such that the obstacle will not be determined present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory.
However, Yamaguchi teaches obtain a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor (Yamaguchi, Para. 0069 – performing image processing by a stereo system for “the image 32L of the object 80 captured by the imaging device 30L and the image 32R of the object 80 captured by the imaging device 30R”),
identify identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image (Yamaguchi, Fig. 4 Below and Para. 0070, 0077-0081 – “detection processor 51 makes a search for a corresponding portion between the pair of images 32L, 32R, for example, a search for pixels PXl, PXr corresponding to a portion 81 of the object 80 illustrated in FIG. 4”, where as shown on Fig. 4, pixels PXl and PXr correspond to the identical portion, or feature point, 81 on the object 80; where portion 81 is an exemplary feature point, and image processing is performing on a plurality of pixels),
calculate, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0070 – the detection processor “obtains disparity from a search result for the corresponding pixels PXl, PXr”, where the disparity is information indicating “how many pixels the pixels PXl, PXr are separated from each other”),
obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0070-0073 – “generating the disparity image”, where the disparity image is “an image in which the disparity is represented by a two-dimensional array” containing a plurality of pixels “PXs”), and
derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle in a three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment based on the disparity image (Yamaguchi, Para. 0040, 0044-0045, 0052-0053, 0063 – a “plurality of imaging devices” which “detect a shape of an object” and where “the object is three-dimensionally measured by using a result of the stereo photographing performed by at least the pair of the imaging devices 30” using image processing and generating a “disparity image” containing a plurality of “pixels PXs” indicating disparity values; where the “three-dimensional position” of the object is a “position in the global coordinate system”).
Yamaguchi, Fig. 4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the obstacle detector of Kiyota to include obtain a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the sensor, identify identical feature points captured in the first image and the second image, calculate, at each of the identical feature points, a difference in pixel counts between the first image and the second image as a disparity, obtain a disparity image comprising pixels correlated with the disparity, and derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle in a three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment based on the disparity image, as taught by Yamaguchi, in order to improve the accuracy of the determined obstacle position in three dimensions.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi does not teach remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area, and wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present, and remove features such that the obstacle will not be determined present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory.
However, Sawada teaches wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present, and remove features such that the obstacle will not be determined present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor (Sawada, Para. 0066-0068 and 0081 – where a “determination exclusion region” is set, and a “recognition target object” is detected in a “detected image”, where it is determined whether the detected image overlaps, or is within, the determination exclusion image, and if so, the overlapping target object within the exclusion region is “excluded from the determination process”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the obstacle detector including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi to include wherein when coordinates of the obstacle in the coordinate system of the environment are in the non-detection area, the obstacle represented by the coordinates is determined to not be present, and remove features such that the obstacle will not be determined present, regardless of the detection result of the sensor, as taught by Sawada, in order to provide a method of excluding a detected “obstacle” within a non-detection area where the moving body is located without modifying a detection process by a sensor and to prevent erroneous recognition of the moving body as an obstacle.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi and Sawada does not teach derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle, remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory, and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area.
However, Shah teaches derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle (Shah, Para. 0004 and 0133 – a control system including sensors which detect “sensor data points representing a position of a face of a pallet within an environment” where the sensor points include “the coordinates of each of the plurality of sensor data points”), remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area (Shah, Para. 0107 and 0157 – the “initial plurality of sensor data points may be filtered by removing positions outside of the determined zone of interest”, such that the area outside of the “zone of interest” is a non-detection area), and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area (Shah, Para. 0107-0108 and 0157-0161 – based on the remaining sensor data points following the removal, cited above, determine “a position of a face of a pallet within an environment” and monitor “changes in position and orientation of pallet”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detector including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi and Sawada to include derive coordinates of a plurality of feature points corresponding to the obstacle, remove one or more feature points, from among the plurality of feature points, that are present in a non-detection area, and detect, based on the plurality of feature points, the position of the obstacle present in a detection area, as taught by Shah, in order to remove erroneous feature points to irrelevant data and improve calculation speed and performance by reducing such points.
Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada and Shah does not teach a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory.
However, Iwase teaches a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape (Iwase, Para. 0087 – “the masking range L is set to a three-dimensional range in the front-rear, left-right, and up-down directions”, for example, “the range Lc in which the work device 12 is located”, which is rectangular, as seen on Fig. 14, such that a 3D view of the masking range is a rectangular parallelepiped), wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory (Iwase, Para. 0087, 0186, 0192-0193, 0198, and 0204 – setting a “masking range” based on an “acquired range of movement of the front wheels 5 and the front work device 120”, or a specification of the moving body parts, where the “acquired range of movement” is stored in “the vehicle-mounted storage unit”; a “masking range setting unit” then “sets the masking range L in accordance with the range of movement” of the moving body parts, for example a front work device, where the “the masking range L is set to a three-dimensional range).
Iwase, Fig. 14
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detector including the above limitations of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, and Shah to include a non-detection area that is defined by three-dimensional coordinates of a rectangular parallelepiped shape, wherein the three-dimensional coordinates of the rectangular parallelepiped shape are derive from a specification of the moving body stored in memory, as taught by Iwase, in order to utilize a three-dimensional non-detection area to prevent erroneous detection of the moving body as an obstacle in all three dimensions.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase, and further in view of Teranishi, et al., hereinafter Teranishi (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2022/0219954).
In regards to Claim 2, Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase teaches the obstacle detector of Claim 1, and Kiyota teaches wherein the moving body is a forklift, and the non-detection area is set to a position at which a part of the forklift is present (Kiyota, Para. 0079-0082 and 0281 – where a region is masked to exclude a body structure of a machine, where the work machine can be a forklift).
However, Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase does not teach a non-detection area is set to a position at which a counterweight is present.
Teranishi teaches a non-detection area is set to a position at which a counterweight is present (Teranishi, Para. 0010, 0111, 0233-0236, and 0277 – where “invalid areas”, or non-detection areas, are determined such that “it is determined that the obstacle is not detected regardless of the detection result of the obstacle detection device” in the invalid area; where the invalid areas are located in “monitoring areas” which include movable parts of a work machine; and where the movable part in the monitoring area can be a “counterweight”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detector including wherein the moving body is a forklift, and the non-detection area is set to a position at which a part of the forklift is present, as taught by Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase to include a non-detection area is set to a position at which a counterweight is present, as taught by Teranishi, in order to include a counterweight, which is commonly found in forklifts to counter the load carried on forks of a forklift, in a non-detection area, such that the counterweight is not falsely identified as an obstacle and does not cause a false stop of the operation of the forklift.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase, and further in view of Maeda (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2020/0258253).
Regarding Claim 7, Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase teaches the obstacle detector of Claim 1, and Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase teaches wherein: the sensor is a stereo camera, the position detection unit is configured to calculate a disparity by comparing a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the stereo camera and obtains the coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system coordinate system of the environment from the disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0040, 0044-0045, 0052-0053, 0063 – a “plurality of imaging devices” which “detect a shape of an object” and where “the object is three-dimensionally measured by using a result of the stereo photographing performed by at least the pair of the imaging devices 30” using image processing and generating a “disparity image” containing a plurality of “pixels PXs” indicating disparity values; where the “three-dimensional position” of the object is a “position in the global coordinate system”), but Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase does not teach the position detection unit is configured to detect the position of the obstacle by clustering of the obstacle coordinates excluding the obstacle coordinates which are determined to be present in the non-detection area by the non-detection unit.
However, Maeda teaches wherein: the sensor is a stereo camera (Maeda, Para. 0051 – a “distance measurement unit” sensor for “measuring the distance to a target object”, and may include “a stereo camera”), and the position detection unit is configured to detect the position of the obstacle by clustering of the obstacle coordinates excluding the obstacle coordinates which are determined to be present in the non-detection area by the non-detection unit (Maeda, Para. 0083-0089 and 0097-0098 – where the “distance measurement unit” “outputs the acquired point group distance measurement data to the clustering unit” and the “clustering unit” “outputs the position information of the point group clusters representing the target object”; where in a case where a generated “self-shape part (part of an attachment instrument, an arm, and the like) is excluded” and the “self-shape part is a non-target object” positioned “in front of the target object”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detector of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase to include the position detection unit is configured to detect the position of the obstacle by clustering of the obstacle coordinates excluding the obstacle coordinates which are determined to be present in the non-detection area by the non-detection unit, as taught by Maeda, in order to improve the accuracy of determining the obstacle’s location by the obstacle detector.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, Iwase, and Teranishi, and further in view of Maeda.
Regarding Claim 8, Kiyota in view of Sawada, Shah, and Iwase teaches the obstacle detector of Claim 2, and Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase teaches wherein: the sensor is a stereo camera, the position detection unit is configured to calculate a disparity by comparing a first image and a second image obtained as the detection result from the stereo camera and obtains the coordinates of the obstacle in the three-dimensional coordinate system coordinate system of the environment from the disparity (Yamaguchi, Para. 0040, 0044-0045, 0052-0053, 0063 – a “plurality of imaging devices” which “detect a shape of an object” and where “the object is three-dimensionally measured by using a result of the stereo photographing performed by at least the pair of the imaging devices 30” using image processing and generating a “disparity image” containing a plurality of “pixels PXs” indicating disparity values; where the “three-dimensional position” of the object is a “position in the global coordinate system”), but Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, and Iwase does not teach the position detection unit is configured to detect the position of the obstacle by clustering of the obstacle coordinates excluding the obstacle coordinates which are determined to be present in the non-detection area by the non-detection unit.
However, Maeda teaches the position detection unit is configured to detect the position of the obstacle by clustering of the obstacle coordinates excluding the obstacle coordinates which are determined to be present in the non-detection area by the non-detection unit (Maeda, Para. 0083-0089 and 0097-0098 – where the “distance measurement unit” “outputs the acquired point group distance measurement data to the clustering unit” and the “clustering unit” “outputs the position information of the point group clusters representing the target object”; where in a case where a generated “self-shape part (part of an attachment instrument, an arm, and the like) is excluded” and the “self-shape part is a non-target object” positioned “in front of the target object”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the obstacle detector of Kiyota in view of Yamaguchi, Sawada, Shah, Iwase, and Teranishi to include wherein: the sensor is a stereo camera, and the position detection unit is configured to detect the position of the obstacle by clustering of the obstacle coordinates excluding the obstacle coordinates which are determined to be present in the non-detection area by the non-detection unit, as taught by Maeda, in order to improve the accuracy of determining the obstacle’s location by the obstacle detector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhong, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2015/0279045) teaches a disparity deriving apparatus for deriving disparity of an object.
Tanizumi, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2015/0249821) teaches an image-processing controller which obtains three-dimensional position information of the object based on the crane as reference from measurement data to the object by the stereo camera is provided, and three-dimensional position information of an object in a surrounding area centering on the crane by the moving the telescopic boom is obtained.
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665