DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/14/2019.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 09/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups are sufficiently related that a thorough search for the subject matter of any one group would necessarily encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining group. This is not found persuasive. While Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that there would not be a serious search burden if all invention groups were examined, the restriction was made on the basis of unity of invention (371 application). Because the invention groups lack unity of invention relative to the shared technical features of claim 1, the restriction requirement is deemed proper. The application contains inventions or groups which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites in lines 1-2 that “the at least one damping module has the same cross-sectional outer peripheral shape as the main part and/or the front part”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the same cross-sectional outer peripheral shape” as no cross-sectional outer peripheral shape has been previously set forth. Furthermore, it is unclear if this shape is the same as “a cross-sectional outer peripheral shape of the main part and/or a cross-sectional outer peripheral shape of the front part”. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rouch et al. US 5,170,103 (hereafter—Rouch--).
In regards to claim 1, Rouch discloses (Figures 1-14) a boring bar for a non-rotating boring tool, the boring bar comprising: an elongated main part (12) configured for attachment to a support structure (14) of a metal cutting machine, the main part (12) having a rear end and an opposite front end (end where 92 is recessed into, that faces a front); and a front part (542,46) having a rear end facing the front end (front end where 92 is recessed into, that faces a front) of the main part (12) and an opposite front end, the front end of the front part (542, 46) being arranged to carry a tool part (18) provided with a cutting element (20), at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) arranged between the front end (end where 92 is recessed into, that faces a front) of the main part (12) and the rear end of the front part (542,46), wherein the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) has a rear end facing the main part (12), an opposite front end facing the front part (542, 46) and a centre axis (13) extending between the rear end and the front end of the damping module; wherein the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) is provided with an electrically controlled vibration actuator (64, 264, 364, 464) for active vibration damping of the boring bar, wherein this actuator (64, 264, 364, 464) is configured to generate vibratory forces; wherein the front part (542, 46) is connected to the main part (12) via the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440), wherein the main part (12), the front part (542, 46) and the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) together form an elongated body, and wherein the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) constitutes a length section of the elongated body (see column 12, lines 44 to 59 and figures 12 and 14).
In regards to claim 2, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 1, Rouch also discloses that the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) has the same cross-sectional outer peripheral shape as the main part (12) and/or the front part (542, 46).
In regards to claim 3, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 1, Rouch also discloses that that wherein the main part (12) and/or the front part (542,46) and/or the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) are cylindrical.
In regards to claim 4, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 1, Rouch also discloses that an external periphery of the main part (12) and an external periphery of the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) are substantially flush with each other.
In regards to claim 5, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 1, Rouch also discloses that wherein the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) is arranged with its centre axis (13) aligned or substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis (13) of the main part (12) (note that in Figures 2, 12, 8 and 10, both axes are substantially coaxial).
In regards to claim 6, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 1, Rouch also discloses that at least one damping module (40) is clamped between the main part (12) and the front part (542,46) by means of tie rods (58), which extend through passages in the at least one damping module (40) (see Figure 2).
In regards to claim 7, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 1, Rouch also discloses that said actuator (64, 264, 364, 464) is a single-axis actuator configured to generate vibratory forces in parallel or at least substantially in parallel with one single working axis (30) of the actuator (64, 264, 364, 464).
In regards to claim 8, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 7, Rouch also discloses that said working axis (30) extends in a cross-sectional plane that is perpendicular to the centre axis (13) of the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouch et al. US 5,170,103 (hereafter—Rouch--) as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 9, Rouch discloses the boring bar according to claim 1, Rouch also discloses that the boring bar includes the at least one damping module (40, 240, 340, 440) between the front end (end where 92 is recessed into, that faces a front) of the main part (12) and the rear end (end axially opposite to the front end) of the front part (542,46).
However, Rouch fails to disclose that there are two damping module in series with each other.
Nevertheless, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed would have found it obvious to duplicate the damping module, as it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a dev ice involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (“the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”.)
In regards to claim 10, Rouch as modified discloses the boring bar according to claim 9, Rouch as modified also discloses the at least two damping modules (as modified).
However, Rouch as modified does not disclose “that the two damping modules abut against each other”. The disclosure of the instant invention fails to provide criticality to having the “two damping modules abut against each other” and it would have been obvious matter of design choice to further modify the invention of Rouch by having the “that the two damping modules abut against each other”, since applicant has not disclosed that having the “that the two damping modules abut against each other” solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the that the two damping modules in modified Rouch would perform equally well. Applicant simply indicates that “the at least two damping modules are with advantage arranged to abut against each other. However, some kind of intermediate element may as an alternative be arranged between the at least two damping modules” (see page 5, lines 14-17 of Applicant' s Specification as filed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant's claimed invention to have the two damping modules in Rouch to abut against each other because this feature appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Rouch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722