This Office Action is in response to remarks filed on 7/29/2025.
Claims 1-7 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretations for claim 1 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claim 1.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections to claims 5-7 have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Amendments to claims 1 & 5-7 have been considered and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8 of remarks filed 7/29/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claims 5-7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 5-7 have been withdrawn.
Regarding Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for claims 5-7: Applicant submits that amendments to these claims to remove “without following the setting” and including “in response to a request received from the specific communication device” provides clarification to these claims. Examiner agrees that these amendments provides clarification for these claims.
Applicant submits that amendment to claim 6 to replace “and/or” with “or” eliminates the ambiguity in this claim. Examiner agrees that amendment of claim 6 to replace “and/or” with “or” eliminates the ambiguity in this claim.
Based on the amendments to claims 5-7 and discussion above, examiner withdraws 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections to claims 5-7.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9 of remarks filed 7/29/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretations for the “network unit”, “first communication unit”, “second communication unit, “third communication unit”, “control unit” and “operation unit” in claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretations for the “network unit”, “first communication unit”, “second communication unit”, “third communication unit”, “control unit” and “operation unit” in claim 1 have been withdrawn.
Regarding Claim Interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for the “network unit”, “first communication unit”, “second communication unit, “third communication unit”, “control unit” and “operation unit” of claim 1: Applicant submits that amendment to claim 1 to include “wherein the first communication unit is a communication interface” provides sufficient structure for the “first communication unit”. Examiner agrees that as interface does provide sufficient structure for the “first communication unit” and withdraws 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation for the “first communication unit”.
Applicant submits that amendment to claim 1 to include “wherein the second communication unit is a communication device” provides sufficient structure for the “second communication unit”. Examiner agrees that a communication device does provide sufficient structure for the “second communication unit” and withdraws 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation for the “second communication unit”.
Applicant submits that amendment to claim 1 to include “wherein the third communication unit includes an antenna attachment interface” provides sufficient structure for the “third communication unit”. Examiner agrees that an antenna attachment interface does provide sufficient structure for the “third communication” unit and withdraws 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation for the “third communication unit”.
Applicant submits that amendment to claim 1 to include “wherein the control unit includes one or more processors” provides sufficient structure for the “control unit”. Examiner agrees that including one or more processors does provide sufficient structure for the third communication device and withdraws 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation for the control unit.
Applicant submits that the “operation unit” provides sufficient structure by “including a changeover switch”. Examiner agrees that a changeover switch does provide sufficient structure for the “operation unit” and withdraws 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation for the “operation unit”.
Applicant submits that the “network unit” provides sufficient structure through the amendments to the "first communication unit", "second communication unit", "third communication unit", "control unit", and "operation unit". Examiner agrees that amendments to the "second communication unit", "third communication unit" and "control unit" do provide sufficient structure for the “network unit” and withdraws 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation for the “network unit”.
Applicant's remarks filed 7/29/2025 regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 1: Applicant submits that Shah does not disclose or suggest that the communication connection is performed in response to a request received from a specific communication device and that Imaizumi is silent on this feature. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see MPEP §2141). Examiner notes that Fig 1 & [0010] of Shah disclose that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit). [0018] of Shah discloses that switch 12 may be toggled to selectively deliver or disable the delivery of power from Power supply 18 to RF unit 14. [0020] discloses that switch 12 may be implemented by a user-viewable screen of device 10 with a “soft-key” that may be selected by a user. Based on the above discussion, arguments that Imaizumi is silent on the above-mentioned features are moot. Thus, Shah does suggest and teach of a switch 12 may enable a communication connection between an RF unit 14 and Computing Unit 16 in response to a user selecting to toggle, using a soft-key, switch 12 to deliver power to the RF unit 14. Therefore, examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shah with the disclosed inventions of Imaizumi and examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to claim 1.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to independent claims 5-7: Applicant submits that for the same rationales set forth for traversal of claim 1, claims 5-7 are novel and patentable over Imaizumi and Shah reference. Examiner notes that the same discussion as above also applies to independent claims 5-7, and thus examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to claims 5-7.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to dependent claims 2-4: Applicant submits that by these claims containing all the features of claim1, these claims are novel and patentable over Imaizumi and Shah reference. Examiner notes that given the above discussion, examiner has maintained 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, and thus examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to dependent claims 2-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 & 4-7 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (JP 2018201331)(herein after “Imaizumi”) in view of Shah et al. (US 20070060212)(herein after “Shah”).
Regarding Claim 1, Imaizumi discloses a network unit comprising: a first communication unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, wherein the first communication unit is a communication interface (Figs 2 & 3 and [0018 & 0023] disclose a network unit 40 comprising a main calculation unit 43 with a user interface (e.g. a first communication unit which comprises an interface) that receives state data from UPS control device 26 that measures a state of storage battery 23.);
a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network, wherein the second communication unit is a communication device (Fig 3 & [0020] disclose a wired LAN communication unit 42 (e.g. a second communication unit, wherein the second communication unit is a communication device) that performs communication via a specific wired LAN network 30.);
a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, wherein the third communication unit includes an antenna attachment interface (Fig 3 & [0020] disclose a wireless LAN communication unit 44 that is an interface for a wireless LAN such as W-Fi (e.g. a third communication unit including an attached antenna interface) that performs communication via a wireless LAN communication medium different than wired LAN network 30.);
Imaizumi does not disclose: an operation unit including a changeover switch; and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit includes one or more processors, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, and when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with a specific communication device by the third communication unit in response to a request received from the specific communication device.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose a switch 12 for changeover of communication functionality, and that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit) that acts as an operation unit.);
and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit includes one or more processors, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, and when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with a specific communication device by the third communication unit in response to a request received from the specific communication device (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit), and can act as an operation unit that controls communication of, and transmission of, data storage information (e.g. state data) from a power supply 18 to a specific network through Bus 32, according to a state of switch 12 (e.g. open state), and when RF unit 14 is activated with switch 12 being in a predetermined state (e.g. closed state), switch 12 performs a communication connection with Power supply 18 by the RF unit 14. [0018] discloses that switch 12 may be toggled to selectively deliver or disable the delivery of power from Power supply 18 to RF unit 14. [0020] discloses that switch 12 may be implemented by a user-viewable screen of device 10 with a “soft-key” that may be selected by a user. Thus, switch 12 may be configured to enable a communication connection with a specific communication device (e.g. RF unit 14 with integrated switch 12) by a third communication unit (e.g. Computing Unit 16) in response to a user selecting to toggle, using a soft-key, switch 12 to deliver power to the specific communication device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first communication unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network and a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, as disclosed by Imaizumi, with an operation unit including a changeover switch and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit transmits the state data from the second communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, and when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, the control unit performs communication connection with a specific communication device by the third communication unit in response to a request received from the specific communication device, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to selectively prohibit, through a soft-key switch) unauthorized access to a particular communication medium (e.g. wireless access) by unauthorized users during time periods when access to the particular communication medium by authorized users is not required.
Regarding Claim 4, Imaizumi discloses wherein when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit causes the third communication unit to function as an access point to communicably connect with a communication device that transmits a valid password (Fig 3 & [0034-0035] disclose a Wireless LAN 44, acting as a third communication unit, functioning as an access point to communicably connect with portable information terminal 50 that transmits a temporary password validated through a security code.).
Regarding Claim 5, Imaizumi discloses a maintenance system comprising: a network unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device by a first communication unit and transmits the state data to another unit (Figs 2 & 3 and [0018 & 0023] disclose maintenance system comprising a network unit 40 with a main calculation unit 43 (e.g. a first communication unit) that receives state data from UPS control device 26 that measures a state of storage battery 23 and transmits the state data to a storage unit 41.);
and a maintenance terminal device including a communication unit that performs communication connection with the network unit, wherein the network unit includes: a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network (Fig 3 & [0020] disclose a maintenance terminal device 42 including a wired LAN communication unit (e.g. a second communication unit) that performs communication via a specific wired LAN network 30.);
a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network (Fig 3 & [0020] disclose a wireless LAN communication unit 44 (e.g. a third communication unit) that performs communication via a wireless LAN communication medium different than wired LAN network 30.);
Imaizumi does not disclose: an operation unit including a changeover switch; and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit transmits the state data from the second communication unit or the third communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, and when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with the maintenance terminal device by the third communication unit in response to a request from the maintenance terminal device, and transmit the state data to the maintenance terminal device.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose a switch 12 for changeover of communication functionality, and that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit) that acts as an operation unit.);
and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit or the third communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, and when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with the maintenance terminal device by the third communication unit in response to a request from the maintenance terminal device, and transmit the state data to the maintenance terminal device (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit), and can control communication of, and transmission of, data storage information (e.g. state data) from computing unit 16 (second communication unit) or RF unit 14 (third communication unit) according to a setting in a network as disclosed in Fig 1 (e.g. in a network unit Memory 28) according to a state of switch 12, and when the network unit is activated with switch 12 being in a predetermined state (e.g. closed state), regardless of the setting, the software control unit of switch 12 performs a communication connection with a maintenance terminal device 50 by the RF unit 14, and transmits the state data to maintenance device 50.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a maintenance system comprising: a network unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device by a first communication unit and transmits the state data to another unit; and a maintenance terminal device including a communication unit that performs communication connection with the network unit, wherein the network unit includes: a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network and a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, as disclosed by Imaizumi, with an operation unit including a changeover switch; and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, the control unit transmits the state data from the second communication unit or the third communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, and only when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, the control unit performs communication connection with the maintenance terminal device by the third communication unit without following the setting, and transmits the state data to the maintenance terminal device, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a maintenance system that prohibits unauthorized access to a particular communication medium (e.g. wireless access) by unauthorized users during time periods when access to the particular communication medium by authorized users is not required.
Regarding Claim 6, Imaizumi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium (Fig 3 & [0021] disclose a management computer 45 that communicates with communication unit 42 through network 30. To one of ordinary skill in the art it is understood that a management computer would comprise a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program that can cause communication unit 42 to perform communication via wired communication network 30.) to execute processing of:
while receiving state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device (Figs 2 & 3 and [0018 & 0023] disclose a network unit 40 comprising a main calculation unit 43 that receives state data from UPS control device 26 that measures a state of storage battery 23.),
Imaizumi fails to disclose: an operation unit including a changeover switch to execute processing of: transmitting the state data from the communication unit according to a setting in a specific network according to a state of the changeover switch; performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network in response to a request received from the specific communication device when activation is performed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state; and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch to execute processing of: transmitting the state data from the communication unit according to a setting in a specific network according to a state of the changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit), that can act as an operation unit that can execute processing of transmission of data storage information (e.g. state data) from a power supply 18 according to a state of switch 12 (e.g. open state).);
performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network in response to a request received from the specific communication device when activation is performed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may perform a communication connection with RF Unit 14 via a wireless communication medium that is different from a specific network bus 32 when RF Unit 14 is activated by switch 12 being in a predetermined state (e.g. closed state), regardless of the setting.);
and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may perform a transmission of data storage information (e.g. state data) the RF Unit 14.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium to execute processing of: while receiving state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, as disclosed by Imaizumi, with an operation unit including a changeover switch to execute processing of: transmitting the state data from the communication unit according to a setting in a specific network according to a state of the changeover switch and performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network without following the setting only when activation is performed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer to execute processing that prohibits unauthorized access to a particular communication medium (e.g. wireless access) by unauthorized users during time periods when access to the particular communication medium by authorized users is not required.
Regarding Claim 7, Imaizumi discloses an energy storage device data transmission method in which a network unit including a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium (Fig 3 and [0020] disclose an energy storage device data transmission method in which a network unit 40 comprising a main calculation unit 43 (e.g. a communication unit) performs communication via a wired LAN network 30 and/or wireless communication medium between wireless LAN 44 and portable terminal device 50.),
Imaizumi fails to disclose: an operation unit including a changeover switch receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device and transmits the state data to another unit, the method comprising processing of, by the network unit: transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch; performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network in response to a request received from the specific communication device when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state; and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device and transmits the state data to another unit (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit), and thus can act as an operation unit that receives data storage information (e.g. state data) measured and provided by power supply 18 which can then be transmitted to computing unit 16.), the method comprising processing of, by the network unit:
transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch ([Fig 1 & [0010] disclose transmission of data storage information (e.g. state data) from Power supply 18 to either an RF network (RF unit 14) or wireline network (Bus 32) according to a setting in a network according to a state of switch 12.);
performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network in response to a request received from the specific communication device when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may perform a communication connection with RF Unit 14 via a wireless communication medium that is different from a specific network bus 32 when RF Unit 14 is activated by switch 12 being in a predetermined state (e.g. closed state), regardless of the setting.);
and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may perform a transmission of data storage information (e.g. state data) the RF Unit 14.).
Claim 2 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (JP 2018201331)(herein after “Imaizumi”) in view of Shah et al. (US 20070060212)(herein after “Shah”) as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Tao et al. (US 20100101925)(herein after “Tao”).
Regarding Claim 2, Imaizumi and Shah disclose the network unit according to Claim 1, but fail to disclose wherein the operation unit includes a reset button that causes interruption to the control unit, and the control unit determines whether or not the state of the changeover switch is the predetermined state every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button.
However, Tao teaches wherein the operation unit includes a reset button that causes interruption to the control unit, and the control unit determines whether or not the state of the changeover switch is the predetermined state every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button (Fig 1 & [0017] disclose a reset button that can interrupt and make some or all data processing devices return to predetermined states. A reset button as taught by Ling-Jun could, for example, interrupt a control unit and return the control unit to a state where it checks if a changeover switch is in a predetermined state every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network according to Claim 1, as disclosed by Imaizumi & Shah, wherein the operation unit includes a reset button that causes interruption to the control unit, and the control unit determines whether or not the state of the changeover switch is the predetermined state every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button, as taught by Tao. The motivation to do so would be to reset the network to a default state if operation of the control unit is malfunctioning.
Claim 3 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (JP 2018201331)(herein after “Imaizumi”) in view of Shah et al. (US 20070060212)(herein after “Shah”) as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Katayama et al. (US 20180114554)(herein after “Katayama”).
Regarding Claim 3, Imaizumi and Shah disclose the network unit according to Claim 1, but fail to disclose wherein when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit transitions to a state of performing communication according to the setting by the second communication unit.
However, Katayama teaches wherein when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit transitions to a state of performing communication according to the setting by the second communication unit. (Fig 7 & [0137] disclose a timeout period that, when elapsed after a charge control process is activated, a data write process transitions to a parameter setting process state. A timeout period, as taught by Katayama, could be used such that when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after a wireless LAN unit is activated with a changeover switch being in a predetermined state, a control unit transitions to a state performing wireline LAN access only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network according to Claim 1, as disclosed by Imaizumi & Shah, wherein when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit transitions to a state of performing communication according to the setting by the second communication unit, as taught by Katayama. The motivation to do so would be to prohibit unauthorized access to a particular communication medium (e.g. wireless access) by unauthorized users after a period of time during which authorized users have not communicated over the particular communication medium.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419