This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 3/23/2026.
Claims 1-8 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1 & 5-7 have been amended.
Claim 8 has been added and is presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that claims 1-7 are patentable based on amendments to claims 1 & 5-7, and dependency of claims 2-4 on claim 1, because Imaizumi in view of Shah, Bradley and Skinner fail to render obvious all of the limitations in these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Imaizumi in view of Shah, Bradley and Skinner fail to render obvious at least the feature of "in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit" as recited in the currently presented claim 1, because Skinner teaches of disabling all radio devices, thus disconnecting all communication connection, while claim 1 specifies that communication via the specific network by the second communication unit is always maintained regardless of whether communication via the third communication unit is performed or not. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that Skinner is not relied upon to teach of “the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit” because Shah teaches this limitation (see Fig 1 and [0015] & [0018] of Shah and discussion in the 35 USC 103 rejection section of this office action which explains that Shah teaches of disconnecting a wireless communication unit while maintaining communication through a wired connection by a computing unit).
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on Imaizumi in view of Shah, Bradley and Skinner.
Regarding claims 5-7, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of claims 5-7 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 2-4, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made for claim 1, and due to their dependency on claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of claims 2-4 under 35 USC 103.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2020-111718, filed on 6/29/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 & 4-7 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (JP 2018201331)(herein after “Imaizumi”) in view of Shah et al. (US 20070060212)(herein after “Shah”), and further in view of Bradley et al. (US 2007/0025032)(herein after “Bradley”) and Skinner et al. (US 7260390)(herein after “Skinner”).
Regarding Claim 1, Imaizumi discloses a network unit comprising: a first communication unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, wherein the first communication unit is a communication interface (Figs 2 & 3 and [0018 & 0023] disclose a network unit 40 comprising a main calculation unit 43 with a user interface (e.g. a first communication unit which comprises an interface) that receives state data from UPS control device 26 that measures a state of storage battery 23.);
a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network, wherein the second communication unit is a communication device (Fig 3 & [0020] disclose a wired LAN communication unit 42 (e.g. a second communication unit, wherein the second communication unit is a communication device) that performs communication via a specific wired LAN network 30.);
a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, wherein the third communication unit includes an antenna attachment interface (Fig 3 & [0020] disclose a wireless LAN communication unit 44 that is an interface for a wireless LAN such as W-Fi (e.g. a third communication unit including an attached antenna interface) that performs communication via a wireless LAN communication medium different than wired LAN network 30.);
Imaizumi fails to disclose a an operation unit including a changeover switch; and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit includes one or more processors, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, wherein the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with a specific communication device by the third communication unit while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device, and transmit the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose a switch 12 for changeover of communication functionality, and that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit) that acts as an operation unit.);
and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit includes one or more processors (Fig 1 and [0010], [0013] & [0015] disclose a processing device 10 that includes a processor 26 and switch 12 that may provide a control and select function (i.e. a control unit) that controls communication and transmission from memory 28 to computing unit 16 and an RF unit 14.),
wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch ([0019] discloses that according to a state of switch 12 being in an open state, device 10 operates in a second mode of operation where radio communication unit 14 is disabled, and computing unit 16 may provide data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28 acting as a first communication unit) to an external device through a wired Ethernet or PSTN interface that is integrated in computing unit 16 (e.g. I/O 30 acting as a second communication unit).),
wherein the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with a specific communication device by the third communication unit while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0018] discloses according to a state of switch 12 being in an closed state, device 10 operates in a first mode of operation where RF unit 14 (i.e. acting as a third communication unit) is activated and may provide wireless data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28) to an external device (i.e. a specific communication device) while computing unit 16 is also enabled, maintaining local functionality through bus 32 (i.e. maintaining communication via a specific network). [0020] discloses that switch 12 may be implemented by a user-viewable screen of the external device with a “soft-key” that may be selected by a user. Thus, processor 26 and switch 12 may be configured to transmit state data from memory 28 to I/O 30 based on a request from the user that selects the setting of switch 12 to be in the open state (i.e. mode 2) and to transmit state data from memory 28 to RF unit 14 when switch 12 is in a predetermined closed state (i.e. mode 1), while computing unit 16 maintains local connectivity through bus 32.),
and transmit the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium (Fig 1 & [0018] disclose RF unit 14 may receive signals and/or transmit signals to an external entity.),
wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0019] discloses that when switch 12 is in an open state, radio communication unit 14 is disabled and thus may not receive or transmit signals, while computing unit 16 may still receiver power and provide local functionality (i.e. communication) through bus 32.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a network unit comprising: a first communication unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, wherein the first communication unit is a communication interface; a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network, wherein the second communication unit is a communication device; and a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, wherein the third communication unit includes an antenna attachment interface, as disclosed by Imaizumi, with a changeover switch; and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit includes one or more processors, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, wherein the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with a specific communication device by the third communication unit while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device, and transmit the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium, wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a network unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, enables transmission through the wireless communication unit and the wired communication unit in order to provide the ability to send the state data to the external device through the wireless communication units while also sending the data locally through the wired communication unit, in situations where the state data cannot be sent to the external device through the wired communication unit because the external device is not physically located near the wired communication unit and cannot physically connect to the wired communication unit, and when the wireless communication unit is disconnected, the wired communication unit maintains connection in order to continue providing local connectivity.
Imaizumi fails to disclose including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state.
However, Bradley further teaches including a reset button (Fig 1 & [0027] discloses a reset button shown as SW1); and
wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 & [0027]-[0028] discloses resetting of a device is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with switch SW4 being in the closed state (i.e. putting the device in a predetermined tripped state).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a network unit comprising: a first communication unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, wherein the first communication unit is a communication interface; a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network, wherein the second communication unit is a communication device; and a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, wherein the third communication unit includes an antenna attachment interface, as disclosed by Imaizumi, including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, as further taught by Bradley. The motivation to do so would be to have a network unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, allows transmission through the wireless communication unit but only when a reset button has been pressed, so that an owner of the network device and external device can select to disable wireless communication, even when the reset button is pressed, by setting the changeover switch to not be in the predetermined state, in order to avoid wireless interference and/or take up bandwidth during events that may be occurring near the network device (e.g. a conference where attendees are using their laptops wirelessly to communicate).
Imaizumi fails to disclose wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device.
However, Skinner further teaches wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device (Fig 3 and col 5, lines 62-67, col 6, lines 54-67 & col 7, lines 1-24 disclose a user selectable button 350 that in response to determining that the RADIO OFF button has been pressed after wireless capabilities have been turned on and a communication connection has been established (e.g. through received messages, emails or phone calls), processing unit 210 issues commands to RF device 240 to disable all radio devices (i.e. disconnect communication connections).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a network unit comprising: a first communication unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, wherein the first communication unit is a communication interface; a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network, wherein the second communication unit is a communication device; and a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, wherein the third communication unit includes an antenna attachment interface; and a reset button, as disclosed by Imaizumi in view of Bradley, wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device, as further taught by Skinner. The motivation to do so would be to have a network unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a reset button that when pressed after radio devices have been enabled and communication connections have been established with the external device, a processing unit is configured to disable all radio devices thereby disconnecting the communication connection to the external device, so that a user accessing the state data wirelessly can press the reset button to disable wireless connectivity when finished accessing the state data to reduce interference from, and conserve power at, the radio devices.
Regarding Claim 4, Imaizumi in view of Shah and Bradley and Skinner disclose the network unit according to claim 1.
Imaizumi discloses wherein when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit causes the third communication unit to function as an access point to communicably connect with a communication device that transmits a valid password (Fig 3 & [0034-0035] disclose a Wireless LAN 44, acting as a third communication unit, functioning as an access point to communicably connect with portable information terminal 50 that transmits a temporary password validated through a security code.).
Regarding Claim 5, Imaizumi discloses a maintenance system comprising: a network unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device by a first communication unit and transmits the state data to another unit (Figs 2 & 3 and [0018 & 0023] disclose maintenance system comprising a network unit 40 with a main calculation unit 43 (e.g. a first communication unit) that receives state data from UPS control device 26 that measures a state of storage battery 23 and transmits the state data to a storage unit 41.);
and a maintenance terminal device including a communication unit that performs communication connection with the network unit, wherein the network unit includes: a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network (Fig 3 and [0020] & [0022] disclose a portable information terminal 50 for maintenance and inspection by wireless communication (i.e. including a wireless communication unit) that performs communication with network unit 40 through wireless communication unit 44, wherein network unit 40 includes a wired LAN communication unit (e.g. a second communication unit) that performs communication via a specific wired LAN network 30.);
a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network (Fig 3 & [0020] disclose a wireless LAN communication unit 44 (e.g. a third communication unit) that performs communication via a wireless LAN communication medium different than wired LAN network 30.);
Imaizumi fails to disclose an operation unit including a changeover switch; and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit or the third communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, wherein the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with a the maintenance terminal device by the third communication unit while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, in response to a request received from the maintenance terminal device, and transmit the state data to the maintenance terminal device via the communication medium.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose a switch 12 for changeover of communication functionality, and that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit) that acts as an operation unit.);
and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit or the third communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch (Fig 1 and [0010], [0013] & [0015] disclose a processing device 10 that includes a processor 26 and switch 12 that may provide a control and select function (i.e. a control unit) that controls communication and transmission by memory 28, computing unit 16 and RF unit 14. [0019] discloses that according to a state of switch 12 being in an open state, device 10 operates in a second mode of operation where radio communication unit 14 is disabled, and computing unit 16 may provide data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28 acting as a first communication unit) to an external device through a wired Ethernet or PSTN interface that is integrated in computing unit 16 (e.g. I/O 30 acting as a second communication unit).),
wherein the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with the maintenance terminal device by the third communication unit while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, in response to a request received from the maintenance terminal device (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0018] discloses according to a state of switch 12 being in an closed state, device 10 operates in a first mode of operation where RF unit 14 (i.e. acting as a third communication unit) is activated and may provide wireless data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28) to an external device (i.e. a specific communication device) while computing unit 16 is also enabled, maintaining local functionality through bus 32 (i.e. maintaining communication via a specific network). [0020] discloses that switch 12 may be implemented by a user-viewable screen of the external device with a “soft-key” that may be selected by a user. Thus, processor 26 and switch 12 may be configured to transmit state data from memory 28 to I/O 30 based on a request from the user that selects the setting of switch 12 to be in the open state (i.e. mode 2) and to transmit state data from memory 28 to RF unit 14 when switch 12 is in a predetermined closed state (i.e. mode 1), while computing unit 16 maintains local connectivity through bus 32.),
and transmit the state data to the maintenance terminal device via the communication medium (Fig 1 & [0018] disclose RF unit 14 may receive signals and/or transmit signals to an external entity.),
wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0019] discloses that when switch 12 is in an open state, radio communication unit 14 is disabled and thus may not receive or transmit signals, while computing unit 16 may still receiver power and provide local functionality (i.e. communication) through bus 32.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a maintenance system comprising: a network unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device by a first communication unit and transmits the state data to another unit; and a maintenance terminal device including a communication unit that performs communication connection with the network unit, wherein the network unit includes: a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network; and a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, as disclosed by Imaizumi, with an operation unit including a changeover switch; and a control unit that controls communication by the first to third communication units, wherein the control unit is configured to transmit the state data from the second communication unit or the third communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch, wherein the control unit is configured to perform communication connection with a the maintenance terminal device by the third communication unit while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, in response to a request received from the maintenance terminal device, and transmit the state data to the maintenance terminal device via the communication medium, wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a maintenance system with a network unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, enables transmission through the wireless communication unit and the wired communication unit in order to provide the ability to send the state data to the external device through the wireless communication units while also sending the data locally through the wired communication unit, in situations where the state data cannot be sent to the external device through the wired communication unit because the external device is not physically located near the wired communication unit and cannot physically connect to the wired communication unit, and when the wireless communication unit is disconnected, the wired communication unit maintains connection in order to continue providing local connectivity.
Imaizumi fails to disclose including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state.
However, Bradley further teaches including a reset button (Fig 1 & [0027] discloses a reset button shown as SW1); and
wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 & [0027]-[0028] discloses resetting of a device is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with switch SW4 being in the closed state (i.e. putting the device in a predetermined tripped state).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a maintenance system comprising: a network unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device by a first communication unit and transmits the state data to another unit; and a maintenance terminal device including a communication unit that performs communication connection with the network unit, wherein the network unit includes: a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network; and a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network, as disclosed by Imaizumi, including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, as further taught by Bradley. The motivation to do so would be to have a maintenance system with a network unit that can transmit state data to a maintenance terminal device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, allows transmission through the wireless communication unit but only when a reset button has been pressed, so that an owner of the network device and the maintenance terminal device can select to disable wireless communication, even when the reset button is pressed, by setting the changeover switch to not be in the predetermined state, in order to avoid wireless interference and/or take up bandwidth during events that may be occurring near the network device (e.g. a conference where attendees are using their laptops wirelessly to communicate).
Imaizumi fails to disclose wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device.
However, Skinner further teaches wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device (Fig 3 and col5, lines 62-67, col 6, lines 54-67 & col 7, lines 1-24 disclose a user selectable button 350 that in response to determining that the RADIO OFF button has been pressed after wireless capabilities have been turned on and a communication connection has been established (e.g. through received messages, emails or phone calls), processing unit 210 issues commands to RF device 240 to disable all radio devices (i.e. disconnect communication connections).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a maintenance system comprising: a network unit that receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device by a first communication unit and transmits the state data to another unit; and a maintenance terminal device including a communication unit that performs communication connection with the network unit, wherein the network unit includes: a second communication unit that performs communication via a specific network; a third communication unit that performs communication via a communication medium different from the specific network; and a reset button, as disclosed by Imaizumi in view of Bradley, wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, as further taught by Skinner. The motivation to do so would be to have a maintenance system with a network unit that can transmit state data to a maintenance terminal device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a reset button that when pressed after radio devices have been enabled and communication connections have been established with the maintenance terminal device, a processing unit is configured to disable all radio devices thereby disconnecting the communication connection to the maintenance terminal device, so that a user accessing the state data wirelessly can press the reset button to disable wireless connectivity when finished accessing the state data to reduce interference from, and conserve power at, the radio devices.
Regarding Claim 6, Imaizumi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that performs communication via a specific network including a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium (Fig 3 & [0020]-[0023] disclose a network unit 40 with a storage unit 41 that stores programs for executing functions of a main calculation unit 43 including a communication unit 42 that performs communication via wired communication to network 30 (i.e. a specific network) and a communication unit 44 that performs communication via wireless communication unit 44 to portable information terminal 50.) to execute processing of:
receiving state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device (Figs 2 & 3 and [0018] & [0023] disclose that network unit 40 through main calculation unit 43 receives state data from UPS control device 26 that measures a state of storage battery 23.),
Imaizumi fails to disclose an operation unit including a changeover switch; transmitting the state data from the communication unit according to a setting in a specific network according to a state of the changeover switch; performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state; and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium; and wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit), that can act as an operation unit.);
transmitting the state data from the communication unit according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0019] discloses that according to a state of switch 12 being in an open state, device 10 operates in a second mode of operation where radio communication unit 14 is disabled, and computing unit 16 may provide data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28) to an external device through a wired Ethernet or PSTN interface that is integrated in computing unit 16 (e.g. I/O 30 acting as the communication unit).);
performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0018] discloses according to a state of switch 12 being in an closed state, device 10 operates in a first mode of operation where RF unit 14 (i.e. acting as a communication medium different from wired communication bus 32) is activated and may provide wireless data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28) to an external device (i.e. a specific communication device) while computing unit 16 is also enabled, maintaining local functionality through bus 32 (i.e. maintaining communication via a specific network). [0020] discloses that switch 12 may be implemented by a user-viewable screen of the external device with a “soft-key” that may be selected by a user. Thus, processor 26 and switch 12 may be configured to transmit state data from memory 28 to I/O 30 based on a request from the user that selects the setting of switch 12 to be in the open state (i.e. mode 2) and to transmit state data from memory 28 to RF unit 14 when switch 12 is in a predetermined closed state (i.e. mode 1), while computing unit 16 maintains local connectivity through bus 32.);
transmitting the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium (Fig 1 & [0018] disclose RF unit 14 may receive signals and/or transmit signals to an external entity.); and
wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0019] discloses that when switch 12 is in an open state, radio communication unit 14 is disabled and thus may not receive or transmit signals, while computing unit 16 may still receiver power and provide local functionality (i.e. communication) through bus 32.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium to execute processing of: receiving state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, as disclosed by Imaizumi, with an operation unit including a changeover switch; transmitting the state data from the communication unit according to a setting in a specific network according to a state of the changeover switch; performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state; and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium, and wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, enables transmission through the wireless communication unit and the wired communication unit in order to provide the ability to send the state data to the external device through the wireless communication units while also sending the data locally through the wired communication unit, in situations where the state data cannot be sent to the external device through the wired communication unit because the external device is not physically located near the wired communication unit and cannot physically connect to the wired communication unit, and when the wireless communication unit is disconnected, the wired communication unit maintains connection in order to continue providing local connectivity.
Imaizumi fails to disclose including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state.
However, Bradley further teaches including a reset button (Fig 1 & [0027] discloses a reset button shown as SW1); and
wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 & [0027]-[0028] discloses resetting of a device is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with switch SW4 being in the closed state (i.e. putting the device in a predetermined tripped state).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium to execute processing of: receiving state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, as disclosed by Imaizumi, including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, as further taught by Bradley. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, allows transmission through the wireless communication unit but only when a reset button has been pressed, so that an owner of the network device and external device can select to disable wireless communication, even when the reset button is pressed, by setting the changeover switch to not be in the predetermined state, in order to avoid wireless interference and/or take up bandwidth during events that may be occurring near the network device (e.g. a conference where attendees are using their laptops wirelessly to communicate).
Imaizumi fails to disclose wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device.
However, Skinner further teaches wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device (Fig 3 and col5, lines 62-67, col 6, lines 54-67 & col 7, lines 1-24 disclose a user selectable button 350 that in response to determining that the RADIO OFF button has been pressed after wireless capabilities have been turned on and a communication connection has been established (e.g. through received messages, emails or phone calls), processing unit 210 issues commands to RF device 240 to disable all radio devices (i.e. disconnect communication connections).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a reset button and communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium to execute processing of: receiving state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device, as disclosed by Imaizumi in view of Bradley, wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device, as further taught by Skinner. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program causing a computer including a communication unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a reset button that when pressed after radio devices have been enabled and communication connections have been established with the external device, a processing unit is configured to disable all radio devices thereby disconnecting the communication connection to the external device, so that a user accessing the state data wirelessly can press the reset button to disable wireless connectivity when finished accessing the state data to reduce interference from, and conserve power at, the radio devices.
Regarding Claim 7, Imaizumi discloses an energy storage device data transmission method in which a network unit including a communication unit that performs communication via a specific network including a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device and transmits the state data to another unit, the method comprising processing of, by the network unit: and transmitting the state data from the communication unit via the specific network (Figs 2 & 3 and [0018], [0020] & [0023] disclose an energy storage device data transmission method in which a network unit 40 comprising a main calculation unit 43 (e.g. a communication unit) that performs communication via a wired LAN network 30 (i.e. a specific network) and/or wireless communication medium between wireless LAN 44 and portable terminal device 50 to transmit energy storage information from UPS control device 26, that collects storage information from battery 23, to portable information terminal 50.),
Imaizumi fails to disclose: an operation unit including a changeover switch; wherein the transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network is according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch; performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state; and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium, wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit.
However, Shah teaches an operation unit including a changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may be implemented by a combination of hardware and software (e.g. a physical switch with a software control unit), that can act as an operation unit.);
wherein the transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network is according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch (Fig 1 & [0019] discloses that according to a state of switch 12 being in an open state, device 10 operates in a second mode of operation where radio communication unit 14 is disabled, and computing unit 16 may provide data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28) to an external device through a wired Ethernet or PSTN interface that is integrated in computing unit 16 (e.g. I/O 30 acting as the communication unit).);
performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device when the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0018] discloses according to a state of switch 12 being in an closed state, device 10 operates in a first mode of operation where RF unit 14 (i.e. acting as a communication medium different from wired communication bus 32) is activated and may provide wireless data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28) to an external device (i.e. a specific communication device) while computing unit 16 is also enabled, maintaining local functionality through bus 32 (i.e. maintaining communication via a specific network). [0020] discloses that switch 12 may be implemented by a user-viewable screen of the external device with a “soft-key” that may be selected by a user. Thus, processor 26 and switch 12 may be configured to transmit state data from memory 28 to I/O 30 based on a request from the user that selects the setting of switch 12 to be in the open state (i.e. mode 2) and to transmit state data from memory 28 to RF unit 14 when switch 12 is in a predetermined closed state (i.e. mode 1), while computing unit 16 maintains local connectivity through bus 32.);
and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device (Fig 1 & [0010] disclose that switch 12 may perform a transmission of data storage information (e.g. state data) the RF Unit 14.), and
wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit (Fig 1 and [0015] & [0019] discloses that when switch 12 is in an open state, radio communication unit 14 is disabled and thus may not receive or transmit signals, while computing unit 16 may still receiver power and provide local functionality (i.e. communication) through bus 32.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an energy storage device data transmission method in which a network unit including a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device and transmits the state data to another unit, the method comprising processing of, by the network unit: and transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network, as disclosed by Imaizumi, with an operation unit including a changeover switch; wherein the transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network is according to a setting in the specific network according to a state of the changeover switch; performing communication connection with a specific communication device via a communication medium different from the specific network while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, in response to a request received from the specific communication device with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state; and transmitting the state data to the specific communication device via the communication medium, wherein disconnection of the communication connection after the communication connection with the specific communication device is while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the communication unit, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have energy storage device data transmission method where a network unit can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, enables transmission through the wireless communication unit and the wired communication unit in order to provide the ability to send the state data to the external device through the wireless communication units while also sending the data locally through the wired communication unit, in situations where the state data cannot be sent to the external device through the wired communication unit because the external device is not physically located near the wired communication unit and cannot physically connect to the wired communication unit, and when the wireless communication unit is disconnected, the wired communication unit maintains connection in order to continue providing local connectivity.
Imaizumi fails to disclose including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state.
However, Bradley further teaches including a reset button (Fig 1 & [0027] discloses a reset button shown as SW1); and
wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state (Fig 1 & [0027]-[0028] discloses resetting of a device is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with switch SW4 being in the closed state (i.e. putting the device in a predetermined tripped state).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an energy storage device data transmission method in which a network unit including a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device and transmits the state data to another unit, the method comprising processing of, by the network unit: and transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network, as disclosed by Imaizumi, including a reset button; and wherein the communication connection performed by the control unit is in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed with the changeover switch being in a predetermined state, as further taught by Bradley. The motivation to do so would be to have an energy storage device data transmission method where a network unit can transmit state data to a maintenance terminal device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, allows transmission through the wireless communication unit but only when a reset button has been pressed, so that an owner of the network device and the maintenance terminal device can select to disable wireless communication, even when the reset button is pressed, by setting the changeover switch to not be in the predetermined state, in order to avoid wireless interference and/or take up bandwidth during events that may be occurring near the network device (e.g. a conference where attendees are using their laptops wirelessly to communicate).
Imaizumi fails to disclose wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device.
However, Skinner further teaches wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device (Fig 3 and col5, lines 62-67, col 6, lines 54-67 & col 7, lines 1-24 disclose a user selectable button 350 that in response to determining that the RADIO OFF button has been pressed after wireless capabilities have been turned on and a communication connection has been established (e.g. through received messages, emails or phone calls), processing unit 210 issues commands to RF device 240 to disable all radio devices (i.e. disconnect communication connections).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an energy storage device data transmission method in which a network unit including a reset button and a communication unit that performs communication via a wired communication line and/or a wireless communication medium receives state data from a unit that measures a state of an energy storage device and transmits the state data to another unit, the method comprising processing of, by the network unit: and transmitting the state data from the communication unit to a specific network, as disclosed by Imaizumi in view of Bradley, wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the maintenance terminal device, as further taught by Skinner. The motivation to do so would be to have a an energy storage device data transmission method where a network unit can transmit state data to a maintenance terminal device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a reset button that when pressed after radio devices have been enabled and communication connections have been established with the maintenance terminal device, a processing unit is configured to disable all radio devices thereby disconnecting the communication connection to the maintenance terminal device, so that a user accessing the state data wirelessly can press the reset button to disable wireless connectivity when finished accessing the state data to reduce interference from, and conserve power at, the radio devices.
Regarding claim 8, Imaizumi in view of Shah and Bradley and Skinner disclose the network unit according to claim 1, wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit.
Imaizumi fails to disclose, but Shah teaches wherein the disconnection of the communication connection with the specific communication device is by disabling the third communication unit (Fig 1 & [0019] discloses that radio communication unit 14 may not transmit or receive signals from the external device (i.e. disconnection of the communication connection) when switch 12 is open, which disables radio communication unit 14 by cutting off power from power supply 18 to radio communication unit 14.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network unit according to claim 1, wherein in response to determining that the reset button has been pressed after the communication connection with the specific communication device, the control unit is configured to disconnect the communication connection with the specific communication device while maintaining the communication via the specific network by the second communication unit, as disclosed by Imaizumi in view of Shah and Bradley and Skinner, wherein the disconnection of the communication connection with the specific communication device is by disabling the third communication unit, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a network unit that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit with a changeover switch that, when set to a predefined state, enables transmission through the wireless communication unit and the wired communication unit in order to provide the ability to send the state data to the external device through the wireless communication units while also sending the data locally through the wired communication unit, and being able to disconnect the wireless communication unit by disabling the wireless communication unit through cutting off power to the wireless communication unit, in order to have a way to disconnect wireless communication while maintaining wired communication through the wired communication unit in order to continue providing local connectivity.
Claim 2 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (JP 2018201331)(herein after “Imaizumi”) in view of Shah et al. (US 20070060212)(herein after “Shah”) and Bradley et al. (US 2007/0025032)(herein after “Bradley”) and Skinner et al. (US 7260390)(herein after “Skinner”), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Tao et al. (US 20100101925)(herein after “Tao”).
Regarding Claim 2, Imaizumi and Shah and Bradley and Skinner disclose the network unit according to Claim 1.
Imaizumi fails to disclose wherein the control unit determines whether or not the state of the changeover switch is the predetermined state.
However, Shah teaches wherein the control unit determines whether or not the state of the changeover switch is the predetermined state (Fig 1 and [0010], [0013] & [0015] disclose a processing device 10 that includes a processor 26 and switch 12 that may provide a control and select function (i.e. a control unit) that controls communication and transmission by a computing unit 16 (i.e. second communication and an RF unit 14. [0018]-[0019] discloses that according to a state of switch 12 being in an open state, device 10 operates in a second mode of operation where radio communication unit 14 is disabled, and computing unit 16 may provide data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28 acting as a first communication unit) to an external device through a wired Ethernet or PSTN interface that is integrated in computing unit 16 (e.g. I/O 30 acting as a second communication unit). And according to a state of switch 12 being in an closed state, device 10 operates in a first mode of operation where RF unit 14 (i.e. acting as a third communication unit) is activated and may provide wireless data communication (e.g. transmission of state data from memory 28) to an external device. Thus, processor 26 must determine whether or not switch 12 is in a predetermined state (e.g. a closed state) in order to determine whether device 10 should operate under the first mode or the second mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network unit according to claim 1, as disclosed by Imaizumi in view of Shah and Bradley and Skinner, wherein the control unit determines whether or not the state of the changeover switch is the predetermined state, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a network unit, that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit, with a processor that determines whether a changeover switch is set to a predefined state and enables transmission through the wireless communication unit when the changeover switch is in the predetermined state in order to provide the ability to send the state data to the external device in situations where the state data cannot be sent to the external device through the wired communication unit because the external device is not physically located near the wired communication unit and cannot physically connect to the wired communication unit.
Imaizumi fails to disclose wherein the reset button causes interruption to the control unit, and the control unit resets every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button.
However, Tao further teaches wherein the reset button causes interruption to the control unit, and the control unit resets every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button. (Fig 1 & [0017] disclose a reset button that can interrupt and make some or all data processing devices return to predetermined states. A reset button as taught by Ling-Jun could, for example, interrupt a control unit and return the control unit to a state where it checks if a changeover switch is in a predetermined state, as taught by Shah, every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network unit according to Claim 1, as disclosed by Imaizumi and Shah and Bradley and Skinner, wherein the reset button causes interruption to the control unit, and the control unit resets every time interruption occurs by pressing of the reset button, as further taught by Tao, and wherein the control unit determines whether or not the state of the changeover switch is the predetermined state whenever the control unit is reset, as taught by Shah. The motivation to do so would be to have a network unit, that can transmit state data to an external device through either a wireless communication unit or a wired communication unit, with a processor that determines whether a changeover switch is set to a predefined state every time a reset button is pressed and immediately enables transmission through the wireless communication once the reset button is pressed and the changeover switch is in the predetermined state in order to provide the ability to immediately send the state data to the external device, without having the user wait for wireless connectivity, in situations where the state data cannot be sent to the external device through the wired communication unit because the external device is not physically located near the wired communication unit and cannot physically connect to the wired communication unit.
Claim 3 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Imaizumi et al. (JP 2018201331)(herein after “Imaizumi”) in view of Shah et al. (US 20070060212)(herein after “Shah”) and Bradley et al. (US 2007/0025032)(herein after “Bradley”) and Skinner et al. (US 7260390)(herein after “Skinner”), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Katayama et al. (US 20180114554)(herein after “Katayama”).
Regarding Claim 3, Imaizumi in view of Shah and Bradley and Skinner disclose the network unit according to Claim 1
Imaizumi fails to disclose wherein when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit transitions to a state of performing communication according to the setting by the second communication unit.
However, Katayama further teaches wherein when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit transitions to a state of performing communication according to the setting by the second communication unit. (Fig 7 & [0137] disclose a timeout period that, when elapsed after a charge control process is activated, a data write process transitions to a parameter setting process state. A timeout period, as taught by Katayama, could be used such that when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after a wireless LAN unit is activated with a changeover switch being in a predetermined state, a control unit transitions to a state performing wireline LAN access only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the network according to Claim 1, as disclosed by Imaizumi and Shah and Bradley and Skinner, wherein when a predetermined timeout period has elapsed after the network unit is activated with the changeover switch being in the predetermined state, the control unit transitions to a state of performing communication according to the setting by the second communication unit, as further taught by Katayama. The motivation to do so would be to prohibit unauthorized access to a particular communication medium (e.g. wireless access) by unauthorized users after a period of time during which authorized users have not communicated over the particular communication medium.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shah et al. (US 7356351) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Disabling the RF Functionality of a Multi-function Wireless Communication Device While Maintaining Local Functionality.
Nasr et al. (US 8311581) discloses an Apparatus and Method for Disabling RF Signal Transmissions from Wireless Network Modems.
Takai et al. (US 11885852) discloses a Battery Management Device, Energy Storage Apparatus, Battery Management Method, and Computer Program.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419