DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-27) in the reply filed on 4/21/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-27) in the reply filed on 4/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2023/0136818).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a solid ion conductor ([0010]-[0015], discussed throughout) represented by Formula 1 and having an argyrodite crystal ([0010]-[0015], discussed throughout) structure:
Li7-2a-b-cMaPS6-a-b-cOaX1bX2c Formula 1
wherein, in Formula 1, M is zinc (Zn), cadmium (Cd), mercury (Hg), or a combination thereof,
wherein X1 and X2 are each independently chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br), iodine (I), a pseudohalogen, or a combination thereof, and
wherein 0<a<0.5, 0<b<2, 0<c<2, and 1<b+c<3 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses wherein, in Formula 1, 0.02≤a≤0.1 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses wherein, X1bX2c is ClbBrc or ClbIc, and 0<b<2, 0<c<2, 1<b+c<3, and b>c ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses wherein, 1<b+c<2 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses wherein, 1<b/c≤50 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 6, Kim discloses wherein, 1<b/c≤20 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 7, Kim discloses wherein, in Formula 1, M is Zn ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 8, Kim discloses wherein, a compound represented by Formula 1 is a compound represented by Formula 2:
Li7-2a-b-cZnaPS6-a-b-cOaClbBrc Formula 2
wherein, in Formula 2, 0<a<0.5, 0<b<2, 0<c<1, and 1≤b+c<2 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 9, Kim discloses wherein, 1<b/c≤50 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claims 10 and 11, Kim does not specially state wherein, in the solid ion conductor, a ratio of peak intensity (IB) at a diffraction angle (2θ) of 29.07±0.5° to a peak intensity (IA) at 2θ of 30.09°±0.5°, i.e., IB/IA, is <0.1 in an X-ray diffraction (XRD) spectrum using CuKα rays (claim 10) and wherein, IB/IA<0.07 (claim 11). However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 12, Kim discloses wherein, wherein 0.02≤a≤0.1, 1<b+c<2, b>c, and 1≤b/c≤20 ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 13, Kim discloses wherein, the solid ion conductor is Li5.36Zn0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.3Zn0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.2Zn0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.36Zn0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.3Zn0.05PS4.35 0.05Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.2Zn0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.36Zn0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.3Zn0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.2Zn0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.36Zn0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.3Zn0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.2Zn0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.36Zn0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.3Zn0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.2Zn0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.36Zn0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.3Zn0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.2Zn0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.26Zn0.07PS4.33O0.07Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.56Zn0.02PS4.58O0.02Cl1.2Br0.2, Li5.5Zn0.05PS4.55O0.05Cl1.2Br0.2, Li5.46Zn0.07PS4.53O0.07Cl1.2Br0.2, Li5.4Zn0.1PS4.5O0.1Cl1.2Br0.2, Li5.66Zn0.02PS4.68O0.02Cl1.2Br0.1, Li5.6Zn0.05PS4.65O0.05Cl1.2Br0.1, Li5.56Zn0.07PS4.63O0.07Cl1.2Br0.1, Li5.5Zn0.1PS4.6O0.1Cl1.2Br0.1, Li5.76Zn0.02PS4.78O0.02Cl1.0Br0.2, Li5.7Zn0.05PS4.75O0.05Cl1.0Br0.2, Li5.66Zn0.07PS4.73O0.07Cl1.0Br0.2, Li5.6Zn0.1PS4.7O0.1Cl1.0Br0.2, Li5.36Cd0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.3Cd0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.2Cd0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.36Cd0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.3Cd0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.2Cd0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.36Cd0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.3Cd0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.2Cd0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.36Cd0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.3Cd0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.2Cd0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.36Cd0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.3Cd0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.2Cd0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.36Cd0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.3Cd0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.2Cd0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.36Hg0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.3Hg0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.2Hg0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.4Br0.2, Li5.36Hg0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.3Hg0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.2Hg0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.2Br0.4, Li5.36Hg0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.3Hg0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.2Hg0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.3Br0.3, Li5.36Hg0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.3Hg0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.2Hg0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.24Br0.36, Li5.36Hg0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.3Hg0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.2Hg0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.46Br0.14, Li5.36Hg0.02PS4.38O0.02Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.3Hg0.05PS4.35O0.05Cl1.52Br0.08, Li5.2Hg0.1PS4.3O0.1Cl1.52Br0.08, or a combination thereof ([0016]-[0021], [0097], discussed throughout, the compound is MZPSOX represented by MaZnbPcSdOeXf wherein M is Li and X is one or more selected from F, Cl, Br or I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 14, Kim does not specially state wherein, an ionic conductivity of the solid ion conductor represented by Formula 1 at 25° C. is 3.0 mS/cm or more. However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 15, Kim does not specially state wherein, an ionic conductivity retention rate of the solid ion conductor is 70% or more after 10 days under dry conditions in an air atmosphere having a dew point of less than −60° C. However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 16, Kim does not specially state wherein, when the solid ion conductor is exposed to the atmosphere, an amount of H2S generated is less than 5 cm3/g. However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 17, Kim discloses a solid electrolyte comprising the solid ion conductor of claim 1 ([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout).
As to claim 18, Kim discloses an electrochemical cell ([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout), comprising:
a positive electrode layer including a positive electrode active material layer ([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout);
a negative electrode layer including a negative electrode active material layer ([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout); and
an electrolyte layer between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout),
wherein at least one of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the electrolyte layer includes the solid ion conductor of claim 1([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout).
As to claim 19, Kim is silent to wherein, an average particle diameter of the solid ion conductor is 2 μm or less. However, Kim discloses the use of particles within the size of 200 nm ([0156] and discussed throughout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the inorganic particles from Kim be 200 nm as a mere combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I) or as a mere change in size (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 20, Kim discloses wherein, the positive electrode layer includes the solid ion conductor, and an amount of the solid ion conductor is in a range of 2 parts by weight to 70 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of a total weight of the positive electrode layer ([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout).
As to claim 21, Kim discloses wherein, the electrochemical cell is an all-solid battery ([0010]-[0014], discussed throughout).
As to claim 22, Kim discloses wherein, the negative electrode layer ([0046]-[0053], discussed throughout) includes:
a negative electrode current collector ([0046]-[0053], discussed throughout); and
a first negative electrode active material layer including a negative electrode active material, disposed on the negative electrode current collector ([0046]-[0053], discussed throughout), and the negative electrode active material including at least one of a carbon-based negative electrode active material ([0040], discussed throughout) and a metal or metalloid negative electrode active material ([0040], discussed throughout).
As to claim 23, Kim discloses wherein, the carbon-based negative electrode active material includes at least one of amorphous carbon and crystalline carbon ([0040], discussed throughout).
As to claim 24, Kim discloses wherein, the metal or metalloid negative electrode active material includes at least one of gold (Au), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), silicon (Si), silver (Ag), aluminum (Al), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), and zinc (Zn) ([0040], discussed throughout).
As to claim 25, Kim discloses further comprising a second negative electrode active material layer between the negative electrode current collector and the first negative electrode active material layer and/or between the electrolyte layer and the first negative electrode active material layer, and the second negative electrode active material layer is a metal layer including lithium or a lithium alloy ([0040], discussed throughout; this is because the negative electrode can have lithium or lithium alloy and the layer can be considered two layers; or [0045], as the intermediate layer can be considered part of the negative electrode layer; discussed throughout).
As to claim 26, Kim discloses does not specifically state wherein, a capacity retention rate of the electrochemical cell is 80% or more at a 100th cycle after charging and discharging with 4 V or more in a thermostatic bath at 25° C. However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 22 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 27, Kim discloses wherein, the positive electrode layer includes a positive electrode active material, and the positive electrode active material is at least one of a lithium transition metal oxide having a layered crystal structure, a lithium transition metal oxide having an olivine crystal structure, and a lithium transition metal oxide having a spinel crystal structure ([0111], the positive electrode materials cited have the required crystal structures).
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10-12, 14-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Argyrodite Solid Electrolyte with a Stable Interface and Superior Dendrite Suppression Capability Realized by ZnO Co-Doping, as cited within the IDS).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a solid ion conductor (abstract) represented by Formula 1 and having an argyrodite crystal (results and discussion) structure:
Li7-2a-b-cMaPS6-a-b-cOaX1bX2c Formula 1
wherein, in Formula 1, M is zinc (Zn), cadmium (Cd), mercury (Hg), or a combination thereof,
wherein X1 and X2 are each independently chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br), iodine (I), a pseudohalogen, or a combination thereof, and
wherein 0<a<0.5, 0<b<2, 0<c<2, and 1<b+c<3 (Results and discussed, Conclusion; the formula is Li6–2xZnxPS5–xOxBr (0 ≤ x ≤ 1.5); therefore given the X1 and X2 can both be the same element i.e. Br thus exhibiting overlapping ranges). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 2, Chen discloses wherein, in Formula 1, 0.02≤a≤0.1 (Results and discussed, Conclusion; the formula is Li6–2xZnxPS5–xOxBr (0 ≤ x ≤ 1.5)). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 4, Chen discloses wherein, 1<b+c<2 (Results and discussed, Conclusion; the formula is Li6–2xZnxPS5–xOxBr (0 ≤ x ≤ 1.5)). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 5, Chen discloses wherein, 1<b/c≤50 (Results and discussed, Conclusion; the formula is Li6–2xZnxPS5–xOxBr (0 ≤ x ≤ 1.5), this is because they can be the same compound). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 6, Chen discloses wherein, 1<b/c≤20 (Results and discussed, Conclusion; the formula is Li6–2xZnxPS5–xOxBr (0 ≤ x ≤ 1.5), this is because they can be the same compound). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 7, Chen discloses wherein, in Formula 1, M is Zn (Results and discussed, Conclusion; the formula is Li6–2xZnxPS5–xOxBr (0 ≤ x ≤ 1.5)). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claims 10 and 11, Chen does not specifically state wherein, in the solid ion conductor, a ratio of peak intensity (IB) at a diffraction angle (2θ) of 29.07±0.5° to a peak intensity (IA) at 2θ of 30.09°±0.5°, i.e., IB/IA, is <0.1 in an X-ray diffraction (XRD) spectrum using CuKα rays (claim 10) and wherein, IB/IA<0.07 (claim 11). However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 12, Chen discloses wherein, wherein 0.02≤a≤0.1, 1<b+c<2, b>c, and 1≤b/c≤20 (Results and discussed, Conclusion; the formula is Li6–2xZnxPS5–xOxBr (0 ≤ x ≤ 1.5), this is because they can be the same compound). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 14, Chen does not specifically state wherein, an ionic conductivity of the solid ion conductor represented by Formula 1 at 25° C. is 3.0 mS/cm or more. However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 15, Chen does not specifically state wherein, an ionic conductivity retention rate of the solid ion conductor is 70% or more after 10 days under dry conditions in an air atmosphere having a dew point of less than −60° C. However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 16, Chen does not specifically state wherein, when the solid ion conductor is exposed to the atmosphere, an amount of H2S generated is less than 5 cm3/g. However, when Chen is the same structure as the instant claimed invention (see claim 1 above) then the same material would yield the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 17, Chen discloses a solid electrolyte comprising the solid ion conductor of claim 1 (Results and discussion section 2.2).
As to claim 18, Chen discloses an electrochemical cell, comprising:
a positive electrode layer including a positive electrode active material layer;
a negative electrode layer including a negative electrode active material layer; and
an electrolyte layer between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer,
wherein at least one of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the electrolyte layer includes the solid ion conductor of claim 1 (abstract and the figure of the abstract).
As to claim 21, Chen discloses wherein, the electrochemical cell is an all-solid battery (abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 5-22 of copending Application No. 17/909,477 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the solid ion conductor of application 17/909,477 and the instant have overlapping ranges (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724