DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 18/013,294 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 03/10/2026. Claims 1-10 and 12-16 are under examination. Claims 14-15 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Withdrawn Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s), specification, and/or drawing(s) filed 03/10/2026 is acknowledged and the previous objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/10/2026 have been fully considered and do overcome the previous U.S.C. 102 rejection of record, however, the amendments have not overcome the persuasively applied prior art for the reasons set forth below. See updated claims 1-13 and 16 rejections below.
Applicant argues that “claim 1 now recites that the negative electrode layer material and the solid electrolyte layer material of the mixed layer are, respectively, the same as the negative electrode layer material found in the negative electrode layer and the solid electrolyte layer material found in the solid electrolyte layer” (see e.g. page 9 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim recites a “mixed layer including a mixture of the negative electrode layer material and the solid electrolyte layer material.” The claim uses the open-ended term “including” and does not exclude the presence of additional components, substituted elements, concentration gradients, or interfacial transition regions in the mixed layer. Takeuchi discloses that the first intermediate layer 7 and the second intermediate layer 8 are provided between the negative electrode active material layer 2B and the solid electrolyte layer 3 (see e.g. “the first intermediate layer 7 and the second intermediate layer 8 are provided between the solid electrolyte layer 3 and each of the positive electrode active material layer 1B and the negative electrode active material layer 2B” in paragraph [0035] of Takeuchi). Takeuchi further discloses that the first intermediate layer 7 contains lithium vanadium phosphate containing zirconium and is located on the side of the negative electrode active material layer, while the second intermediate layer 8 contains lithium zirconium phosphate containing vanadium and is located on the side of the solid electrolyte layer (see e.g. paragraphs [0040]-[0041] of Takeuchi). Thus, Takeuchi discloses an interfacial mixed/intermediate region including material corresponding to the negative electrode layer material and material corresponding to the solid electrolyte layer material. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Takeuchi distinguishes the first intermediate layer 7 from the negative electrode active material layer 2B because the first intermediate layer 7 contains zirconium, and distinguishes the second intermediate layer 8 from the solid electrolyte layer 3 because the second intermediate layer 8 contains vanadium” (see e.g. page 9 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portions of Takeuchi do not remove Takeuchi from the scope of the claim. The claim does not require that the mixed layer consist only of unmodified negative electrode layer material and unmodified solid electrolyte layer material. Rather, the claim recites a mixed layer “including” a mixture of the negative electrode layer material and the solid electrolyte layer material. Takeuchi’s first and second intermediate layers are formed at the interface between the negative electrode active material layer and the solid electrolyte layer and include components associated with both adjacent layers. Specifically, Takeuchi discloses that zirconium diffuses from the solid electrolyte layer toward the negative electrode active material layer and vanadium diffuses from the negative electrode active material layer toward the solid electrolyte layer, thereby forming the first intermediate layer 7 and the second intermediate layer 8 (see e.g. paragraph [0080] of Takeuchi). Therefore, the fact that the intermediate layers include zirconium or vanadium does not distinguish the claimed “mixed layer including” a mixture of the respective layer materials. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Takeuchi fails to teach or suggest an all-solid secondary battery wherein the solid electrolyte layer material is a sulfide-based solid electrolyte” (see e.g. page 10 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument is directed to Takeuchi individually, whereas the rejection of amended claim 1 is based on the combined teachings of Takeuchi in view of Ku. Takeuchi is relied upon for teaching the all-solid secondary battery structure, including the positive electrode layer, negative electrode layer, solid electrolyte layer, and mixed/intermediate layer between the negative electrode layer and the solid electrolyte layer. Ku is relied upon for teaching the sulfide-based solid electrolyte limitation. Ku expressly discloses that “The solid electrolyte layer may include, for example, a sulfide-based solid electrolyte” (see e.g. paragraph [0057] of Ku). Therefore, the sulfide-based solid electrolyte limitation is taught by Ku. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the amended claim requires a sulfide-based solid electrolyte in both the solid electrolyte layer and the mixed layer, specifically at a mixing volume ratio of the negative electrode layer material to such a sulfide-based solid electrolyte of 2:1 to 1:1” (see e.g. page 10 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claim recites that the “solid electrolyte layer includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte.” The claim does not recite that the solid electrolyte layer consists only of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte, nor does the claim separately recite that the mixed layer must consist of a negative electrode layer material and a sulfide-based solid electrolyte with no other material present. Additionally, the claim recites a mixing volume ratio of the negative electrode layer material to the solid electrolyte layer material in the mixed layer, not a ratio limited only to sulfide-based solid electrolyte material. To the extent the claim is interpreted as requiring the solid electrolyte layer material in the mixed layer to include a sulfide-based solid electrolyte, Ku teaches the use of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte in the solid electrolyte layer (see e.g. paragraph [0057] of Ku), and it would have been obvious to use Ku’s sulfide-based solid electrolyte as the solid electrolyte layer material in the all-solid secondary battery structure of Takeuchi for the reasons set forth in the claim 1 rejection below. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Takeuchi fails to disclose the inclusion of a sulfide-based solid electrolyte in intermediate layers 7 or 8 in any amount” (see e.g. page10 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not rely on Takeuchi alone for the sulfide-based solid electrolyte limitation. Ku discloses a sulfide-based solid electrolyte for use in the solid electrolyte layer of an all-solid secondary battery (see e.g. paragraph [0057] of Ku). The proposed modification is to use Ku’s known sulfide-based solid electrolyte in the all-solid secondary battery structure taught by Takeuchi. The fact that Takeuchi itself discloses lithium zirconium phosphate does not negate the obviousness of using another known solid electrolyte material taught by Ku, particularly where Ku teaches the same field of all-solid secondary batteries and teaches improved short-circuit prevention and cycle characteristics (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the method of forming the intermediate layers of Takeuchi, i.e., creating a zirconium concentration gradient and a vanadium concentration gradient, necessarily involves the use of lithium zirconium phosphate as the solid electrolyte” (see e.g. page 10 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Takeuchi is not limited to forming the intermediate layers only by zirconium/vanadium thermal diffusion. Takeuchi expressly discloses that “layers in which constituent elements are adjusted in advance may be separately prepared, and inserted between the solid electrolyte layer 3 and the positive electrode active material layer 1B or the negative electrode active material layer 2B” (see e.g. paragraph [0081] of Takeuchi). Thus, applicant’s assertion that Takeuchi necessarily requires lithium zirconium phosphate and necessarily requires only a zirconium/vanadium diffusion mechanism is not commensurate with the full disclosure of Takeuchi. Moreover, the claim is directed to the all-solid secondary battery structure, not to a method requiring Takeuchi’s specific firing/cooling diffusion process. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to replace the lithium zirconium phosphate electrolyte of Takeuchi with a sulfide-based solid electrolyte because such a modification would change the basic principle under which Takeuchi was designed to operate” (see e.g. page 10 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The proposed combination does not require a bodily incorporation of Ku into Takeuchi or require that every processing feature of Takeuchi be maintained unchanged. Takeuchi is relied upon for teaching an all-solid secondary battery having an interfacial mixed/intermediate layer between an electrode active material layer and a solid electrolyte layer to improve adhesion and cycle characteristics (see e.g. paragraphs [0009], [0039], and [0083] of Takeuchi). Ku is relied upon for teaching that a sulfide-based solid electrolyte is a known solid electrolyte material suitable for use in an all-solid secondary battery (see e.g. paragraph [0057] of Ku). Ku further teaches that its all-solid secondary battery prevents short circuit during charge and discharge and improves cycle characteristics (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). This objective is consistent with Takeuchi’s objective of improving cycle characteristics. Applicant has not provided evidence that using Ku’s sulfide-based solid electrolyte in the all-solid secondary battery structure of Takeuchi would render the device inoperable or unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “even if Takeuchi were modified in view of Ku, the resultant all-solid secondary battery would still fail to teach or suggest a mixed layer having a mixing volume ratio of a negative electrode layer material to a sulfide-based solid electrolyte of 2:1 to 1:1” (see e.g. page 10 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Takeuchi teaches the claimed thickness and volume relationship for the interfacial mixed/intermediate region. In Example 1 of Takeuchi, the thickness of the active material layer is 4.95 µm, the thickness of the first intermediate layer is 0.05 µm, and the thickness of the second intermediate layer is 0.05 µm (see e.g. Table 2 of Takeuchi). The first and second intermediate layers together provide a mixed/intermediate layer having a combined thickness of 0.10 µm, which is 2 µm or less. The thickness ratio of the negative electrode layer to the mixed layer is therefore 4.95 µm:0.10 µm, or 49.5:1, which falls within the claimed range of 2:1 to 50:1. Further, because the first intermediate layer and second intermediate layer in Example 1 have equal thicknesses and are provided over the same interfacial area, the volume ratio of the negative-electrode-side intermediate material to the solid-electrolyte-side intermediate material is 1:1, which falls within the claimed range of 2:1 to 1:1. Ku supplies the sulfide-based solid electrolyte limitation. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In conclusion, the arguments and amendments filed were not found to be persuasive over the previous prior art rejection of record. The rejections of the claims have been updated to reflect the amendments where appropriate. See claims 1-13 and 16 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (US-20210043978-A1) and further in view of Ku et al. (US-20200136178-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Takeuchi discloses an all-solid secondary battery, comprising:
a positive electrode layer (see e.g. “positive electrode layer” in paragraph [0026] of Takeuchi and part number 1 in FIG. 1);
a negative electrode layer including a negative electrode layer material (see e.g. “negative electrode layer” in paragraph [0026] of Takeuchi, part number 2 in FIG. 1, and “the negative electrode active material layer 2B containing a negative electrode active material” in paragraph [0028] of Takeuchi);
a solid electrolyte layer including a solid electrolyte layer material between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (see e.g. “the positive electrode layer 1 and the negative electrode layer 2 are alternately laminated with the solid electrolyte layer 3 therebetween” in paragraph [0027] of Takeuchi, part number 3 in FIG. 1, and “The solid electrolyte layer 3 contains lithium zirconium phosphate” in paragraph [0037] of Takeuchi); and
a mixed layer including a mixture of the negative electrode layer material and the solid electrolyte layer material between the negative electrode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (see e.g. “the first intermediate layer 7 and the second intermediate layer 8 are provided between the solid electrolyte layer 3 and each of the positive electrode active material layer 1B and the negative electrode active material layer 2B” in paragraph [0035] of Takeuchi; “The first intermediate layer 7 contains lithium vanadium phosphate containing zirconium” in paragraph [0040] of Takeuchi; and “The second intermediate layer 8 contains lithium zirconium phosphate containing vanadium” in paragraph [0041] of Takeuchi), having a thickness of 0.10 µm between the negative electrode layer and the solid electrolyte layer (see e.g. Example 1 in Table 2 of Takeuchi; thickness of the first intermediate layer is 0.05 µm and thickness of the second intermediate layer is 0.05 µm, such that the combined thickness is 0.10 µm);
a thickness ratio of the negative electrode layer to the mixed layer is 49.5:1 (see e.g. Example 1 in Table 2 of Takeuchi; thickness of the active material layer is 4.95 µm and the combined thickness of the first and second intermediate layers is 0.10 µm); and
a mixing volume ratio of the negative electrode layer material to the solid electrolyte layer material in the mixed layer is 1:1 (see e.g. Example 1 in Table 2 of Takeuchi; the first intermediate layer and second intermediate layer have the same thickness and are provided at the interface of the negative electrode active material layer and solid electrolyte layer).
Takeuchi discloses specific points that lie within the ranges claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the solid electrolyte layer includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte.
Ku, however, in the same field of endeavor, all-solid secondary batteries, discloses that the solid electrolyte layer includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (see e.g. “The solid electrolyte layer may include, for example, a sulfide-based solid electrolyte” in paragraph [0057] of Ku).
Ku also teaches that such an all-solid secondary battery prevents short circuit during charge and discharge and improves cycle characteristics (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid electrolyte layer of Takeuchi et al. such that it includes a sulfide-based solid electrolyte as taught by Ku et al. in order to obtain an all-solid secondary battery in which short circuit is prevented during charge and discharge and cycle characteristics are improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 2, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi further discloses that the thickness of the negative electrode layer is about 4.95 µm, and a thickness of the mixed layer is 0.1 µm (see e.g. Example 1 in Table 2).
Takeuchi discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 3, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi further discloses that a binder may be used as a method to form each material into a paste (see e.g. "The vehicle includes a solvent, a binder, and the like." in paragraph [0068]).
Takeuchi, however, does not explicitly disclose that the negative electrode layer material includes a first negative active material and a binder, and the solid electrolyte layer material includes a solid electrolyte and a binder.
Ku, however, discloses a negative electrode layer material (see e.g. " first anode active material layer" in paragraph [0048] of Ku) that includes a first negative active material (see e.g. "The first anode active material layer 22 includes a kind of anode active material " in paragraph [0043 of Ku) and a binder (see e.g. "The first anode active material layer 22 includes, for example, a binder" in paragraph [0045] of Ku), and a solid electrolyte layer material (see e.g. 'solid electrolyte layer 30" in paragraph [0056] of Ku) that includes a solid electrolyte (see e.g. "includes a solid electrolyte" in paragraph [0056] of Ku) and a binder (see e.g. "The solid electrolyte layer 30 may further include, for example, a binder" in paragraph [0060] of Ku).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the negative electrode layer and solid electrode layer of Takeuchi et al. such that the negative electrode layer material includes a first negative active material and a binder, and the solid electrolyte layer material includes a solid electrolyte and a binder as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 4, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi further discloses that the negative electrode layer includes a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode layer 2 includes a negative electrode current collector layer" in paragraph [0028] and part member 2A in FIG. 1) and a first negative active material layer (see e.g. "a negative electrode active material layer" and part number 2B in FIG. 1).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the negative current collector, the negative active material layer, and a region therebetween are Li-free regions in which lithium (Li) is not included in an initial state or a post-discharge state of the all-solid secondary battery.
Ku, however, discloses a negative current collector, a negative active material layer, and a region therebetween are Li-free regions in which lithium (Li) is not included in an initial state or a post-discharge state of the all-solid secondary battery (see e.g. "the anode current collector 21, the first anode active material layer 22, and an area therebetween are, for example, Li-free areas not including lithium (Li) in an initial state or a state after discharging of the all-solid secondary battery." in paragraph [0055] of Ku).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the negative electrode layer of Takeuchi et al. such that the negative current collector, the negative active material layer, and a region therebetween are Li-free regions in which lithium (Li) is not included in an initial state or a post-discharge state of the all-solid secondary battery as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 5, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 4 (see e.g. claim 4 rejection above).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the all-solid secondary battery further comprises a lithium precipitation layer between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer, during or after charging.
Ku, however, discloses, that the all-solid secondary battery further comprises a lithium precipitation layer between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer, during or after charging (see e.g. "When the first anode active material layer 22 is charged by exceeding the capacity, for example, lithium is precipitated between the rear surface of the first anode active material layer 22, that is, the anode current collector 21 and the first anode active material layer" in paragraph [0055] of Ku).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the all-solid secondary battery of Takeuchi et al. such that it comprises a lithium precipitation layer between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer, during or after charging as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 6, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi further discloses that the negative electrode layer includes a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector layer " in paragraph [0043] and part number 2A in FIG. 1) and a first negative active material layer (see e.g. "the negative electrode active material layer 2B" in paragraph [0043] and part number 2B in FIG. 1).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the all-solid secondary battery further comprising a metal or metalloid thin film between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer.
Ku, however, discloses that the all-solid secondary battery further comprises a metal or metalloid thin film between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer (see e.g. "a thin film 24 including elements capable of forming an alloy with lithium on the anode current collector 21." and "The thin film 24 may include one of these metals or include an alloy of several kinds of metals." in paragraph [0049] and part number 24 in FIG. 4 of Ku).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the all-solid secondary battery of Takeuchi et al. such that it further comprises a metal or metalloid thin film between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 7, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 rejection above).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the metal or metalloid thin film includes gold (Au), silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), zinc (Zn), silicon (Si), tin (Sn), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), aluminum (Al), bismuth (Bi), or a combination thereof, and a thickness of the metal or metalloid thin film is about 1 nm to about 800 nm.
Ku, however, discloses that the metal or metalloid thin film includes gold (Au), silver (Ag), zinc (Zn), silicon (Si), tin (Sn), aluminum (Al) and bismuth (Bi) (see e.g. "The thin film 24 includes, for example, an element capable of forming an alloy with lithium. Examples of the element capable of forming the alloy with lithium include gold, silver, zinc, tin, indium, silicon, aluminum, bismuth and the like, but are not limited thereto, and any suitable element capable of forming the alloy with lithium in the art are possible." in paragraph [0049] of Ku) and a thickness of the metal or metalloid thin film is about 1 nm to about 800 nm (see e.g. "A thickness d24 of the thin film is, for example, about 1 nm to about 800 nm," in paragraph [0050] of Ku).
Ku discloses the same range that is claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses the same range as the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the all-solid secondary battery of Takeuchi et al. such that the metal or metalloid thin film includes gold (Au), silver (Ag), zinc (Zn), silicon (Si), tin (Sn), aluminum (Al) and bismuth (Bi) as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 8, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi further discloses that the negative electrode layer includes a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector layer " in paragraph [0043] and part number 2A in FIG. 1) and a first negative active material layer (see e.g. "the negative electrode active material layer 2B" in paragraph [0043] and part number 2B in FIG. 1).
Takeuchi does not disclose the all-solid secondary battery further comprising a metal layer between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer, wherein the metal layer includes lithium or a lithium alloy.
Ku, however, discloses the all-solid secondary battery further comprising a metal layer between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer, wherein the metal layer includes lithium or a lithium alloy (see e.g. "The second anode active material layer 23 is a metal layer including lithium or a lithium alloy." in paragraph [0051] and part number 23 in FIG. 5; the second anode active material layer is the metal layer and is between the negative current collector 21 and the first negative active martial layer 22 as shown in FIG. 5).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the all-solid secondary battery of Takeuchi et al. such that it further comprises a metal layer between the negative current collector and the first negative active material layer, wherein the metal layer includes lithium or a lithium alloy as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 9, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi further discloses that the negative electrode layer includes a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector layer " in paragraph [0043] and part number 2A in FIG. 1) and a first negative active material layer (see e.g. "the negative electrode active material layer 2B" in paragraph [0043] and part number 2B in FIG. 1), the all-solid secondary battery further comprising a second negative active material layer (see e.g. "first intermediate layer" in paragraph [0040] and part number 7 in FIGs 2 and 3) on at least an upper portion of the first negative active material layer (see e.g. part number 7 in FIGs. 2 and 3) and the second negative active material layer includes lithium (see e.g. "The first intermediate layer 7 contains lithium vanadium phosphate" in paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claim 12, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte includes at least one of Li2S-P2S5, Li2S-P2S5-LiX (in which X is a halogen element), Li2S-P2S5-Li2O, Li2S-P2S5-Li2O-LiI, Li2S-SiS2, Li2S-SiS2-LiI, Li2S-SiS2-LiBr, Li2S-SiS2-LiCl, Li2S-SiS2-B2S3-LiI, Li2S-SiS2-P2S5-LiI, Li2S-B2S3, Li2S-P2S5-ZmSn, (in which m and n are positive numbers, and Z is one selected from Ge, Zn, and Ga), Li2S-GeS2, Li2S-SiS2-Li3PO4, Li2S-SiS2-LipMOq (in which p and q are positive numbers, and M is one selected from P, Si, Ge, B, Al, Ga, and In), Li7-xPS6-xClx (0≤x≤2), Li7-xPS6-xBrx, (0≤x≤2), and Li7-xPS6-xIx (0≤x≤2).
Ku, however, discloses that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte includes at least one of Li2S-P2S5, Li2S-P2S5-LiX (in which X is a halogen element), Li2S-P2S5-Li2O, Li2S-P2S5-Li2O-LiI, Li2S-SiS2, Li2S-SiS2-LiI, Li2S-SiS2-LiBr, Li2S-SiS2-LiCl, Li2S-SiS2-B2S3-LiI, Li2S-SiS2-P2S5-LiI, Li2S-B2S3, Li2S-P2S5-ZmSn, (in which m and n are positive numbers, and Z is one selected from Ge, Zn, and Ga), Li2S-GeS2, Li2S-SiS2-Li3PO4, Li2S-SiS2-LipMOq (in which p and q are positive numbers, and M is one selected from P, Si, Ge, B, Al, Ga, and In), Li7-xPS6-xClx (0≤x≤2), Li7-xPS6-xBrx, (0≤x≤2), and Li7-xPS6-xIx (0≤x≤2) (see e.g. "The sulfide-based solid electrolyte is at least one of, for example, Li2S—P2S5, Li2S—P2S5—LiX wherein X is a halogen element, Li2S—P2S5—Li2O, Li2S—P2S5—Li2O—LiI, Li2S—SiS2, Li2S—SiS2—LiI, Li2S—SiS2—LiBr, Li2S—SiS2—LiCl, Li2S—SiS2—B2S3—LiI, Li2S—SiS2—P2S5—LiI, Li2S—B2S3, Li2S—P2S5-ZmSn wherein m and n are positive numbers, Z is one of Ge, Zn or Ga, Li2S—GeS2, Li2S—SiS2—Li3PO4, Li2S—SiS2-LipMOq wherein p and q are positive numbers, M is one of P, Si, Ge, B, Al, Ga In, Li7-xPS6-xClx wherein 0≤x≤2, Li7-xPS6-xBrx wherein 0≤x≤2, and Li7-xPS6-xIx wherein 0≤x≤2." in paragraph [0057] of Ku).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the solid electrolyte of Takeuchi et al. such that it includes at least one of Li2S-P2S5, Li2S-P2S5-LiX (in which X is a halogen element), Li2S-P2S5-Li2O, Li2S-P2S5-Li2O-LiI, Li2S-SiS2, Li2S-SiS2-LiI, Li2S-SiS2-LiBr, Li2S-SiS2-LiCl, Li2S-SiS2-B2S3-LiI, Li2S-SiS2-P2S5-LiI, Li2S-B2S3, Li2S-P2S5-ZmSn, (in which m and n are positive numbers, and Z is one selected from Ge, Zn, and Ga), Li2S-GeS2, Li2S-SiS2-Li3PO4, Li2S-SiS2-LipMOq (in which p and q are positive numbers, and M is one selected from P, Si, Ge, B, Al, Ga, and In), Li7-xPS6-xClx (0≤x≤2), Li7-xPS6-xBrx, (0≤x≤2), and Li7-xPS6-xIx (0≤x≤2) as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved as suggested by Ku.
Regarding Claim 13, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte is an argyrodite-type compound including at least one of Li6PS5Cl, Li6PS5Br, and Li6PS5I.
Ku, however, discloses that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte is an argyrodite-type compound including at least one of Li6PS5Cl, Li6PS5Br, and Li6PS5I (see e.g. "The sulfide-based solid electrolyte included in the solid electrolyte layer may be an argyrodite-type compound including at least one of Li6PS5Cl, Li6PS5Br, and Li6PS5I." in paragraph [0059] of Ku).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the solid electrolyte of Takeuchi et al. such that the sulfide-based solid electrolyte is an argyrodite-type compound including at least one of Li6PS5Cl, Li6PS5Br, and Li6PS5I as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and
Regarding Claim 16, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi does not disclose that the negative active layer material includes a carbon negative active material, a metal negative active material, or a metalloid negative active material.
Ku, however, discloses that the negative active layer material includes a carbon negative active material, a metal negative active material, or a metalloid negative active material (see e.g. “The anode active material included in the first anode active material layer 22 is, for example, at least one of carbon-based (i.e., carbon-containing) anode active material and metal or metalloid anode active material.” in paragraph [0040] of Ku).
Ku also teaches that this provides an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and discharge and the cycle characteristics of the battery can be improved (see e.g. paragraph [0007] of Ku). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the negative active layer material of Takeuchi et al. such that the negative active layer material includes a carbon negative active material, a metal negative active material, or a metalloid negative active material as taught by Ku et al. in order to have an all-solid secondary battery where short circuit can be prevented during charge and
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (US-20210043978-A1) in view of Ku et al. (US-20200136178-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yashiro et al. (US-20190260065-A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Takeuchi in view of Ku discloses the all-solid secondary battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Takeuchi further discloses that the negative electrode layer includes a negative current collector (see e.g. "negative electrode current collector layer " in paragraph [0043] and part number 2A in FIG. 1) and a first negative active material layer (see e.g. "the negative electrode active material layer 2B" in paragraph [0043] and part number 2B in FIG. 1).
Takeuchi in view of Ku does not disclose that the all-solid secondary battery further comprising a carbon layer between the first negative active material layer and the solid electrolyte layer.
Yashiro, however, in the same field of endeavor, all-solid secondary batteries with differing layers, discloses an all-solid secondary battery (see e.g. "an all-solid state-battery 200" in paragraph [0130] and part number 200 in FIG. 5) that comprises a carbon layer between the first negative active material layer and the solid electrolyte layer (see e.g. " the negative electrode active material layer 32 may include the amorphous carbon 34" in paragraph [0130] and part number 34 in FIG. 5 of Yashiro).
Yashiro also teaches that in doing so an all-solid state secondary battery having improved discharge voltage and a high capacity may be obtained (see e.g. paragraph [0082] of Yashiro). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the all-solid secondary battery of Takeuchi et al. in view of Ku et al. such that it further comprises a carbon layer between the first negative active material layer and the solid electrolyte layer as taught by Yashiro et al. in order to have an all-solid state secondary battery having improved discharge voltage and a high capacity as suggested by Yashiro.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723