DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (KR 101482599 B1) in view of Cho (WO 2020101177 A).
Regarding Claim 1:
Chung teaches that a pickup apparatus for wireless charging of an electric vehicle and an industrial equipment, comprising:
a multi pickup coil (30, Fig. 2; para 0017-0031) disposed distally from the vehicle and including a central coil (31) disposed in the center, wing coils (32-33) disposed on both sides of the central coil, and an outer coil (50, Fig. 4) disposed outside of the central coil and the wing coils;
a ferrite core (10, see para 0006 and page 8) disposed adjacent to the multi pickup coil and electrically insulating (i.e. air in Fig. 1) the ferrite core
Chung does not teach that a heat dissipation plate for receiving and discharging heat generated from the ferrite core; and a heat dissipation member disposed between the ferrite core and the heat sink, and the heat dissipation plate, and made of a material having high thermal conductivity.
However, Cho taught in para 0059- 0062 that the thermal conductivity between the cooling pad (310) and the external heat source (2). At this time, the sealing member (315) may be made of various materials to increase the area where the cooling pad (310) and the heat source (2) come into surface contact, the external heat source (2, see Fig. 7) may be inserted and coupled into the recessed portion (314), and at this time, a part of the heat source (2) may be inserted into the recessed space formed by recessing inwardly on one surface of the recessed portion (314), thereby increasing the contact area between the cooling pad (310) and the heat source (2), thereby increasing the cooling efficiency of the heat source (2), and the contact member (315) may be filled between the external heat source (2) coupled to the recessed portion (314) and the inner surface of the recessed portion (314). a magnetic body (320, see Fig. 9) having one surface coupled to the cooling pad (310), and a current collector coil (330) provided on the other surface of the magnetic body (320) and generating power by a magnetic field applied from the outside.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a heat dissipation plate for receiving and discharging heat generated from the ferrite core; and a heat dissipation member disposed between the ferrite core and the heat sink, and the heat dissipation plate, and made of a material having high thermal conductivity so as to further improve the thermal conductivity between the cooling pad and the external heat source (see para 0060).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, and 9, the modified Chung teaches that the wing coils are turned in a direction opposite to those of the center coil and the outer coil (see Fig. 3) except the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a same direction.
Although it is not explicitly stated that the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a same direction, this appears to be the case since it is not taught that the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a different direction.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious that the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a same direction to simplify design, reduce manufacturing costs and provide a desired magnetic property.
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Chung teaches outer coil and central coil except the outer coil disperses the magnetic field of the central coil.
Although, modified Chung explicitly does not disclose the functional characteristic “the outer coil disperses the magnetic field of the central coil.” is not patentable over modified Chung, because, the limitation is directed to function or characteristic of claimed structure. Each of the limitation has been fully considered to the extent that the structure taught by modified Chung, in fig. 4, in configuration of Cho, with Fig. 7, is reasonably capable of functioning or having the characteristic claimed. Basis in fact is provided by the fact that modified Chung, in fig. 2, in configuration of Cho with fig. 7 teaches all of the structural features of the claimed limitation such as central coli, wing coil and outer coil.
Moreover, according to section 2114 of the MPEP, specifically, In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429,1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board’s finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, the prior art of reference modified Chung, in fig. 2, in configuration of Lee with fig. 7, teaches claimed structure, Fed. Cir 1997, in view of the above, gave clear guidance that mere absence of functional limitation “the outer coil disperses the magnetic field of the central coil” will not defeat the teaching of prior art. Therefore, claim limitation “the outer coil disperses the magnetic field of the central coil” is not patentable over modified Chung.
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 1 and 9, the modified Chung teaches that the central coil, the wing coils, and the outer coil are electrically connected in {series or} in parallel {or in series-parallel} combination (construed from Chung’s Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Chung teaches that the multi pickup coil is bundled to cancel polarity in consideration of leakage magnetic field attenuation as explained in claim 3 analysis in light of the MPEP 2114.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Cho and further in view of Koizumi (JP 2013-192450 A).
Regarding Claim 6:
As applied to claim 1, the modified Chung teaches the multi pickup coil except a capacitor box for branching withstand voltage of the multi pickup coil.
However, Koizumi teaches that the capacitors S2 and C2 (the plurality of capacitor elements 35) are housed in the second housing space C1 (Fig. 4-6, see para 0025 and Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a capacitor box for branching withstand voltage of the multi pickup coil to provide a coil unit capable of securing strength while making a coil and a capacitor into a unit (see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 7:
As applied to claim 6, the modified Chung teaches the capacitor box includes at least one function among waterproof, dustproof (inherently necessary for industrial application ), insulation and heat dissipation (see Cho’s Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 6, the modified Chung teaches that the capacitor box includes a control board to perform at least one of heat dissipation function management and monitoring (318 see Cho’s Fig. 4; para 0049-0051) and OT sensor (316a, see Cho’s Fig. 4; para 0049-0051) management and monitoring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 and 11-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung.
Regarding Claim 9:
Chung teaches that a multi pickup coil (30, Fig. 2; para 0017-0031) for wireless
charging of an electric vehicles and an industrial equipment, comprising:
a central coil (31) arranged in a center portion; wing coils (32-33) disposed on both sides of the central coil;
and an outer coil (50) disposed outside the center coil and the wing coils.
Regarding Claim 11:
As applied to claim 9, Chung teaches outer coil and central coil except the outer coil disperses the magnetic field of the central coil.
As of limitation " the outer coil disperses the magnetic field of the central coil ", it is seen that Chung certainly teaches substantially identical structure as shown in Fig. 4 such as central coli, wing coil and outer coil in same filed of endeavor. As per MPEP § 2112.01.I guideline, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the outer coil disperses the magnetic field of the central coil .
Regarding Claim 12:
As applied to claim 9, the modified Chung teaches that the central coil, the wing coils, and the outer coil are electrically connected in {series or} in parallel {or in series-parallel} combination (construed from Chung’s Fig. 4).
Claim 10 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over by Chung
Regarding Claim 10:
As applied to claim 9, Chung teaches that the wing coils are turned in a direction opposite to those of the center coil and the outer coil (see Fig. 3) except the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a same direction.
Although it is not explicitly stated that the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a same direction, this appears to be the case since it is not taught that the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a different direction.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious that the central coil and the outer coil of the multi pickup coil are turned in a same direction to simplify design, reduce manufacturing costs and provide a desired magnetic property.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837