DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
Authorization for this examiner’s amendment was given in an interview with Yama Nezam on 10/03/2025.
In the claim
The application has been amended as follows: please amend claims 1 and 15
1. (Currently Amended) A computer-implemented method for improving interactions with a connected television (CTV) of a user, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a server having one or more computing devices, a video content associated with a product to the CTV, the video content including a code that is scannable, wherein the code includes analytical information;
receiving, from a user device of a user, an indication that the user has scanned the code;
in response to receiving the indication, presenting on a display of the user device an intermediary interface associated with the product, wherein a user action performed on the intermediary interface causes an action to be performed on the CTV;
determining, using a mapping database, that the user device is associated with the CTV, the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device;
in response to determining that the user device is associated with the CTV and that the user action has been performed on the intermediary interface, transmitting, by the server to the CTV, instructions to modify the video content; and
updating, based on the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device, a scan metric associated with the code to include information associated with the CTV, the user device, and the user.
15. (Currently Amended) A computing system, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
transmitting a video content associated with a product to the CTV, the video content including a code that is scannable, wherein the code includes analytical information;
receiving, from a user device of a user, an indication that the user has scanned the code;
in response to receiving the indication, causing an intermediary interface associated with the product to be presented on the user device, wherein a user action performed on the intermediary interface causes an action to be performed on the CTV;
determining, using a mapping database, that the user device is associated with the CTV, the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device;
in response to determining that the user device is associated with the CTV and that the user action has been performed on the intermediary interface, transmitting instructions to modify the video content to the CTV; and
updating, based on the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device, a scan metric associated with the code to include information associated with the CTV, the user device, and the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue that “the office action points to paragraphs 200 and 201 of Fowler describing “updating, based on the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device, a scan metric associated with the code to include information associated with the CIV, the user device, and the user,” as recited in amended claim 1 by incorporating the features of claims 13. The office action does not actually recite any sentences in the two cited paragraphs and only indicates that the claimed features of claim 13 is described in these two cited paragraphs. For convenience, paragraphs 200 and 201 of Fowler are recited below…”( see further the remark section on page.9-11 the recited paragraphs [0200] and [0201] and the arguments). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited paragraphs [0200-0201] of Fowler prior art on the remark section not the exact copy of the paragraph of the Flower reference paragraphs [0200] and [0201]. For convenience, paragraphs [0200] and [0201] of Fowler are recited below:
[0200] Turning to FIG. 9, and a flow diagram (1000) of FIG. 10. These examples define variations of rules can be implemented on the system to deliver dynamic content. FIG. 9 details one such embodiment, with a flow diagram (1000) depicted in FIG. 10. Additional examples and iterations described in further detail. FIG. 9 provides a first step (902) that a user device (14a) scans a tag (16a) on a seat (208). Following a scan of the tag (16a) with the user device (14a), the user is redirected to a tag URL that is uniquely encoded to the specific tag (16a) through step (904). The redirect/identification server (302) receives the tag URL request, checks for a manifest with a unique ID on the user device and informs the interface server (306) and determines the status (new or not new) of the user device (14a) to the system (900). By checking for a manifest and a unique ID on the user device and correlating it with the unique ID stored in the database a confirmation can be made of a new (34) or returning user (36). If the user is new, a new unique ID is generated (906) by the system and stored in the database and on the user device.
[0201] The interface server (306) includes a database (308) of URLs containing unique certificates used to issue digital wallet passes. If the user is determined to be a returning user (36), the interface server confirms that the unique ID located on the user device matches the unique ID in the database. If the user is a new (34) user, the system obtains a manifest with a unique ID and sends it to the user device (steps [406] and [408] from FIG. 4), and records the same within the database. At this point, the user is confirmed with an existing unique ID (22a) or possesses a new unique ID, in either case, the certificate used to issue a digital wallet pass being specific to that user device (14a).
Applicant further argue that with regards to claim 2, the office action now cites Ross, which is a new reference for described the features of claim 2. The office action points to paragraph [0080] of Ross for describing “the instructions to modify the video content include a message to skip the video content." The Examiner has cited the Ross application, which claims priority to a PCT application that was filed on February 28, 2023, as a prior art reference against the present application. However, this reference does not qualify as prior art, as it was published after the priority date of the present application, which is November 14, 2022. As such, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the prior art rejections of claim 2. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited reference, which claims priority of a provisional application No.63/359754, filed on Jul 8, 2022 as a prior art reference against the present application, which is the before the priority date November 14, 2022 of the present application. Therefore, the prior art reference Ross maintained of prior art rejection of claim 2.
Claim Status
Claims 1-8, 10-12,14-15, 17-19 and 21-23 are currently pending in the application.
Claims 9, 13, 16 and 20 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 6-9, 15, 18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217077 A1 to DRYNAN in view US 2022/0150255 A1 to Belli et al, and further in view of US 2023/0025969 A1 to Fowler et al.
As to claims 1 and 15, Drynan discloses a computer-implemented method/ system for improving interactions with a connected television (CTV) [one or more processors; and one or more computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations], (see fig.1-2; page.5,¶0070-¶0071) the method/system comprising: transmitting, by a server having one or more computing devices, a video content associated with a product to the CTV, the video content including a code that is scannable (see fig.8; page.13,¶0193); wherein the code includes analytical information (see fig.8; page.14,¶0196), transmitting, by the server to the CTV, instructions to modify the video content to the CTV (see fig.8; page.14,¶0194).
Drynan fails explicitly discloses in response to receiving the indication, presenting on a display of the user device an intermediary interface associated with the product, wherein a user action performed on the intermediary interface causes an action to be performed on the CTV and in response to determining that the user device is associated with the CTV and that the user action has performed on the intermediary interface, transmitting, by the server to the CTV, instructions to modify the video content to the CTV.
Belli discloses in response to receiving the indication, presenting on a display of the user device an intermediary interface associated with the product, wherein a user action performed on the intermediary interface causes an action to be performed on the CTV and in response to determining that the user device is associated with the CTV and that the user action has performed on the intermediary interface (see fig.8-9; page.7,¶0082-¶0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drynan with the teaching as taught by Belli in order to provide to control of display of at least a portion displayed content on the TV display device via a user device.
Drynan and Belli do not explicitly discloses determining, using a mapping database, that the user device is associated with the CTV, the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device.
Fowler discloses determining, using a mapping database, that the user device is associated with the CTV, the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device (see page.21,¶0200-¶0201); and updating, based on the mapping database indicating that the user is associated with the CTV and the user device, the scan metric associated with the code to include information associated with the CTV, the user device, and the user (see page.21,¶0200-¶0201).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drynan and Belli with the teaching as taught by Fowler in order to confirming a new or returning user of the user device to the system.
As to claim 3, Drynan further discloses in response to receiving the indication, displaying on a display of the user device, a website associated with the product, wherein the website is managed by a third-party associated with the product (see fig.8; page.14,¶0194, ¶0111,¶01118).
As to claim 4, Drynan further discloses in response to receiving the indication, displaying on a display of the user device a link to download a third-party application associated with the product (page.14,¶0109, ¶0109).
As to claims 5 and 18, Belli further discloses in response to receiving the indication, displaying on a display of the user device an intermediary interface associated with the product, wherein the intermediary interface is managed by the server (see fig.1 and 8-9; page.7,¶0082-¶0084)
As to claim 6, Belli further discloses wherein the intermediary interface is a user device graphical user interface (GUI) that is linked to a CTV GUI displayed on the CTV, and wherein a user action performed on the user device GUI results in a related action being taken on the CTV GUI (see fig.1 and 8-9; page.7,¶0082-¶0084).
As to claim 7, Drynan further discloses wherein the code is a QR code(see fig.8; page.13,¶0193).
As to claim 8, Drynan further discloses wherein the user device is a mobile device, and wherein the code is scanned by a camera of the mobile device (see fig.8; page.14,¶0194).
As to claim 21, claim 21 is directed toward embody the method of claim 1 in “computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of DRYNAN and Fowler discussed with respect to claim 1 in a “computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor. It comprises substantially the same method as discussed in claim above; there by the same rejection is applicable.
As to claim 22, Drynan further discloses determining, using the analytical information, a conversion rate of the video content; and storing the conversion rate of the video content in an analytical database (see page.7,¶0106, ¶0109).
As to claim 23, Drynan further discloses transmitting, to a device associated with a third-party that created the video content, a performance value of the video content based on the analytical information (see page.7,¶0110).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217077 A1 to DRYNAN in view US 2022/0150255 A1 to Belli et al, and further in view of US 2023/0025969 A1 to Fowler et al, and further in view of US 2024/0373086 A1 to Ross et al.
As to claim 2, DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler fail discloses wherein the instructions to modify the video content includes a message to skip the video content.
Ross discloses wherein the instructions to modify the video content includes a message to skip the video content (see fig. 7A-7D; page.11,¶0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler with the teaching as taught by Ross in order to reward the viewer for having taken action or to incentivize the viewer to take action not yet taken.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217077 A1 to DRYNAN in view US 2022/0150255 A1 to Belli et al, and further in view of US 2023/0025969 A1 to Fowler et al, and further in view of US 2012/0181330 A1 to Kim.
As to claim 10, DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler fail discloses wherein the indication received from the user device does not include any personal identifiable information (PII).
Kim discloses wherein the indication received from the user device does not include any personal identifiable information (PII) ( page.3,¶0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler with the teaching as taught by Kim in order to protect the privacy of the user.
As to claim 11, Kim further discloses wherein the indication received from the user device does not include an IP address associated with the user device (page.3,¶0045-¶0046).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217077 A1 to DRYNAN in view US 2022/0150255 A1 to Belli et al, and further in view of US 2023/0025969 A1 to Fowler et al, and further in view of US 2024/0373086 A1 to Ross et al, and further in view of and further in view of US 2012/0181330 A1 to Kim.
As to claim 17, DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler fail to discloses wherein the instructions to modify the video content includes a message to skip the video content, and wherein the indication received from the user device does not include any personal identifiable information (PII).
Ross discloses wherein the instructions to modify the video content includes a message to skip the video content (see fig. 7A-7D; page.11,¶0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler with the teaching as taught by Ross in order to reward the viewer for having taken action or to incentivize the viewer to take action not yet taken.
DRYNAN, Belli, Fowler and Ross fail to discloses wherein the indication received from the user device does not include any personal identifiable information (PII).
Kim discloses wherein the indication received from the user device does not include any personal identifiable information (PII) ( page.3,¶0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DRYNAN, Belli, Fowler and Ross with the teaching as taught by Kim in order to protect the privacy of the user.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217077 A1 to DRYNAN in view US 2022/0150255 A1 to Belli et al, and further in view of US 2023/0025969 A1 to Fowler et al, and further in view of US 2014/0319209 A1 to Beadles.
As to claims 12 and 19, DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler fail discloses maintaining, by the server, a database of metrics, the metrics including a scan metric associated with the code; updating the scan metric associated with the code based on the indication that the user has scanned the code, the scan metric including a number of scans associated with the code; and transmitting, by the server, information from the scan metric to a third-party associated with the product.
Beadles discloses maintaining, by the server, a database of metrics, the metrics including a scan metric associated with the code; updating the scan metric associated with the code based on the indication that the user has scanned the code, the scan metric including a number of scans associated with the code; and transmitting, by the server, information from the scan metric to a third-party associated with the product (page.10,¶0123-¶0124).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler with the teaching as taught by Beadles in order to provide reward based on metrics or statistics regarding the number of times that a tag has been scanned.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217077 A1 to DRYNAN in view US 2022/0150255 A1 to Belli et al, and further in view of US 2023/0025969 A1 to Fowler et al, and further in view of US 9826049 B2 Lim et al.
As to claim 14, DRYNAN discloses wherein the metrics including a purchase metric associated with the code, the method further comprising: in response to receiving the indication that the user has scanned the code, displaying on a display of the user device, an option to purchase the product; determining, based on a user input, that the product has been purchased by the user (see fig.8; page.14,¶0193- ¶0194, ¶0012, ¶0031).
DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler fail to discloses updating the purchase metric associated with the code based on the determination that the product has been purchased, the purchase metric including a number of purchases associated with the code.
Lim discloses updating the purchase metric associated with the code based on the determination that the product has been purchased, the purchase metric including a number of purchases associated with the code (see col.9,ll.42-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DRYNAN, Belli and Fowler with the teaching as taught by Lim in order to track the number of contents purchased according to response to a scan or entry of a QR code by a user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424