DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 23 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 and Claim 30 recites, inter alia, the limitations of “wherein the quantity of the network frequency point …” reciting “the quantity” which indicates that the current limitations refers back to a previous limitation reciting “a quantity”.
However, a review of the preceding limitations from which the claims are dependent upon shows no previous recitation of “a quantity” and as such, the claims lack antecedent basis.
The claims appears to be a typographical error and should instead be written as “a quantity” (i.e. “wherein a quantity of the network frequency point …”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 21-33 have been added.
Claims: 1-20 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTE:
The examiner notes that the applicant’s amendments have changed the scope of the claims that necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-33 directed towards limitations reciting “setting a cycle number threshold, and when a cycle number reaches the cycle number threshold, stopping cyclical search.” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/07/25 with regards to claims 21-33 directed towards limitations reciting “wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected;” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS:
The applicant argues that the current claim 21 recites “A network connection method, comprising: extracting a network frequency point table from a frequency point storage area when it is detected that a vehicle is in a stalled state, wherein the network frequency point table at least comprises one network frequency point, and the network frequency point is acquired and stored in the network frequency point table after the vehicle is started; cyclically searching for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table; determining a current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point; determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, a target network frequency point to be connected; and connecting to the target network frequency point, and then performing data interaction; wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold,
and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected; wherein the network connection method further comprises: setting a cycle number threshold, and when a cycle number reaches the cycle number threshold, stopping cyclical search” (Emphasis added). … It can be seen that Lei only discloses telematics network is dynamically selected by comparing the network signal strength with the threshold signal strength, and if there is any network at all above the threshold signal strength, the process will identify the network with the highest relative signal strength and connect to that network. However, in the present application, when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, one of the network frequency points, instead of the network frequency point with the highest relative signal strength, can be selected as the target network frequency point to be connected, which is totally different from Lei … (See pages 8-10 of Applicant’s Arguments filed on 11/07/25).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Contrary to the applicant’s arguments the teachings of Lei does disclose the applicant’s argued limitations of “wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected;” as will be apparent in the following explanations provided below.
To begin with, the examiner notes that the applicant’s arguments do not explicitly indicate which specific limitations the cited Lei fails to disclose but appears to be directed towards emphasized limitations reciting “wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected;” and will be interpreted as such.
In addition, the examiner notes that the applicant’s claims are written broad in that the language of the claims merely recites that the target network frequency point is selected from among network frequency points that are above a signal strength threshold with no explicit recitation as to how such selection is performed and as such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention would include a selection of the network frequency point according to a number of criteria including a criteria such as the highest signal strength which is clearly disclosed by Lei.
The examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted teachings of Lei, [0038] & [0056]-[0057] seen below:
[0056] If there is no available preferred network above the threshold signal strength 413, the process will determine if there is any available network at all above the threshold signal strength 417. Again, the vehicle tracks the current network signal strengths of the networks associated with all stored SIM profiles, so at any given time the TCU knows the relative signal strengths of all available networks.
[0057] If there is any network at all above the threshold signal strength, the process will identify (if multiple networks meet this criteria) the network with the highest relative signal strength and connect to that network 419. Since at this point in the process no preferred networks meeting the signal strength criteria were found, the process will be selecting the strongest available secondary network.
[0038] The process begins by checking the signal strength of a currently utilized cellular network, usable based on a locally available and connectable cellular device 201. The cellular device could be either a vehicle-installed device or a device that is somehow connected or tethered to a TCU or other vehicle computing system. The process compares a current network signal strength to a predetermined signal strength (indicative of a usable or preferred minimum signal strength, for example). The predetermined signal strength can be defined by the original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or the user depending on the particular implementation. The signal strength or preferred signal may be defined according to various associated parameters such as minimum usable signal or minimum throughput, cost, etc. If the signal strength is above the threshold 203, the process may loop and continue checking signal strength until the signal strength falls below the threshold. As previously noted, this loop could also include checking the signal strength of a preferred network (if not presently connected) and swapping to the preferred network if the associated signal strength is above the threshold. This may occur even if the signal strength of the presently connected network is not below the threshold checked at 203. Different thresholds may be defined for different devices and their associated networks.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Lei seen above, Lei, [0056]-[0057] discloses the vehicle tracks the current network signal strengths (i.e. reads on determining a current network signal strength) of the networks (i.e. reads on corresponding to each network frequency point) associated with all stored SIM profiles (i.e. reads on the network frequency point table), so at any given time the TCU knows the relative signal strengths of all available networks and discloses If there is any network at all above the threshold signal strength (i.e. reads on determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point and reads on wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold), the process will identify if multiple networks meet this criteria the network with the highest relative signal strength and connect to that network (i.e. reads on a target network frequency point to be connected; and connecting to the target network frequency point and reads on selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected) and Lei, [0038] discloses the predetermined signal strength can be defined (i.e. reads on setting a signal strength threshold) by the original equipment manufacturer OEM or the user depending on the particular implementation which clearly indicates to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize and find obvious a signal strength threshold is set and utilized in determining candidate networks that have signal strengths above a threshold and a network with the highest signal strength is selected as a target network to connect to from the candidate networks and therefore reads on applicant’s argued limitations of “wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected;”.
Therefore, the argued limitations read upon the cited references or are written broad such that they read upon the cited references, as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 24, 27-29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaminathan et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0309399 herein after referenced as Swami) in view of LEI et al. (US Patent Publication 2017/0339617 herein after referenced as Lei) and further in view of KIM et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0221371 herein after referenced as Kim).
Regarding claim 21 and claim 28, Swami discloses:
A network connection method, comprising: and An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores at least one instruction, at least one program, and a code set or an instruction set, and the processor is configured to load and execute the at least one instruction, the at least one program, the code set or the instruction set to: (Swami, [0079] Fig. 5 & discloses if the cellular scan performed in 504 is successful, and the scan does determine a new cell on which to camp, then in 512 the UE (i.e. reads on electronic device) camps on the new cell (i.e. reads on network connection method) determined in 504 and begins using the new base station cellular frequency determined in 504; Swami, [0081] discloses the desire for a new cellular scan may be a reselection scan when the UE is currently camped on a cell but decides to perform a scan or search for a better cell on which to connect; Swami, [0048] discloses the UE may include hardware and software components for implementing features for performing more efficient cellular base station scanning and the processor of the UE device may be configured to implement part or all of the methods by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium such as a non-transitory computer readable medium).
extracting a network frequency point table from a frequency point storage area when it is detected that a vehicle is in a stalled state, wherein the network frequency point table at least comprises one network frequency point, (Swami, Fig. 7 & [0091]-[0092] discloses the mobility state of the UE may be determined and if the UE has low mobility and is slower moving or stationary (i.e. reads on if it is detected that a vehicle is in a stalled state), the algorithm may be continued at 912 and discloses at 912, once it is determined that the UE has low mobility, N_Full_Scan may be compared to i and if N_Full_Scan is less than i, a scan may be performed on frequencies (i.e. reads on comprises at least one frequency point) in a successful frequency list (i.e. reads on extracting a network frequency point table) at 918; Swami, [0100] discloses if the UE is in a lower mobility state such as no motion (i.e. reads on vehicle is in a stalled state) and if the UE is in a higher mobility state such as in a moving vehicle (i.e. reads on vehicle); Swami, [0084] discloses when the UE is about to perform a particular scan type, the UE examines the scan history data structure (i.e. reads on extracting from a frequency point storage area) to determine if the data structure has information on the current cell on which the UE is camped for a similar scan type; Swami, Fig. 5 & [0076]-[0077] discloses the cellular scan result data structure may comprise other information such as a list of frequencies to be scanned for each cell and discloses the scan operation may be based at least in part on the information contained in the previous scan result data structure and the UE may examine the contents of the scan history data structed maintained in 502 and updated as indicated in 510 and 514 and use this information to adjust one or more of the frequency of the cellular scan or the cellular scan operation itself; Swami, [0069] discloses the UE stores and/or maintains information regarding results of previous cellular network scans and the UE may maintain a data structure that stores a number of successful and/or unsuccessful cellular network scans on a per cell basis as well as a per cell frequency basis. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the invention when the invention is implemented in the context of a moving vehicle, the mobility state of the UE to be stationary or having no motion is due to when the vehicle is stopped or stalled and the UE would perform a frequency scan by examining and extracting the successful frequency list stored in the data structure).
and the network frequency point is acquired and stored in the network frequency point table after the vehicle is started; (Swami, [0093] discloses at 914, once it is determined that the UE has high mobility (i.e. reads on after the vehicle is started), N_Full_Scan may be compared to i-1 and if N_Full_Scan is greater than i-1, then a full scan may be performed (i.e. reads on and the network frequency point is acquired and stored in the network frequency point table) and if N_Full_Scan is less than i-1, a scan may be performed on frequencies in a successful frequency list; Swami, [0069] discloses the UE stores and/or maintains information regarding results of previous cellular network scans and the UE may maintain a data structure that stores a number of successful and/or unsuccessful cellular network scans on a per cell basis as well as a per cell frequency basis (i.e. reads on the network frequency point is acquired and stored in the network frequency point table); Swami, [0100] discloses if the UE is in a lower mobility state such as no motion and if the UE is in a higher mobility state such as in a moving vehicle (i.e. reads on after the vehicle is started); Swami, Fig. 5 & [0077] discloses the scan operation may be based at least in part on the information contained in the previous scan result data structure and the UE may examine the contents of the scan history data structed maintained in 502 and updated as indicated in 510 and 514 and use this information to adjust one or more of the frequency of the cellular scan or the cellular scan operation itself; Swami, Fig. 5 & [0079] discloses if the cellular scan performed is successful, then the UE stores information regarding the new cell in the scan result data structure and the UE operates to update information in the scan result data structure that is being maintained; Swami, [0104] discloses the scan times are split into scans for most recently used frequencies and full band scans on bands likely to be found in the last camped area. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the invention when the invention is implemented in the context of a moving vehicle, the mobility state of the UE to be high mobility is due to when the vehicle is moving and the frequency scan performed during the high mobility state would result in information regarding the success of the frequencies being acquired is stored in the data structure).
cyclically searching for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table; (Swami, Fig. 7 & [0092]-[0093] discloses at 912, once it is determined that the UE has low mobility, N_Full_Scan may be compared to i and if N_Full_Scan is less than i, a scan may be performed on frequencies in a successful frequency list (i.e. reads on cyclically searching for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table) at 918 and discloses at 914, once it is determined that the UE has high mobility, N_Full_Scan may be compared to i-1 and if N_Full_Scan is greater than i-1, then a full scan may be performed and if N_Full_Scan is less than i-1, a scan may be performed on frequencies in a successful frequency list; Swami, [0082] discloses the UE may maintain a respective scan frequency or scan schedule that is particular or unique to each scan type and the UE may maintain a variable for each scan type referred to as N_full_scan, that denotes a number of scan cycles (i.e. reads on cyclically searching) since the last regular scan performed by the UE for each respective scan type and the UE may maintain a respective scan frequency or scan schedule that is particular or unique to each scan failure type and for example, the UE may use a first scan frequency or rate if the scan failure type was a pilot acquisition failure and the UE may use a second scan frequency or rate if the scan failure type was a system information decode failure; Swami, [0099] discloses the UE may check the failure count for the cell and compare the failure count to a failure threshold and if the failure count for cell X/Y exceeds the threshold, the UE may perform the HP-PLMN 1 out of a specified number of scans such as if the specified number of scans is 4, then the UE may perform the HP-PLMN 1 out of every 4 scans meaning the scan would only occur once every 24 minutes (i.e. reads on cyclically searching) while on cell X/Y; Swami, [0105] discloses it may be desirable to optimize DBS and SLS cans in order to decrease the occurrences of scans with extended duration and it may be desirable to decrease power consumption by adjusting scan / sleep duty cycle and selecting the best frequencies / systems to scan based on past history without affecting performance).
(Swami, [0079] Fig. 5 & discloses if the cellular scan performed in 504 is successful (i.e. reads on determining a target network frequency point to be connected), and the scan does determine a new cell on which to camp, then in 512 the UE camps on the new cell determined in 504 and begins using the new base station cellular frequency (i.e. reads on connecting to the target network frequency point) determined in 504).
Swami discloses performing a frequency scan to scan or search for a better cell to connect to and camping and connecting to the base station cellular frequency but fails to explicitly disclose that said selection and connection involves the use of signal strength values and that data interaction was performed after camping or connecting to the new cell and therefore fails to disclose “determining a current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point; determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, a target network frequency point to be connected; and connecting to the target network frequency point, and then performing data interaction; wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected.”
In addition, Swami discloses performing scans or searches of different types of frequency lists but fails to explicitly disclose stopping the scan or search when a number of searches has been performed and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the network connection method further comprises: setting a cycle number threshold, and when a cycle number reaches the cycle number threshold, stopping cyclical search”.
In a related field of endeavor, Lei discloses:
determining a current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point; determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, a target network frequency point to be connected; and connecting to the target network frequency point, and then performing data interaction; wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold, selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected; (Lei, [0056]-[0057] discloses the vehicle tracks the current network signal strengths (i.e. reads on determining a current network signal strength) of the networks (i.e. reads on corresponding to each network frequency point) associated with all stored SIM profiles (i.e. reads on the network frequency point table), so at any given time the TCU knows the relative signal strengths of all available networks and discloses If there is any network at all above the threshold signal strength (i.e. reads on determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point and reads on wherein determining, according to the current network signal strength corresponding to each network frequency point, the target network frequency point to be connected comprises: setting a signal strength threshold, and when the current network signal strength corresponding to network frequency points in the network frequency point table is greater than the signal strength threshold), the process will identify if multiple networks meet this criteria the network with the highest relative signal strength and connect to that network (i.e. reads on a target network frequency point to be connected; and connecting to the target network frequency point and reads on selecting one of the network frequency points as the target network frequency point to be connected); Lei, [0020] discloses data maybe communicated (i.e. reads on performing data interaction) between CPU 3 and network 61 (i.e. reads on connecting to the target network frequency point) utilizing a data plan, data over voice or DTMF tones associated with nomadic device and alternatively, It may be desirable to include an onboard modem having antenna in order to communicate data between CPU 3 and network 61 over the voice band; Lei, [0023]-[0024] discloses data transfer can use the whole bandwidth such as 300 Hz to 3.4 kHz (i.e. reads on network frequency point) and discloses incoming data can be passed through the nomadic device; Lei, Fig. 2 & [0038] discloses the process beings by checking the signal strength of a currently utilized cellular network, usable based on the locally available and connectable cellular device and the cellular device could be either a vehicle installed device or a device that is somehow connected or tethered to a TCU or other vehicle system and the predetermined signal strength can be defined (i.e. reads on setting a signal strength threshold) by the original equipment manufacturer OEM or the user depending on the particular implementation; Lei, [0035] discloses by storing the ISM profiles of all available connected / connectable devices in the vehicle, the system can use those profiles to determine relative network strengths of networks associated with those SIM profiles and provide connectivity based on the strongest available network; Lei, [0018] discloses the system uses Bluetooth transceiver to communicate with a user’s nomadic device such as a cell phone, smart phone, PDA or any other device having wireless remote network connectivity and the nomadic device can then be used to communicate with a network outside the vehicle; Lei, [0002] discloses vehicular telematics services utilize cellular networks to provide connectivity between the vehicle and remote networks and devices and these cellular networks are accessed using an onboard modem or a user cellular device connected to a telematics control unit TCU; Lei, [0031] discloses vehicle TCUs can dynamically leverage the best available network to provide the best available signal strength and transmission rates which may be more powerful and less impacted by vehicle attenuation and may improve the user experience by increasing throughput and reducing dropped or lost packets. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the vehicle scans the frequencies of each network to determine the signal strengths of each network and selects the network with the highest signal strength from among the networks that have signal strengths above a predetermined threshold as the target network to connect to and wherein the scanning can be performed by either the vehicle itself or through a connected mobile device).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Swami to incorporate the teachings of Lei for the purpose of providing the system with a means to dynamically leverage the best available network to provide the best available signal strength and transmission rates which may be more powerful and less impacted by vehicle attenuation and may improve the user experience by increasing throughput and reducing dropped or lost packets (Lei, [0031]) and by providing alternative devices to perform the network scanning either via a vehicle integrated device or a mobile device connected to the vehicle system (Lei, [0038]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of scanning multiple frequencies of various network and selecting a network to connect and camp on as taught by Swami) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of scanning multiple frequencies of various network and selecting a network to connect and camp on, wherein the scanning can be performed by either a mobile device connected to the vehicle or a vehicle integrated device and involves the use of signal strengths in performing a selection of the network and performing data transfer after a connection is made as taught by Lei) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of scanning multiple frequencies of various network and selecting a network to connect and camp on (i.e. as taught by Swami & Lei) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Swami in view of Lei discloses fails to disclose “wherein the network connection method further comprises: setting a cycle number threshold, and when a cycle number reaches the cycle number threshold, stopping cyclical search.”
In a related field of endeavor, Kim discloses:
wherein the network connection method further comprises: setting a cycle number threshold, and when a cycle number reaches the cycle number threshold, stopping cyclical search (Kim, [0107] discloses if obtaining the PLMN information fails even though the network scan has been performed at least a specified number of times (i.e. reads on setting a cycle number threshold and reads on when a cycle number reaches the cycle number threshold) using the first schedule, the electronic device may change a schedule used (i.e. reads on stopping cyclical search) in operation 901 from the first schedule to a second schedule; Kim, [0104]-[0105] discloses the electronic device may repeat a network scan such as a first scan according to the first schedule a specified number of times and since a full scan based on the first list causes a large amount of battery power consumption and takes a long search time, the full scan may be set to be performed only one time when the first schedule is performed one time and a scan such as a second scan based on the second list or a scan such as a third scan based on the third list is performed with respect to only limited target wireless resources, those scans may be repeated multiple times within one schedule and discloses in the case where the first scan has been repeated a specified number of times, but the electronic device still remains in the OOS state, the electronic device may perform a network scan such as the second scan using a second schedule different from the first schedule and the second scan may have scan timings with a relatively long interval since it is highly possible that the electronic device will remain for a while in a region where a network is not available).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Swami in view of Lei to incorporate the teachings of Lei for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conserve battery power by limiting the amount of scans or searches being performed (Kim, [0104]-[0105] & [0007]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing scans or searches of different types of frequency lists as taught by Swami) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing scans or searches of different types of frequency lists, wherein each list has a maximum number of scans or searches as taught by Kim) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing scans or searches of different types of frequency lists (i.e. as taught by Swami & Kim) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 22 and claim 29, Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim discloses:
The method according to claim 21, wherein, before extracting the network frequency point table from the frequency point storage area when it is detected that the vehicle is in the stalled state, the method further comprises: (see claim 21) and The electronic device according to claim 28, wherein the processor is further configured to: (see claim 28).
searching for a network frequency point when it is detected that the vehicle is in a started state; and storing the network frequency point acquired by searching in the network frequency point table (Swami, Fig. 5 & [0077] discloses the scan operation may be based at least in part on the information contained in the previous scan result data structure and the UE may examine the contents of the scan history data structure maintained in 502 and updated as indicated in 510 and 514 and use this information to adjust one or more of the frequency of the cellular scan or the cellular scan operation itself; Swami, [0093] discloses at 914, once it is determined that the UE has high mobility, N_Full_Scan may be compared to i-1 and if N_Full_Scan is greater than i-1, then a full scan may be performed and if N_Full_Scan is less than i-1, a scan may be performed on frequencies in a successful frequency list; Swami, [0069] discloses the UE stores and/or maintains information regarding results of previous cellular network scans and the UE may maintain a data structure that stores a number of successful and/or unsuccessful cellular network scans on a per cell basis as well as a per cell frequency basis; Swami, Fig. 7 & [0091]-[0092] discloses the mobility state of the UE may be determined and if the UE has low mobility and is slower moving or stationary, the algorithm may be continued at 912 and discloses at 912, once it is determined that the UE has low mobility, N_Full_Scan may be compared to i and if N_Full_Scan is less than i, a scan may be performed on frequencies in a successful frequency list at 918; Swami, [0100] discloses if the UE is in a lower mobility state such as no motion and if the UE is in a higher mobility state such as in a moving vehicle; Swami, Fig. 5 & [0079] discloses if the cellular scan performed is successful, then the UE stores information regarding the new cell in the scan result data structure and the UE operates to update information in the scan result data structure that is being maintained; Swami, [0104] discloses the scan times are split into scans for most recently used frequencies and full band scans on bands likely to be found in the last camped area. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the invention when the invention is implemented in the context of a moving vehicle, the mobility state of the UE to be high mobility is due to when the vehicle is moving and stationary when the vehicle is not moving or stalled and the frequency scan performed during the high mobility state would result in information regarding the success of the frequencies being acquired that is stored in the data structure and utilized by the UE when the UE is stationary in a vehicle that is not moving).
Regarding claim 24 and claim 31, Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim discloses:
The method according to claim 21, wherein cyclically searching for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table comprises: (see claim 21) and The electronic device according to claim 28, wherein the processor is further configured to (see claim 28).
cyclically searching for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table according to a preset first time interval (Swami, [0082] discloses the UE may maintain a respective scan frequency or scan schedule that is particular or unique to each scan type and the UE may maintain a variable for each scan type referred to as N_full_scan, that denotes a number of scan cycles since the last regular scan performed by the UE for each respective scan type and the UE may maintain a respective scan frequency or scan schedule that is particular or unique to each scan failure type and for example, the UE may use a first scan frequency or rate if the scan failure type was a pilot acquisition failure and the UE may use a second scan frequency or rate if the scan failure type was a system information decode failure; Swami, [0099] discloses the UE may check the failure count for the cell and compare the failure count to a failure threshold and if the failure count for cell X/Y exceeds the threshold, the UE may perform the HP-PLMN 1 out of a specified number of scans such as if the specified number of scans is 4, then the UE may perform the HP-PLMN 1 out of every 4 scans meaning the scan would only occur once every 24 minutes while on cell X/Y; Swami, [0105] discloses it may be desirable to optimize DBS and SLS cans in order to decrease the occurrences of scans with extended duration and it may be desirable to decrease power consumption by adjusting scan / sleep duty cycle and selecting the best frequencies / systems to scan based on past history without affecting performance).
Regarding claim 27, Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores at least one instruction, at least one program, a code set or an instruction set, wherein the at least one instruction, the at least one program, the code set or the instruction set is loaded and executed by a processor (Swami, [0048] discloses the UE may include hardware and software components for implementing features for performing more efficient cellular base station scanning and the processor of the UE device may be configured to implement part or all of the methods by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium such as a non-transitory computer readable medium).
to implement the network connection method according to claim 21 (see claim 21).
Claim(s) 23 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaminathan et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0309399 herein after referenced as Swami) in view of LEI et al. (US Patent Publication 2017/0339617 herein after referenced as Lei) in view of KIM et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0221371 herein after referenced as Kim) and further in view of Eaton et al. (US Patent 5,682,147 herein after referenced as Eaton).
Regarding claim 23 and claim 30, Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim discloses:
The method according to claim 22, (see claim 22) and The electronic device according to claim 29, wherein the processor is further configured to (see claim 30).
wherein a quantity of the network frequency point in the network frequency point table is preset; and storing the network frequency point acquired by searching in the network frequency point table comprises: replacing a historical network frequency point in the network frequency point table with the network frequency point acquired by searching (Swami, [0098] discloses the lists may be limited to a specified number of entries and thus if a new cell is to be added to one of the lists and adding the new cell would exceed the specified number of entries, the bottom-most entry may be removed when the new one is added to the top).
Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim discloses updating a scan list by replacing the bottom-most entry in the list of frequencies to be searched when adding a new one and the list has already reached the maximum number of entries but fails to explicitly disclose that said bottom-most entry that is removed is the oldest entry and therefore fails to disclose “replacing a historical network frequency point in the network frequency point table with the network frequency point acquired by searching according to a time sequence.”
In a related field of endeavor, Eaton discloses:
replacing a historical network frequency point in the network frequency point table with the network frequency point acquired by searching according to a time sequence (Eaton, Column 13, Lines 30-35 discloses the primary receiver dynamically rebuilds the primary scan list such that the top entry is the frequency associated SSID or NID that the receiver was last locked to and as new frequencies are added, older frequencies associated with NIDs are removed if the scan list memory locations are full).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Eaton for the purpose of providing the system with a means to ensure that the list is updated with the newest frequencies even when the maximum entries are reached (Eaton, Column 13, Lines 30-35) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of updating a scan list by replacing the bottom-most entry in the list of frequencies to be searched when adding a new one and the list has already reached the maximum number of entries as taught by Swami) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of updating a scan list by replacing the bottom-most entry in the list of frequencies to be searched when adding a new one and the list has already reached the maximum number of entries, wherein the bottom-most entry that is replaced corresponds to the older frequencies as taught by Eaton) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of updating a scan list by replacing the bottom-most entry in the list of frequencies to be searched when adding a new one and the list has already reached the maximum number of entries (i.e. as taught by Swami & Eaton) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 25-26 and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaminathan et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0309399 herein after referenced as Swami) in view of LEI et al. (US Patent Publication 2017/0339617 herein after referenced as Lei) in view of KIM et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0221371 herein after referenced as Kim) and further in view of Tamura (US Patent Publication 2019/0098627 herein after referenced as Tamura).
Regarding claim 25, Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim discloses:
The method according to claim 24, wherein, after cyclically searching for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table, the method further comprises: (see claim 24).
Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim fails to disclose “when each network frequency point in the network frequency point table cannot be searched, starting a next round of cyclical search for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table based on a preset second time interval.”
In a related field of endeavor, Tamura discloses:
when each network frequency point in the network frequency point table cannot be searched, starting a next round of cyclical search for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table based on a preset second time interval (Tamura, Fig. 11B & [0094]-[0095] discloses the power save mode m2 involves using the schedule scan timer and setting the interval for the channel scan and at an initial operation of scanning all the channels, the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec and the channel scan control unit scans the channels at the interval of 10 sec and discloses the connection is not established through the channel scan at the interval of 10 sec, in which case the channel scan control unit retries the channel scan and the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec at a first retry of the channel scan and is set so as to extend the interval by every 10 sec from a second retry onward and thus the channel scan control unit scans all the channels while extending the interval step wise and Fig. 11B shows the setting of schedule scan timer retry increasing from 10 sec, to 20 sec and all the way up to 150 sec; Tamura, [0032]-[0033] discloses the control unit scans the channels ch1 …, ch4 connectable to the wireless base station device at intervals a1, a2, …, an such as a1 < a2 < … < an and discloses the control unit keeps scanning the channels while extending the interval till detecting the connectable wireless base station device and when unable to detect the connectable wireless base station device at a scan Sc1-1, a scan Sc1-2 is conducted after the interval a2 longer than the interval a1 and the same operation is herein after applied; Tamura, [0040] discloses the respective channels are spaced by every 5 MHz and one channel width is 22 MHz and central frequencies of the respective channels are set to 2.412 GHz for ch1, 2.437 GHz for ch6, 2.462 GHz for ch11 and 2.484 GHz for ch14; Tamura, [0024] discloses the power consumption is therefore restrained by performing a power-save channel scan contrived to extend the scan interval).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Tamura for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conserve battery power and restraining power consumption by performing a power-save channel scan contrived to extend the scan interval (Tamura, [0024]) utilizing settings from a specific power save mode profile (Tamura, Fig. 11B & [0094]-[0095]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of decreasing the occurrences of scans as taught by Swami) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of decreasing the occurrences of scans, wherein the scan interval is adjusted multiple times extending the scan interval each time with an initial interval set at 10 seconds as taught by Tamura) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of decreasing the occurrences of scans (i.e. as taught by Swami & Tamura) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 26, Swami in view of Lei in view of Kim and further in view of Tamura discloses:
The method according to claim 25, wherein the method further comprises: (see claim 25).
when a round number of the cyclical search reaches a preset round number, searching for the network frequency point according to a preset third time interval to acquire a new network frequency point (Swami, [0087] discloses the N_Full_Scan value may be used whereby a scan is performed for a particular cellular frequency only if a number of scan cycles since the last regular full scan performed by the UE on that frequency is greater than a certain threshold; Tamura, [0032]-[0033] discloses the control unit scans the channels ch1 …, ch4 connectable to the wireless base station device at intervals a1, a2, …, an such as a1 < a2 < … < an and discloses the control unit keeps scanning the channels while extending the interval till detecting the connectable wireless base station device and when unable to detect the connectable wireless base station device at a scan Sc1-1, a scan Sc1-2 is conducted after the interval a2 longer than the interval a1 and the same operation is herein after applied; Tamura, Fig. 11B & [0094]-[0095] discloses the power save mode m2 involves using the schedule scan timer and setting the interval for the channel scan and at an initial operation of scanning all the channels, the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec and the channel scan control unit scans the channels at the interval of 10 sec and discloses the connection is not established through the channel scan at the interval of 10 sec, in which case the channel scan control unit retries the channel scan and the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec at a first retry of the channel scan and is set so as to extend the interval by every 10 sec from a second retry onward and thus the channel scan control unit scans all the channels while extending the interval step wise and Fig. 11B shows the setting of schedule scan timer retry increasing from 10 sec, to 20 sec and all the way up to 150 sec).
Regarding claim 32, Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim discloses:
The electronic device according to claim 31, wherein the processor is further configured to (see claim 31).
Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim fails to disclose “start a next round of cyclical search for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table based on a preset second time interval when each network frequency point in the network frequency point table cannot be searched.”
In a related field of endeavor, Tamura discloses:
start a next round of cyclical search for each network frequency point in the network frequency point table based on a preset second time interval when each network frequency point in the network frequency point table cannot be searched (Tamura, Fig. 11B & [0094]-[0095] discloses the power save mode m2 involves using the schedule scan timer and setting the interval for the channel scan and at an initial operation of scanning all the channels, the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec and the channel scan control unit scans the channels at the interval of 10 sec and discloses the connection is not established through the channel scan at the interval of 10 sec, in which case the channel scan control unit retries the channel scan and the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec at a first retry of the channel scan and is set so as to extend the interval by every 10 sec from a second retry onward and thus the channel scan control unit scans all the channels while extending the interval step wise and Fig. 11B shows the setting of schedule scan timer retry increasing from 10 sec, to 20 sec and all the way up to 150 sec; Tamura, [0032]-[0033] discloses the control unit scans the channels ch1 …, ch4 connectable to the wireless base station device at intervals a1, a2, …, an such as a1 < a2 < … < an and discloses the control unit keeps scanning the channels while extending the interval till detecting the connectable wireless base station device and when unable to detect the connectable wireless base station device at a scan Sc1-1, a scan Sc1-2 is conducted after the interval a2 longer than the interval a1 and the same operation is herein after applied; Tamura, [0040] discloses the respective channels are spaced by every 5 MHz and one channel width is 22 MHz and central frequencies of the respective channels are set to 2.412 GHz for ch1, 2.437 GHz for ch6, 2.462 GHz for ch11 and 2.484 GHz for ch14; Tamura, [0024] discloses the power consumption is therefore restrained by performing a power-save channel scan contrived to extend the scan interval).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Swami in view of Lei and further in view of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Tamura for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conserve battery power and restraining power consumption by performing a power-save channel scan contrived to extend the scan interval (Tamura, [0024]) utilizing settings from a specific power save mode profile (Tamura, Fig. 11B & [0094]-[0095]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of decreasing the occurrences of scans as taught by Swami) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of decreasing the occurrences of scans, wherein the scan interval is adjusted multiple times extending the scan interval each time with an initial interval set at 10 seconds as taught by Tamura) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of decreasing the occurrences of scans (i.e. as taught by Swami & Tamura) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 33, Swami in view of Lei in view of Kim and further in view of Tamura discloses:
The electronic device according to claim 32, wherein the processor is further configured to (see claim 32).
search for the network frequency point according to a preset third time interval to acquire a new network frequency point when a round number of the cyclical search reaches a preset round number (Swami, [0087] discloses the N_Full_Scan value may be used whereby a scan is performed for a particular cellular frequency only if a number of scan cycles since the last regular full scan performed by the UE on that frequency is greater than a certain threshold; Tamura, [0032]-[0033] discloses the control unit scans the channels ch1 …, ch4 connectable to the wireless base station device at intervals a1, a2, …, an such as a1 < a2 < … < an and discloses the control unit keeps scanning the channels while extending the interval till detecting the connectable wireless base station device and when unable to detect the connectable wireless base station device at a scan Sc1-1, a scan Sc1-2 is conducted after the interval a2 longer than the interval a1 and the same operation is herein after applied; Tamura, Fig. 11B & [0094]-[0095] discloses the power save mode m2 involves using the schedule scan timer and setting the interval for the channel scan and at an initial operation of scanning all the channels, the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec and the channel scan control unit scans the channels at the interval of 10 sec and discloses the connection is not established through the channel scan at the interval of 10 sec, in which case the channel scan control unit retries the channel scan and the schedule scan timer is set to 10 sec at a first retry of the channel scan and is set so as to extend the interval by every 10 sec from a second retry onward and thus the channel scan control unit scans all the channels while extending the interval step wise and Fig. 11B shows the setting of schedule scan timer retry increasing from 10 sec, to 20 sec and all the way up to 150 sec).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645