Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hille et al (US 6,187,322 B1) in view WO 2008069012A2.
As to claim 1, Hille et al teaches (see Fig 1) a dosing device (2) for manufacturing a therapeutic transdermal system (see column 1, lines 15-17 and claim 1) for dosing therapeutic liquids onto a support element of the therapeutic transdermal system (see Fig 1) comprising: a liquid dispensing device comprising a metering pump (see Abstract and a piston type dosing pump) fluidically connected to the feeding pipe (1); a dosing head (distribution plate 3) fluidically connected to the liquid dispensing device for dispensing the therapeutic liquid conveyed by the liquid dispensing device to the support element (web-shaped material 7) of the therapeutic transdermal system (see claim 1); and the liquid has transferred by relative motion between the applicator device and the web material (see column 3, lines 51-54). Hille et al lacks teaching a movement device for moving the dosing head and a container in which a therapeutic liquid stored, although the feeding tube is a way through which the liquid is transferred from unshown source. In any event, WO’012 teaches a container in which a therapeutic liquid stored (see Fig 1 for reservoir 1 and page 27, on line 4 and page 30, lines 1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a container (reservoir) in which the liquid stored in Hille et al to continuously feed or supply the liquid material to the application device. Furthermore, WO’012 teaches a movement device (a carriage controlled by controller 6) connected to the dosing head (ejection head 3) for moving the dosing head at least during the delivery of the therapeutic liquid to the support element (5, see column 30, lines 6-13 and Fig 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a movement device in Hille et al to apply the liquid on a predetermined position on the surface of the substrate as taught by WO’012 (see page 30, lines 1-6).
Regarding claims 3-5, Hille et al (see Fig 1) the dosing head has at least two dosing units (distribution plate 3); and wherein the dosing units (3) have at least two dosing nozzles (passages 4), and at least two dosing units (3) are arranged opposite to each other with respect to a pivot axis (capable of having an imaginary line around which the head rotates).
As to claim 7, Hille et al teaches the liquid dispensing device has several rotary piston pumps and/or wobble piston pumps (see column 2, lines 51-56).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hille et al (US 6,187,322 B1) in view WO 2008069012A2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP-2020049760 A.
Hille et al as modified lacks teaching a lifting device. However, JP’760 teaches (see Abstract) a carriage provided with a lifting mechanism 60 for a head unit 21. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to lift the dosing head in vertical directing with a lifting mechanism so that the head unit is at a height position corresponding to the thickness of the work as taught by JP’760 (see English Translation in the first paragraph under Description).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record Hille et al lacks teaching rotating and or/pivoting movement of the dosing head or wherein the movement device has a pneumatic pivot drive. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a dosing device for manufacturing a therapeutic transdermal system (TTS) for dosing therapeutic liquids onto a support element of the therapeutic transdermal system (TTS) comprising, among others, a container, a liquid dispensing device, a dosing head, a movement device as claimed (see claim 1), wherein the movement device effects a pivoting movement and/or a rotating movement of the dosing head by 160° to 180°, and wherein the
movement device has a pneumatic pivot drive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/